Customer Reviews for 2012_Kia_Sorento

2012_Kia_Sorento

Average Customer Rating:
4.486 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
63 of 72(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Review 1 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Major Disappointment

September 11, 2011
By Mickey Dawgg
from New York
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After 150 miles the plastic seat belt retainer clips popped out of the interior sides they were supposed to be anchored to. I tried to put them back in but they would eventually pop out again. After 250 miles the engine began to idle rough, the transmission would go "clunk" when shifting up or down at slow speeds, and the car began to vibrate when driving on the highway. After 850 miles the rear view screen in the mirror for the backup camera began to have thick black lines across it. Sometimes the screen would go completely black. The car has only a little over 1000 miles on it, but I dread driving it for fear of having more things go wrong. If all these problems are normal for this car, I'd hate to see what's considered abnormal. If you're thinking of buying the Sorento, don't do it, unless you're willing to find out a new meaning for the word "normal." As for me, I will never buy another Kia again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Grounded

August 10, 2012
By Cherry Bomb
from Smithrown,New York
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Kia 2012 Sorento purchased in Feb. 2012. 4cyl. 3rd row seating. We have had to take the car back to the dealer on 3 seperate occasions with the same problem that Kia seems to be having a hard time solving. I went to start the car, all the engine lights stayed on and it was diffucult to get the car into drive. we had the car towed, the kia dealer had it for 3 days and finally had to send their computer findings to Kia headquarters to get a diagnosis. Kia told the dealer to check all the grounds. We get the car back and 3 days later it happens again. Again Kia keeps for days, they can't find anything wrong. This time Kia engineers tell the dealer to replace the abs module which they do. 3 weeks later it happens again. You have to fight the dealer to get a rental car, they test drove our car for over 100 miles last time they had it eventhough we told them the problem occurs when you start the car, not while you're driving. My wife had a 2004 Kia Sorento that she traded in for this car and at this point she is sorry she didn't keep it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

HUGE disappointment!! Terrible Gas mileage!!!

March 26, 2012
By macgirl1
from Hillsboro, OR
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We purchased the 4cyl Sorento because we were getting poor gas mileage on our previous vehicle (13-17mpg) and the Sorento promised 21-28mpg. Huge mistake!! Our Sorento gets 14-17mpg with combined driving and it's performance is weak and sluggish. We have contacted Kia who basically told us, "that's too bad" and there is nothing they can do. They promise one thing, but when the vehicle doesn't perform according to those promises, they don't provide help. This vehicle has been the biggest let-down. Kia advertises that their vehicles do these great things but then they don't stand behind them. We are so unhappy with this purchase and would never recommend this vehicle or ever buy from Kia again. We are stuck with a gas guzzling, low performing vehicle, and the resale value is so terrible we can't get rid of it. Don't make the same mistake we did!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

MPG Not True

February 16, 2013
By Riegar
from Salt Lake City , UT
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall the car for the money is good. However, the GDI engines were estimated to give a much high MPG than what it really gets. 20 MPG on the highway is more of the average I have been getting on the highways. Kia acknowledge this problem and has been paying back owners gas dollars. There is a big difference between the power of the V6 and the 4-cylinder. They get the same gas mileage so buy the V6."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent Car But Bad Fuel Economy

September 21, 2012
By Was Kia Fan
from White plains NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have a Kia Sorento LX - Conv Pkg + 3rd Row car and been driving it for a month with 1000 Miles on it. My driving style is very gentle (never more than 3K RPM), Eco Green is ON all the time. Been on a 250 mile Long drive and got around 23. inside the City i drive on roads with just 2/3 signals and rest all are parkways...still i get an avg of 20MPG...!!! Very very bad...i got this car for claiming good fuel economy and it wont do that...!! Great warranty..but they also had at least 2 recalls in last 2 years. In these times fuel economy matters... else i would not mind spending more to get a Highlander..which also gives me same mileage. Infotainment is great..looks great...But bad mileage...If it doesn't improve..I'm going to put a sticker on car back reading " DON'T EVER BUY A KIA...IT'S BAD""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bad service and design

August 15, 2012
By Want what I paid for
from Elgin, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought a 2012 Sorrento that has a design flaw – brakes that make a grinding noise when braking. The dealer said that this is a known issue and has no current fix. Also my inside roof interior over the door had a bulge and tear. I brought it in and it looks no better after they said they fixed it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

4 Cyl. = Poor performance and gas mileage !

February 26, 2012
By JEFF
from Montreal, Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I was looking for a 4 cylinders vehicle with good gas mileage.
So I've choosen the Sorento EX because of its advertised performance and good warranty.
Big mistake, the most unpleasant is its performance and especially its poor gas mileage.
Ok, it is very well equipped.
I give 3 stars for overall rating just for the warranty and all equipment included for the price.
Please note, that's why I am on this website to find a better vehicle ...
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2012 Sorento

October 11, 2011
By Steve
from Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This is the second Sorento I have owned. I also owned a Sportage several years ago. My first Sorento was a 2011 LX. In general it was a pretty good car. The only significant problem I had with it was an intermitant noise like the sound of grinding breaks when slowing down with enthusiasm. It started after owned the car for around two weeks. Everyone at the dealership and Kia kept telling me it was the ABS brakes coming on however; there was no pulsed vibration feedback from the brakes when the noise occurred. After forcing the technician and the service manager to ride in and test drive the car while it made the noise, they agreed to work on it. The dealership and Kia field technician cleaned the breaks several times, replaced the ABS module, and chamfered the brake pads during separate visits. None of these resolved the issue.
At this point I decided to pursue declaring the car a lemon. After weeks of negotiation and the dealership service manager assuring me this was the only Sorento he was aware of with this problem, I agreed to let Kia replace it with a 2012 Sorento. I was required to pay a reasonable fee for the mileage I had put on the vehicle. Approximately two weeks after purchasing the 2012 Sorento the breaks started to intermittently make the same noise. I took it in to the dealership and the new service manager basically refused to work on the vehicle. The new service manager also assured me that this noise is not a problem and it is a common characteristic of Kia Sorentos. Kia also claims the noise is not a problem and that it does not affect the safety or value of the vehicle. I did get a little grumpy at this point and asked why the grinding noise was not in their pretty brochure if it did not affect the value of the car.
The issue has been escalated to the same case manager that handled my 2011 Sorrento problem. She assured me there is nothing wrong with the car but they are going to replace the brake pads. She was very vague where they were getting the replacement pads from. My understanding is that they will have them in two to four weeks.
Based on what I have read the V6 must get better mileage than the 4 cylinder. I get approximately 22 MPG.
There is flimsy piece of plastic with the driver’s side chair controls that has broken twice. A quarter inch wide piece of plastic holds it to the rest of the chair.
The radio plays MP3s from a USB device but it frequently loses it’s place.
Bottom line, if you don’t mind the intermittent grinding noise it is a pretty good car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice car

April 28, 2014
By John
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We had an older Sorento, which we loved. The only reason we sold it was the fuel milage was fairly poor, but the vehicle was very comfortable. This new Sorento is quite a bit better on fuel than the older body style. The only thing we found disappointing was the lack of a temp gauge in our new LX. It was a standard item in both of our other vehicles, so we didn't notice it was missing until a few days after we bought it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good vehicle with some design irritations

May 26, 2013
By Vancouverrl
from Vancouver BC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have 2012 EX V6 Awd with moonroof. Driven with 21,000 Km. so far no issues and have been pleased with vehicle. Interior defiantly has an Audi monochrome influences which is not surprising given designer was ex Audi. Interior plastics could be better as cheaper hard plastic used on dash. Yes a firm ride which is good in the twisties but suspension show it's limits as can bottom out when pushed and roads uneven. In Eco mode it is sluggish from a start, but use Auto in manual mode, mash throttle and things get more interesting and a decent acceleration.
I have found that moving up to mid grade gas really helps with engine running stronger, smother and dare I say I seem to get better mileage although only @ extra 50 km on full tank.
Speaking of mileage I am not surprised those with 4cyl get poor mileage. Heavy car + small engine = poor mpg! You are going to hit the gas pedal to get that weight moving which is why I bought the V6. Equal or better than 4 cyl especially with people and gear in ( which let's face it is why you would buy this kind of vehicle)
Anyway not a bad vehicle but expensive in Canada, and Kia cheaped out on interior
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car to drive

February 21, 2013
By Hola
from MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have been driving the SX 2012 for a month now. Coming from a VW jetta manual I was afraid of missing the fun of driving. I have to admit that the Sorento has surprised me. It is fun to drive, safe on passing other cars and has a sports feeling when you are a the wheel. Inside it has all the fun stuff, panoramic sunroof, garage opener, backup camera...and the looks are great for a car of this price (it seems the designer is the same as Audi uses). Easy access to phone, radio etc...
The gas consumption is not as good as I though. I was never able to make the 26 MPG that they say in highways, even with speeds of 65 mph. I ended up doing around 21 or 22MPG, but I guess that the kind of thing I have to give up for the 6 cylinder power.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fancy but rough.

September 4, 2012
By Lu
from Chicago
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like the styling, inside and out. Expensive looking interior. Our model is loaded with lots of great features. Nice stable ride on the highway. The only thing we don't like is the suspension on side streets. Handles small bumps terrible when driving slow. Very rough ride. Kia needs to fix this."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good deal for the money

July 6, 2012
By Goldie
from Northfield, VT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Seems to be a nice car, and a good deal for the money. I might have waited to get a 2013 model, if I knew the were coming out so close to when I bought my 2012. My chief complaint is that there is no temperature gauge for outside temperature available on my model. Every other option that is available seems to come standard on this model. Some specialty items were not expected but all functional and necessary options are there except temperature."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sorrento EX

May 7, 2012
By Wardiedoodle
from Lynden, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Plus' - Solid vehicle, handles great, doors close like a coffin, Leather surfaces are great no shabby materials used, heated seats are a great item, dual climate controls are a great item! Access for servicing is simple and made for the do it yourself person. Ride is expected for the type of vehicle, no more noise than average. The lines of the vehicle are great, I’ve received a lot of positive comments from people who aren't sure what the manufacturer of the vehicle is.
Neutral items - Third row seating is not one for adults, period; it should only be used for kids. I would have like to pick out my options a bit more and be stuck with only this package as I would have liked having the option to choose a bit more. Engine noise is to me a bit higher than I would have expected for the four cylinders, but don't get me wrong I am being picky!
Overall I would give the Sorrento a strong 4 even a 4.8 on a 5 scale. I am very happy with my choice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprise

March 28, 2012
By Van Man
from Georgia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am a traveling salesman and have owned vans for fifteen years. They are great traveling vehicles so when my current van hit 190,000 miles my first inclination was to get another one. The Kia Sorento caught my eye but I had to convince myself that the Kia was up to the standards of the other cars I had owned. Ater a lot of research online and talking to people who owned a late model Sorento I became convinced that it was a good car. Test driving the car several times closed the deal. I purchased a new 2012 SX model. I have driven it now for 3,000 miles and have no complaints other than gas mileage which so far has not exceeded 22 mpg. It is a surprisingly smooth riding SUV, not that different from the vans I have owned. It has a lot of get up and go and many more features for the money than any other car I could find. I would recommend this car as long as gas mileage is not your top priority."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First 3000 Miles

March 5, 2012
By Student of the acr buying game
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The vehicle has many upsides. I own the LX with Convenience Package, 4 Cylinder GDI. The mileage has been generally good; I have clocked slightly over 27 mpg. The only downside is the ride; while I am already used to it, the 2011 Mariner base that I traded for the Sorento, rode better on the rugged city streets in Chicago."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very quiet

February 9, 2012
By Veronica
from Virginia Beach
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A little dissapointed with the sound system and gas mileage. Otherwise I reccomeng to anyone. Great dive, great comfort, quite, sturdy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gas Mileage?

January 7, 2012
By Retired Grandmother
from Oswego, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We like the car for everything but the gas mileage. We have the EX 4 cylinder GDI, but with 1600 miles on it, we have never got over 22 mpg. That is a big disappointment when it advertised 32 on the highway. We would feel good if we got 29 or 30. Also had the side steps on the model we had and had them removed. They were a hinderance of getting in and out of the car. My husband is 6 foot and he had the same problems that I had before we removed them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great car except for mileage

November 22, 2011
By dodge city
from KANSAS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"THIS CAR IS GREAT EXCEPT FOR HIGHWAY GAS MILEAGE!
I BOUGHT THIS KIA EX NEW. IT HAS THE GDI ENGINE. I HAVE CALCULATED THE HIGHWAY MILES SEVERAL TIMES AND THE MILEAGE HAS RANGED FROM 22MPG TO 26MPG. THESE WERE ALL HIGHWAY MILES AT NOT OVER 65 MILES PER HOUR. I NOW HAVE OVER 3000 MILES ON THIS CAR AND AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE GAS MILEAGE.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Kia_Sorento
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality Ridy

November 22, 2011
By Working Mom
from mesquite, tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Sorento in July 2011 and love it so far. Love the bluetooth iphone music connection and handsfree phone calls (standard). Seats are very comfortable, styling is great. I bought the basic model with convenience package and love it.
Sold a diesel 4 door sedan due to high maintenance cost (and frequent need for it) and I am satisfied giving up 44 mpg for 25-27 mpg. Driving 75-80 mph I get about 24-25 mpg, at 60-65 I get 27 mpg. I have a little over 7,000 miles on it so far and my kids praise the room they have in the back seat. I have a teenager who sits in the third row (5' tall) and says it's pretty comfortable back there too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.