Customer Reviews for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox

2011_Chevrolet_Equinox

Average Customer Rating:
4.304 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
56 of 69(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Review 1 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst vehicle I have ever owned

March 31, 2014
By Mad at GM
from Birmingham, AL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Should I start at the day I drove it home a light came on. In shop 2 days to fix. Waited until 5k miles with engine rattle noise. They supposedly fixed it. Well make a long story short 3-1/2 years into this and 102 days total in the shop I still hate it! GM has no clue what's worn with it. Because my previous state where I purchased the vehicle has no lemon law is the only reason I still have it! Will NEVER own another GM product and make sure none of my family does. This car is a true lemon and a piece of junk! Will recommend going back to Honda or Toyota. Would rather pay a higher price for a vehicle that is going to last."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

After having all brand new cars most of my life

March 29, 2014
By Only Chevy's for this girl
from Southeast PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I just got my 2011 and love, love, love it. I have been saying since the Saturn Vue I wanted this type of vehicle and when they went out of business I saw this one an had my heart set on it. When unexpected snow storm forced me to get another car I knew exactly what I wanted and a brand new one was out of the question. I took to cars.com and started my search and the one thing I did know I DID NOT want white, black, silver or champagne color one. So, my search continued. I have never had any trouble with any of my Chevy's even when others said they are a junk. It all depends on how you take care of it and drive it I say. But I love my Equinox and would not trade it or go to another make even though all my friends say this or that car is best."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've owned

October 22, 2013
By Chevy Kevy
from Cleveland, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Shopped on Cars.Com for two months until I found the deal I was looking for. It pays to be patient. I am very happy with my selection and the availability of vehicles online."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

used

September 26, 2013
By chevy man
from ontario ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"like the car a lot but the 4cyl is not as good as the 6cyl for power but a lot better on gas the price of gas is why I bought it anyway"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2 year update

May 27, 2013
By Duke
from USA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Just passed 2 years and 36000 miles, a little scary considering the problems we've had already. First it was the engine rattle on startup, check engine light, etc, fixed under recall. Then, the front strut mounts were making screeching noises on acceleration and braking, replaced under warranty. This was all prior to the 10000 mile mark. Then, at about 35k , we had another check engine light, this time the fuel pump control module had gone bad and needed replacing. Now, the engine is making a rattle on throttle input and occasionally putting out blue smoke. No noticible oil consumption yet, but the oil does have a strong gasoline odor to it. Makes me wonder about the longevity of this engine ( 2.4L).
This car also lacks cargo space considering its large footprint. Another big annoyance is that the 1 LT trim has a power seat without memory. Which makes it quite awkward to adjust when switching drivers. Should either have power with memory or all manual controls.
Fuel economy has been about 24 over the lifetime of the vehicle in a 50/50 mix of city/ highway.
I looked at the new crv this weekend and am strongly considering making a trade before this one gets to be too much trouble."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

update

May 5, 2013
By chevyman
from Bartow Fla.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Update on my 2011 equinox bought on august 25 2011 brand new. I have taken one trip from central Florida to northern Virgina, a trip of about 900 miles. At speeds of between 70 to 75 and in some cases as high as 80, my equinox averaged 28.3 m.p.g. When I left central Florida I didn't fill up again until I got to South Carolina. A distance of about 525 miles. I believe I could have driven further but why chance it. I'm really happy with the mileage. Now around town I'm getting between 18.5 to 19.5 depending on how I drive. So far I love this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Last GM I will ever buy

November 29, 2012
By Gas Guzzling Equinox owner
from Hopkinsville, KY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I tracked the mileage of our 2011 equinox for 2500 miles and got 22.56 mpg. Took it to the dealer and they put their gas in it, their driver in it, and on the terrain of their choosing. Results: 156 miles (90% hwy) 23.04 mpg. GM Customer service says that is within range of their advertisements. Of course this has taken several months to get them to actually do this test. The only good thing is that they verified I was correct, the mileage is poor. I have spent about 200k on GM vehicles over the last 10 years and this experience has shown me that I need to start buying foreign cars apparently. They actually care about their customers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy Camper

October 3, 2012
By MamaC
from Odon, Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my 2011 Equinox new in July 2011. I have been very happy with it. There was one recall but the dealership took care of it promptly. The only thing I would change is I would not get black interior again it shows dust too badly..I would definately purchase another Equinox."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2011 Chevy Equinox AWD V6- DO NOT BUY!

September 16, 2012
By mncarguy
from Twin Cities, MN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After only about 19,000 miles I noticed oil leaks. After taking to Chevrolet Service they informed me that this is not uncommon for the V6 Equinox.
Both the engine and transmission had leaks and were in need of extensive hours of repairs. I would advise strongly NOT to purchase this vehicle, as it has been a major disappointment. This will most likely be the last Chevy I will ever own. This is truly an unbelievable piece of junk, especially for the price tag at around 32k!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Youngest Car I've Owned

August 25, 2012
By dan3855
from Scotia,NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"At this point( 20,000 miles) car is tight and all things yet work. Around town 21+mpg highway 26+.All and all very smooth and quite,AC cools well,comfortable on long trips.I'm 6'2" this is the only car i've ever been in that the seat goes back even further than I'm okay with"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First Chevy

June 22, 2012
By First GM
from Hamilton, Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over the years I have had mostly FORD vehicles and a couple NISSAN's. When the gas prices went up I traded my F-150 in on a 2008 Toyota Camry. I loved the Camry but missed the Truck/SUV feel so I decided to start looking for a smaller more fuel efficient SUV. I drove the Outback, Highlander and tried to but could not fit in the RAV4 or CRV (I am 6'4"). I have never owned a GM and swore I never would but when I drove the Equinox I was so impressed that I bought the one off the showroom floor. I have the V6 and while the mpg aren't fantastic I think the ride and the convenience features make up for it. I purchased the AWD LTZ that has every option you can get on it and I love it. I have 6500 miles on it so far and have not had 1 issue. I think I may now be a CHEVY guy for life if they keep up the great work."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2011 EQUINOX WIDESPREAD DOCUMENTED ENGINE PROBLEM

June 14, 2012
By Equinox Has Engine Problems
from TENNESSEE
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"EQUINOX BUYERS BEWARE, the 2.4L, 4cyl Equinox has had several engineering PI's issued regarding engine knock problems both during startup and during idle situations. This vehicle has also had some transmission issues related to hard shifting and stalling. It would be recommended that you investigate these PI's before considering purchase of this vehicle. Refer to Youtube and several Equinox blogs and consumer websites."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Efficient, Stylish & Comfortable

June 9, 2012
By CarNut
from NW Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We were leery of buying a 4cyl FWD to push this almost 4000# SUV down the road. And how could it possibly achieve 32mpg. "No way!!" we thought. "GM has to be lying".
After 55,000 completely trouble free miles in less than 15months we have averaged 27.5mpg and never needed anything more than FWD in NW Iowa with plenty of snow. Probably 90% hiway miles driven "in a hurry" by the wife. This mpg is phenomenal in my opinion. Most mid-sized cars have trouble achieving this. I had a '01 Altima 5spd that averaged 29mpg, but was much less comfortable and much smaller.
All seating is very comfortable. Even had a 250# 6'3" friend comment on the comfort of the passenger seat. The 8-way power driver seat with lumber is awesome for long trips. Sliding rear seat is useful if you have large items in the back but can't lay seats down b/c of kids. The abundance of driver information is fun to play with; mpg, psi, mph, oil%, trips, you name it. Backup camera in rear-view mirror is really useful too! Very clear picture and wide angle. Saved by cat's life couple times a month.
Only ackward thing is the clearance needed to fully open the rear doors.
Before we took the plunge we looked at all competitors (Pilot, CRV, Highlander, RAV4, Outback, etc) assessing every difference and similarity. In fact, we obsessed over what to buy for nearly a month.
This SUV is solid built, smooth riding and very comfortable & efficient. I would definitely buy again.
Nice work GM!! Now if you could just drop a diesel engine in a Suburban, I'd kick all other car makers to the Curb.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Suv

May 21, 2012
By djdogman
from Memphis TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not my car, but some experience with it. Smooth ride and handling, but the 4 cylinder is a little sluggish. Hard to change lanes due to a large blind spot in the back. It takes time to get comfortable with this. Overall a good car with a large back seat."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value

April 22, 2012
By chevyman
from bartow fla.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car on august 25 2011 after researching many other cars. I always seemed to come back to the Equinox. Mine is steel blue(really love the color) and i have since added after market hitch and chrome grille, which really makes the front end stand out over the black grille , plus fog lights. Being 65 years old and 6'2" and weigh 245 lbs. this vehicle is easy for me to get in and out of.The audio system was a little intimidating but after some help from my 10 year old grandson ,i was able to figure it out. I love the information center which gives you tire pressure, instant gas mileage, average gas mileage, average speed , etc. So far i have only driven in a city setting ,mostly to work (6 miles round trip) and in eco mode i have averaged 19.1 mpg.I like the style of the Equinox. It doesnt have cheap looking wheels that other cars have.It drives nice and with the 4 cyl. has good pick-up.On the down side ,and this is a minor thing, I dont really like the position of the door locks on the console, but you can lock it with your key fob, which i usually do.The console storage could be a little more forward, its awkard to get into.The lid pops up and in upright position the lid is behind the seat.Good cup holders and i have had no problems with visibility.More than enough head room(Im 6'2" and no moon roof)I love the back up camera and the back hatch opens enough where i have no bumping my head issues.I like the overall styling as compared to the gmc terrain which i think is too boxy looking.I plan on keeping this car for 10 + yrs.Will be doing some traveling this summer and will get back on this site and let you know how it performed. I would buy another one ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Value

April 9, 2012
By Mini03
from downstate Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Equinox is a solid vehicle with good handling, reliable performance and decent fuel economy. While the space behind the back seat is not large, it is adequate. The passenger seating space is much better than average. The controls are well positioned. Routine maintenance is not a hassle. It does take a little while to get used to the blind spots but the rear-view camera helps when backing-up."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

January 25, 2012
By JMIKE
from san antonio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I just bought are 2011 Chevy Equinox and I am in love with it. We got a good deal for our money and it only has 14,000 miles. I really like all the great gadgets and it was one of the main reasons why I wanted it. I really like that you can bluetooth your phone and use the steering wheels to answer and hang up calls. I like the onstar and the phone minutes. I really enjoy that the back seat can be adjusted as well. I think that is a great feature for someone that has kids because you can move them up closer to you if need be. The comfort level is great. I like sitting up a little higher than a normal care. The exterior is amazing and I get many compliments on it everyday. I also like the back up cam and the remote start. This car has so much to offer a young small family like us and we are just in awe by it... I dont think that the estimated mileage is quite correct I am averaging about 26 on the highway doing about 70 no more... It has good power and gets up and goes... Great buy.. I would highly reccomend:)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love my chevy

December 26, 2011
By nance
from port st lucie, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love sitting up higher than a sedan which I had before. It is so comfortable & I've lots of compliments on the seat upholstery. Has great pickup for a 4 cylinder & I get good gas mileage"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still trying to decide

December 1, 2011
By Quester
from Topeka, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had mine for one month and 2700 miles. The heater is very slow to warm up for a new car, my '06 Ford Explorer was much quicker. Seats are great, not too many blind spots and very comfortable ride. I have the 4 cylinder and it really has good power for such a small engine. I have averaged 26.8 mpg so far and that is mostly highway mileage at 70 mph. Will write another updated review at 5-10K and see if I have made a bad mistake buying a bow tie!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Equinox

October 26, 2011
By GoodGood Cars
from L.A,CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Equinox i had it for 4 months now so we drove about 530 miles and my sister drove the car last week and said can i have have it i had to say no because i love my Equinox and i think everyone can love the car to like my family and the sleek exterior is fabulaus and smooth i love the interior is fabulaus to i love how the rear seats slide back in the cr-v it does that to but we are talking about the fabulaus Equinox here and it is a smooth ride in the backseat and in the frontseat but there is one problem in the backseat with me the seats don't fold completely flat and i have the LTZ and the hatch can go to two 2 different postions there is full and there is garage i am glad i have the LTZ with that kind of hatch like that because my Equinox is parked in the garage when i have my grocery's in the trunk so i have to have the trunk on garage so this is the best Equinox in the U.S.A."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.