Customer Reviews for 2012_Kia_Sorento

2012_Kia_Sorento

Average Customer Rating:
4.493 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
62 of 71(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Review 21 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good deal for the money

July 6, 2012
By Goldie
from Northfield, VT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Seems to be a nice car, and a good deal for the money. I might have waited to get a 2013 model, if I knew the were coming out so close to when I bought my 2012. My chief complaint is that there is no temperature gauge for outside temperature available on my model. Every other option that is available seems to come standard on this model. Some specialty items were not expected but all functional and necessary options are there except temperature."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Kia Sorento LX w/convience package & 3rd row

June 5, 2012
By David A.
from Houston, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We looked for four months for a gas friendly, budget friendly, 3rd row friendly vehicle. The KIA Sorento met those desires. I calculated the 2012 LX w/convenience package (including the GDI engine) and 3rd row had the most value, least depreciation, and best gas mileage when compared to other models (as well as other makes/models). The new 2013 packages add-ons in a more complex way where you might be 'forced' to get an AWD if you want the GDI engine. Someone else might be able to comment on the validity of this, but that was the way I understood it from the KIA website. The GDI 191 hp engine is a must if you want maximum fuel economy while maintaining a reasonable amount of power. Thus far with 1500 miles, roughly 3.5 fill-ups and primarily city driving, we have averaged 23.5 mpg according to the dash computer. One thing to take into consideration is my wife has a heavy foot. I look forward to taking it on a road trip and seeing those numbers climb. Interior console storage is abundant and there are nooks and crannies in the front cabin space where you can store plenty of... well junk. Rear leg room, despite other consumer reviews, has proven sufficient. One negative comment I have is there is not a lot of glass in the back which makes for large blind spots. This makes the backup camera a must have. I prefer the backup camera in the rear view mirror as opposed to it showing up on a navigation screen (an option I did not look to buy anyway). One final comment I will make is, if you can, buy one slightly used (5-15k or so). The initial depreciation according to a few sites is fairly high. Let someone else take on that loss. After that it seems to maintain its value pretty well. Note here that is hard to find one used with the specs I have mentioned, which says something for the vehicle and brand. Kia is gaining more and more momentum. Grab one while they are undervalued."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best amount of car for your money!!!

May 8, 2012
By Kia lover
from Puyallup, wa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am the oldest of 5 kids and I love hanging out with my family. For a single young person, this car provides style, durability and comfort and is still practical for life (great gas mileage lots of space). The only complaint would probably be the folding chair. It can be a bit difficult to work with but the third row seating is still very comfortable. Whether or not you have a big family, the Kia sorento is a perfect safe and practical suv :-)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vechicle

May 7, 2012
By Thud
from Nunda NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Amazing vechicle and great on gas back up cam is awesome. stereo system is great love all the options."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than expected

May 7, 2012
By THOM
from Sioux City,Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a new 2012 Kia Sorento, all wheel drive, from local dealer. Has the new GDI ,4 cly. engine great mileage, a bit noisey but has good power for everyday driving. My wife loves it and frankly so do I."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sorrento EX

May 7, 2012
By Wardiedoodle
from Lynden, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Plus' - Solid vehicle, handles great, doors close like a coffin, Leather surfaces are great no shabby materials used, heated seats are a great item, dual climate controls are a great item! Access for servicing is simple and made for the do it yourself person. Ride is expected for the type of vehicle, no more noise than average. The lines of the vehicle are great, I’ve received a lot of positive comments from people who aren't sure what the manufacturer of the vehicle is.
Neutral items - Third row seating is not one for adults, period; it should only be used for kids. I would have like to pick out my options a bit more and be stuck with only this package as I would have liked having the option to choose a bit more. Engine noise is to me a bit higher than I would have expected for the four cylinders, but don't get me wrong I am being picky!
Overall I would give the Sorrento a strong 4 even a 4.8 on a 5 scale. I am very happy with my choice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BADASS SORENTO

April 25, 2012
By GhostHound
from Las Vegas, NV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Most sickest, baddest SUV out there! Love revving the engine, love tearing up the streets, powerful engine, roomy, black looks the best on it. Get one, that's all I gotta say."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

April 22, 2012
By fdjsk
from Kansas City
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The sorento we purchased came with so many options at such a great deal! No wonder I'm noticing more people driving them. I really like the new look."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 star suv

April 14, 2012
By chi-town guy
from Chicago ,IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought 2012 sorento sx AWD 4 weeks ago, and 1012 miles later I absolutely love this car. I traded in my 2004 jeep grand cherokee v6, mainly because its 12-14 mpgs, and on sorento I get 18-19 city and mostly 22 mpg on highway, even though once I made 28 highway mpgs, so I get about 2 more days without filling the tank, which is awesome since Chicago got the highest gas prices in the nation. I'm a 6'6" guy and once drove 7 more adults with me, 3 of them 6'9" guys and no one complained about the space. Only thing missing in my opinion is power liftgate, everything else is top notch!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Sorento

April 9, 2012
By CPCO
from Huntersville, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We really love our new Sorento, and our salesman was the bomb. The fit and finish is superior to the other auto's we looked at, and the price was better."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Pleased

April 5, 2012
By Joe
from Stamford, Connecticut
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After have 2 Passports and 3 CRVs we decided to look at something different. We went to look at the Kia. After driving the new more powerful Kia 4 cyl. I was not happy with the costant down shifting of the automatic transmission, it is a heavy vehicle. For not much more, we went with the LX 6 with the third row. I'm very, very pleased. It is silent, very smooth and powerful. The gas milage could be better but that was my sacrifice and I don't regret it! The exterior finish is really great and the interior functional and very comfortable, especially compared to the CRV. The fit and finish is very good. It has been a nice change. The only minor negatives are, the suspension could be alittle softer and the third row is tight but since it is only used occasionally to carry 4 young grandchildren it is not really a problem. I guess time will tell if this was a good purchase but right now we love the Sorento and would recommend it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprise

March 28, 2012
By Van Man
from Georgia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am a traveling salesman and have owned vans for fifteen years. They are great traveling vehicles so when my current van hit 190,000 miles my first inclination was to get another one. The Kia Sorento caught my eye but I had to convince myself that the Kia was up to the standards of the other cars I had owned. Ater a lot of research online and talking to people who owned a late model Sorento I became convinced that it was a good car. Test driving the car several times closed the deal. I purchased a new 2012 SX model. I have driven it now for 3,000 miles and have no complaints other than gas mileage which so far has not exceeded 22 mpg. It is a surprisingly smooth riding SUV, not that different from the vans I have owned. It has a lot of get up and go and many more features for the money than any other car I could find. I would recommend this car as long as gas mileage is not your top priority."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

HUGE disappointment!! Terrible Gas mileage!!!

March 26, 2012
By macgirl1
from Hillsboro, OR
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We purchased the 4cyl Sorento because we were getting poor gas mileage on our previous vehicle (13-17mpg) and the Sorento promised 21-28mpg. Huge mistake!! Our Sorento gets 14-17mpg with combined driving and it's performance is weak and sluggish. We have contacted Kia who basically told us, "that's too bad" and there is nothing they can do. They promise one thing, but when the vehicle doesn't perform according to those promises, they don't provide help. This vehicle has been the biggest let-down. Kia advertises that their vehicles do these great things but then they don't stand behind them. We are so unhappy with this purchase and would never recommend this vehicle or ever buy from Kia again. We are stuck with a gas guzzling, low performing vehicle, and the resale value is so terrible we can't get rid of it. Don't make the same mistake we did!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Kia Sorento SX

March 23, 2012
By EpcPlano
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this Kia 5 months ago. I picked this car because I travel and rent cars nearly every week and I was very impressed when I started picking Kia's from the National lot in Burbank, CA. Finally got to drive a loaded EX and was sold. This car has been on 2 trips from Dallas, TX to Galveston, TX and to Denver, CO. Averaged 22 - 24 mpg to Galveston with 4 people with luggage and 18 - 22 mpg To Denver hauling 7 teenagers and an aerodynamic cargo carrier. That was 18 to Denver and 22 back to Texas. I love driving this car. It has solid feel and good power. The SX has all the bells and whistles I need but a power tailgate would be nice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great american made vehicle

March 17, 2012
By former gm guy
from westmont , il.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great suv the sx compares to the lexus rx or acura rx with heated and cooled leather seats and heated steering wheel nav for $20,000 less a no brainer in my opinionbut if you need a premium name badge then spend the money. The v6 ihas more than enough power but if your looking for mpgs opt for the 4. This is my first foreign car i ever purchased i always bought gm and dont think i ever wil again. Also kia is built in georgia supplying jobs for american workers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

March 17, 2012
By gts367
from Palatine, Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recent bought a 2012 Sorento EX v/6 AWD. I was looking for a nice wagon for business and pleasure, but there really aren't any mid-size wagons anymore. They're all crossover/suv vehicles. My daughter has a 2011 Sorento EX, and has had good luck with it so far. The other vehicles I looked at were all within an inch or two in height and length . I was looking for amore basic unit, but the dealer gave me such agreat deal, I couldn't pass it up. It has everything in it I could have wanted and more. Other vehicle were thousands more with less features than the Sorento.
With only 350 miles so far, I really haven't expected to see great fuel mileage, but it's doing about 18-19 mpg around town. Not too bad for a 2ton truck!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great suv for the money

March 13, 2012
By my wife's car
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This has to be the best deal ever, perfect styling and design...all around good performance...fantastic mpg. We really love this vehicle .... just test drive one and you will too. We also own 2011 Kia Forte SX...everthing equals the Sorento as far as design & styling...but performance & handling is incredible. Value for the money (for both) is off the chart|||"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First 3000 Miles

March 5, 2012
By Student of the acr buying game
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The vehicle has many upsides. I own the LX with Convenience Package, 4 Cylinder GDI. The mileage has been generally good; I have clocked slightly over 27 mpg. The only downside is the ride; while I am already used to it, the 2011 Mariner base that I traded for the Sorento, rode better on the rugged city streets in Chicago."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeds Expectations and then some

February 27, 2012
By "Average driver"
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an extremely nice vehicle all around. It is a pleasure to drive, with excellent handling in turns as well as out on the "open road". I love the GDI 4 cylinder engine technology coupled with the 6 speed transmission. This gets the power-to-weight ratio into a zone of maximum efficiency. The transmission will "shift early" under light acceleration resulting in steady power delivered to the wheels even at low engine R.P.M. I like to lock it into 6th gear after 40 mph and then it won't downshift on small hills. All of this contributes toward achieving good mileage considering the size and weight of the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

4 Cyl. = Poor performance and gas mileage !

February 26, 2012
By JEFF
from Montreal, Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I was looking for a 4 cylinders vehicle with good gas mileage.
So I've choosen the Sorento EX because of its advertised performance and good warranty.
Big mistake, the most unpleasant is its performance and especially its poor gas mileage.
Ok, it is very well equipped.
I give 3 stars for overall rating just for the warranty and all equipment included for the price.
Please note, that's why I am on this website to find a better vehicle ...
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.