Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt

2012_Chevrolet_Volt

Average Customer Rating:
4.836 of 5
4.8
 of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
59 of 61(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Review 21 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded Expectations so much buying a second one

September 2, 2012
By DalmightyVolt
from WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a car to save some gas on my 63 mile round trip commute. Previously was in a cadillac getting 20 MPG. I ran though some numbers and the Volt was on the list of lowest cost of ownership and #1 in least amount of out of pocket expense. I test drove it and that was all it took. I am averaging 50 miles on electric daily, and over 38 MPG on the gas. I have done 250 Mile commute one weekend and averaged 44 MPG on the highway with the air on. This car exceeds every expectation. My payment was about the same compared to the Caddy, but my gas expense has been cut by $240 a month. We are now going to buy Volt # 2 as the numbers play out for both of our comutes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Volt

August 23, 2012
By Puffer Bradley
from Houston, Tejas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It was a surprisingly nice driving car. It seems well made and everything works well. You d have to be careful around the center dash buttons, the faintest touch and the button is pushed. Saying that it seems like a pretty mild complaint because everything else works well. Charging takes 10 hours and I get 45 - 47 miles on the charge. I am currently waiting for a 220 V charger and the charging will only take 4 hours. When the charge runs out the gasoline motor starts and you never notice the change over unless you look at the dash board. We have had the car for just under two months (about 1500 miles) and have only put gas in it once although it could need another tankful but I am not sure. It will warn me when I get low on gas. So far the car has been perfect. We are planning a trip from Houston to Washington Dc and a stop in Ohio before we head back home."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really a cool car

August 10, 2012
By Your Average Guy
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had the car just over 3 weeks and I absolutely love it. I've not been to the gas station since I got it and I don't plan on being there anytime soon.
My "normal" work commute is about 30 miles round trip. I'm getting about 44-45 miles per charge and I'm not really driving much different than I did when I had my former car. I got the 240V charging station installed free thanks to the local power company so it charges very quickly.
Everyone I show the car to is impressed with it and I always seem to get random people asking me about it at various places I go.
I don't consider myself a "tree hugger" type person at all, I'm what you would consider you normal average type of guy. I was just sick of paying so much for gas. Now I'm paying about a $1.25 to charge that battery so it's a huge savings. I'm only leasing this vehicle as I didn't know if I'd really like it, but I must tell you that I don't ever want to go back to a gas burning car ever. I'm totally sold on the EREV (Extended Range Electric Vehicle).
I can communte 99% of the time without ever using gas. If I have to make a long commute I know I always have the gas engine to back me up. It's just a great vehicle, did I mention that already."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just drove my new Volt crosscountry

June 13, 2012
By CTRider
from CT and NM
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had the Volt for about 3 weeks, driving back and forth to work in CT. My commute over back roads is about 22 miles OW. I can usually do the round trip on an overnight charge (120volt). My previous car was a 2004 Caddy CTS. So comfort on a long distance is a little less, but that is mainly due to the Volt seat being a little smaller. Vehicle ride is great.
We left CT for New Mexico on a full charge and a full car. We got about 35 miles and went on gas for the remaining 2500 miles. We travel Interstates in the east, and back roads west of the Mississippi. Overall milage was 40 mpg. Western gas is lower octane, so milage always falls off west of the river.
The return took us through Colorado and some mountain passes over 10,000 feet. I did not use "Mountain Mode" since I never really knew when I was going to climb until I was at the hill. So I got a lot of messages saying power was reduced. It was especially bad between Vail and Denver on the Interstate. Other than that the car performed well. We got an overall 44mpg on the return trip which was 3,000 miles.
My likes - The car in general.
My dislikes - The radio - It is especially bad in CT where there is a tree canopy over most roads. Both XM and FM are really bad. My caddy had an in windshield antenna, that I thought was bad, but this is worse. Of course XM doesn't work when there are trees over the road either. The climate control system needs more manual controls. BTW Why can't they update the clock when you change time zones? Onstar gets time from the Cell network, the Navigation gets time from the satelite, but nobody changes the clock except the stupid human.
I do love the car, I hope they will re-engineer the radio and climate control, and it would be fabulous.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Volt

June 5, 2012
By meillasdad
from Whiting, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Volt is an awesome car! We have driven almost 3,000 miles and 2,600 of those miles are pure EV.
This was our first American car, after driving mostly European. I was in shock how the Volt felt and drove like a European car. It made me question my views on Chevys, but then I read the "Volt Book" GM sent to us after the purchase. In there it stated that Europeans were involved in the Volt's designing, which tied everything together for me.
So, if you're looking for a really nice car that feels more European than American, whilst also saving the planet -- then the Volt is your car!
Great Job Chevrolet!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Great

May 1, 2012
By Practical Empty-Nesters
from Roanoke, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The car is fantastic, with two significant drawbacks. The first is that bucket seat arrangement in place of a real rear seat. It is just too cramped. The second is that the car sits too close to the ground. We scraped bottom repeatedly on our test drive, including coming in and out of the dealer's parking lot! We could deal with the other drawbacks (like the very small side windows), but these two were deal killers for us. We hope that GM will address these and make the necessary modifications. Otherwise, it's really an awesome car!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smooth quiet ride

April 23, 2012
By New Owner
from Chicago
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a solid, well built car. So many high mileage cars have a cheap look and feel to them. I really like this car. On this car in particular your mileage will vary depending how you use it. But for me, I am getting 180+ miles to the gallon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to explain but worth the money...

April 23, 2012
By Simithor
from Baltimore, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was driving a 2001 Chevy Suburban (which I loved) and was paying out $330 a month in fuel before I purchased so I was THE ideal candidate for a high MPG vehicle. I had been looking for either a used high MPG vehicle under $10K or a new hybrid and was seriously considering either the Ford Fusion or the Hyundai Sonata Hybrids. The problem is, I like to drill down on the finances to see the realized cost savings and both vehicles were still requiring gas regularly combined with a new vehicle loan payment.
The payments combined with the fuel expenditures per month even for a car that got 35 MPG with fuel prices at $4 per gallon only made the used option a cost savings (not included a higher maintenance routine on a used vehicle with 40K miles on it.) I would be saving around $80 to $120 per month...maybe. ($180 car payment +gas)
Luck had a drunk driver total my suburban while it was parked and gave me money to put on the car (not much but some). So, I went long for the Volt because the payment was now equal to the car payment and the fuel on the other vehicles.
LOVE THE CAR! Currently getting 140 MPG. Averaging 500 miles per week. Blowing away the EPA estimates daily. It takes some getting used to because the car is designed to operate like a normal gas guzzling car but it really is meant to be operated differently...economically. Where I used drive 75 mph, I now drive 60-65 because the motor's sweet spot is below 65. I don't punch the throttle anymore because the car visually let me know how stupid that was on the HUD.
All in all the car is SO good at what it does and it fits the two car seats (one in reverse so you know what kind of space hog it is...), the two kid Citi-Select stroller, my wife (and all of her bags, backpacks and gear ;-), and myself comfortably.
Since I bought the car, I put 8.7 gals of gas in the car, driven 1500 miles, and on the current tank of gas I have used 1.4 gals of gas to drive 850 miles...and I DON'T hyper-mile when I drive. I just drive. Do that in a Prius. I dare ya.
By the way, in Sport mode, I lit the tires up and I stretched her legs once so far doing 102 (governor at 99 so I coasted up to 102) all on electric and barely moved my MPGs for this tank of gas. It is quick, not like you are winding out something that should not wound out but it feels like the engineers detuned it a little bit to save the transmission. Just my guess.
Just hope the Cadillac version lets you tap more of the unlimited torque potential of an electric motor cause I am sure I could smoke a Mustang with it!
Now my wife wants one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Owned 2 months-- have not spent a dime on gas!

April 16, 2012
By Electric Car Groupie
from Miami, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love the Chevy Volt! It is a good looking, quiet drive--with a peppy engine (accelerates well when extra speed is needed). It also gives you a guage that shows you when you are driving most economically.
It is the unknown hero of the gas crisis... if you drive it efficiently-- you can get 45 miles (or more) on a charge. If you are going further than 45 miles... the gasoline engine takes over-- so you never worry about being stranded. Plugs in to a normal grounded household outlet.
I am able to take my son to school, go to work, come home (41 miles roundtrip) -- all on electric. Truly have no idea how much gas costs today-- because I don't buy it anymore!
Back seat area is not huge-- but comfortable enough for someone 6 ft or shorter. Plus-up options include beautiful leather, Bose speakers, and back-up assist camera.
It is a shame-- it is the best kept secret for economical and fun driving. Government also gives tax credits to offset purchase costs. Look into it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Updated & Happy

April 7, 2012
By MHCalif
from Danville, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband (JDHCalif) wrote a lengthy review and I wanted to add my 2 cents. We are actually now getting nearly 130mpg per day because his company installed an electrical outlet in his office parking area. The car costs about $2 to fully charge at PG&E rates and each full charge takes the car about 45 miles. Even though we drive 130 mile+ daily commutes we are burning almost no gas...not insignificant in CA where gas is now $4.63 per gallon. The Volt is proving to be more than twice as economical as our Prius...and it drives so much better - even the regen brakes feel better. We are going to sell the Prius and get another fully loaded Volt for me (which net/net costs less than a comparably loaded new Prius)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st American car and It won't be the last

March 28, 2012
By JDHCalif
from Danville, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2nd Gen Prius & a Volt (first American car I’ve owned) so I have some basis to compare them. To sum it up: In Calif. the comparably loaded new Prius goes for more than the Volt (thanks to the Fed and State rebates, and yet the Volt gets singificantly higher MPG. In fact, after several thousand Bay Area commute miles I am getting an average 80 mpg - and it would be higher if I had a electrical outlet to plug into at work (they are putting one in for me). Also, the 3 yr CA HOV Lane access that comes with the Volt is priceless - it saves me 50 min on daily commutes. Regarding the drive characteristics: The best way that I can describe how the Volt drives & handles is that it is solid & competent. The doors close with a solid thud & when underway, the steering is connected to the road & the cabin is extremely quiet. Said differently, the Volt drives like a much larger/more competent ‘regular’ car without engine noise (oh, and the Volt accelerates much faster than the Prius, i.e. much better low-end torque). The 3rd Gen Prius (like the 2nd Gen I own) is bouncy & jittery (especially in any kind of wind or weather), loud, has a numb steering feel & is tinny – don’t get me wrong, I expect this from a light car that gets extremely high mileage...but compared to the Volt, the Prius is a golf cart. It's no wonder that the Volt has won so many ‘Car of the Year’ awards & Consumer Reports' super high marks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfection in Paradise

March 24, 2012
By HawaiiBob
from Honolulu, HI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Island living and the Volt are perfect for each other. My island is only 50 miles across, and Hawaii is making a great effort to provide a welcoming embrace for electric vehicles. Free parking, including the airport and parking meters, open access to HOV lanes and a concerted effort to install lots of recharging stations. I commute 64 miles round trip everyday and thanks to charging stations everywhere I do it all on electric. I've owned the car for 5 months now, I've put 5500 miles on it. I'm still have the gas the dealer put in when I picked it up. I'm at 750 MPG now, I did play with the gas engine when I first got it or it would have been much higher.
I traded in my beautiful C6 Corvette for this car. Corvette owners are some of the pickiest owners around. If the Volt had any defects believe me I would have groused about it plenty, but perfection is hard to beat. The Corvette does what it does extremely well, the Volt does what it does better.
Electricity rates and gas prices here are the highest in the nation and the Volt still in the end just makes sense. Complain about bail outs all you want, listen to Fox News pundits if you like, I'm as conservative as they come and I'm here to tell you the car is a wonder.
Don't believe me if you want, check out the stats for 600 owners, google voltstats. Onstar downloads mileage data from all the cars 4 times a day, see what we're all seeing for yourself.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded Expectations

March 23, 2012
By Woody
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We got this car after looking around at many different options but with the $7500 back and the thought of saving gas we couldn't pass it up. I traded in my Avalanche (13mpg city and 17 mpg hgwy) even though I loved the car gas was just killing us with my wife and I driving and a 17 year old driving and 15 year old almost there. First off I have a buddy and he has a Prius and it is a nice car but for my taste the exterior on is downright ugly (just my opinion). The Volt is very stylish and sporty looking, nothing like a typical tree hugger car. Anyhow I figure real world driving we are getting 77mpg (to charge it is about a third of the cost of a gallon of gas) including the cost of electric. This would be more but the first day from the dealer did not have any charge on the vehicle. My wife drives to and from work about 39 miles 4 days a week without using a drop of gas. I use the car the other day and travel 100 miles on a little over a gallon of gas. In electric mode we are getting anywhere from 44 to 53 on one charge. Even after the electric runs out I have never gotten any worse that 40 mpg. Everyone that has sat in the car has been impressed and most didn't have a clue about how truly amazing the vehicle is. Best advise I can give is go test drive one yourself. Until you have used the vehicle its hard to understand how cool it is."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome car

March 3, 2012
By LoveMyVolt
from Delaware
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Volt is an awesome car. Its looks are eye-catching. Nothing boring about this car, in looks or operation. "Futuristic" is what my family says. And no one will shut you down at a light - unless you let them.
Never thought I would own a Chevy, but they beat out the competition in my view. The design is great - so many details are really well thought out. It is amazingly quiet and smooth to drive. I can never go back to a gasoline-only car, with their fumes, noise and vibration. Charging is easy on the 110 outlet in my garage, and I have yet to put gas in the tank for the extended range. Of course, it is reassuring to know that the extended range is there, even though I only needed it once. (In two months and 700 miles, I have used .07 gals of gas.) Chevy has handled the battery safety issue perfectly and I have zero concerns about that.
I got a Volt with all the premium features (leather seats, XM radio, etc.), and it has more luxury than my former luxury Japanese car. I think the ONStar is standard and it is reassuring to have. The clincher is that it is basically free to drive - it costs me about $1.00 in electricity to go 35 miles in the city. In my old car, that was two gallons of gas.
The only concern is getting used to the front window in terms of visibility. Minor negative is the front plastic piece under the front bumper which is there for aerodynamics but which can drag on the ground if you have a bump, like at the end of your driveway. As someone said, however, you just have to view it as a replaceable part like tires. This probably will get worked out anyway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beat higher Gas ... buy a volt and enjoy life.

February 29, 2012
By LoveMyVolt
from Denver, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the very best car I've every owned. I drive to work and back home on all electric (about 8.5 KWhs)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the price

February 28, 2012
By hugh
from EL MONTE, CA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Too small, ugly plastic interior, way outdated styling, way over-priced ... I sit in this vehicle and feel no excitement ... GM needs to take a few lessons from Tesla."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-24points
1out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Averaging 160+ MPG!

February 26, 2012
By Volt Owner in Ohio
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The features we most like about our Volt include the mainstream styling, awesome performance in acceleration and handling, the smooth, quiet ride, and most of all, averaging 160+ miles per gallon and passing gas stations. For typical commutes (averaging less than 40-45 miles), we can virtually never use gas. We have actually achieved as much as 49.4 miles on a single charge (versus the advertised 35 mile range), and with the optional 240V in garage charging station, the Volt fully recharges in 3.5 hours. Other features we appreciate include the 30GB media storage for music, photos and video, the Bose sound system, and heated leather seats. Great cargo area, especially with the rear seatbacks folded down. State of charge, fuel tank level tire pressure, & diagnostics can be accessed from our iPhone.
In addition, and possibly most importantly, the Volt eliminates "range anxiety" of an purely electric vehicle, due to the "range extending" capability of the gas powered generator that allows unlimited range on extended trips, while preserving the outstanding fuel economy for everyday commutes.
All in all, we absolutely love the 2012 Volt!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One year, 17,000 mile review

February 11, 2012
By Gear Head
from Austin, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our Volt, #644, just turned one year old (plus a little bit). It currently has 17,000 miles on it. Twelve thousand six hundred of those miles are total electric. The generator only runs on long trips.
Since the Volt is actually a battery electric vehicle that includes an on-board generator to supply electric power to the motor when the battery charge is below a specified level, I would call the Volt a Transition Vehicle. Eventually, charging stations will be as plentiful as gas stations. At that point the generator would not be needed.
After following the Volt’s progress since its concept announcement in 2007 and including a prototype test-drive in 2010, we had extremely high expectations; yet, our inflated expectations have all been exceeded.
My greatest disappointment is GM’s marketing. Thus far, I have never seen any commercial that truly communicates the Volts strengths that we have experienced within our first year. Most of the published specifications are too conservative. For example, the 0-60 acceleration specification is nine seconds. I have stopwatch tested our Volt at seven seconds (in sport mode). Two tests were conducted in both directions on the same street with the same results. During an ice storm, my wife decided to take the Volt to an empty parking lot and do some spinouts. No matter how hard she tried, she could not make the car lose control – even on solid ice. While that spoiled her fun, we are impressed that we have never experienced any vehicle with that level of stability.
Being a “gear head” engineering type, I am drawn to the Volts design. I have spent hours under the hood and under the car examining every element of the car, and it is a true engineering marvel. Every instance where I see something that appears to be a design flaw, further investigation reveals an ingenious well thought out purpose.
We were a little worried about losing cargo capacity when replacing our Ford Explorer with the Volt. That worry, however has diminished after easily hauling over eight hundred pounds of landscaping rock and stone in the back of our Volt! – Repeatedly.
We get lots of questions about the Volt in shopping center parking lots and sometimes even at traffic lights. Of all the questions asked, the hardest one that leaves us stumped is, “what are the cons?” Any cons we can think of are all very petty. For example; since I am an engineer type, I would like to see more real-time technical data, such as motor volts, amps, kilowatts, etc.
We could not be more proud to be a part of, and the actual owners of one of the world’s greatest inventions. This one is a definite keeper."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best car I have owned so far !

February 10, 2012
By Volt_powered_by_the_Sun
from SanJose, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had the 2012 Volt for 3 month now w/ daily charges in the evening.
My Stats (see also details in graph) :
Drove 1826 mile, used 4.52 Gal + 565 kWh (Solar Panels!)
My 'kWh' use is measured 'at the wall' (via a separate meter) showing that the L2 charge has 84% efficiency
(compared to the Volt display of kWh used). L1 charging is slightly less efficient - 79% (and of course takes longer :
L1 charges at a rate of 4 mi/hr = full charge takes ~10 hrs - vs. L2 charges 10 mi/hr = full charge takes ~4 hrs)
Observed Electric Range = 39.2 mi (=Avg; Max/Min/StdDev. = 45 / 30 / 3 mi)
Charge Sustaining mode uses 35.7 mpg (gas engine ran 14 times in the 3 mo due to extended trips)
Overall = 404 mpg (w/o kWh) & 86 mpge (w/ kWh energy)
On average I get 3 mi/kWh = 333 Wh / mi
(that range is from 2 to 4 mi/kWh and depends on driving style, temperature)
The car is a joy to drive: it handles very well & drives super quiet !
It has nice features - all are well integrated in the center console
(e.g. display of energy use, navigation, rear camera, audio system - I love the latter w/ SiriusXM !)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2012_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best I have ever driven or owned

January 8, 2012
By Jgann
from Tennessee
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Haven't had this much fun since I bought my first new car, a 1966 Chevelle SS. My first drive was in Houston, later my wife drove one at a dealer 40 miles down the road from where we live in Tennessee. About a week later I bought one a little closer to home and haven't had any regrets. Has to be the best thing Chevrolet has ever done in my opinion."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.