Customer Reviews for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid

2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid

Average Customer Rating:
4.086 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
27 of 35(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Review 21 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lives up to the hype!

July 16, 2012
By New to the Hybrid world.....
from Woodbridge, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car met and so far has exceeded every expectation I have had so far. I love the combined mileage that I get (about 35mpg), the unique styling, and all the creature comforts that one would expect from a vehicle that cost closer to 35K! And to top that all off, I have the industry's best warranty to cover me if I need anything fixed, up to 100,000 miles. Can your Toyota or Honda give you that peace of mind? My Hyundai Sonata Hybrid does...:)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Value purchase

July 11, 2012
By Framer
from Brunswick, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have about 5,300 miles on this car. It rides well. The purchase price was great compared to other hybrids. There is a rough transition from electric to gas at low speed sometimes, however once you are use to it it is no big deal. I mix my driving city highway about 50/50 and average 42 mpg. I receive better mpg in city if I keep an eye on the ECO gauge. I am a SR so this car has many more features then I need or use but I am sure others will like them all. I did find that the voice activated road guidance system was difficult for me to set up and lost contact under bridges.
I do recommend this car for it's affordability, ride and it is the first car since a 1966 candy apple red Ford that people have stopped me to ask questions about it's performance and looks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st hybrid

July 8, 2012
By Colorado-Chuck
from Colorado Springs
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had this vehicle for almost a month now, am very pleased. I traded in a 2011 Elantra that I was pretty pleased with, however, had a good offer from dealer for a trade and was looking to get into a larger vehicle with better mileage. Have not been disappointed. I am averaging almost 38 combined mpg, and that is driving at altitudes between 6000 and 9000 feet. I, like others, was a little concerned with the transitioning between the electric/gas engines, but am getting used to it. Love the interior, comfort, have leather package, no sunroof, std stereo. Only complaint so far is usb port on the ipod does not work, dealer is supposed to be ordering a new part, going on 3 weeks now and had to teach the service advisor how it was supposed to work! The std stereo is only adequate but don't dare broach that subject with the wife (yet). Overall very pleased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

why don't more people buy this car?

June 12, 2012
By woman engineer
from ny
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have yet to see another sonata hybrid on the road, and I don't understand why. It's not much more money then the regular sonata, you can get a better deal on them since they are not popular, and you get great gas mileage... I do mostly highway and I'm getting about 37 mpg. I love filling up much less often, having a range more than 100 miles greater than my last car (a lexus.)
As an engineer, I really enjoy listening to the engine and checking the stats while I'm driving. The only negative is that the seat is too deep for me (and I'm 5"5", not short) and I have to use a pillow. Other friends who have Sonatas say they are reliable, I guess I'll just have to wait and see.'m getting used to the exterior styling, which I think is too busy and overdone... but it is aerodynamic and quiet. It sure is prettier than the camry, and more roomy (and faster) than the prius. I'm enjoying this new car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I liked the first so much, I bought my wife one

June 8, 2012
By Owner of two Sonata Hybrid Cars
from Cleveland, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I are now a 2 Sonata Hybrid family. The first a 2011 base model with heated seats installed by the dealer, the second a 2012 model with the leather package. Both metallic hyper silver. I got the second car because I wanted my wife to have a solid safe car that she enjoyed driving (she put more miles on the hybrid than on her Saturn Aura) and that had an excellent Bluetooth system. I had tried to put install Bluetooth as an aftermarket add-on to her car, but it did not work nearly as effectively as the Bluetooth in the Sonata Hybrid. Safety is important and the Sonata Bluetooth makes it easy to have totally hands free phone use for both calling and receiving calls. In addition, we found that the handling of the Sonata Hybrid was superb with excellent accident avoidance and straight tracking braking. We both like the feel of driving this car. It is also the most popular car with our grandchildren. The ride is very smooth so they can fall asleep in their car seats and the excellent crash rating makes us feel secure while driving our precioius cargo. My daughter drives an Elantra that was made in the US and while the hybrids are made in Korea, my wife and I are pleased that the other Sonatas and Elantras are designed and assembled in the US. I seriously considerred other hybrids, but the Sonata hybrid provides the most driver room and ease of entry of any mid-sized hybrid under $30,000. The 2011 had some low speed hesitation that resolved with free computer adjustments on the first two services. The 2012 started out great.
It is economical - with the 2011 I averaged 42+ mpg over more than 12,000 miles in mixed driving (about 70% in the city). With the 2012, I averaged 48+mpg on 2 fillups (almost 500 miles).
In summary, this is a very comfortable and safe car that looks good, is fun to drive and is packed with useful technology such as a very effective Bluetooth system."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disappointed in the performance

June 4, 2012
By Hank
from Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my 2012 Sonata hybrid about 4 weeks ago. My mistake was not taking a hybrid for a test drive before buying it. The dealerships here didn’t have any in stock at the time so I test drove the gas model. I’d read about the rough transition going from battery to gas but I figured it was just consumers being overly critical. I was wrong. Mine seems to do it not only going from battery to gas but also during initial acceleration in battery mode as well as low speed accelerating in gas mode. I am totally disappointed with this issue. I may be doing what I thought the other owners were doing, being too critical, I’m comparing my Sonata to my wife’s 2012 Lincoln MKZ hybrid. Hers drives so much smoother than the Sonata does. The gas mileage on my Sonata is not nearly as good as advertised either. I took it on a weekend road trip (about 700 miles total) and actually only got 34.5 mpg doing 65-69 mph. I can’t figure that one out. I really like the car otherwise but am disappointed in the two issues I’ve mentioned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disapointed - this is for Ali from N.C in 2/12

May 13, 2012
By Bev from Florida
from Florida
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My hybrid stopped several times on highway. I was able to coast to safety. Turning off and on revived it except once it would not turn on, had it towed. Had it fixed twice and the third time I told them, That's it, I will file lemon law. Well, there was a recall toward the end of 2011 which took care of it. Hyundai did not call it RECALL b/c that means they take blame. Something about voltage of hybrid battery or some other technical thing. Read about others across country w/ same problem. This is a life or death issue. It's OK now, but I only get
27-30 mpg. One long trip = 37. Was not worth the
extra cost. BLuetooth is intermittent. CLoth seats stain. Passanger seat has one setting.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bang for the buck

May 9, 2012
By shweddy
from Phila, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm coming from a 2006 Acura TSX and looked at the 2012 but decided to go with the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid for the same price. Only complaints:
-Needs an option for a mult-way power passenger seat
-iPhone disconnects during first 30 seconds of startup, probably due to contention with Bluetooth audio streaming.
-NAV system needs more refined categories in POI's (no office supplies category)
-Some shifting back and forth between EV and gas engine while warming up, causing some uneveness in shifting early on.
Other than these minor complaints , a joy to drive. I opted for the premium package for the panoramic sunroof and upgraded audio system (Infiniti speakers!!!). Look for a plugin Hybrid and maybe a wagon (already in Europe) to arrive
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far so good my Hyundai Hybrid has lived up

April 27, 2012
By Sonny
from Lasa Vegas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had the car for about a month and have enjoyed driving the car a lot. I am surprised at how the car makes you drive more economically by showing how it's doing every second you are behind the wheel. I find myself enjoying the challenge of getting better mileage as I drive. The only complaint I have is the car doesn't come with a spare tire so if you have a blow out the canned sealer isn't going to get you back on the road so this means a long wait to be towed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

March 16, 2012
By Martin
from Connecticut
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an excellent vehicle. I'm amazed at the previous article calling the vehicle a 'lemon'! I suppose with any manufactured product it's possible for something to go wrong, but my experience is vastly different.
The car drives like some of the far more expensive cars i've driven but without the price. The interior is very 'roomy' with plenty of elbow space and leg room.
As far as the exterior look of the vehicle is concerned - it has a sexy - fast - appearance and this is not just for looks. Passing cars on the highway is very easy due to the horsepower generated by the 4 cyl engine with electric assist (somewhere near 200hp).
The guages on the dashboard are well laid out as are the buttons located on the steering wheel.
I didn't purchase the ultimate package that has the moon roof, alloy wheel rims and high end stereo because the purpose for purchasing the car was to save money on fuel... and purchasing the ultimate package would have absorbed the fuel savings I want to make.
Having said that, even without the ultimate package this vehcile comes with so many features that are 'standard' that I have no regrets....
Well, one - and it's the only negative comment that I have so far... the stereo that comes standard is very average. Good for talk radio, but music is a bit lifeless. But one can always purchase a better stereo system, right!
As far as gas mileage is concerned, I'm getting around 36mpg with mixed city/highway driving.
In summary, if you're considering the purchase of this vehicle - take it for a drive. You won't be disappointed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

DO NOT BUY THE SONATA HYBRID

February 15, 2012
By Disappointed
from Overland Park, Ks
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The Sonata Hybrid does not get the city mpg that is advertised. The dealer can not figure out what to do and Hyundai Customer Service is usless. They just tell you why your driving habits are the problem and refer you back to the dealership. They ignore the customer complaints about the mpg performance. The car will achieve the highway mpg rating but the city mpg performance is erratic. It will vary from a 26-28 mpg range to rising to a 31-32 mpg range for a few days and them drop to the 26 level. This occurs while driving the same roads and conditions on a daily basis. Don't be foolish like I was. I know I have only myself to blame because I bought the car but learn from my mistake and save yourself the $5,000 Hybrid cost premium. The gas only version is the safer buy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lemon

February 9, 2012
By ali
from north carolina
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I had high hopes for my hybrid but after having it towed 3 times under 18,000 miles i have to accept i have a lemon. Milage is fine about 35mpg but my car has shut off on the highway, and left me stranded. Hyundai has put drivers in danger by not getting these kinks worked out before putting on the market."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best large size hybrid

January 7, 2012
By Cleveland-Bob
from Cleveland Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The essential value of the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is that it has the most leg, hip and shoulder room of any hybrid for sale in the US. Hence if one wants a large car that get good mileage, the Sonata hybrid is a great choice. After more than 7000 miles, I find the car fun to drive and I get complements on its looks. Before the snow hit in Northeast Ohio, this car was getting over 40mpg in mixed driving. The cold weather and snow have reduced the mileage to 37-39mpg. The drop is due to energy is needed for the heated seats, heater and there is an increase in rolling friction associated with packed snow compared to clean pavement. I find the electronic recognition and ignition system operates logically. I appreciate the easy entry and exit. The seating is comfortable and heating system will quickly make the car toasty. The trunk can hold alot even though it is compressed by the battery. There is a pass through into the trunk that proved handy for carrying a pair of skis inside the car. So far the car has hancled well on wet and dry pavement and on packed snow. My only complaint is that the upholstery gets water marks easily. I would definitely recommend this car to a friend/relative. The long warranty provides a sense of security. The Sonata hybrid is the best car I have ever owned!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Work Car

October 26, 2011
By SC Driver
from SC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Sonata Hybrid two months ago and already have 15000 miles on it. The advertised 40 mpg highway is easy to attain, the car works hard to meet that goal, and my best tank has averaged 45mpg. The city mileage is harder to get up to 35 though, stop and go with a depleted battery will put you in the mid to high 20's.
I am pleased with the exterior, and am grateful for the proximity key.
The interior was put together nicely for a car of it's price. The only three complaints I have would be: 1-the gear shift lights are extremely bright and distracting, they cannot be dimmed. 2- the front seat could use a little more thigh/leg support. 3- the stock stereo is pretty bland (great for talk radio, terrible for any top 40).
The battery pack in the car is great. With a full charge, you can get up to 45/50 without the gas engine. Also, at highway cruising, the car rotates from gas and charging the battery for approx 1.5 miles to battery power for the next .5 miles.
I have driven a Prius before, and this car has a much more solid feel to it. Overall, I would buy this car again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_Hyundai_Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good. Not Great...

August 30, 2011
By HybridNewbie
from Ithaca, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The new Sonata Hybrid has some styling elements not shared with gasoline engine versions. The trim on the Hybrid looks rather cheesy. It cheapens its looks of this otherwise good car. The front end has a large gaping "hole" that we find rather odd for a car so highly detailed. We first that grille work was missing.
The '12 Sonata is our first Hybrid. Mileage is not has high as advertised by we have only had the car a week. The sleek body style is youthful, but it severely limits head room, especially for rear passengers. The sunroof decreases room and comfort even more, including up front. Some interior materials are thin and flimsy, an issue commented on by other Sonata owners we know.
The Sonata Hybrid is expensive, but that is relative. If gas mileage improves, I think we will enjoy it even more. There are a lot of needless features that drive up prices. Many hybrid owners are frugal and use their fuel misers as a second car, as in our case.
Are only major grip is an annoying tugging sensation, pulling the car to the right. After noticing it, Hyundai informed us that public service announcements will be sent out alerting owners of this problem. If not for this, we would more than likely recommend the Sonata to a friend, but the annoyances experienced are alarming for a $30,000.00 vehicle. Other grips include: significant tire hum, a rattling dash and choppy ride."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
21-35 of 35