Customer Reviews for 2012_Ford_Escape

2012_Ford_Escape

Average Customer Rating:
4.548 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
39 of 42(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Ford_Escape
Review 21 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Escape

August 16, 2012
By Lefty
from Woodstock, Ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great versatile vehicle. This is the third one I've owned. I good 230K good performance miles on one and the other I'm still driving as a second car with 215K miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the look of the exterior and interior

August 9, 2012
By Diane
from Missouri
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased with the 2012 new Ford Excape. Especially like the extras that come with the Limited, the chrome front, etc. Sharp lookin SUV"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hate the Cheesy Inferior Interior

August 9, 2012
By Die Hard Ford Owner No More
from Derby, KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I owned a 4 cyl- 2008 Ford Escape and loved it! Meanwhile, Ford went to work on improving the 2012 4cyl mpg performance. It is noisy and hard-shifting and has little to no get-up-and-go. The cheesy interior is supposed to be leather - it's not. The plastic door panels & console are so defective that they were scratched (and Ford won't warranty) after 2,500 miles. I can't wait to trade it off."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best buy on Smaller SUV !!

July 16, 2012
By ShoppinGrandma
from Countryside in Kansas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in my 2005 Mercury Mountaineer for 2012 Escape XLT 4X4 6 cyl..off of lease with very low miles. Couldn't be happier. I drive mostly highway miles and am getting around 28mpg...great ride and easy to drive. Seats 5 comfortably and, I am adjusting to the smaller cargo area. My Escape accepts flex fuel...still undetermined about advantages of gas versus E fuel...I have had the Escape for l month and, I am thrilled regarding the deal I made on it! Was looking at 2012 new Escapes but, this one with 6,780 miles on it was too good a bargain to pass up!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good car

July 16, 2012
By fred
from mpls
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the Ford Esscape, its comfortadle, drives nice, very nice looking. Am unhappy with mpg, getting about 17.5 with about 1600 mi on it. Its also very noisy, sounds like there is a exhaust leak, sounds like a car that has 100000 mi on it, Noisy when it shifts through the gears like it needs a muffler. Otherwise a very nice car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

firts suv

July 9, 2012
By snow man
from liberty,wv
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is our first suv so far we love it.We are getting about 28.9 miles per gal.this will make our third ford the ford rebates made it fit in our budget the ride is smooth the standard equipment is very nice witch include criuse control,ac,power locks, power windows,am fm cd radio they go on and on.this suv has a ton of room it fits us like a glove. I'm sorry they changed the 2013 escape completley p.s it has enough power to pull these wv hills!!!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Sleek, Up to date Car

July 5, 2012
By Extreme Commuter
from Livonia, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Going from a 2003 Grand Am to a Limited 2012 Escape was a nice luxery. It is very spacious with a lot of great upgrades. The Sync is a great feature along with the sunroof and ambient lighting. The gas mileage isn't bad, I average over the 28 mpg they said I would get (I drive freeway about 95% of the time). Going from a car to an SUV was quite a change, I feel much safer and have so much more room! I've fallen in love with my Escape and will most likely purchase after my lease. I'd recommend to anyone! The only drawback was the engine performing loudly- I even had it serviced in fear something was wrong but it checked out just fine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Value for the money

June 29, 2012
By Northern Guy
from Northern Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Escape purchase. I have owned (4)Ford F-150's. My current 2002 F-150 has 279,500 miles on it. Just routine maintenance. Best truck I have owned. So the Ford line has been goood to me. I am very happy with the Escape. Handling, power (3.0L), comfort. All good. I would like to have seen some different material for the cloth seats. It's like a blue jean material, so I hope it takes a beating.
This will be a good vehicle our family. Dependable.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only 350 miles, but great so far!

June 25, 2012
By Escaper
from Annapolis, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought a 2012 Escape Limited w/ V6. I am averaging 24+ mostly highway but have only 350 miles so far. Mileage is increasing. (Weird thing was, I got 25+ on the first 19 mile test drive. The first miles put on the car.) When the Pre-Delivery Inspection was complete and vehicle made ready for delivery, it had 39 miles and avg 18mpg. Is there a change made during PDI that would drop the avg mileage? Either way, very happy with the ride, comfort and mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mid-Size SUV!

June 18, 2012
By Escape
from Norfolk, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect size for small family. Roomy, but not too big on the road. The 4-cylinder, 2.5L engine does not have a whole lot of power, but does get much better gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Vehicle I've ever loved

June 4, 2012
By Love my Green Escape
from IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've never had a car I've ever really loved until now and this is my 8th car I've owned. I have a Lime Squeeze Metallic 4 Cylinder Ford Escape XLT. Cons are the cheesy interior and stereo (but I bought the lower end) and no storage beneath the seats. So far, that's it. It's got plenty of pick up and it's the first 4 cylinder I've ever owned. Love the 27 mpg I get. Love the drive, love getting in and out of it, love walking up to it, love the moon roof, love the sync system, love the color, love the amount of storage for a smaller SUV. It feels so compact yet so roomy. I traded in an Explorer with 197,000 miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Back to the Future

April 5, 2012
By UAW/ GM Retiree
from God's Country in NE Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As former owners of both Fords and Chevys (We loved and wore out 2 different S10 blazers in the past) I must say this time the Escape got it right. While looking for a comparable suv/crossover we found that most offered too many options in too large a vehicle. These options added to the overall price rendering our GM employee discount almost useless.There are just enough features to feel comfortable but not overwhelmed by technology. We were impressed by it's handling and small turning radius. Escape has the right combination of smallar size for better MPG yet lots of interior room for comfort. It is reminiscent of the peppy yet fuel efficent '65,'66 &'67Mustangs we once owned. About the only negative comment I have is that our dealer was unable to find our first color choice. After searching various dealers inventory on the internet myself I realized they were indeed becoming harder to find. Perhaps it's increasing sales and scarcity is it's best reccommendation. For us it feels like we have gone back to the future and will be able to stay ahead of the increasing gas prices."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed and very pleased

March 24, 2012
By Empty Nesters
from Macomb, Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I have been pleasantly surprised with our Limited front wheel drive 2.5 4-cylinder 6-speed automatic Escape.
Looked, drove, priced and compared a lot of vehicles before we decided. Name the SUV, crossover, domestic, import up to $75,000 (Why not? I was curious why some cost so much for what was offered), we checked them all out. To each his own for purpose, status, family/employee discounts, loyalty or whatever someone chooses to drive is up to them.
The Escape is the right one for us. Fuel economy so far overall is 27.1 mpg. Performance is adequate for acceleration in traffic or expressway merging. Everthing works, fit and finish is outstanding and has a lot of neat features.
Granted, there are other faster, cushier, sexier and newer designs. $27,000 out the door makes it a heckuva bargain. We haven't owned a Ford for over 20 years. This Escape has really won us over.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy with Escape

March 12, 2012
By Likes to sit Tall
from New Orleans, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After trying 10 small cars + 3 others--all with intrusive headrests (in order to sit up as opposed to laying back while driving) or limited visibility, I was drawn to the comfort of the Escape. The Escape's windows are generous, the mirrors include a blind spot corner (I can see a car behind me from far off until it is in front of me all in the mirrors), and the lowest trim comes without the darkly tinted windows (which were unavoidable with most dealerships/makes). The headrest is pretty good in standard position and can be put in backwards, if desired. Transmission is slow compared to my former V6 engine (Escape is 4-cylinder) and a bit loud, but once at the desired speed, the vehicle is quiet and smooth."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd Ford Escape in a row

March 5, 2012
By Rural Commuter
from Madison WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I loved my 2006 Ford Escape XLT (85,000 miles) and wanted a newer version that has all the same great features plus an IPod connection w/ XM radio. The best surprise was how much more I can see at night. The headlights are larger and really light up the road. I no longer need the foglights to enhance night driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SUV

January 18, 2012
By Outdoor Enthusiast
from Fort Ann NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Escape & went from the 2010 XLT to the 2012 Limited Escape. The vehicle performs just as good as my last Escape, but with the added features of the Limited it make's this Escape much more pleasurable to drive. My only complaint would be, the car could be more quiet, road noise, and the gas mileage could be better."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My second escape

January 9, 2012
By Ford family
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I loved my 2002 escape and swore that I would always have an escape. This second one is improved with the sync options. I love the increased gas mileage but it came at a price in performance, the car isn't as spunky as the inefficient one was. All in all, still a great car and I wouldn't want anything else."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good SUV

January 2, 2012
By Adi
from Roseville, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had this for little over a month. The vehicle performs very well. I have a stick shift and I am getting about 30MPG average both city/hwy combined. The vehicle has performed well so far. The I4 engine has more pep than I had anticipated. The interior could have been designed little better. eg., the storage bin between the passenger seat and driver seat makes shifting the gear little awkward. The SUV is built high and getting in out is not as easy as my previous Saturn. Lots of electronics, eg., There is a lot of information about the performance of the vehicle displayed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First new car

December 21, 2011
By Everyday driver
from Portland, or
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is a comfortable ride and gets about 26 mpg highway, with traffic. Without traffic it gets 28.2 mpg going 70 , which is pretty awesome for the size of vehicle. It fits four grown adults very comfortable, the only draw back is it lacks power when starting from a dead stop. But has plenty of power when passing. If you want a car that beat everyone off the blocks buy a mustang GT, those are awesome!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Suv

December 19, 2011
By Jordo
from Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This has been a pleasant surprise. It is very comfortable to drive. The sync system makes hand free driving simple. I wish it had rear disk brakes, the braking distances aren't the greatest. Handling is good with a little body roll. It cleans up well and is easy to clean. In town I avg like 20mpg on the highway I avg 30 mpg."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.