Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic

2012_Chevrolet_Sonic

Average Customer Rating:
4.578 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 45(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Review 1 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

recalls

May 20, 2014
By gj
from Santa Rosa, CA.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"There have been 3 recalls so far. I am afraid there is something wrong with the gages, they pop off and on. Not too happy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

34,000 miles later

April 14, 2014
By Minnesota
from Jordan, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"More warranty work knock censor and torque converter seal. think I will start looking for another chevy when 5 year 100,000 mile runs out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome car

February 10, 2014
By Sonic love
from Maine
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My sonic is very comfortable, reliable and handles well!!!! I had a small SUV before with several issues ... The sonic is just what I needed!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sonic Hatchback-Great car!

January 22, 2014
By Grandma of 6
from O'Fallon, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having owned more Chevys than not since the mid 60s, I was "just looking" for a slightly smaller car than my 2007 Cobalt. I tried a test drive of the Spark first, but it was a windy day, and on the highway, the trucks blew me away! So I went back and tried the Sonic Hatchback. I was impressed by the looks at first, and after I took a test drive, I was sold! It has a 6-speed auto (with plenty of power), cruise, power windows, remote start, keyless entry, rear wiper, Bluetooth for the phone, a phone by itself and OnStar...all the bells and whistles. I bought the 2012 car in Dec. 2013 and have already put 18,000 miles on it. I have had great gas mileage (up to 35MPH on the highway), comfortable seats and more room than I expected in the hatch "trunk". I liked the look of the hatchback better than the sedan because the back doors don't stand out as being a 4-door car. Good sporty look to it! I am very impressed with the car. The only thing missing is a sunroof!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough Customer Approves of Car

November 19, 2013
By S From NEOhio
from North East Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After 16 months of owning the LS 2012 5 spd Manual Transmission Sedan, I'm ready to speak. Make no mistake, I'm still keenly suspect of Chevys. This is my first, and I forked out an unhealthy amount of dough for the Extended Warranty, Undercoating / Sealant and Tire/Wheel warranty.
I love the way the car handles and coasting is... wow... fun. At 24,000 miles, blind spots, radio quality and seat comfort are my biggest complaints. Gas mileage took a year to get to 42 avg city/hwy. I've even held 53 mpg a couple of days. But, mpg is very prone to wind conditions and tire inflation. I have one tire that needs weekly attention otherwise, it will keep me at 38 mpg. I just bought new Cooper CS Touring tires since the OEM tires (Hankook) were at times scary in snow. The new tires will make the car more sluggish and we'll see on mpg with greater traction.
Not sure how I can work in my Hankook Optimo's for summer driving, since they roll so nicely. Overall, I paid too much for the car, but I'm still pleased with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eh, It's OK.

August 28, 2013
By Terra
from Columbia, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have had this car for about a year and a half now. The start-up "turning the key" is worrysome, which makes me think this has to do with me not getting that much gas mileage as others with a Sonic? the brakes make this weird noise even though they are near-new. This car has had 4 recalls since it was made, which is i guess to be expected for a new model. it's very slow and doesn't shift as much as it should being that is is 6 gears..
Other than that, the look of the car and the features are pretty nice., but when it comes down to it, you need it to work properly.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Chevy.

July 2, 2013
By Mr. Rob
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The last Chevy I owned was a '94 Cavalier 2.2L. Best car I owned. I am very hopeful this car will last as long."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A nice little car. And it is a chevy.

April 18, 2013
By used car Enthusiast.
from Columbia, SC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I never owned a chevy, my dad always owned chevys but that was a long way back. So far it has been a good car. Not too many extras that will just break when it gets old. It is a small car and it looks good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this car

April 8, 2013
By sonic lover
from Thumb of Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently was given a 2012 Chevy Sonic as a gift from my husband. It was sitting on the showroom floor and I fell in love as soon as I saw it. It is comfortable, the turbo is so quick for passing, and it has all the bells and whistles. It is the nicest car I have ever owned and I love it. Averages 34 miles to the gal, I thought it would get a little better, but everything else is so nice I wouldn't trade it. I got the midnight black metallic color and have had many people tell how classy the color is. It is bigger on the inside than what it looks like, too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2012 Sonic by Chevrolet

February 26, 2013
By htsmcrider
from Lufkin Texas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It has a 6 speed autotomatic transmission and you
can feel all six gears.Not a smooth shifting vehichle.
Not much Pep with 1.8 L engine.Also no cruise control
which I dearly miss.Windows are crank,not auto.But less to go wrong.It says 39 MPG..On a grat day all I am
getting is 32 MPG. And thats on a very rare day.It handles well, as far as driving is concerned.I traded
in a 2009 HHR which was a much better vehicle.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

nice car...comfort isssues

February 22, 2013
By sean
from Massachusetts
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have owned my LT sedan with the 1.4 turbo 6 speed manual since Oct. 2012. The 1st week I noticed the seat was uncomfortable. I thought they would get better once broken in. I am about 5'9" and 220. I am a big guy but not huge . The seats are thinly padded, they collapsed under my weight. I ended up getting the seat modified by a auto upholsterer. The foot room and the width between the door and center console is tight. The clutch is difficult to push all the way to the floor because the wheel well intrudes into the foot well. I think they designed it for automatic transmissions. I love the way it drives! It has ample power and I get 39 miles to the gallon. I have never got less than 37.7. The sound system is really good. The plastics are very cheap and hard. I have only had 1 problem. The gas gauge has died 2 times but came back on its own. The trunk is huge.The value is great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Versatile commute hatchback

January 30, 2013
By Bay area commuter
from Bay Area, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Comfortable nipply hatchback. Handles well.
Pros
Solid construction
good bodysyling
great bluetooth hands free system
remote start great in winter!
Comfortable seating
Cons
Gas Milage avg ~32mpg
arm rest not adjustable- too high
front cpholder in awkward position
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT

November 18, 2012
By ANN25
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my little sonic, its the base model but its so fun to drive and comfortable....Definitly recommend :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very practical

November 12, 2012
By working Joe
from Detroit, Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought the car primarily for work about a year ago. Was impressed with the room, Im 6" and had to put the seat forward a notch. Has a large trunk which is useful for sporting equipment on my weekends away. Selling point was the engine which is the same as the Cruz and has enough power for stop and go driving along with easily reaching highway speeds when necessary.My only complaints are the minor recalls which have happened but since it is new this is to be expected. I also would have liked cruise control as an option. I also was not happy with the tires it came with. Averaging 29mph in mixed driving and I also like the dash which gives very useful infomation and is easy to manipulate."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ok as low priced small car

September 27, 2012
By none
from Northampton MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"30mph consistently, a little tight up front and very tight in back. But rides nicely and we like the look of it. reasonable price for a small car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value, fun car

September 11, 2012
By City Driver
from New York, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I looked at many competitors in the same price range, none had all of the features of my LTZ-heated front seats, sunroof, etc. Fit and finish are surprisingly good. I use the car for my punishing NYC daily commute with stop/start traffic and terrible roads, and it performs wonderfully. Great for city parking as well. Comfortable for long driving as well, have about 11000 miles on it, still feels new. I usually get bored with my cars very quickly, but not so with the Sonic."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buying Experience

September 9, 2012
By ss
from Amherst, Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very smooth experience. Answered questions about new car. Would return again. Helped get price lower."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quaint little care

September 9, 2012
By Chevy Lover
from Tacoma, WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cute little car. Comfortable for two upfront with no one in the back. Leg room is non-existence in the back so if your carrying a full load, it’s going to be beyond cramped. My sonic LT manual six-speed creates a go-cart type feeling making it hard to watch your speed without keeping your eyes on the speedometer. Frankly, you’re going faster than you think, keep that in mind!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the money

September 1, 2012
By Harley the Dog
from Crossville, Tennessee
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We looked at a couple of import type cars, 4 doors and turbos. Couldn't find the exact car we wanted in stock anywhere in the country, so started looking elsewhere. My wife looked at several cars on line and she decided she liked the Chevrolet Sonic LTZ. The next problem was she wanted a manual transmission and we wanted the turbo. so our dealer had to do a dealer search and found ours about 175 miles away and went and got it. The car has been surprisingly nice to drive in town and on a 250 mile one way trip. wWe've got about 2500 miles on the Sonic now and average about 33-34 miles per gallon, in town or on the interstate. The 1.4 turbo seems a little short of power on steep hills. Also with the 6 speed manual transmission, the 6th gear is mostly for interstate driving, not around town. we live in Tennessee, so lots of hills. Overall, great little car and we are both in our 60's , and trade every 11/2 -2 years and have had lots of new cars over the years, this car is great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a fun ride!

August 26, 2012
By Gear Grinder
from Dundee, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just bought the Sonic with the 1.4l turbo engine. What a fun car to drive. The turbo more than makes up for the small displacement engine. It is quick off the line, even with the little bit of turbo lag and the steering is quick and precise. The six-speed manual transmission is smooth and forgiving and the clutch throw is a comfortable distance.
The ride is surprisingly smooth even though the car handles like it has a sport suspension.
My biggist problem is keeping it down to the legal speed limit. This little car really wants to fly.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.