Customer Reviews for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox

2011_Chevrolet_Equinox

Average Customer Rating:
4.235 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
4
63 of 81(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Review 1 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

July 23, 2015
By Mrs K
from Plainfield , Illinois
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"My 2011 Equinox started out as a good car but with less than 60,000 and just turning 4 years old it is rusting badly! I have to add oil , it isn't leaking oil but too often is down a quart or so. I am one to take good care of my vehicles and this is very upsetting to me. Time to get rid of it while it may be still worth something , hoping it is worth more than I owe."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Never a Chevy Again

June 8, 2015
By CSGM
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First and last Chevy I will buy. Poor gas mileage. New car is almost four years old with very low mileage since I don't do long trips. Now the paint chips very easy. It seems that it had poor priming prep at the factory and somehow underneath the minor chips the paint is coming loose and there is rust starting. Never had that problem with the other brand we bought, the last car I had was almost ten years old and just started to rust."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Needs upgrades

April 10, 2015
By Still looking for the perfect ride
from Ar
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"There are a few items Chevrolet needs to work on for this vehicle. There are no vents for the rear passengers & people are either hot or cold when riding with us. The vents in the front middle are a horrible design. They blow on your fingers & do nothing to keep you cool. The drivers seat needs better adjustable levels. If you want it higher it automatically goes back as it is going up and forward when you want to lower it. You have blind spots when looking over your shoulder to change lanes. The arm rest on the door is way to low unless you have the seat all the way down. The rear seats really do not recline. They only go back maybe an inch. That is not a reclining seat. This would be a much better vehicle if these items were addressed. I will keep looking for the perfect ride. This is not it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just getting used to it

April 9, 2015
By Mayor
from New Ulm, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"50 + thousand miles. I love it. 100 mile trip some roads posed at 55 other posted at 65. I drove with the traffic at 60+ and 70+ and averaged 33.1 mpg. Reverse trip after wind became strong, total ave 31.6.
Not bad. Chev is bigger than previous vehicle so am still adjusting to parking and getting close to curb. I think I would buy another, I like the room.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice inexpensive ride

March 14, 2015
By KilleenTXGuy
from Killeen ,Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2011 Equinox with LT trim and I like it. It has compass and outside temperature sensor which are great for travelers like me. Great on gas. Small enough for a single one or two people but big enough for a small entarage of 5 people plus room for big cargo. Back off camera a big plus. The down side are no up and down adjustment on driver or front passenger seats, sorry short people! They added a useless back adjustment. You still feel like driving a big car because this SUV is small and with low clearance( much less than 6'). but it is stylist and looks very sport for just one or two people and corfortable for 5 passengers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first SUV owner

February 26, 2015
By ordinary driver
from Toledo, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am very happy with the Chev Equinox. Comfortable ride. Was expecting better gas mileage from a 4 cylinder."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE CAR

December 8, 2014
By A Not Happy Customer
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My family bought this car used, but it had less than 70k miles on it. At first the car was a nice ride, but nearly a month later it started having issues. On my dash board the words "ENGINE POWER REDUCING" appeared then my car started to slow down and shake. I've taken it to the shop numerous times and the most common reason is a misfire occurring within my cylinders. After I did more research, I discovered I wasn't the only driver facing this problem. I would not recommend this car to anyone, it is unsafe, and unreliable. I can not tell you how many times this car has put me in danger due to the problems it has."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Most Costly on oil

October 28, 2014
By DWB
from NL,Canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"112,000kms on it and have been putting oil in the engine every 1300km finally they are monitory the oil for the next while ,my brother & sister both have same equinox and both have problems with oil sister has her engine redone all 3 of us well not be buying another EQUINOX or Chev. service in Hickman's is so -so the service people can only do so much"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

boring but very reliable

June 10, 2014
By cheruska
from Dallas , Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my 2011 new and hat not one problem with it after 65000 miles it is still running strong
I love the space and gas mileage , I drive 40 miles daily
I have to admit it is a very boring design but very practical to use .
I will properly buy the 14/15 model before there change it to a smaller SUV ( like ford escape )
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My New Equinox

May 28, 2014
By Mrs.McCully
from Frankfort, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After totaling my Chevy cobalt I bought from Phillips Chevrolet, I naturally wanted another Chevy. However, now I live 5 hours south from my favorite Chevy dealer. I called Phillips to see what and if they could do anything. Mr. Rami Alamawi, from Phillips understood my situation and was able to place the car on hold for me until i could pick it up a week later(with a full tank of gas I might add).I absolutely love the Equinox! Tons of leg room and storage space! I can't wait to drive back home in my new car! If I could give 100 stars for the customer service at Chevy I would, they made a horrible situation so much better and with ease. My family will continue to buy from them and I recommend you ask for Rami!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very relax while driving.

May 18, 2014
By Mike
from Lawrence, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our new car we just got from Commonwealth Moter is more than what we expected. My wife has lots of leg room. She has the remote starter, sun room and lot more in this new car. We both love this car 2011 Chevy Equinox"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've purchase

May 7, 2014
By Yanira&juan
from Lake worth fl
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just got this SUV and the drive is smooth, picks up speed fast and I love the looks of the interior and exterior. It's great on gas! Good performance with smart phones and just LOVE IT!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst vehicle I have ever owned

March 31, 2014
By Mad at GM
from Birmingham, AL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Should I start at the day I drove it home a light came on. In shop 2 days to fix. Waited until 5k miles with engine rattle noise. They supposedly fixed it. Well make a long story short 3-1/2 years into this and 102 days total in the shop I still hate it! GM has no clue what's worn with it. Because my previous state where I purchased the vehicle has no lemon law is the only reason I still have it! Will NEVER own another GM product and make sure none of my family does. This car is a true lemon and a piece of junk! Will recommend going back to Honda or Toyota. Would rather pay a higher price for a vehicle that is going to last."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

After having all brand new cars most of my life

March 29, 2014
By Only Chevy's for this girl
from Southeast PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I just got my 2011 and love, love, love it. I have been saying since the Saturn Vue I wanted this type of vehicle and when they went out of business I saw this one an had my heart set on it. When unexpected snow storm forced me to get another car I knew exactly what I wanted and a brand new one was out of the question. I took to cars.com and started my search and the one thing I did know I DID NOT want white, black, silver or champagne color one. So, my search continued. I have never had any trouble with any of my Chevy's even when others said they are a junk. It all depends on how you take care of it and drive it I say. But I love my Equinox and would not trade it or go to another make even though all my friends say this or that car is best."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've owned

October 22, 2013
By Chevy Kevy
from Cleveland, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Shopped on Cars.Com for two months until I found the deal I was looking for. It pays to be patient. I am very happy with my selection and the availability of vehicles online."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

used

September 26, 2013
By chevy man
from ontario ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"like the car a lot but the 4cyl is not as good as the 6cyl for power but a lot better on gas the price of gas is why I bought it anyway"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2 year update

May 27, 2013
By Duke
from USA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Just passed 2 years and 36000 miles, a little scary considering the problems we've had already. First it was the engine rattle on startup, check engine light, etc, fixed under recall. Then, the front strut mounts were making screeching noises on acceleration and braking, replaced under warranty. This was all prior to the 10000 mile mark. Then, at about 35k , we had another check engine light, this time the fuel pump control module had gone bad and needed replacing. Now, the engine is making a rattle on throttle input and occasionally putting out blue smoke. No noticible oil consumption yet, but the oil does have a strong gasoline odor to it. Makes me wonder about the longevity of this engine ( 2.4L).
This car also lacks cargo space considering its large footprint. Another big annoyance is that the 1 LT trim has a power seat without memory. Which makes it quite awkward to adjust when switching drivers. Should either have power with memory or all manual controls.
Fuel economy has been about 24 over the lifetime of the vehicle in a 50/50 mix of city/ highway.
I looked at the new crv this weekend and am strongly considering making a trade before this one gets to be too much trouble."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

update

May 5, 2013
By chevyman
from Bartow Fla.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Update on my 2011 equinox bought on august 25 2011 brand new. I have taken one trip from central Florida to northern Virgina, a trip of about 900 miles. At speeds of between 70 to 75 and in some cases as high as 80, my equinox averaged 28.3 m.p.g. When I left central Florida I didn't fill up again until I got to South Carolina. A distance of about 525 miles. I believe I could have driven further but why chance it. I'm really happy with the mileage. Now around town I'm getting between 18.5 to 19.5 depending on how I drive. So far I love this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Last GM I will ever buy

November 29, 2012
By Gas Guzzling Equinox owner
from Hopkinsville, KY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I tracked the mileage of our 2011 equinox for 2500 miles and got 22.56 mpg. Took it to the dealer and they put their gas in it, their driver in it, and on the terrain of their choosing. Results: 156 miles (90% hwy) 23.04 mpg. GM Customer service says that is within range of their advertisements. Of course this has taken several months to get them to actually do this test. The only good thing is that they verified I was correct, the mileage is poor. I have spent about 200k on GM vehicles over the last 10 years and this experience has shown me that I need to start buying foreign cars apparently. They actually care about their customers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy Camper

October 3, 2012
By MamaC
from Odon, Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my 2011 Equinox new in July 2011. I have been very happy with it. There was one recall but the dealership took care of it promptly. The only thing I would change is I would not get black interior again it shows dust too badly..I would definately purchase another Equinox."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.