Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze

2012_Chevrolet_Cruze

Average Customer Rating:
4.305 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
5
66 of 82(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Review 1 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Average Car, So far reliable!

September 22, 2012
By CollegeStudent
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased my Cruze LT2 new in August '12. I liked the features the car had, and my family has always been Chevrolet drivers. So far, I really enjoy driving my Summit White RS Cruze. The gas mileage isn't as good as I hoped, but I expected this after reading other reviews. It is not bad by any means, 35.3 mpg average, mostly city, and highway, very few freeway. I drive a decent amount, as I commute to school and work daily. I enjoy the iPod integration and steering wheel controls. My only complaints would have to be the odd shifting behaviors the car has. It jerks drivers and passengers a bit when it is shifting up, and when shifting to lower gears by simply coasting, the car jerks, sort of like a manual would. A little odd and can be annoying sometimes. The turbo is also touchy and likes to rev quite high, even though you might not even be pushing that hard on the accelerator. I think that this also uses alot of gas and may account for the lower fuel economy. I can also hear more wind noise now that I have ~2k miles on it, than I did on the beginning. Overall, I would recommend the car and love my remote start, and convenient switchblade key for my northern climate."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first new car (cruze eco)

September 11, 2011
By John P
from Modoc County, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great vehicle, has alot to offer. Milage varies on roads. Flat roads at 65mph gets aroung 42 mpg, do 55 and its almos 50mpg. Mountains cuts the milage down to aroung 28 - 30 mpg, still very good. Purchased vehicle at end of june and now its almost mid sept and I've put almost 4000 miles on the vehicle. Driving in a towns and cities with the stop and go the vehicle gets 29 - 32 mpg. Vehicle has a decent sized trunk that will fit a full size stroller and much more. Makes it great for road trips with the family. The car handles very well around extreme corners. At first I was concered when I was looking at the car because the dealer said it had a 4 cylinder engine. I took it to a steep mountain road that most 4 cylinder vehicles can't get over 45 mph on the hill. This vehicle achieved 75 mph and still had power to go faster. Very pleased. 4 cylinder with turboand auto with slap shift tech is great especially in towns which improves milage if driving the right way. Has great responsiveness, handles great, and gets great mpg. The cruze has great interior, not to dark and not to light that it blinds you on sunny days. Onstar with navigation works very well too. Bluetooth connectivity is great to talk on tne phone and drive, easy pair mode. This vehicle has great safty aspects and is compact enough to menuever in tight spaces."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleased with my Cruze ECO

September 3, 2014
By CarFAXMax
from Salt Lake City, UT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my Chevy Cruze ECO now for over six months and a little over 6,000 miles. I had a Toyota Prius for 10 years and never thought I'd gt rid of it, since it was sucha reliable car. But when I saw that the Cruze ECO was advertised to be 28-42 MPG, I took a look at one and test drove it. The Turbo Charged 1.4 L engine surprised me, it had kick! As I said I have been driving this for a while now, and I've never gotten below 42 MPG on a tank, and for the last 500 miles I have averaged 47 MPG. Better than my Prius, especially when you consider that the Prius would drop in MPG as the weather got cold due to battery performance in cold weather."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy with the Cruze

August 31, 2014
By CRUZIN
from Sturbridge, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2012 Chevy Cruze LT with the 1.4 Turbo automatic.. I drive ALOT and within a couple of months have already put 10k on my Cruze. I love the exterior of the Cruze, the heaviness of it especially coming from a cobalt because a light breeze would throw the cobalt around on the highway and I was out in 65 mph winds and it didn't jerk the Cruze at all, Very happy with the interior and placement of everything, great amount of storage, comfortable seats after breaking them in, great gas mileage and the larger fuel tank is a bonus, plenty of pep in all driving conditions, fun to drive, stereo is great, love the bluetooth and the fact that you can connect an iPod/iphone and control the songs from the stereo, love the fact that all windows go down all the way and with just one push of the button, when you decide that you don't want your children to be able to put the windows down you push a button on the door that it also activates the child safety locks. love the placement of the door locks being under the stereo because I am right handed and it always seemed unnatural to lock the door from the left door... The Cons are the transmission takes a little getting used to especially while coasting to a stop but once I learned the feel of the car I no longer have an issue. To me its more the driver than the transmission because every car drives different. Putting higher octane gas in does make a difference. Its not a huge difference but it does make a difference. the fuel economy is so good on it that spending a little extra at the pump doesn't bother me. The middle console could be a bit bigger especially when you have your phone or iPod plugged in because thats where the usb port is and also where the aux port is. it doesn't extend far enough to be able to have the driver rest their arm on it. I also have cruise control but it seems like there is too many steps to actually initiate the cruise control.There is no trunk button in the cabin at all.. I personally like the positioning of where the drinks are.As long as I have the front cup holder it is easily accessible. I also love that the iPod or iPhone charges using the usb port so i can have 2 devices charging in the front of the car and the backseat also has the option to charge in the back as well which comes in handy if you have kids with electronics or you have someone in the backseat. One thing I don't like is when you shut the car off the phones stop charging. There is no noises from the inside of the car other than when you have a back window down and no other windows it makes that horrible helicopter sound.the steering is nice and tight, a good quality smooth ride. Overall a great design. It may not be for all people but in my opinion Chevy hit this one out of the park."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Creat car, great milage

July 25, 2014
By nelsonnh
from Southern New Hampshire
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have a 2012 Cruze eco, bought used.
Mileage is fantastic. averaged 35.5 mixed driving on first tank.
exterior design is handsome, does not stand out but looks good just the same.
cars rides great for a small car. feels confident and holds the road well.
the interior, while not "perfect" is above and beyond what used to be expected for a small car. the cloth on the dash and the layout looks modern.
controls, with exception of the manual door locks are placed where they should be. the doors locks on the lower left dash is puzzling.
the car cabin is quiet, the six speaker sound system is fine. Nothing fancy but gets the job done.
If you are looking for a small car it might be hard to beat this one overall.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

coolant leaking at 20,000

July 20, 2014
By Johnny
from Wisconsin
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Coolant is leaking, appears to be from the reservoir. Coolant system not covered under warranty so owner gets to eat the bill for their poorly designed vehicle. THANKS AGAIN GM!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Cruze!

June 30, 2014
By L.J.P.
from Davenport, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the stick basic Cruze and I love it. Shift is smooth, good power. Great car for the price! I had 4 other cars i looked at but the Cruze was the best buy for the money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Horrible car

June 16, 2014
By Ticked-Off
from Shreveport, LA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I "upgraded" from my Chevy Cobalt to this Cruze because the dealer told my husband and I it was the "sister car" an "upgrade". Lies. I loved my Cobalt; it accelerated when I wanted and it braked when I wanted. Not like this "upgrade" car. The acceleration is a joke; on auto I have to floor it and on manual I am in 3rd gear until 50 mph until I can safely switch over to 4th then 5th then 6th. Going up hill is a disaster; it wont accelerate even when the gas pedal is fully pressed into the floor on 3rd gear; I was even loosing speed. Because I cannot accelerate for beans; I am terrified to cross traffic when I make a left turn, I am terrified I will get T-boned everyday. To brake I have to slow down twice as far as a normal car unless I want to hard-break. I almost rear end someone everyday. The gas mileage is a joke, I only get above 40 mpg when I am going downhill with my foot off the gas. I have traveled to and from my mother's house for holidays multiple times within 2 years and the car has not gotten any better; or "broken in" as my dealer said. The seat makes my butt go numb, I have been more comfortable sitting on a wooden stool. Not to mention all the safety recalls that GM has had; recall on the power steering failing, recall on the loose pieces connecting to the coolant (leaking coolant). I have never liked this car. I have given it 2 years of my life and now I am getting rid of it. Frankly if this car got hit by a train or blew up in a gas fire I would not be upset in the slightest."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like it more than I expected

May 18, 2014
By jj
from Tampa, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased mine in 2012 since the economy drop caught up with me and I had to trade down from my Cadillac into a Much less expensive car. I chose the Cruze LTZ because it was available with push button keyless start and other features I was used to in a luxury car. The Cruze LTZ is not a luxury car, but it has some luxury touches and is really a great value. Mine has been problem free and is comfortable with great gas mileage as the bonus. When driving it feels much more substantial than you would expect from a car this size. I highly recommend it, and if something happened to it, I would replace it with another Cruze LTZ. When you have a good thing, you stick with it...."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car but Avoid the NAV

March 17, 2014
By Brash1
from Madison WI
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love our Cruze. Average over 35 mpg. Nice features in the rs edition. Ride is what you should expect -- a larger sedan is more comfortable but you would get the gas milage. There are trade offs
DO NOT expect anything from the navigation option. It is terrible. It is not accurate. It does not calculate ETA correctly. Worse yet, GM simply doesn't care. It appears to assume county and township roads are 25 mph and does not seem to include all road types in calculating shortest route. Ang, again, GM simply does not care. I wonder if there is a class action on this problem.
Love the car. Hate the Nav. Service, when it really counts, is non-existent."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My First and last Chevy

December 25, 2013
By MyFirstCar
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought this last year, and I drove it fine during the summer except it was a slug going up hills, the transmission would kick it down to third gear going up a hill sending the RPM's through the roof to go 80kmh and the car was not full of luggage or anything.
I got the 2012 LT cruze nothing fancy. I was sold on the Fuel economy I was supposed to be getting over my Civic, which I should have kept, this car is heavy, sluggish, and the brakes don't work. Just last week, I was sliding out of control and was almost T-Boned by an 18 wheeler which luckily had seen me try to stop as I had to crank the hand brake and floor it out of the intersection, mind you I had to take traction control off. which if I hadn't would have ended up wrapped around a light post.
The traction control is so sensitive that when you drive in a straight line with a bit of snow on the ground, the car will think your going out of control and ditch you, I had to crank the wheel full to the left and it just barely got me out of the ditch, keep in mind I was going 50-60kmh down an 80kmh stretch.
The brakes were just recalled and all they said was drive safe, we will notify you when the parts arrive, knowing I have a 800km trip to make in the blizzard. I had to drive 50kmh the whole way.
There is no power in this car, it weighs 3700lbs, has VERY high safety ratings. The ONSTAR people harass you 24/7 when your subscription is about to expire in 3 months. They harass you some more when you try to remove your radio subscription saying if you can afford the car you can afford the package. Which I think should come with the lifetime of the vehicle which you paid in full anyways. Its cheaper to get a GPS and a CAA card than it is to sign up for ONSTAR."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy

December 7, 2013
By Happy
from Kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased my 2012 Cruze LT a month ago; an outstanding decision!!! Prior to making my final decision I accomplished substantial research in cost, fuel economy, and overall performance. I purchased the turbo; watch out, it may surprise you what Chevy was able to do with a 1.4, their best creation thus far if you ask me. Not only is it a fun car to "Cruze" around in, but it gets great mileage even stomping on the pedal. Don't be deceived by those who my knock this vehicle for its size. I have three kids (two in booster seats) and they ride just fine in the back. The only setback about the Cruze is that the seatbelts are built into the bench and can be a little tricky with three in the backseat - we make it work though. Lastly, the most important is the great safety rating the Cruze has.
If you contemplate the Cruze, I highly encourage it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it even more every time I drive it

November 14, 2013
By Cruze girl
from Houston, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Smoothnride nice acceleration good gas mileage incredible features(weather, movie show times, close gas stations, sunroof, touchscreen, Bluetooth and Bluetooth audio, Onstar app, pandora, rear view camera etc.) my car isn't even fully loaded and it has a ton of features awesome navigation incredibly smart car, comfortable drive . I don't even let other hold my key for too long. Great car for the money don't go to the competitors."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Reliable car

November 13, 2013
By tarektm
from Kuwait
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After driving this car for a year and a half i could tell this is not a reliable car.
I Have the 2012 LS that does not have ABS (This how they sell it in my country),
A-Reliability problems are divided into two major divisions
1- Slow Response
2- Lack of ABS
1- Slow response of gear shifting could cause an accident especially on a high way.
2- Lack of ABS brakes causes a trouble with brake locking happening all the time.
B-Low production quality:
I always hear a noise beside engine noise or hmmm sound, the dealership said it is OK!
C-Performance??
Enough to say the the slowest cars i drove are faster than this.
I don't recommend this car to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

1st year great 2nd year nightmare

October 31, 2013
By a phys/asst
from RETIRED NAVY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"GPM VERY GOOD 2ND YR BATTERY BAD, ALT. ENTIRE COOLING SYSTEM PROBLEMS AS WELL AS THERMOSTATE AND JUST 30,000 MILES MY RECOMMENDATION IS TO GO TO HYUNDAI OR HONDA AMERICANS JUST AIN'T THERE YET NOW BRAKES ARE BEING RECALLED. OF AND IF YOU PLAN TO RUNAROUND TOWN GOOD LUCK ON IT STARTING EVERYTIME! 20,000 MORE PROBLEMS AND I,M HEADED BACK TO HYUNDAI!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2011 Chevy cruze

October 5, 2013
By Fairdeal2
from Anderson, South Carolina
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Enjoyable car. The ride could be a tad bit better for the price. Nice interior roomy really cool heated seats sunroof tinted windows which change darker in sunlight to provide security and privacy . Car maneuvers well.i wish they had given me s lower price for a used 2011 edition so i could pay it off sooner. My price for the used one is akin to the price on a 2013 model so i did not save anything. Sirius is driving me crazy to buy their service. How about some lower rate Sirius. No such deal. Hi tech electronics available but many of the newer card come with that also.
Enjoyable car but wish i had paid less for it and perhaps shopped around more.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LIKE CRUZE!

October 4, 2013
By Cruze 1.4 Turbo
from Queens NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought new 2012 cruze 1.4 Turbo 2 years ago. Have 13300 miles now and never had a problem. Bucket seats comfortable. Drives very nice. Fuel efficiency is my priority when I buy a car and comfort on top of it is a bonus. 1.4 Turbo has very good torque and very responsive. If I want performance during a long drive I add 89 octain fuel that adds more power and quicker response. You can imagine if you mix 91 or higher octain."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chevy cruze Ltz

September 28, 2013
By LisaB.
from Anderson, south carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an awesome car which can definitely spoil you. Easy to handle and accurate and everything works great the heated seats and Bluetooth are great and no hands music and iPod accompaniment is futuristic. High bright night lights windows that darken in sunlight to provide sun screening as well as security are a plus. Car maneuvers smoothly easily and quickly so quiet you might just miss the move. I love this car with its sync to iPhone settings that are so unbelievable. Test drive it today"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Chevy Cruze LTZ 2012 - To drive smart or fun?

August 31, 2013
By LovinMe
from Oregon
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I'm the 2nd owner of a Chevy Cruze LTZ 2012 and have been driving it for over a year. Overall I like the car quite a bit; all the selling points you hear from dealers and reviews are true for the most part. I'm going to focus on the Cons so you can get an idea of what might go wrong. It might sound harsh but remember, I actually would recommend this car. However, I expect a new car to run and need relatively no repair work the first year or two of its life. Is that too much to ask from the USA?
Pros: Good gas mileage (computer Averages 32-42 on hwy), nice LTZ perks (I'm addicted to keyless FOB, remote start and auto climate control), Economical with some style
Cons:
Reliability in electronics. Less than a year old this car had a tire pressure sensor that went out. Replaced under warrenty. Another went out in less than a month. Replaced all of them thanks to the guy at the local dealership, however, I can only wonder how long these will last? Speakers are going out too and I never go over 20 volume (Now 20 is about 1/3 of what kids these days play their sound systems at, and a necessary setting to hear the bluetooth on the hwy) cmon Chevy, let's be real an put some quality sound systems in. (FYI: Speakers not covered under warrenty in this case since they assume I just played music too loud; I believe the volume knob shouldn't be able to blow out brand new speakers, but hey... what do I know Chevy?) Unreliable speakers to say the least.
The steering wheel developed a very audible and annoying squeak at end range turning. Covered under warranty; the mechanic said it was just in need of lubricant but they usually don't need it so soon. Cmon chevy... use enough lube. ALWAYS.
Comfort: I'm 5'8" and the front seat bottom cushion is too short for my legs. I was aware of this from reviews but it becomes quite annoying during a 120+ mile commute. Just like wheelchairs, if the seat is too short it causes excessive pressure on the upper legs and can lead to numbness and decreased blood flow; not to mention the discomfort. I'd rather not have to stretch while driving... Also, the notes about the center console being too far is true; why is it just out of reach for the radio? Climate? Center console? So I can do mini sit ups every time I want to touch something on it? Design flaw.
Navigation: Worthless. Have to purchase onStar to use it. Cmon Chevy; that's just silly. Put in a quality navigation system that actually has a MAP screen.
Tight interior: Rattles beginning to show up in the overhead rearview mirror. Rattles vex me; it's a pet peeve. A new car shouldn't rattle until after the warrently; cmon Chevy, you know this.
Squeaking also coming from one of the vent fans. Again, pet peeve. Cmon chevy, no rattles no squeaks within the first year please.
Major design flaw: You can't lock your keys in the car but you can lock them in the trunk. Now, I've tried to look at changing programming on this, but I don't think you can. Really chevy? Not even a warning honk? Don't think it's possible to lock your keys in your trunk, Chevy? Well welcome to dumb America; population me. The car should sense the FOB in the trunk too, Chevy. I mean seriously.
Besides all that; great car so far.
Note: I would never pay retail.
Shop smart not impulse.
Happy trails.
~Lovinme"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Chevrolet_Cruze
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Cruze

August 9, 2013
By Cruze
from Walnut Creek, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car 2nd hand with about 52k miles on it. Took it on a road trip through the hot nevada desert to the midwest for about 8 hours. No issues what so ever. Rides comfortably. Handles securely. Even fun to drive. Though Not as fun as a some other cars i've driven, but still nimble in town. Except for budget cheap low rent tires the dealer had put on the front end, noise levels are low. I like that this car has a small turbo in it. Shifts aren't as smooth as the cars i have owned from other brands, but when the turbo kicks in at about 2000 rpm, the car takes off. Engine noise is pronounced so if you like quiet when accelerating, i'd go with a different car.
The transmission is geared more for fuel economy so sometimes you have to put it into manual mode when you are accelerating when making a turn because it thinks you don't need to accelerate quickly to merge into traffic safely, but it's not a big deal. I happily do it myself.
Of all the cars i looked at, sub to compact cars, i liked the interior of the Cruze most, though i would have chosen a different material to put on the dash. Cloth is better than hard plastic, but leather would have been a better choice to use through out the various trim levels.
The only real gripe i have is the very short center armrest. It slides forward but if you like to rest your elbow while driving, you will have to use your left hand more.
A minor gripe i have are the awful rear speakers. I faded all the sound to the rear speakers and barely any sound came out of them. I adjusted the eq, still nothing. I had to turn the volume almost all the way up. Again, this is a minor gripe as i will have the fader on 0 any way. The rear passengers will have to settle for the volume and quality sound.
The rear trunk on the Cruze is HUGE. As much trunk room as my RL. This is a huge plus for my many road trips. I was able to fit 2 medium duffle bags, 1 large duffle bag, a small cooler, a pillow, emergency kit, emergency gas can, 1 case of 24 16.9 ounce bottles of water, 3 cases of 24 glass bottles of soda, 1 large jacket, and 2 coats.
The exterior of the car is conservative but looks more expensive with the help of the headlight and taillight units. I like the jewel like designs instead of the plain designs of decades past, especially at night. I plan on plus sizing the rims with 18 or 19 inch rims and tires, adding a subwoofer as the bass is abysmal, a traditional cd changer, amp, and upgraded speakers. I'm also looking into changing those clothes pieces around the dash and doors with leather. Other than these upgrades, the car is the perfect car for me. I am happy i decided to keep an open mind and bought an American car.
This car is just as competitive with the other cars i looked at in its class, in terms of interior quality and styling. The interior won me over. The car does not feel cheap or barebones. Though i would skip the leather in the 2LT model. It felt more like cheap vinyl than leather, though that model has larger rims and tires, a sport suspension, heated seat and a slightly better sound system."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.