Customer Reviews for 2012_Nissan_Altima

2012_Nissan_Altima

Average Customer Rating:
4.327 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
48 of 55(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Review 1 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

comfort at its best!

May 27, 2014
By heather
from tennessee
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We just recently purchused our 2012 altima! After previoulsy owning a 2003 altima older body style, We decided a nissan was best for us. Our previous altima still had 300,000 miles on it and still running! and still booking for 3,000 dollars. I hope this car will do the same for us. Very comfortable & has some spunk, very quick. So far we are very happy with this car. Perfect for a small family!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First Real Car

March 17, 2014
By Loving My Altima
from Colorado Springs, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm a college student so this 2012 Nissan Altima is the first car that I've had, other than the hand-me-down minivan from my parents. I absolutely love how the car drives. The van I mentioned is also a Nissan and it is 13 years old and still running so my family and I really trust the Nissan brand. The Altima is so roomy inside and the outside just looks great. I am in love and obsessed with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's not a Maxima but it's ok

March 5, 2014
By JayTee
from Chicago Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought it with 35K miles it now has 55K. I paid 24,000 for the car, so needless to say I paid wAy to much, which is completely my fault. Other then that the car drives and handles pretty good. I didn't know at the time of purchase but it can act as a manual stick..this if you know how to use it makes the car get up and go quick. I don't like the noise that the engine constantly makes..It can sometimes sound like an airplane"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nissan Altima

February 21, 2014
By surotch
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The stick moves in towards the drivers leg to go into manual transmission mode. A few times I have accidentally slipped it into manual. Also if you are going about 60MPH slip the trans into manual and shift up to 6th gear. I do this for extreme gas mileage. Great car!! Has AUX, and cruise! I paid a little over 11G for mine!! Great deal Love it!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a good bargin

December 8, 2013
By GTS
from New Jersey
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this Altima SL new 2012 The cars blue tooth is a waste. The engine is a 2.5 Noisy clank clattering for the first 5 minutes cold! Oh and if you start it cold and shut the engine down after a minute good luck starting it. I had to move the car 20 feet started it cold and in the morning it wouldn't start! Its a known fact about Altimas! Overall this car was $27,800 dollars on the sticker and not worth it. Car now has 33,000 miles. Not Worth it you'll see for yourself. Bad on wet or snow roads!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

October 20, 2013
By Tonette
from Lousisiana
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2012 pre certified Altima. I love, love my car, I have traveled to Houston from Baton Rouge two times the gas mileage is wonderful. I filled up in Baton Rouge and when I made it to Houston 280 miles later I had only used a half a tank of gas. The ride is smooth, really smooth, I didn't realize I was going as fast as I was until I was stopped by the state trooper. But I still love my car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

September 28, 2013
By Sports car
from Lithia Springs, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have only had my Altima about a month but so far I am very happy with my purchase! I purchased it for about $15,500 it had a little over 46,000 miles it used to be a rental car but it handles great. The sales person Ceci worked with my finances and knew everything about the cars i was interested in."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best car I ever had

August 25, 2013
By NISSANDRIVER
from Cleveland OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been driving Altimas since 2008 and I am really satisfied with this make. I enjoy driving nice designed and good on gas car. I recomed to buy NISSAN ALTIMA."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Car I ever owned!

July 9, 2013
By fah2011
from St Augustine Florida
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This car is dangerous to drive on a windy day, the car has too high of a profile and the lightest wind gust will toss the car. The other problem is the cabin is too noisy, road noise and wind noise.. Terrible car, I hate it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

BEWARE !!

June 29, 2013
By milkel
from Hunt Valley, MD
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Cook Auto quote a price as internet price and when you reach their place to view the car you are told that the actual price is $2,500 - $3,000 higher than what is shown as internet price. This happened to me when I saw the internet price of $13,884 for a 2011 Nissan Altima, and was told the price is actually $16,900 when I reached there. Upon asking what the difference is for, I was told it is the cost of reconditioning the car, transportation from their point of purchase to their Showroom, paperwork, etc.
This is simply ridiculous, for the reason that ALL the above stated costs have been incurred BEFORE the car has been advertised and are hence very well known to the seller, then why not include them in the price???
For me, I felt cheated for the time, efforts and costs I had to put in to reach there in order to view the cars.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bang for your buck!

June 4, 2013
By RoseRay
from Monroe, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After reading other reviews and having owned similiar sedans of other makes we narrowed our search for the 2.5S Altima. We took our time searching and wound up driving 250 miles to pick up this car from a dealership. We actually had never even been in an Altima. Our test drive and my wife's return trip home confirmed what we had read. The car has a relatively quite ride and the sporty feel does not take away from the comfort of the ride. We can't imagine why you would need the 6 cyl. because the 4 has power to spare and we are both lets say, slightly aggressive drivers? The bluetooth works great for hands free phone. I've been on both ends of a conversation and it's way better than listening through a headset. Oh and did I mention the A/C is arctic like? We bought this car with 19K miles and have only had it 3 weeks but I really don't foresee any problems. It is really tight and I haven't found any flaws with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My New Altima!!

February 22, 2013
By ruby_b09
from Fontana, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought a car at Fontana Nissan. Its the 2012 Altima coupe, it is a very nice car. Im really happy with this car. And it is really good on gas!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I have ever owned !

February 4, 2013
By Tiff
from Shreveport,La
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Altima is awesome! I also want to brag on the dealership I bought it from Orr Nissan is Shreveport,La! The BEST dealership I have ever dealt with! No hassles no gimmicks straight business !"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vehicle very spacious

January 31, 2013
By Altimist
from Oklahoma City, Ok
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have only had my Altima about a month but so far I am very happy with my purchase! I purchased it for about $15,500 it had a little over 30,000 miles it used to be a rental car but it handles great. It has a little bit of get up and go when you push on the gas but overall I am happy with the gas mileage. It averages around 30 miles a gallon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good car

December 7, 2012
By Edward
from Columbia, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If I had the choice to do it over, I would still buy the same car. Quiet, comfortable, fuel efficient, and good looking. I only wish I had power seat."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, reliable car for the money

November 26, 2012
By Altima Girl
from Irving Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My last two cars were Altima's and I knew my next car would be a Nissan Altima. Very few mechanical problems and overall a reliable car. I got a used 2012 Altima. Would love to get the Maxima but to get a current year model is out of my price range."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beat car ever

October 17, 2012
By Black beauty
from Montclair, California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I first test drove my car I new it was the one.. It is very comfortable. My last vehicle was a mini van. Now that my children are getting older I had to find something that was comfortable for family but something that looked nice for me... Thanks to the Nissan dealers for working around my budget and finding me the right car... We're all happy and it's great on gas just got back from Northern California"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

can't win with this car

September 19, 2012
By UNhappy camper
from IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my brand new 2012 Nissan altima 2 weeks ago. I have driven it for a grand total of 5 days at this point. Why you ask? Well let me tell you. I owned this car for 4 days when I walked outside on my way to work in the morning to find my sunroof shattered. At first I assumed it was vandalism until I took a closer look. It became warped up from too much pressure on the sides of the glass from a factury defect with the car which caused it to shatter. It took it back to the dealer that day and 8 days later (they struggled getting all the shattered glass out from in between the pannels of the car) I have my car back. Frustrating!!! I also don't like the windows of the car. It doesn't have good visibility to begin with but then, if it has rained lately and I go outside in the morning to find condensation on my windows, I'm driving blind. The condensation takes 3 times longer to disappear from the back window of the nissan than it did my previous car. As far as my passenger and driver side windows, you might as well consider them useless as well. In my previous car, I would just roll down the window and roll it right back up and it was taken care of. In the Altima, nothing touches the window as is rolls down so NONE of the condensation gets removed. All in all, I have had a terrible 2 weeks with my brand new 2012 Nissan Altima."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Boring

September 4, 2012
By Driver of Many
from San Diego
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This is one of 40 or so cars I have owned in my life. It has to be one of the most boring sedans as well. I have had problems with tires on the highway and shimmy problems making the car unstable. Had to go back to dealer to trade to another brand which fixed it. The seats are uncomfortable for longer than 1/2 hr. of driving. The CVT transmission is loud and annoying on any hills as you are waiting for it to shift and it just screams which is another problem. Car is extremely loud on inclines and different road surfaces and quite on others. There is also a buzz in the dash passenger area that is annoying. Overall the 3 Hyundai auto's I owned prior are much better made and have higher quality. Not once did they have to go back the dealer. Not quite sure why this car is such a big seller. It's one of the most boring cars I have ever owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Nissan_Altima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 Altima--so far, OK, but NissanUSA?

September 1, 2012
By Cautious owner
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I was much displeased with the manner in which the sales rep misrepresented what I sought. I was taking the dealership up on its supposed liquidation, but every time I inquired about XM radio or navigation, I was directed a much more expensive trim.
Told that the XM was easily available in the aftermarket and given a retailer to call, I drove off in what was a smoothly accelerating, comfortable car.
It turned out the the retailer could not install the XM radio as part of the existing radio. When I called the dealership, I was told that the XM was not "native" to the 2.5 trim.
I felt trapped and betrayed.
NissanUSA was responsive until I made it clear that I was blaming not the dealer but NissanUSA for not arranging for aftermarket installation by the dealership. After then, NissanUSA cut off communication with me.
At 3,000 miles, I cannot yet comment on reliability; however, given the number of Altimas on the road, I expect mine to be reliable.
If you want a much less expensive automobile (but with less pickup and power), with as much space inside as a mid-size car and with the excellent CVT shifting in all non-manuals, I suggest the Sentra SR with the SE package. It includes Bluetooth, a moonroof, XM radio, GPS navigation, and other goodies for which one must pay more when purchasing the overpriced Altima. You should be able to purchase the Sentra I describe for under $17,400.
The Sentra is much like the Corolla; it lasts and it is reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.