Customer Reviews for 2012_Nissan_Rogue

2012_Nissan_Rogue

Average Customer Rating:
4.1 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
31 of 40(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Review 1 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

just put my Rogue through the wringer...

September 14, 2012
By the canyon cat
from Grand Junction, Colorad
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"owned it for about a month (4 cy. SV). Drove it loaded with camping equipment and two bikes on a rear rack to Idaho and Nevada. Never seemed to struggle on up-grades and showed plenty of pep in heavy traffic. Fun to drive, and I really like the continous variable transmission. Only noticeable drone was during climbing, but usually quiet as a mouse. At 65 mph, seems to be going 50. Gas mileage pretty good, even with all the added weight. My only wish was that, since we do travel some rough dirt roads into canyon country, it would be better if the lowest gearing was "lower" than it is. Still, I knew I wasn't buying a 4-Runner (which I had) and the Rogue clearance above ground is very sufficient for those off-road excursions. Also, rear storage is less than Rav4 and others, but unless you need a lot, and need it often, there is enough space.
My wife and I love the keyless entry, and the rear vision monitor is very helpful, but sometimes hard to see (and trust) during daylight hours, so don't just back up blindly. It's meant to be an aid, not relieve one of the responsibility to be careful.
I'm very happy with my Rogue. Peppy, fund to drive, good mileage, relaxing interior with moveable driver's seat to fit my near 6 ft length or my wife's 5'2", great turning wheelbase, and sufficient clearance for crossover suv. I would recommend testing one before buying any of the crossovers. You might be surprised... and pleased!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Fill up with premium

February 17, 2014
By Yanks
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I don't know why they just don't tell everyone this car is premium only when I was filling with regular I was getting 13.4 mpg when I went to premium I was getting 15.7 mpg improvement but still not good thank god I do mostly high way driving I can't imagine if I did a lot of city"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Safe Vehicle

December 29, 2013
By Larry
from San Antonio, Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This automobile has been a life saver for my wife and myself. We got rear ended and very little damage was done to my Rogue, the other auto was almost totaled.. Our seat belts saved us from being killed. The car that hit us went under us and hit my back tires. The 2012 Nissan Rogue is by far One of the safest SUV'S on the road. I highly recommend this Nissan Products"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Vehicle!

November 11, 2013
By Check Check
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This vehicle provides the comfort and reliability I've been looking for. The Rogue gives you the feel of a full size SUV, combined with the feel of a smaller car. This car is also very fuel efficient and great for traveling. I haven't had the car for a very long time but so far I love it! I also hear nothing but good things from my fellow Rogue owners. I'm a fan of Nissan to begin with and I definitely recommend!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Never buy another Nissan

November 4, 2013
By Average Jane
from Austin, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a 2012 Nissan brand new, worked fine for the first 6 months, then the problems began. First my transmission acts funny and like a comment from another reviewer, it is like it doesn't know what gear it needs to be in. They can never solve this issue. Then a few months later my ABS and VDC light starting coming on. After SEVERAL to the dealer, they finally replaced the sensor. Few weeks later, the lights were coming back on and now accompanied by my e-brake light. While driving on the highway, my acceleration just cut out!!! Later that trip my brakes starting acting up. DO NOT FEEL SAFE driving this car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Shifter Issue

September 18, 2013
By Not Liking It
from Calgary, Alberta
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It's not so much the Rogue as Nissan that I have a problem with. This car is not at all good in winter unless you're willing to use the paddle shifters to get around. It also feels a little tippy going around corners. Very bad blind spots as well. My main issue is the shifter. In order to shift out of park I have to put a screw driver in the shifter override. Nissan doesn't know what's wrong with it and wants to charge me a ton of money to figure it out. Because of that won't be buying Nissan again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this car

August 14, 2013
By Brandy
from Crystal River, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a Nissan Altima 2010 before I traded it in for the Nissan Rogue 2012. I'm not a fan of SUV's but this Rogue blew me away. It's not to big but I do get the space I need. I loved my Altima but having 2 kids I felt I needed a little more space for the 4 of us. I really love the back up camera it has. Over all Nissan has won me over."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

July 24, 2013
By daily iowa driver
from Marshalltown Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Where do you even start I bought my first Rouge in 2010 brand new was the 360* package and I loved it great gas mileage fun to drive back up monitor in the rearview mirror was very easy to use. Unfortunately I put 75,000 miles on it in 2 and a half years and had to trade it in and bought a 2013 special edition and let me tell you the new added standard features (drive computer, XM radio, fog lights and back up monitor in the radio) are great. I drive this daily round trip 80 miles and found if you go the speed limit or a little under you can get 30+mpg avg... if I had to complain about anything its the sport mode button location I've inadvertently pushed it on more than one occasion I love my Rouge and Nissan has won me as a loyal customer for life, My wife now drives an Altima and we fight over who drives what when going out of town or long trips. My son prefers the Rouge because his car seat is up higher and he can see more vroom vrooms while riding in the back."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Under Powered, Noisy, Steers Like a Blimp

June 6, 2013
By Iowa Pilot
from Des Moines
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I recently rented one these and can't believe how much of an effort it is drive this vehicle. Besides the care being grossly under powered the acceleration uneven and the transmission is brutal. When accelerating the transmission always seems to be unsure of what gear it needs to be in.
At highway speeds the road and wind noise is worse than what it is in my truck. The brakes, although sufficient, have a mushy feel to them removing any confidence that I could stop quickly enough in an emergency. The fit and finish is adequate but is composed of a lot of thin cheap plastics.
There are much better vehicles out there for the money. I would avoid this at all costs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoying my new car

March 4, 2013
By MollieH
from Somerset County, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really enjoying my new Rogue. It is extremely comfortable and easy to drive. Even the base model has iPod connectivity built in which is very convenient."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

decent car

January 4, 2013
By mcw
from L.I.,NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned 4 extended minivans over the years, 4 kids explains that. I have no intention of ever owning a car so I looked at small, midsize suvs. The Rogue handles well, is fun to drive. cargo space is a problem I have found. not enough. I have also found that rear view sight lines are not great. It is a design problem. I am very careful backing out of the driveway, any parking space. The rear window is tiny and it has very limited viewing. Wish it came with rear view camera. So far am happy with it and would recommend."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing cross over

December 30, 2012
By GM enthusiast (formerly)
from Pittsburgh PA area
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm very impressed with the Rogue. It was purchased as a 2012 leftover in December 2012. It's very roomy inside. The amenities are impressive .The pickup is quick. One of the biggest selling factors was the backup camera . The price was very competitive for the equipment"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is the crappiest car I have ever owned!!!

December 5, 2012
By horseys
from dallas. tx
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Lets start by saying I am not a car snob. My past 5 cars have been Hyundais. I decided to get something a little bigger and liked the look of the 2012 Rogue. Bought a fully loaded SL with every option. Brand new. This car rattles and squeaks like a kia with 200K miles on it. Gas mileage has only been 19mpg. Clock is broke and the Bose stereo is crackling like it came from the dollar store. I hate this cheaply made suv and I cant get rid of it fast enough. Do not buy one of these!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best car I've ever owned

November 29, 2012
By I'm just happy!
from Malta, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanna thank Saratoga Nissan for the great experience of buying my first new car. Marc Cronhimer was my sales person and he helped me to choose the right vehicle to meet my needs! I'm still absolutely impressed by his knowledge and perfect service that he gave me! I would recommend him at any time. Saratoga Nissan is the best place to buy a car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome Car !!!! Very Comfortable for long drive

November 29, 2012
By Owais79
from chicago, il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought 2012 model year ago AWD with special edition, there are plenty of additions in SE, the drive is pretty good specially when you are taking it for long ride and obviously for Chicago weather the AWD is needed. as a standard the rear spoiler/chrome door handles/chrome molding are superb and gives appealing looks to the exterior..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love My Rogue

October 29, 2012
By Family Mom
from Maplewood, Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Starting with the color right down to the comfort and reliability, I love my Rogue. I knew that I wanted a new car, a car that still had cargo space, but didn’t look like "Moms Taxi". I traded in the "Van" for the Nissan Rogue. The seating is spacious. I love the stereo system and the option to get Sirius XM radio. I fill up the tank half as much as I had been. Also, living in Minnesota demands good traction in the winter, so AWD was very important. The extra bonus is the continuously variable transmission which maximizes my fuel economy and power. I thought that I would have a hard time getting rid of my 6 cylinder but I actually don't even think about it anymore. This car has great pick up!! I Love it!! I'll be trading this one in for a new car in three years and I guarantee it will be for the Newest Rogue!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good price if you bargin a lot

October 5, 2012
By Wanda
from Houston
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this for Drive out price $21000. I feel it is a pretty good deal to spend on a mini SUV with a car price.
the rogue feels good, looks good. I will recommend it.
But I don't know why I always feel it's weak. Maybe because just in one week of purchase, my rogue suffered a tire damage by neils on road.
Well, this is a Japanese car made in Japan, I cannot compare it to American heavy & strong SUV, right?
anyway, it worth the price, as for now.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Styling!! Excellent value for small families

September 7, 2012
By Family Guy
from Philadelphia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought Nissan Rogue 2012 Special Edition AWD after selling my 2006 Corolla S.
Requirement
- Looking for a crossover which could address the city-highway driving requirements for small family (couple and an infant) with decent looks, good MPG and good value. And it fit the bill perfectly.
- AWD - We get lot of snow here in Phily and AWD became a necessity.
Pros
- Special Edition provided very good value esp with the reverse parking monitor, decent audio system and fog lamps; a must for this SUV which huge D Pillars which limits visibility.
- Great styling and performance are top notch with ever reliable Nissan quality. Its a looker !!
- iPod/iPhone Integration is good. Ability to stream audio from Radio Apps is good.
- Good MPG. I have been getting 21.0 MPG in summer with A/C in typical city driving conditions which is pretty… good although Corolla numbers are history.
Cons
- Lacks auto-headlights in base S trim. At times you may not realize that headlights are not turned on esp night time.
- Limited cargo space although it fits the bill for all usual travel requirements.
- Slightly underpowered for quick passing at highways. For expereinced drivers it should not be an issue after initial acclimitization.
- Rear bench seats.
Suggestions
- Parking monitor is a must have with huge D Pillors.
- Bumper protector is a must have to avoid damage because of the distinctive styling.
- Take test drive on a highway to get used to feel of CVT with high acceleration.
- Like other compact crossovers its offroad capabilities are strictly pavement only.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Am totaly satisfied

September 1, 2012
By dgstriker1
from Yonkers New York..
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"with the nissa rogue.. Love the way it handle takes turns, and just love the way it looks. Im getting about 22 mpg gallon mixed driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Nissan_Rogue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

tried a Nissan and loved hope it handled, and comf

August 26, 2012
By zoom zoom
from Massapequa NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Rogue handles very well, and I love the backup camera! Good sound system, and very comfortable to sit in-in traffic. I like the styling of the car-and see many on the road...now I know why."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.