Customer Reviews for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid

2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
20 of 26(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Review 21 for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy for economical city driving

July 9, 2012
By 80 years of age:95% city driving
from St. Petersburg, Florida
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I expected mpg in city to be close to the EPA rating of 35 mpg. After three fillups--premium, regular, and 90 octane nonethanol--at a total of 1000 miles, I was averaging 25+ miles per gallon. The Kia service manager explained to me that EPA ratings were meaningless, that I probably used bad gas(I asked if BP was bad gas). that I probably didn't use the the same pump at the same gas station. and of course Kia's old fallback that you got to learn to drive it. I think Kia has a big manufacturing quality control problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty Darned Good Car

May 10, 2012
By DB
from Central Massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Both sexy AND great on gas (averaging 42 MPG), I really couldn’t be happier with my 1 week old new car. There is some ‘clunking’ when transitioning between engine types – but not that bad - and certainly not enough to detract from the product overall as some of the criticisms I've read seem to indicate.
Simply astounded at the features that come standard. Recommend the 'Convenience' option package as it has the UVO / Sat. radio and rear-looking camera display when in reverse.
Still pinching myself that I got such a head-turning automobile past the wife's budget control armor. This occured because KIA's pricing is phenomenal!
I got a cherry ride that barely sips the petrol for a price LESS than the current median new car cost! Worth a look if you can get one..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a Head Turner

May 9, 2012
By Kia Owner
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely love my new car. I drive over 40 miles each way to work and am averaging 40+ mpg. Unlike most hybrids, the Kia actually gets better mileage on the highway, than it does in the city. With the current price of gas, I am saving enough each month to make half of my car payment. The car is a real head turner, I've gotten lots of complements on it. I absolutely love the backup camera. I am still learning all of the features of UVO. I have loaded some of my music into the jukebox and I always have music I like to listen to. My only regret is that I didn't get the heated steering wheel and seats."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Looking Hybrid

May 1, 2012
By McDaygo
from Salt Lake City, UT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I ultimately chose this car's version of a Hybrid mainly because of the new Optima are sweet on the eyes, but also because this car still has some get up and go compared to other offerings. It has around 200HP combined, more than enough for me as I am aware I did not buy this to beat someone to a red light. It only has 2 trims one loaded the other for $5000(ish) more fully loaded. I did not get the extra option, as I feel the standard Hybrid is more than loaded to me. My only question is this: who can complain about a sweet looking car WITH a 100,000 mile warranty? This is one of, if not the first car I see being happy with for much longer than my loan lasts. Check out Kia people, they are going crazy with making good looking cars! Enjoy!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First car I've purchased for the high fuel economy

March 31, 2012
By I was wasteful......but know I see the green!!!
from Washington, D.C.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just purchased Optima Hybrid (OH). In my 33 years of driving and buying vehicles, this is the very first time I've researched and purchased for HIGH miles per gallon. Most of my other vehicles are trucks and SUVs. I'm looking forward to $aving ga$ money and enjoying a "car" ride for a change! It looks and drives great so far and has just about everything you could want in conveniences/comforts with the Premium Tech Package."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Kia_Optima Hybrid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful and efficient

February 1, 2012
By Stepano1963
from Fayetteville, Ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"just got my 2012 and love it. Handles like a dream.
Fast off the line. Looks sharp and great fuel mileage. So many features in the premium package.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
21-26 of 26