Customer Reviews for 2012_BMW_X5

2012_BMW_X5

Average Customer Rating:
4.308 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_BMW_X5
Review 1 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

comfort and style

January 29, 2014
By chinaman
from ny
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lovley vehicle,worth the money....i would recommend this vehicel to enyone....customer service was excelent..thanks to clark and gary."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Terrific car. It's quite powerful and it's diesel.

July 13, 2013
By Barbera
from Hamilton, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What a pleasure to drive. This Diesel engine is very powerful. Great mileage. Beautiful interior and sharp exterior Just love it. Sure beats my Mercedes! Hugs the road and is quite smooth. Great buy!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest car ever

July 13, 2013
By San Clemente Mom
from San Clemente, Ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Beautiful to look at, a dream to drive, handles like a sports car, roomy, feels like a luxury sedan with all the same bells and whistles. I'll never drive anything else but a BMW."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 BMW X5 Premium

January 23, 2013
By MD
from Mpls, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've bought a 2012 BMW X5 Premium with 1780 mi on it and have been very pleased with my purchase. I have only owned it for a month but so far it has been a pleasure. This X5 has the convenience pkg, Tech pkg and comfort access. I guess I will have to re-evaluate the X5 after a couple years to have a true assessment. So far, very happy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much technology

December 10, 2012
By Suv guy
from Scottsdale AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I don't keep my vehicles very long so resale is important. For this reason I bought an x5 diesel. I always buy my vehicles one year old with low miles to avoid the deadly first year depreciation.i don't like the diesel engine, give me a v/8 anytime. I really dislike the shifter.
They have put reverse where park normally is and to go onto park you push a button.to go forward, reverse or into park, you have to actually study the console or risk going forward when you want reverse and vice versa. My wife has taken the car and phoned me as she couldn't,t figure out how to get it out of park. I also find the rear seat legroom too small and door and hatch unlock buttons awkward. The I drive is pretty easy to figure out and the back up, top view and mirror cameras are cool. I also like the multi contour seats. For me, however there are too many annoying things about it and I,m going to sell it. I miss my Lexus.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIRD BMW I'VE OWNED

October 28, 2012
By BMW GUY
from florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have 3000k on my x5 disel , very happy on gas mileage. Average gas mileage city and hiway 23.5mil. per gallon. Not happy after 3000k,front tires worn outside and inside edge.Warranty weel alignment cover only under 2000k.Power steering box was replaced by recall,so alignment was done for free of charge.Overall car very funy to drive,very good brakes filling,recomend to every one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 X5d

October 17, 2012
By First BMW
from Northern Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great vehicle. For the money you spend, BMW needs to make more of its options, standard equipment. Also, run flats vs reg tires, better interior color options (alternative color piping on seats would be nice). include ipod cable with BMW apps purchase, etc... you folks know what I mean. When you spend hard earned money on these beautiful, luxurious vehicles, it would be nice if some of the paid options were made standard."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fastest SUV out there!

March 27, 2012
By bmw x5 m enthusiast
from Fullerton CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is so fast and so fun to drive. If you need an SUV, but want something that will outperform just about everything else on the road, this is the car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best performance

December 14, 2011
By Osle
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first BMW for my family. Before having this car, I had a MB ML suy for more than 10 years and I have driven many different suvs. Now I believe this is a real best driving machine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice car

November 12, 2011
By Vlad
from Brooklyn, ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Really enjoy the car , one of the best cars I ever had, no good on snow, excellent on rain, perfect on dry weather condition , not an off-road truck, but the way it handles on the highway I just love this car. BMW has to work on reliability of their cars."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very, Very happy with my 2012 X5 5.0

November 10, 2011
By Virginia horse country
from Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been driving X5s since the first model and leased an early production 2012 over the summer. I still find it amazing that I can place an order for the factory to custom build an X5 that arrived at my dealer in 3.5 weeks. It now has over 11,000 miles on it and it has been completely trouble free (as have my other X5s with the exception of the first model over a decade ago.) Even after test driving other mid-sized SUVs, I still go back to the X5. Aside from the technology, I find the driving position and the multi-contour seats more comfortable than any other vehicle. I've never had trouble operating the iDrive system and frankly am tired of people complaining about it because they couldn't figure it out in a 10 minute test drive. No manufacturer can completely idiot-proof a system.
Several options deserve consideration: contour seats, top-down camera that shows you the sides, front, and rear of the car, and heads-up display (once you have this, you won't want to drive a car without it). The new engines and the 8 speed transmission are noticeably smoother than the last generation 6 speed.
If you are leasing, find a dealer who will show you the lease residual chart for the different X5 models. There are huge differences in residuals between a 3.5i, 5.0i, and 3.5d that will greatly affect the lease payment. For example, the 3.5d had a residual of 51% and the 5.0 had a residual of 60% for a 36 month lease with 15k miles. That 9% difference means that the 5.0 was the same lease payment even though the 5.0 is more expensive and the diesel had an additional $2,500 eco-credit for 2012.
I'm hoping to hold onto this X5 until the 3rd generation is released in two years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT CAR!

November 3, 2011
By SHELBY COBRA
from SOUTH CAROLINA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"WE HAVE REALLY ENJOYED THE X-5'S WE HAVE PURCHASED! WE HAVE 3 IN THE FAMILY AND WOULD PURCHASE AGAIN!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Expensive piece of junk!

October 10, 2011
By Hate BMW x5
from Tx
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Truck has a little over 5000 miles and have been in the shop twice for engine problems, they can't seem to get it right! Ultimate driving machine. LOL"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.