Customer Reviews for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat

2012_Volkswagen_Passat

Average Customer Rating:
4.68 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
48 of 50(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Review 21 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

50 mpg in large family sedan

June 25, 2012
By TDI, manual transmission
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have purchased a 2012 VW Passat TDI SE, 6 speed manual transmission. I have driven this car for 4500 miles so far, and it is great. With a 0-60 of 9 seconds, it is quite quick, considering that it gets 50 mpg on the highway. And the car is quite large inside. The rear legroom is phenomenal. There is more space back there than in a new Mercedes E class sedan. And the trunk is very large as well, just as large as the E class. For a breakdown of fuel economy, here is what I obtain:
1) Commuting to and from work (Chicago horrible traffic), I have a 80 mile roundtrip that takes me 3 hours per day. I have gotten 38.4 to 39.9 mpg so far in this heavy traffic with air conditioning on.
2) On a long road trip (400 miles), I have obtained 46.82 mpg, with the cruise set at 75 mph and air conditioning on, although the trip average was 69 mph due to some construction.
The above mpg's are hand calculated. After the engine breaks in some more, if I slow to 70 mph, and if I do not use the A/C, I suspect I will obtain 50+ mpg.
So, as you can tell, this new passat TDI is a very fuel efficient car, fun to drive (because of the manual transmission), and quite a large car. The passat TDI gets better than Prius fuel efficiency except it is a larger, better looking more performant car. Buy this car and you will not regret it.
-MR-
Chicago, IL
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like VW diesels

June 18, 2012
By Butch
from Spring Hill Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the sixth VW diesel I've owned and this 2012 Passat has the most cabin room yet. I do wish the interior was a little nicer, less hard plastic and more like the Tiquan. Love the mileage and so far I've haven't had any problems with this vehicle (7335) miles on it so far."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST CAR EVER

May 13, 2012
By Peter
from ATLANTA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"0 EMISSIONS, BIG AND COMFY, ASSEMBLED IN THE USA(I'M PROUD I HELPED CREATING AMERICAN JOBS), ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION MADE IN GERMANY-WINNING COMBINATION, UNMATCHED FUEL EFFICIENCY FOR ITS CLASS!!! ALSO UNMATCHED SAFETY RATING!!! I ACTUALLY WANNA GIVE IT A TEN STAR RATING"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Luxe and Affordable

May 1, 2012
By Long-Term Car Owner
from Bay Hundred Maryland
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Test drove other Brands and found the fit and finish of the Passat to be superior. Many features are standard as opposed to the complicated options packages on other Brands. The Passat holds the road extremely well, the acceleration is instant, and the instrument panel is excellent, a breeze to use. Have owned previous cars for a number of years and I expect the Passat to perform equally well or better."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st ever VW

April 23, 2012
By middle age commuter
from Oregon
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the TDI SE diesel 2 months ago. I traded in my 2004 Honda for it. What a contrast! T haven't been this pleased with a car since my 4-WD f-150 from 20+ years ago. The Passat is a sharp looking, powerful, comfortable vehicle, and for the money it's a great deal. It hugs the road- handling is excellent and the 6 on the floor manual makes fun driving. I get 35 mpg commuting and 46 to 47 on the highway. The mileage is outrageous and I'm not cramped in a sardine can either. After years of driving the bland Hondas and Toyotas, I don't think I'll go back. Happy motoring."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Frustrating Little Irratants!

April 16, 2012
By Hawaiian
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I just leased a 2012 Passat S… Although I absolutely love driving this car, I have noticed some irritating quality issues that VW America needs to be aware of. My Passat is just over a month old and currently has almost 1,400 miles on it. My irritations are as follows:
1. The seatbelt light and chimes come on even though my seatbelt is fastened and I’m the only person in the car. It’s very frustrating to hear the chime and see the dashboard light illuminated. I’ve pulled over to turn off the car and restart. I’ve unbuckeled and rebuckled. I’ve stopped to get out of the car and start the whole process over and nothing seems to solve this problem. It’s kind of like driving down the highway and having someone ringing your doorbell every 10 seconds. My main concern is that this may be a safety issue?
2. Drivers seat rattles. with only 1,400 miles on this car, Is this a quaility issue? Keep in mind, I’m not a heavy set person. It seems like the seat is just not secured properly. I’m hoping this is a quality issue and not a safety issue.
3. Trunk lid is not aligned properly. I have to slam the trunk lid closed in order for the trunk lid latch to catch. You should be able to gently push the trunk lid closed in order for the latch to secure itself. I also have the same same problem with the drivers side front door. I have to slam it shut or the open door light illuminates. Both of these are frustrating as my wife thiks I’m mad everytime I have to close the door or trunk. These are both very minor quality issues but the liitle issues are starting to add up. And, I’m getting tired of hearing my wife say to me “What’s wrong” everytime we get in the car together.
4. Suspension noise from front and rear corners seems to be getting worse as the days go by. This is especially prevalent at low speeds when rolling over speed bumps or climbing the curb to pull into the driveway of my house. If this were a 1995 Ford Tauras with 120,000 miles on it, I’d be more understanding. But this is a brand new 2012 VW Passat and I expect better from a German car company which touts German Engineering as it’s tag line.
Once again, I love driving this car… The handling, power (I have a 5 speed manual transmission), body style, bluetooth connectivity and generous back seat legroom make this car a beautiful ride. I just hope VW America understands and responds to my concerns to correct these minor but irritating quality issues. Luckily, this is only a 24 month lease, so if VW America choses not to respond to my quality claims, It’s a short term relationship and I can return to a car company like Honda who has a history of solid quality control.
My concern is that after leasing Honda’s over the last 10 years, I’m not used to having to deal with these types pesky quality issues. I understand this 2012 Passat was built in America (which is a big reason why I chose to lease this vehicle), but it seems to have some quality issues that still need to be ironed out.
I’ll be interested to see how VW America responds to these issues… Will they ignore me? Let me know these are normal inconveniences that I need to tolerate, or will VW America correct these issues to make sure I stay a loyal VW owner for years to come? I’m big on long term relationships.
I don’t know the answer to my questions but I’ll make sure to update everyone on how this turns out!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 PASSAT SEL

April 13, 2012
By New Owner to VW
from NY, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far so good with my new PASSAT SEL Premium. Its still too new (only 600 miles driven) but I like everything about it except I wish they hid the trunk hinges and they should've upgraded the front hood, so I don't have to pull the stick out and hold up the hood, so 1980's. Otherwise, I am really liking it. Its a GREAT car for the money. I paid $28,500 for the SEL Premium, so I can complain. Definitely take a look at it plus its now made in the U.S.A."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Passat SE

March 31, 2012
By CC
from Edison, NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had the Passat SE from Avis with 3000 miles on it for about a month. It is a nice car overall. Interior design and quality are among the best in the class. Large leg rooms for rear passengers especially. Trunk size is also very big. Seats are on the firm side but it is like that with most German cars. 2.5L inline five cylinder gets good fuel economy, around 32mpg on highway, I average 30mpg in mixed driving. Transmission shifts are very smooth but it tends to shift into higher gear to save fuel, thankfully there is a S mode to get a quick acceleration."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Sedan for the Price on the Market

March 31, 2012
By B Crutch
from Washington, DC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased 2012 Passat, SE, with 3.6 Liter 280 HP V-6, navigation and sunroof. After driving countless other vehicles, the Passat won hands down. This car handles incredibly well in all driving conditions. My tests included winding roads in VA, city driving and highway in DC and the Passat has the smoothest, most spirited ride of all the cars I tested. It corners very well and has more leg room than any any other to accommodate my two 6'-1" teenagers. The only car that comes close in my opinion is the Volvo S-80, for $14K more.
The navigation system, Bluetooth and audio are a breeze to use and the Fender audio system is outstanding. The seats are incredibly comfortable as well. The interior layout is very ergonomic and logical.
You need to drive this car to believe it. It rolls over the potholes in DC streets smoothly. You feel the bumps but they are dampened significantly. It accelerates incredibly fast when merging onto the 495 beltway. The the 3.6 liter engine was my choice as I found the 2.5 liter much less spirited. I get about 18-20 mpg city and it is very easy to parallel park. The turn radius is amazingly tight making u-turns a breeze.
I could not be any happier with this purchase!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perhaps the Best VW Ever!

March 19, 2012
By Gear Head
from Hanover, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2012 Passat replaces a 99 Mercedes E320 4Matic of my wife; I'll take over the Benz, so don't bother making an offer, thanks.
The new Passat is gorgeous, has unbelievable front and rear seat room, alllowing two 6' plus people to both be fully stretched out and comfortable front to back. The 2.5 L inline 5 is not mellodious, but performs well and get great mileage.
The Glacier Blue Metallic paint is v. pretty, and the car is now made in the US of A!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Passat TDI SEL Premium

March 12, 2012
By JohnS
from Waukesha, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far the car has been great. Can travel long time with out getting sore. The gas mileage has been better then I have expected (always around 45MPG). The car rides very smooth and i don't even feel it shift gears. the TDI does not have the fastest pick up but I will take the gas milaeage any day (Especially with how big the passat is)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 VW Passat 3.6 SE

March 10, 2012
By The Dude
from Andover, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"2 months ago my lease ran out on my 2009 VW CC so I turned it in and bought a black-on-black 2012 Passat SE with the 3.6 V-6 engine. It just turned 2000 miles today, but so far I really like it. I was accustomed to the 2.0 Turbo 4 in the CC, so this 6 cylinder really feels like it has good acceleration. The Fender sound system rocks! My normal driving is part city and part freeway and I have been averaging 23+ MPG - about 2 MPG less than my CC. I love the exterior styling. The interior is very good but the front seats lack bolster and can be a bit uncomfortable. I live in Minnesota and we have had an uncharacteristic dry winter. However, the car has handled the snow and ice that we have had very well. I would recommend this car to anyone who likes to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VW Passat TDI SEL Premium

March 6, 2012
By Sam Smith
from Monrovia, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Terrific car. Great gas mileage. Car handles well and is VERY comfortable.
So far getting about 40 miles to the gallon city/highway which I am told will improve.
This is a great vehicle. Only downside was waiting 3.5 months for delivery of the exact color and style we wanted."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just got it.

March 5, 2012
By Manyon
from Gonzales,Ca.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a car that got great gas mileage but wasn't one of those small circus cars. Car seats 4 adults comfortably,large trunk and has no wasted space that I have found. I bought the base model and feel I got great value for my money. Diesel fuel is a bit more expensive than gas but I shop around for the best price and find a difference of 10-12 cents per gallon. That is made up with the better gas mileage for the diesel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exceptional value

February 27, 2012
By tmrevo18
from orlando florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased a 2012 VW Passat SEL TDI, with the exception of the wait time, I have no complaints. I would recommend this car to anyone who asks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Average Passat

February 27, 2012
By Lukewarm owner
from Washington, DC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the Passat 2012 TDI SEI. This is the top of the line for the Passat and I was very disappointed with the amount of plastic in the interior and the feeling of cheapness . All the the electronic bells and whistles are great but lack of the rear view camera (which is just about standard for high-end cars) was greatly missed. Steeriing is tight and it does not have any get-up. It is a good family car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

February 20, 2012
By stayloose2
from philly
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very happy with choice!!Smooth ride with good feel for the road.Sticky tires wet/dry,very good!Only thing don't like is the gas pedal to close to brake."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2012 Car of the Fear

February 19, 2012
By Broker and Enthusiast
from Haymarket, VA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Major Issues: 4500 Miles (Transmission Replaced by VW), miles later (Transmission Repaired by VW)
As an automotive broker and enthusiast, I was hopeful in my purchase of the first “American” VW since 1988. Since, I’ve accumulated 5000 miles. Here is my long term review.
Comfort: I’m 6’0”, 200 lbs. The interior utilizes class leading materials but, there are some long term complaints. Front seating is narrow and knocks/rocks. The center console protrudes into the driver’s acceleration leg, not uncommon for a euro. The doors ledges are quite angled. As a result, for those who rest our elbows while driving, it is very uncomfortable. Wind noise aggravates.
Performance: Mileage: 21/32 mpg * Acceleration: 0-60 8.7 sec * Handling: Great for Mid-Price/Size Sedan * Odd Note: Engine Holds/Keeps RPM High
Exterior: Materials and seals problems. Exterior panels feel and look cheap (wavy). The roof antenna allows intrusive wind noise into the cabin. The roof vibrates.
Interior: Squeaks and rattles are plentiful, and began early in ownership. My 93 Honda Civic has less. The roof antenna allows intrusive wind noise into the cabin. The roof vibrates. Bluetooth connectivity, with iPhone, is not reliable. Speakers blew, not from being overloaded/loud. See “Comfort” for further complaints.
Value: Seemed to be a good value then… 100 miles (Driver Seat Knocking/Rocking), 150 miles (Interior Squeaks/Rattles), 4500 miles (Transmission Replaced), 4750 miles (Transmission Repaired). Advised VW the transmission is still impaired. VW service advised they could “not duplicate” the issue. The same noise requiring the transmission to be replaced at 4500 miles, VW claims to no longer hear.
Reliability: Not reliable. See “Value”.
I’ve prevented over 20 acquaintances from making the mistake of purchasing. Not necessarily the purchase of a Passat, but from VW in general."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable

February 16, 2012
By Randy
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car is by far the best car seen very reliable and overall looks great. I would buy this car at a 30,000 price its so worth the money. Now I may sound crazy but its a very good buy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2012_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice but

February 14, 2012
By Passat 4ever
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Price for the 5 cyl is excellent, but performance.... needs a few more horses. Love the interior. Suspension is too comfortable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.