Customer Reviews for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta

2012_Volkswagen_Jetta

Average Customer Rating:
4.264 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 of 53(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Review 1 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best. Car. EVER! (Jetta TDI with Prem/Navigation)

September 20, 2012
By VW Convert
from Boston, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car 3 1/2 months ago and I can't believe I'm saying this but I'm in love with my car. I almost didn't buy this car because the clutch was so funky (I drive manual transmission) but I'm so glad I didn't let that get in the way. A few days of driving the car and I got used to the clutch - now it's easy peasy and it never stalls on me. I needed a car that had manual transmission, had great performance, low maintenance AND great gas mileage. This baby had it all. At first I drove the car pretty fast, having fun with the acceleration & all.. the newness wore off eventually and I mellowed out - now on the highway, I can get close to 715 miles to a tank of gas (that's 50mpg!) but if I get stuck in traffic or do a lot of city driving, I'm averaging about 600-625 miles (or 42-43mpg) which is still pretty decent! Diesel RULES!!
I got the Premium/Navigation package and boy am I glad I did. I use the Nav all the time, although at times "she's" taken me on some funky detours. Still, when I'm in unfamiliar surroundings or am forced to take alternate routes because of construction, it has saved my butt more often than not. I also use the sunroof a lot in the summer.
The interior is pretty comfortable and interior design is pretty intuitive overall - although some of the features take some getting used to. I LOVE the fact that the windshield wipers have a bazillion different settings - it makes a huge difference when driving in various weather conditions. Haven't had a chance to try out the heated seats yet but I KNOW I'll love them when winter is here! A/C works as expected. Cargo space is awesome - it's amazing how much you can "stuff" in there!
The ride is smooth and the engine is (for a diesel) pretty quiet. Sound system is great - love the touch screen! And the Bluetooth is just the greatest invention ever. I love that my Blackberry can connect to it automatically and I can take phone calls hands-free!
The visibility on the driver's side is my only issue. The side bar between the front and back windows gets a bit in the way and I find myself having to lean forward and turning my neck more than I should have to in heavy traffic just to make sure nobody's sitting in my blind spot...
This car has amazing performance, acceleration when you need it, takes curves like nobody's business (the car doesn't even tilt!) and did I mention outstanding gas mileage? That alone should make you want to get this car!
This is my first VW.. and my first diesel. Now I know why I couldn't find any used ones! Nobody wants to sell their Diesels because they're such an amazing car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very competent vehicle

November 19, 2014
By CACarGuy
from Northern CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Owned this vehicle for just over 2-yrs (bought new). I have just under 40K miles. No complaints/no issues. My only beef is that I typically get between 26mpg and 27mpg (mostly freeway) and not the EPA metrics. This vehicle stills handles like it did when new (Conti tires helps that). I chose the gas version over the TDI (diesel fuel in CA is priced above premium - and even with the mileage difference, I could not see any value purchasing the TDI). I also have the Tiptronic auto, which is a nice touch for this type of vehicle. The maintenance service was covered for the 1st 36K miles. Sticker shocked when I saw the 40K service would be $400. I still would purchase again, however."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

First and Last Jetta

September 6, 2014
By TDI owner
from san mateo, ca
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Lots and lots of detail and design flaws within the car:
~Both sun visors barely cover any sun, the passenger visor does not slide out- it's basically useless.
~Rattles everywhere! The subwoofer in the back is the biggest problem, it rattles even if I'm playing high quality music through bluetooth or auxiliary, I have taken the car to the shop and they said they can't do anything about this. i have to lower my bass settings to below zero.
~Weather seals of the door come off, which apparently is NOT under warranty, because a new part had to be bought.
~Seat position is uncomfortable and awkward
~Playing Bluetooth audio through the my phone crashes the computer system of the touchscreen
~Occasionally, once volume is shut all the way down, it wont turn back up; fixing this requires turning the car off then on again
~headlights go off often, even though they are manual, and there is no dashboard light that comes on to warn me even though I paid for a premium package.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little car

August 15, 2014
By stick lover
from Libertyville, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the Jetta. Finding it on cars got us a great deal. The car handles very well, and gas mileage is very good. No complaints We wanted a manual transmission and there were few options. Jetta was the best."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best cars I've ever owned

April 27, 2014
By TDi fan
from Tucson, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2012 VW Jetta TDi Premium w/nav in October of 2013. Initially I was going for the Golf TDi, as I'm more of a hatchback fan, but one test drive in this car and I was sold. This is my first VW, the first of hopefully many VW products. This car feels very well made and the design looks as if it will stand the test of time.
I love the features on this car. The Fender sound system is possibly one of the best sound systems I've ever experienced. The nav system is pretty slick. The only thing I would like is a bigger screen, but overall, the system works very well. This car also has the typical VW traits and features. It's fun to drive, handles well, the diesel engine rocks, all of the windows have auto up/down power windows, and my personal favorite, dial-a-position power sunroof.
I highly recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a fun to drive car with great fuel economy and great performance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

i have issues with this car

April 24, 2014
By reviewer
from canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I drive a 2012 jetta 2.5, automatic. this car has been in and out of dealership.
My first bad experience was at about 30 000km, when i tried to drive to work, as i got onto the highway, the car would not shift out of 3rd gear once it reached 60km/hr. I was stuck on the highway and had to wait for tow truck. After checking, the dealer said there was something wrong with the sensor, replaced it, and it seemed to fix that..
My second bad experience was at about 60 000km. I started to notice rough shifting a low speeds, whether i am downshifting or upshifting. Then one day, the check engine light came on, so i had to bring it in to dealer. Again, they said there's something wrong with computer sensor, replaced that, and fixed out. However, that was only about 3 weeks ago, and the same thing happened again just yesterday 4/23/2014. I will need to bring it in again, hopefully they can fix that.
On top of this, the parts on this car doesn't fit very well, the plastic on the car body around the doors where it closes dont' fit, i've got a 1/2inch gap right now, and i can't push the plastic back in. The cover for the airbag on the A-pillar doesn't fit, it's got bits sticking out. The rear deck behind the rear seat rattles as the music is turned on. (A subwoofer is mounted under it in the trunk, i fixed this myself by stuffing clothing inside the trunk lid space between the deck and body)
I can't imagine what will happen to this car once it goes past warranty...i'm desperately counting down on the days left until my lease expires so i can get a new car!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good guy

February 15, 2014
By TJ
from Rocky Mount
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hello my name is Tony, I recently found a Volkswagen Gli that i was very interested in an so I called about it. A great salesman name Darryl Radford looked out with a great deal and got me financed an out the door in no time! If youre interested in a Volkswagen of any kind get in touch with him thats a good guy! Thanks Keffer VW."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Joy to Drive

December 7, 2013
By VW Crazy
from Greenwood, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A VERY clean, smooth ride. Obviously a well maintained vehicle. Low mileage, clean interior, excellent safety features. Especially that the trunk can open from the inside! I had no idea but in addition to the other safety features, it can't hurt to have. A great deal for the money and an extremely pleasant buying experience overall."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jetta Tdi Premium

October 5, 2013
By Max
from El Paso, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After having my 2012 VW Jetta Tdi for a year I can honestly say its the best car I have ever had. I traded in my 10 Mustang for this car because I needed a car with better gas mileage. And I'm very impressed. I drive 12 miles to and from work and only fill the car up every 3 weeks. Other things I like is the Fender sound system, exterior styling and the 2 years of free maintenance from VW. Love the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most confort and high tech car I've owned

September 29, 2013
By jetta man
from san juan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Also owner of Jetta II and jetta IV Std. transmission. Now very happy with my 2012 Jetta VI (SEL). Best german car brand for the Price."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The world would be cleaner if everyone owned a TDI

September 28, 2013
By nubbster
from Saskatchewan, Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely love this car! clean, quiet, powerful, amazing fuel economy, many comfort features, good styling! All the benefits of a hybrid plus power and reliability for thousands less!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this well built car (2012 Jetta TDI SE)

September 23, 2013
By AggieGuy93
from College Station, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"User submitted photo
I bought a 2012 Jetta TDI SE with 26k miles on it. I just had my free 30k service done and I really like this car a lot. This car is very well built with quality parts. The Jetta TDI deisel engine takes a second to get use to because it does not break in for about 50k miles and learns how you drive. I am use to it now and it does not bother me. The engine may be small but it produces enough power for me with the turbo and diesel torque. All of this while sipping diesel at a crazy 32 city and 49 highway for me. I can go 630 miles on a tank and it only cost about 50 dollars to fill up. The DSG transmission is so smooth, and I can't feel the car shift. This car is so smooth on the road, and it is also very agile/ responds quickly. The exterior is sporty with the front air dam and looks futuristic. I hear people say the interior looks cheap, but in my personal opinion I think its fine. It's not a Bentley interior but it still looks quality and the seats are comfortable. The speakers in the 2012 Jetta TDI SE are absolutely horrible. That's the only main issue with the car. This car standard has features like leather, heated seats, and a heated windshield fluid. Also this Jetta TDI is a compact car but it has plenty of room for me and I am 5'11 235lbs. Also I love the care free maintenance but the first one I have to pay for at 40k is 650$ plus 350$ for something with the DSG. Thats crazy. All that said I bought this 2012 Jetta TDI because of the quality, reliability, MPG, and I feel like I got what I asked for and much more.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

VW Jetta

August 17, 2013
By VW
from Sahuarita, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I found the car in cars.com. like I want it, but 110 miles away from home, but I got the vehicle I wanted, color,
style and price. thank you, cars. com
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst car made by vw

August 1, 2013
By njdriver
from New Jersey
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I currently own 2 cars made by VW. after driving a 2012 jetta for 2 years, i can say with absolute certainty that this is the absolute worst car made by VW. engine parts do not fit together to the point that several caps and seals come off as you drive triggering your check engine light to come on and off sporadically. VW refuses to extend the warranty probably because they are well aware of its low quality. my car has been in and out from the dealer since i purchased it. during one month I had to take it in 5 times. would never recommend this car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 VW (VOLKSWAGEN) GLI AUTOBAHN W/ NAV

June 9, 2013
By Loyal VW Owner
from The Woodlands, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is by far my favorite car and my favorite VW I've owned. This is my 5th one I've owned. It is quick, reliable, comfy, stylish and all of the above. We bought this car 10 months ago and have driven 9,000 miles in road trips alone. It is so nice to drive long distances and the navigation is on point. The Fender sound system is the best I've heard, ever. I've test driven dozen of cars lately, looking for a SUV for my family and I always test the sound and it never compares! I would highly recommend this car without a doubt!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sharp, economical car for the times

February 25, 2013
By Alamolawman
from San Antonio, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Jetta looks nice, runs very well, has terrific fuel economy and is a very good value, as it was purchased with 34,000 miles already on the odometer and is a certified vehicle by the VW dealership. That is the best way to buy reliable transportation in 2013."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ThriftyBMW

February 13, 2013
By OmahaJetta2.5SE
from omaha, ne
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got the 2.5 sun and sound. Love the stereo system. Very comfortable I am 6ft 6 and have no problems. I have the 5 speed and 1st gear is a tad sluggish but than kicks in nicely. Love the touchscreen and bluetooth. It really is just as nice as a BMW 3 series and even bigger."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stick shift for an old lady

February 6, 2013
By kk
from Milwaukee, WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the manual transmission -- hadn't driven one for many years and it feels so good. I try to think of reasons I need to get somewhere just so I can have the fun of driving this smart little car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jetta TDI

February 2, 2013
By ashton
from Staunton, va
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The only problem with this car is that it doesn't have a comfortable armrest, they want to upgrade to a Passat in order to have a comfortable place for your arm. Other than that the best car I've ever had."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jetta SEL

January 6, 2013
By Yelkiot
from Kansas City, Mo
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My previous car was a 1990 Lexus LS400, so take that into consideration on this review. My previous car was the best of the best. After owning it for the last 8 years and putting on 120k miles bringing the car to 300k, it was time to get something else to replace it. I didn't like any of the newer lexus or toyota models due to the styling. I wanted something that was affordable and with some style that I could give to the kids as they started driving. I was not interested in the Jetta until I saw a Jetta SEL with the silver/gold paint and the nicer 17 inch wheels. I could not believe how sharp this combination looked together. I was sold. One year later, I can say that I am happy with the purchase. I am at 12k miles and have had no issues. My main complaint is the sound of the 2.5 engine. My favorite items are the bluetooth capability and the ipod/iphone port in the glovebox."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.