Customer Reviews for 2012_RAM_1500

2012_RAM_1500

Average Customer Rating:
4.418 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
47 of 55(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_RAM_1500
Review 21 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy

December 13, 2012
By Old classic guy
from Waco,TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased my first RAM . So far this truck proves to be exactly what I was looking for . I wanted a 1/2 ton pickup to pull an RV and it looks like a RAM with a Hemi will work just fine for me . Plenty of power ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best riding,most fun/comfortable truck I've driven

December 8, 2012
By Former Ford Guy
from Chelsea,Vt.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been a Ford truck guy for 23 years and have had mostly good luck with them.I'd planed on buying another Ford but was not impressed with the trade price that 5 differant dealers offered.Also to get a Ford F-150 with the best drive train that I liked the looks of,it ment going to a FX4 or Lariet that was loaded down with gadgets and features I didn't need,want to use or pay for.It drove the price deep into the mid $40K range.Nice trucks but big payments for a long time.I then tried a 2012 Ram 1500 4X4 quad cab.It rode and drove even better then the Ford and had simple,easy to use controls.You can get all the gadgets but then the price goes up as well.I got the express package which includes the best drive train/appearance and conveiniance options at a Mid $30K price.The Hemi/6 speed trans., 20" wheels and cool dual chrome exhaust comeing out below the rear bumper sounds great.I also got a bigger discount and better trade in price from Ram.I left the dealership with a beautiful gray Ram and much smaller payments for 2 less years.One other big feature for me is the conventional rear doors on the Ram Quad cab.Unlike the Ford and Chevy super cab,they open independant of the front doors.I got tired quick of my last Ford where the front door needs to be opened first in order to open the back door.If you've ever been in a tight parking lot at a grocery store stuck between the open doors with a cart of stuff on the wrong side of the doors,you know what I'm talking about.At 800 miles I'm up to 20+mpg on a combo of highway and 2ndary rds.The Hemi has impressive power and if you get into it on every take off your gonna pay.Its fun but your mpg will drop to 15 quick.I needed to be totally impressed with every aspect of the Ram to make me switch from Ford and I was.The one area the Ram comes up short is the head lights.Low beams w/fogs are OK.High beams,not as good as the Fords.I replaced the bulbs with some after market brighter ones from Phillips($40).Much better.Rams efforts to build a better truck that can compete with Ford and Chevy are paying off.One of my friends went with me to the Ram dealer and traded his Chevy in the same day.Just like me,he too loves his new Ram.Try one out,I think you too will be impressed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best New Truck on the Market (RAM)

November 27, 2012
By AdventurerSport
from Okoboji, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I test drove all the major competition, including the Ford F150, Chevrolet Silverado 1500, Toyota Tundra, and Nissan Titan, and found none of them to be as comfortable, powerful and efficient as the Ram 1500 with Hemi power and superb gas mileage. Mine has the 5.7L Hemi with MDS so it only runs on 4 of the 8 cylinders when cruising on the highway, saving a TON of fuel! I also have Shift-on-Demand FULLTIME four wheel drive which keeps traction to all 4 wheels all of the time if I so choose. Helps a ton on wet, rainy nights and light snow covered roads. The ride quality of this vehicle is incredible, and I've driven pickups for all of my driving life, and this one is above and beyond them all in terms of comfort and convenience. Easy to read controls for heating and a/c, radio, and EVIC (electronic vehicle info center) in the dash is very user friendly and informative. I would HIGHLY recommend the DODGE RAM for anyone with a need for a light pickup, as there are none better.
JS"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Dont make the mistake i did

November 26, 2012
By Ford from here on out
from wyoming
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"After comparing the 3 major domestic trucks for sometime, I bought a Dodge simply because they were the cheaper of the 3. The simple fact of the matter is they are cheaper. They are so cheap my 2012 ram is already starting to need warranty work with 900 miles on it, the dash rattles, the seams in the seats are unravelling and basically I got what I was looking for a cheap truck for a cheap price, a word to the wise, spend the money and buy a Ford!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features. Nice truck!

November 21, 2012
By sagebrushram
from Rockville, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I usually buy basic trucks without too many frills, but this time I got a good deal on this 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn so I splurged a bit. It's a 2wd quad cab with the 5.7 Hemi with the 6'4" bed. My favorite features on this truck are: the Hemi (390HP and 408 ft-lb torque) and the Rambox storage system. The Hemi is no fuel miser in city driving (12-13 mpg), but in mixed city/hwy driving, I get around 16 mpg and once got 21.7 mpg on the hwy. The Rambox is very handy to have for storing things that usually clutter up the cab. Stuff like tie-downs, ropes, chains and tools can be kept in the two Rambox storage compartments. When you order the Rambox, you also get a bed cargo mgmt. system with 4 sliding cleats and a bed extender. It's a great cargo system that I use all the time I have something in the bed! All in all, I'm pretty impressed by the versatility and performance of this truck and I hope it gives me many years of service."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Truck

November 17, 2012
By Ram4x4
from Western ND
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This 2012 ram laramie one of the roomiest, washboard road soakiet trucks I've ever had the pleasure to own. I drive on 8 miles of oil field traffic roads a day, and the spine doesn't complain like it used to, with the 2010 Silverado. To say I love this truck is just an understatement. Only complaint was the headrest, quick fix took and turned it around."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Ram 1500 ST Express

November 14, 2012
By Ram Man
from Lawton, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What can I say, it is all that I need in a truck...Power, Speed, Tires always scream when the light turns green, what else can I say, I love it!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

November 12, 2012
By Pick-up Truck Enthusiast
from Bucks County PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This truck is everything I thought it would be and more. Beautifully finished both inside and outside. Handles great, plenty of power, great fuel mileage from a 390 HP V/8. Seating is very comfortable, more so than many luxury cars"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this truck

November 7, 2012
By ex ford man
from Anniston AL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought my 2012 ram 1500 4x4 st 5.7 hemi two weeks ago... when bought it had 31 miles and now has 1400. went from an f150 and an f250 diesel and couldnt be happier. the power is phenominal and the fuel mileage is awesome as i have been averaging 22.3 on the highway at 75 mph. the only downfall is that it doesnt pull my 20 ft trailer with my two kubota zero turns on the interstate as well as my f250 did. but apart from that there is nothing that would make me trade my new toy. i would definately recommend this truck to anyone that wants the work capability of a truck but loves the performance of a muscle car. GO RAM!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dodge Knocked this one out of the park!

November 2, 2012
By Dodge Ram Owner since 1996
from Las Vgeas, NV.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my first Ram, a 1996 4X4 sport 1500 ext Cab with the 318 V-8. Next up was a 2001 1500 Laramie Quad cab With the 5.9 360 V-8. When I needed more muscle I bought a 2006 2500 4X4 Laramie Megacab 5.9 Diesel. Now that I don't need the muscle anymore, last month I bought a 2012 1500 4X4 Laramie Quad cab.
Ram Finally spanked GM for the best interior! This is by far the sharpest, most comfortable, smooth riding truck Dodge has ever put out there!
Dodge for me has always been a work horse, it can pull anything, anywhere. The few things previous generations were missing (ride quality, interior, noise) have all been taken care of and blow away the competition.
If you're looking for an amazing truck that can pull above average weight, perfect for road trips, turn heads, get you somewhere in a hurry, and can be taken out for a nice dinner. This is the truck for you."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Darn Muscle Pickup Truck

October 26, 2012
By Trucking Tommy
from Southern California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great looks, power, ride and fuel economy (yes, fuel economy). The 5.7L 390HP Hemi in my 2012 Ram 1500 Express (reg cab/short bed) is nailing down 23.8 MPG on the highway at 65mph with cruise control and the ac on!!! I'm experiencing 16-17 city and 22-to almost 24 mpg highway. The VVT and Cylinder deactivtion technology works! What a package and for only around $23K. Mine was $27K with extra cost options. Need a pickup truck but like muscle cars...check out the Dodge Ram 1500 Express!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

American Trucks prove king of the hill

September 16, 2012
By Big Trucker
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this truck, live in big city and I'm suprised I get close to 17.5 MPG......I chose the bigger cab in exchange for smaller bed.....I love the BIG HORN trim.....it is a must have if you're lookin for a truck"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Was taken in by good looks and cheap price!

September 16, 2012
By Stevll
from Saint David AZ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I like that fact that it is comfortable, good on gas and confortable to drive as I'm 6'1"/300+lbs. But I when I bought the truck the salesman knew I would be driving 8 miles of dirt raad everyday to go the the ranch I work at and hoime to my acreage. It's pretty, the built in utility boxes are great.
New 2012 Ram 1500 quad cab - $25,900.
$3500 damage to rolled frame from hitting pothole. Pothole I've hit dozens of times in my f250, kia and four runner with never an issue - Priceless.
How does a Kia Rondo go over the same pothole with no damage? Well they do not use aluminum parts on the front end to save weight and provide comfort instead of utility. If you want a truck to be a truck and not a grocery getter that looks like a truck do not buy Dodge.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lipstick on a pig.

August 27, 2012
By JP
from Palm Bay, Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my 2012 Ram 1500 Express about 2 months ago and fell in love with the looks and feel of the truck. The hemi has just enough power to do what it was designed to do. However my truck has been in the dealership three times already for two different problems. the first problem was the passenger side door not wanting to close without being slammed which is annoying but eventually after use broke in and now closes a lot easier. The other problem which is much more of an issue is the transmission. The tranny shudders between 35 and 45 mph. It has actually kicked out of gear a couple of times once while driving down the road and doesn't seem to want to upshift early in the morning and sounds like an airplane taking off. I'm averaging around 11 mpg in the city and 16 mpg on the highway. The worse part is the dealership has told me this is all part of the "warm up period". In other words normal!!! The mpg has to be because of the tranny problem because I have a friend that bought his truck around the same time who is heavier on the gas and brakes than me and he is averaging 15 in the city and 20 on the highway. All in all the appearance and comfort is unbeatable but this tranny thing is killing me!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Truck out there and BEST deals available . .

August 4, 2012
By Horace1500
from Horace, ND
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unbelievable comfort for any vehicle much less a truck. Drives like a luxury car with the power of a real truck. Love the HEMI and the style of the truck. Found a Big Horn Quad Cab 4x4 for under 30 grand what a deal. Drove Toyota, Nissan and then the Ram. No comparison the Ram put the others to shame. Big Horn package comes with everything you could ask for including the towing package. Just drive one and you will see."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TIME IS RIGHT AND THIS TRUCK IS THE BEST!!!

August 3, 2012
By COLTSIN1
from JEFFERSONVILLE,IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"BOUGHT A 2012 RAM EXPRESS AFTER OWNING A 2011 DAKOTA AND MAN IS THIS AN AWSOME TRUCK. BEST RIDE I HAVE EVER GOTTEN IN A PICKUP. MINE IS TEQUILLA SUNRISE PEARL IN COLOR, QUAD CAB, HEMI. DUAL EXHAUST STANDARD SOUNDS GREAT. U CONNECT IS AND VOICE SYSTEM RULES. I HAVE DRIVEN MANY OTHER TRUCKS AND THIS ONE STICKS OUT WITH THE COIL SPRINGS AND 390 HP HEMI. WITH THE OPTIONS I GOT ON THIS TRUCK, I WOULD HAVE PAID 10-15K MORE WITH FORD OR CHECK. BOTTOMLINE....RAM RULES!!!! GET U SOME... NE ONE THAT WANTS TO PULL UP NEXT TO ME AT A LIGHT IN ANY TRUCK OTHER THAN A RAPTOR IS GETTING ROLLED UP!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great truck

July 31, 2012
By sanchin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Owned chev for years after engine and transmission issues tested ford didn't like the tank feel. Bought a 2012
ram 1500 5.7 4x4 and love it can't wait to pull my trailer and laugh at the eco boost sucking fuel when i pass one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ram tough

July 17, 2012
By jeepoholic
from pittsburgh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"leased the truck, a quad cab. went from a extended cab ranger(2010) to the ram. what a jump. so much more room, the truck has been great. gas milage is better than the ranger on the highway. little worse around town, but i think it is my fault, love the 390hp. took it down over the hill at home and did not do so well in the wet grass, i think because the tires are so wide. pulls the trailer with ease."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun

July 14, 2012
By Ram Fan
from Candor, N.Y.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Truck is smooth, powerful, handles well and comfortable. good gas mileage for the powerful truck it is. well layed out cabin, easy to use controls."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2012_RAM_1500
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Vibration, rust, shuddering etc.

July 2, 2012
By Disappointed
from Louisville
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have owned a lot of new cars and trucks in my life. This is the worst new vehicle i've ever owned. The MDS system shudders between 4 cylinder and 8 cylinder mode, and the transmission vibrates through the floorboard and steering column when the engine is between 1800 and 2200 RPM's. Chrysler customer service is a joke and after many unseccessful attempts at repair they are now saying it operates at spec. Dodge Ram is a piece of junk, i should have stayed with Ford."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.