Customer Reviews for 2012_Ford_Escape

2012_Ford_Escape

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
42 of 46(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Ford_Escape
Review 21 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Piece of Junk

October 19, 2012
By mr. Nobody
from Amsterdam New York
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"No Power, Gas milage not great, Bumpy ride, suspension sucks, Hard to get in and out of vehicle, it is a 4 cylinder front wheel drive, overpriced for what you get, all models of Vehicle should become all wheel drive or 4 wheel drive, can't comment on driving in snow because not enough snow to write about, only took a two year lease of vehicle and glad I did."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a nice small SUV

September 23, 2012
By Ford Owner
from Tucker, GA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Back In July I traded my 2000 Ford Ranger in for a 2012 Ford Escape Limted. I like extras that come with the Limited. Sharp lookin SUV" with roomy interior and good cargo space. The V6 provides good aceleration."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"12 Escape vs "06 Vibe

August 27, 2012
By UT??
from Wisconsin
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I traded an '06 Vibe Base 5spd for a '12 Escape XLS 5spd[can't drive nothin' butt stick/an age thing]...the Quality of the Escape is far less than that of thr Vibe!!! But Da Deal was too good to pass on!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good review

August 17, 2012
By none
from Parsippany NJ, 07054
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Happy with the 28.8 MPG
Lots of room for vacation bags.
Veary happy with hands free phone system.
For a SUV it has a good ride.
Check many cars in this class size found this to be the best for the mony.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Escape

August 16, 2012
By Lefty
from Woodstock, Ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great versatile vehicle. This is the third one I've owned. I good 230K good performance miles on one and the other I'm still driving as a second car with 215K miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the look of the exterior and interior

August 9, 2012
By Diane
from Missouri
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased with the 2012 new Ford Excape. Especially like the extras that come with the Limited, the chrome front, etc. Sharp lookin SUV"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hate the Cheesy Inferior Interior

August 9, 2012
By Die Hard Ford Owner No More
from Derby, KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I owned a 4 cyl- 2008 Ford Escape and loved it! Meanwhile, Ford went to work on improving the 2012 4cyl mpg performance. It is noisy and hard-shifting and has little to no get-up-and-go. The cheesy interior is supposed to be leather - it's not. The plastic door panels & console are so defective that they were scratched (and Ford won't warranty) after 2,500 miles. I can't wait to trade it off."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best buy on Smaller SUV !!

July 16, 2012
By ShoppinGrandma
from Countryside in Kansas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in my 2005 Mercury Mountaineer for 2012 Escape XLT 4X4 6 cyl..off of lease with very low miles. Couldn't be happier. I drive mostly highway miles and am getting around 28mpg...great ride and easy to drive. Seats 5 comfortably and, I am adjusting to the smaller cargo area. My Escape accepts flex fuel...still undetermined about advantages of gas versus E fuel...I have had the Escape for l month and, I am thrilled regarding the deal I made on it! Was looking at 2012 new Escapes but, this one with 6,780 miles on it was too good a bargain to pass up!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good car

July 16, 2012
By fred
from mpls
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the Ford Esscape, its comfortadle, drives nice, very nice looking. Am unhappy with mpg, getting about 17.5 with about 1600 mi on it. Its also very noisy, sounds like there is a exhaust leak, sounds like a car that has 100000 mi on it, Noisy when it shifts through the gears like it needs a muffler. Otherwise a very nice car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

firts suv

July 9, 2012
By snow man
from liberty,wv
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is our first suv so far we love it.We are getting about 28.9 miles per gal.this will make our third ford the ford rebates made it fit in our budget the ride is smooth the standard equipment is very nice witch include criuse control,ac,power locks, power windows,am fm cd radio they go on and on.this suv has a ton of room it fits us like a glove. I'm sorry they changed the 2013 escape completley p.s it has enough power to pull these wv hills!!!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Sleek, Up to date Car

July 5, 2012
By Extreme Commuter
from Livonia, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Going from a 2003 Grand Am to a Limited 2012 Escape was a nice luxery. It is very spacious with a lot of great upgrades. The Sync is a great feature along with the sunroof and ambient lighting. The gas mileage isn't bad, I average over the 28 mpg they said I would get (I drive freeway about 95% of the time). Going from a car to an SUV was quite a change, I feel much safer and have so much more room! I've fallen in love with my Escape and will most likely purchase after my lease. I'd recommend to anyone! The only drawback was the engine performing loudly- I even had it serviced in fear something was wrong but it checked out just fine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Value for the money

June 29, 2012
By Northern Guy
from Northern Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Escape purchase. I have owned (4)Ford F-150's. My current 2002 F-150 has 279,500 miles on it. Just routine maintenance. Best truck I have owned. So the Ford line has been goood to me. I am very happy with the Escape. Handling, power (3.0L), comfort. All good. I would like to have seen some different material for the cloth seats. It's like a blue jean material, so I hope it takes a beating.
This will be a good vehicle our family. Dependable.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only 350 miles, but great so far!

June 25, 2012
By Escaper
from Annapolis, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought a 2012 Escape Limited w/ V6. I am averaging 24+ mostly highway but have only 350 miles so far. Mileage is increasing. (Weird thing was, I got 25+ on the first 19 mile test drive. The first miles put on the car.) When the Pre-Delivery Inspection was complete and vehicle made ready for delivery, it had 39 miles and avg 18mpg. Is there a change made during PDI that would drop the avg mileage? Either way, very happy with the ride, comfort and mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mid-Size SUV!

June 18, 2012
By Escape
from Norfolk, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect size for small family. Roomy, but not too big on the road. The 4-cylinder, 2.5L engine does not have a whole lot of power, but does get much better gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Vehicle I've ever loved

June 4, 2012
By Love my Green Escape
from IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've never had a car I've ever really loved until now and this is my 8th car I've owned. I have a Lime Squeeze Metallic 4 Cylinder Ford Escape XLT. Cons are the cheesy interior and stereo (but I bought the lower end) and no storage beneath the seats. So far, that's it. It's got plenty of pick up and it's the first 4 cylinder I've ever owned. Love the 27 mpg I get. Love the drive, love getting in and out of it, love walking up to it, love the moon roof, love the sync system, love the color, love the amount of storage for a smaller SUV. It feels so compact yet so roomy. I traded in an Explorer with 197,000 miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Back to the Future

April 5, 2012
By UAW/ GM Retiree
from God's Country in NE Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As former owners of both Fords and Chevys (We loved and wore out 2 different S10 blazers in the past) I must say this time the Escape got it right. While looking for a comparable suv/crossover we found that most offered too many options in too large a vehicle. These options added to the overall price rendering our GM employee discount almost useless.There are just enough features to feel comfortable but not overwhelmed by technology. We were impressed by it's handling and small turning radius. Escape has the right combination of smallar size for better MPG yet lots of interior room for comfort. It is reminiscent of the peppy yet fuel efficent '65,'66 &'67Mustangs we once owned. About the only negative comment I have is that our dealer was unable to find our first color choice. After searching various dealers inventory on the internet myself I realized they were indeed becoming harder to find. Perhaps it's increasing sales and scarcity is it's best reccommendation. For us it feels like we have gone back to the future and will be able to stay ahead of the increasing gas prices."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed and very pleased

March 24, 2012
By Empty Nesters
from Macomb, Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I have been pleasantly surprised with our Limited front wheel drive 2.5 4-cylinder 6-speed automatic Escape.
Looked, drove, priced and compared a lot of vehicles before we decided. Name the SUV, crossover, domestic, import up to $75,000 (Why not? I was curious why some cost so much for what was offered), we checked them all out. To each his own for purpose, status, family/employee discounts, loyalty or whatever someone chooses to drive is up to them.
The Escape is the right one for us. Fuel economy so far overall is 27.1 mpg. Performance is adequate for acceleration in traffic or expressway merging. Everthing works, fit and finish is outstanding and has a lot of neat features.
Granted, there are other faster, cushier, sexier and newer designs. $27,000 out the door makes it a heckuva bargain. We haven't owned a Ford for over 20 years. This Escape has really won us over.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy with Escape

March 12, 2012
By Likes to sit Tall
from New Orleans, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After trying 10 small cars + 3 others--all with intrusive headrests (in order to sit up as opposed to laying back while driving) or limited visibility, I was drawn to the comfort of the Escape. The Escape's windows are generous, the mirrors include a blind spot corner (I can see a car behind me from far off until it is in front of me all in the mirrors), and the lowest trim comes without the darkly tinted windows (which were unavoidable with most dealerships/makes). The headrest is pretty good in standard position and can be put in backwards, if desired. Transmission is slow compared to my former V6 engine (Escape is 4-cylinder) and a bit loud, but once at the desired speed, the vehicle is quiet and smooth."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd Ford Escape in a row

March 5, 2012
By Rural Commuter
from Madison WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I loved my 2006 Ford Escape XLT (85,000 miles) and wanted a newer version that has all the same great features plus an IPod connection w/ XM radio. The best surprise was how much more I can see at night. The headlights are larger and really light up the road. I no longer need the foglights to enhance night driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2012_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SUV

January 18, 2012
By Outdoor Enthusiast
from Fort Ann NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Escape & went from the 2010 XLT to the 2012 Limited Escape. The vehicle performs just as good as my last Escape, but with the added features of the Limited it make's this Escape much more pleasurable to drive. My only complaint would be, the car could be more quiet, road noise, and the gas mileage could be better."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.