Customer Reviews for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3

2012_Mazda_Mazda3

Average Customer Rating:
4.532 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 of 47(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Review 1 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smart Decision

August 11, 2014
By Mwah
from Virginia
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Oil change every 6,000-7,000 miles...AWESOME. I got 85 miles off of $28 in gas. This is awesome. Car looks fancy enough to me, kind of boss like. Inside, eh, not too hot. Material is very unforgiving. Scratches show up too easily but you forgot about the inside of the car once you get on that open road. Rev it into manual and you'll be on your way. Put the back windows down and you may experience some dissatisfaction, a deep tumbling sound whirs through your ears if you don't have the front ones down as well. Smaller type back seat to me, coming from someone who had a tank of a Chrysler Concorde LXI. Adequate trunk space, figuring I travel pretty heavily that's saying something. Very nice 6 speaker set-up. That bass rumbles or guitar beckons and your in heaven. The sound swirls around the small car as you weave and whip out of traffic."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Commuter's Car

May 15, 2014
By Commuter
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased a used 2012 Mazda3 touring i with the skyactiv engine. This car does exactly what I purchased it for... get great gas mileage. I am averaging 39 mpg with 80/20 highway/city driving. It was between this car and a honda civic and after test driving both, this car won me over. The seats are hard as other reviews have mentioned, but if you are not picky about your comfort level they will be just fine. The interior design is nice for the price, but there are a lot of cheap plastics. The engine does have a good amount of prep for a 4 cylinder. After having a G37x with 328hp, its obviously a downgrade in power for me, but there is plenty of low end torque to get you moving from a stop. The car handles great and is very smooth. The turn radius is incredibly small for tight turns and U-turns. Road noise of the highway is not an issue at all. The bluetooth is great for streaming Pandora to the radio. Overall, this is a very practical, economic car that I am hoping is going to last for many years to come."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God and my Mazda3 saved my life!

January 31, 2014
By Now Loyal Mazda3 Customer
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When we bought our 2012 Mazda3 hatchback, we absolutely loved everything about it, but little did we know how much more we could love it until I was t-boned in the driver side. I am now living proof of how incredibly well it protects its driver in what could have been a fatal accident. I was hit directly in the driver side door (by fault of the other driver who was going at a very high speed). Miraculously, I walked away from that accident with only contusions. The front and side airbags deployed and protected me incredibly well from both the impact and the completely shattered glass. It seems that the way the seat hugs you a bit also protected me from jerking too much to the side. Unfortunately, the Mazda was officially totaled so we miss it greatly, but when we are able to look for a replacement at some point, we'll definitely be in pursuit of the Mazda3."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I got what I was looking for

September 29, 2013
By happy buyer
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I looked for this car for weeks, I was about to give up, but I found it on cars.com and the dealer worked amazing with me. I am very happy"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mazda's Protection

July 23, 2013
By B
from Fife, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a silver 2010 Mazda a while back. What I had loved about that car was the comfort, the gas milage, and the overall look of the car. However, I was ran off the road and totaled my little Mazda, hitting a fire hydrant at 45 mph. I walked away with only a single bruise on my right thigh from the seat belt.
I used the money from my insurance claim to get into my 2012 Mazda 3 with the Skyactive engine. The first thing I noticed was the comfort and more sleek interior design. I also loved the larger rims, the newer headlight look, and the two tone sky blue mica color.
The interior of my Mazda is vinyl, with the six speaker Bose stereo system, bluetooth, and built in navigation system. The controls on the steering wheel are relatively easy to work and are a bit more different from its predecessor. I also had the moon roof, blind spot monitoring system, and the heated seats. The headlights move according to the direction I'm heading in and when I have the lights set to "Auto", the lights come on automatically when it gets dark, I enter a tunnel, or otherwise. My wipers have a similar function.
Gas mileage. In my 2010 Mazda, I had gotten about 28 mpg mixed city and highway driving. Now, I get about 34 mpg mixed highway and city driving. As of late, I've been doing more in city driving but for a tank full, I get about 260 mpg to 295 mpg for just in city. Mixed, I look at about 320 mpg.
The navigation system is easy to read, and reliable. I've yet to be mislead by it, and when I know I can or I have to take an alternate route, it adjusts to fit the new route. I can also switch my navigation screen to tell me information, like maintainance information. After 5000 miles, the vehicle informs me that I am due for an oil change and tire rotation service. This is nice because I don't have to pay attention to ridiculous stickers on my windshield.
Passengers.
I have a friend who is just over six foot tall, and just over 300 pounds. He can fit comfortable in my front seat, with plenty of leg room. Not so in the backseat. The backseat is definitely more cramped than the front, but minor adjustments can be made to comfortable seat five adults.
My only complaint is the electronic acceleration lag, however switching the car to the triptonic shifting system helps reduce the electronic lag from initial take off from a dead stop."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value and reliability

July 4, 2013
By Young at Heart
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is awesome from a price/value standpoint and with the manual tranny it gets 38+ mpg. Change the oil and it'll run flawlessly for years. Better than any Toyota or Honda. This car has style and class."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

things u need to know before buying a mazda3

May 18, 2013
By roman
from Boston,ma
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"ok, i went out and bought 2012 mazda3,used with 3k miles on it.tho it is practically new a few things surprised me. I gonna start with
PROS:
great on gas! it says it should get 25 mpg city but in reality it is actually 27 ish. It handles pretty good and in-town driving is very pleasant.best part(for me) it has the input port so i can listen to ipod or a phone thru stereo.radio has a pretty dissent sound even tho its only 4 speakers. now
CONS: VERY NOISY! Highway driving is very loud both from the pavement and wind noise.even within city driving on rough surface may be annoying.If you want to drive with lowered windows they rattle.. the none BOSE stereo plays only new CDs and skips on bumps.it keeps 80 mph very well on the highway but if you slow down and try to get back up there might take time.Now that the temperatures get in mid 70s it seems that the ac need to work harder to keep the interior cool.
So,even tho overall i am pretty happy with the car,I dont thinks its great for someone who commutes.i drive 90% city so it works for me but if i have to do more highway driving i'd rather drive something else. Hope this review helps)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car that I ever owned

March 9, 2013
By Jenn
from Chester, Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mazda was the first car that I ever owned. I am so excited about getting back into one because the 1st one I owned was incredibly reliable. My salesman, John Barnes went above & beyond to take good care of us... We will be back to Vogler's and will recommend our friends..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mazdas are Great!

March 5, 2013
By Tigcham
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hi
We just purchased a new Mazda 3 Skyactiv last month. It was a great deal. Classic Mazda of Orlando were terrific to deal with and made our decision easy. We are now almost a complete family of Mazdas which is saying a lot as we were diehard Chrysler people. This car makes the 5th Mazda our family have purchased in the last 3 years. They are reliable and FUN to drive. I would recommend one to anybody.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Economical, Fun Drive, Cheap Interior

February 26, 2013
By DC Commuter
from Washington, D.C.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nimble, fun driving I-Touring HB with auto trans, averages about 34 mgp mixed=hwy/city driving. (It eeked-out 40 mpg hwy all of once, going no faster than about 50, with no stoplights and a lot of downhills, About 36 hwy average seems more typical for me.) Great cornering, adequate braking, initial accelaration disappointing however. Love the Bose stereo and satellite radio options. Center console/armrest seems flimsy and too far back to rest arm on comfortably, and back seat legroom much less than my Civic. .A cinch to park in tight city parking spaces. Good commuter car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than toyota/Honda or Hyundai.

February 6, 2013
By Jarjarbinks
from San Diego
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car because my roommate has the RX9 model. I love the styling and sportiness that beats all the competitors. I've had a Honda and will never own a Toyota but this car delivers. The gas is great and it turns heads. Mazda knows how to build their cars and with the new SkyActiv line, even better! I plan to keep this car for a very long time til it dies so taking care of it wouldn't be a problem. Everything is great and I have no problems what's so ever.. however I wish they plugged 190 horsepower into it. Still, very peppy! Never regretted my purchase and I'll continue to buy the Mazda line."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent value for the price

January 28, 2013
By my 43rd purchase
from Fort Worth, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Comfortable and roomy inside, small and efficient outside.
Outstanding fuel efficiency (It delivered 45.5 average mpg over a 150 mile stretch of interstate ) considering this is a non-hybrid with 44 cubic feet of hauling space.
Excellent all-purpose vehicle that is well-equipped and affordably priced."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

January 25, 2013
By JFP
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this vehicle brand new right off the show room floor. Its the hatch back, fully loaded with a bose stereo system in it. Great car for the milage and the sportiness. Has plenty of room for long trips. I plan on keeping this car for a very long time.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pizza Dude

January 23, 2013
By AZ
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2012 Mazda3 and I deliver pizzas with it fulltime. In the first year I've already put 20,000+ miles on it. I really like it and still think it's fun to drive. For the size of the engine, it feels really sporty. I get around 25 mpg while driving around town and can easily get 40mpg on the highway. No problems so far, i have a feeling this thing might last for a while. Only minor complaints are a really small back seat, and the front windows are a bit loose and rattle at slower speeds."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

January 16, 2013
By bob
from Lowell, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased 2012 Mazda 3 HB with MT and now have 5500 miles on it. When it was warm outside I was easily getting 40 MPG, now that it is cold I average about 37. The seats can get a little uncomfortable on long drives of 2 hours or more. The only other thing I do not like is the idiot light placement, the high beam indicator and Cruise Control indicator are blocked by the top of the steering wheel. Other than that I am extreemly happy with the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Premature clutch failure

January 9, 2013
By Parysa
from Huntsville, AL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a 2012 Mazda 3 with a 5-speed manual transmission 14 months ago. I am a good driver and have been driving manuals for 10 years. The clutch has shredded and is "not covered by warranty" because it's over 12 months old. It's also had issues with the power sterering. I will never buy another Mazda again. This is my fourth one and their quality has drastically suffered."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE My Mazda

January 8, 2013
By Angie
from West Palm Beach, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I LOVE my Mazda 3 hatchback! It's a comfortable ride, with plenty of space or passengers and cargo. The hatchback makes it very easy to load/unload cargo. It's great on fuel. With the SkyActive engine, I average 33mpg, highway I can get as much as 42mpg. It handles extemely well, turns on a dime. I love it in tight parking lots! The only negative thing I have to say about it is it doesn't have extendable sun visors. But, I love it & highly recommend it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best vehicle I've ever driven!

January 5, 2013
By Sarah
from Baton Rouge, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased my 2012 Mazda 3 new and now has 400 miles on it. Very comfortable and gets great gas mileage. The engine is very peppy, but I'd like more power. But what do you expect in a compact car? Others in the class are sluggish in comparison. I love it and plan to keep it for a very long time!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great High MPG without Hybrid complexities

December 27, 2012
By Wanted high MPG
from Greenville, SC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Mazda 3i gives me 37 mpg driving around town. On longer trips, it's a 40+ mpg vehicle. Good acceleration and great brakes for the car. It's a little small for my comfort, but the high mpg's was what I wanted. My daughter and son love the car. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable vehicle with updated styling on the inside and out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Mazda_Mazda3
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Rented this car for a road trip

December 23, 2012
By Nick94
from Long Beach, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For a 10 hour drive from San Francisco to LA in the day and night, rain and wind, this car struggled to push. It moved well at highway speeds, but it was an uncomfortable ride in the cheaply made seats that really killed me. The stereo was pretty low-rent, too high on bass and not enough settings. The interior in general was pretty cheap feeling. The handling was good for a compact sedan though. If I had to rent a car again, I would avoid this, if you want to buy this, you may want to look at a Jetta, Elantra, or Focus instead."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.