Customer Reviews for 2012_Jeep_Patriot

2012_Jeep_Patriot

Average Customer Rating:
4.13 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
19 of 23(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Review 1 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No reason to complain

December 6, 2014
By Average Guy
from Memphis, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a new Jeep Patriot in May 2012. I had never owned a Jeep product before and didn't know what to expect. What I got was a great vehicle. I like everything about the vehicle. I've read complaints from some that the engine is noisy, but I've found that the engine noise level is about what you would expect from any 4 cylinder engine. I have had absolutely no problems with my Patriot and been completely satisfied with the ride. My 2012 Patriot gave me a lot of car for the money. I've been very happy with my purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Wont buy another Jeep

March 4, 2014
By Med380
from Baltimore, MD
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have a 2012 Jeep Patriot Sport 4x4 brand new, I use it primarily for a 22 mile commute to work totaling 44 miles a day. first 1k miles started to hear a terrible loud squeak while in reverse coming from the rear brakes. Took it in they replaced the brakes and rotors, still squeaks. at around 12k had to have my water pump and front right tie rod replaced. I currently have 32k miles on it and it sounds like I go off roading everyday and the roads aren't that bad here in MD. I mostly do interstate driving. I will never own another Jeep again. I can't stand this car and I get the worst gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 JEEP PATRIOT

February 17, 2014
By TBIRD
from pittsburgh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Now have over 38,000 and the only thing I've done is oil changes and yearly inspections. Replaced tires at 28,000. Very well equipped with heated seats and remote start.
Excellent in snow and very reliable. I have 2.4l engine with CVT tranny. Getting all around driving 23-24 mpg. I drive to work 26 miles 1 way and wife uses a lot. On trip this past summer I got 27-28 highway mpg. Still rock solid suspension and handles very well with NO squeaks or rattles.
This fall I will probably look at 2014 Patriot since Its the last year of production (even though they are selling pretty well) and I really do like the styling and reliability that I had with my 2012.
I don't care for new Jeep Cherokee styling and I would never buy a 1st model year vehicle.
If I had one complaint it would be the size of gas tank (14 gal) Wish It would have been 18+ gal.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good car for the money but poor on the output

January 30, 2014
By jeep man
from san diego, ca
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I do love my patriot. It is a 2013 sport FWD. While the car looks like a regular jeep, and can kind of drive off road like a jeep it is definetly not a regular jeep. The cars performance is orrible. Driving up to 60 mph seems like it takes years to do. It is noisy when accelerating and slow. So very slow. On top of the extreme lack of speed the vehicle goes through gas in a rate i do not understand. While it only costs around $40 to fill the tank it seems to run through the first half within a 100 miles. At first I was averaging around 250 miles per tank but now I am getting almost 185 full tank. Needless to say I wish I spent a little bit more on a better vehicle. You get what you pay for I guess but I am upset that such a poor performer has a jeep name tag. Apart from the performance the interior room is great and spacious. The radio is good and the bluetooth works better than many others out there. The comfort of the ride is what you would expect from a car under $20,000 so I cannot refer to it as bad but as comfortable as cheap can get. Would I get one for myself again? No. Would I get one for a soccer mom? Yes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Compact SUV

July 3, 2013
By Robofuzz
from Austin, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After looking at several options for compact SUVs, we bought a used 2012 Jeep Patriot Latitude with the 2.4 motor and 20,000 miles on it. I have been very happy with the styling, the comfort, the cargo space, and especially the gas mileage. A great little SUV!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 Patriot Base Model

March 30, 2013
By Tommy
from Casco, ME
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my Patriot 11 months ago as a commuter vehicle. It has FWD and a 5 speed stick. No frills, reliably gets 32+ mpg. Not very peppy, so if you want to pass someone, you'd better be thinking ahead. It's not loud inside like the automatic seemed to be. For less than 15 grand new, it's better than a cramped sub-compact. I would definitely buy another one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not good,It's GREAT

January 8, 2013
By JEEPSTER
from Australia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Apart from the controls wrong side,indicators,bonnet catch wipers.Mine has lockable fuel cap.Price is great,People have not looked at my car since I had a customised high rider with twin rocket pipes and a radical custom job.Too much to mention always wanted jEEP but they were always big 4 Ltr Jobs.mine is black cvt but looks the part.I was looking at the new Toyota ugly excuse for a crowd pleaser,junk."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little suv !

December 23, 2012
By Beaker
from Upstate N.Y.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I`ve only had this Patriot 1 month (1300 miles ), but I am very surprised at how capable it is in deep snow and off road. Got the trail rated model with FD 2 package and couldn`t be happier. MPG`s is in the mid 20`s with winter grade fuel and new engine, expect better when car is broke in fully."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Patriot

December 13, 2012
By kajunar
from Louisiana
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little SUV! I'm a fairly big guy that had to start doing a lot of driving for my job. Was running a deisel GMC crew cab everyday and never thought I could settle for a small car. Yep... I drove the honda civic, and most of the other little cars in that arena. They were ok and very fuel efficiant. But I wanted something that can take a beating on our horrible highways here in South Louisiana, something that if I run up on a curb it would cause $1000 in damage, something that I can throw my dog in the back for a ride, something that won't get stuck with light off-roading... A Wrangler you say! Those are sweet, but a l already have a CJ. The Patriot fits what I needed for daily commutes, a great all around vehicle. Handles great and peppy enough with the 2.4 ltr. Spudders like a ATV at idle and runs like it has a motercycle engine under the hood, but it's a Jeep... not an egg shaped prissy little car. Still has the true SUV styling, and I like that!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Horrible gas mileage, feels unstable on freeway

December 12, 2012
By Patriot owner
from Sacramento, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought a 2012 trail-rated Patriot, which makes it an inch taller than the standard 4WD Patriot. It is a nice around town car; easy to park due extra height, tight turning circle and its small size. But there are some problems:
The CVT means the engine is taching at 3,000 RPM or above at freeway speeds and, it sucks down the gas. There is no overdrive. It gets under 20 mph if you cruise between 65-70 mph on freeway trips.
It's a dog. Usually if you get a car that gets poor gas mileage you get good performance. But with this Patriot I've got poor gas mileage and poor performance. A friend bought a new Toyota Tacoma 4x4 about the same time. She gets better mileage and she blows me off the road and the trail.
The engine is loud. It sounds like a Diesel. The dealership blames the CVT for this. The Service Manager called Jeep's CVT a glorified snowmobile transmission.
Small cargo space. Smallest in its class. Subaru's Forester is much larger.
Brakes started squeaking at about 1k miles.
The hill descent control on the Trail Rated model, which engages when in 4WD on a steep grade, sounds like the drive train is being ripped apart. The dealership service manager said this is normal."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best small SUV available!

November 27, 2012
By AdventurerSport
from Okoboji, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our 2012 Jeep Patriot has been very reliable, very fuel efficient, and very fun to drive! It has plenty of room for SUV stuff, but isn't overly sized so much that it's difficult to park or navigate a small drive-thru. The 2.4L engine makes plenty of power for everyday driving, whether in town or on the interstate, we've done it all with this Jeep! We can get up to 30 mpg on the highway, and this Jeep is Full-time 4wd! There is no shifter for the 4 wheel drive, it just goes. Works PERFECTLY for my wife, who is the regular driver and NOT an off-roader by any means! She loves driving her Patriot, enjoys the classic Jeep look and styling, while it still drives like a car until you need it to be a Jeep, and then the four wheel drive works seamlessly to keep traction to all four wheels, all the time! Highly recommended, especially for those that feel they need 4 wheel drive and/or an SUV body style, but don't want to spend a fortune on gasoline.
JS"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

noisy

November 27, 2012
By da man
from connecticut
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"very noisy
Quality just not there when compared to a Honda Accord and I got the Limited Patriot!
It seems cramped inside after several rides. I shudda purchased something else.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great car

November 24, 2012
By robert
from bronx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Awesome styling, just what I wanted. Jeep has several sub levels below Patriot and is very difficult to sort everything as they show you what is available but it might be different than the one you get without much heads up untilyou have bought it. ex: saw a patriot with two speakers on the fifth window but it wasn't on the one I bought. It has lights aroung the coffee cup holder but none in the glove compartment!
Overall, I love the jeep.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Patriot Sport

October 28, 2012
By Jeepster
from Australia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a new one in Australia.Being an export model from US.some things are on the left a bit annoying flicking the wiper for the indicators.A lot of the feat cures are from the Lattitude.But the price over here is not good,it's great.Sorry Great Wall.A lot cheaper than the japanese and Korean.Only the US and Germany now make the best cars as England are finished thanks to the Japanese copiers.Always wanted Land Rover but too heavy on fuel.I first drove in 1968 and finally I have a car that will last me.Thanks Jeep."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Enough

August 6, 2012
By jen
from Dallas , Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased a brand new 2012 Jeep Patriot a few months ago and so far its been really good. It gets better gas mileage than the mazda6 I used to drive and has lots more space. Its not a luxury car so it is somewhat noisy and the dashboard materials arent the nicest but it gets the job done. Definitely a great car for the money, until I can afford the 4 door Wrangler. :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

July 8, 2012
By Chino
from kansas city, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the latitude, 2.0 Manual Transmision. Bought the car brand new with only 20 miles. Now I have about 300 miles.
Pro's: Exterior looks great, fun to drive, smooth ride, super quiet engine, great value for a low price, sound sytem sounds awesome
Con's: Rear view mirror is quite small, backing up can be difficult, touch screen display for the radio is pretty bland, there is no lock for the gas cap"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 patriot sport

June 4, 2012
By jeep guy
from hayward, ca
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A good solid performer if you want a vehicle that will take you almost anywhere. Not too luxurious but comfortable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Small SUV

June 4, 2012
By Meg
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was really unhappy with my new car I bought a year ago, and my husband encouraged me to look at the Patriot (he has a Wrangler and loves it). I drove it and liked the small SUV style. I am not planning on taking it offroad; I am just running errands, so I am not so much concerned with the off-road aspect. There is more than enough space in the front and back seats. The drive is more like a car, and it handles well. The downside (on my particular model) is there is no outside temp gauge and no mpg or range remaining gauges for gas. I have been used to those...and I will miss them. Overall, I am happy with tmy first American car purchase in about 20 years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Deal for a Jeep

May 10, 2012
By Phroggman
from Boston,MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very happy with the Jeep Patriot I got. Four wheel drive, nice equipment all for under $20,000. Best deal out there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

What are you people talking about? - Terrible Ride

April 25, 2012
By Rental Pro
from Maysville, KY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The people that have reviewed this car so far obviously haven't driven one. This is the loudest most uncomfortable drive available. Handles terrible, poor MPG for the size, and just overall clunky."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.