Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox

2012_Chevrolet_Equinox

Average Customer Rating:
4.103 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
47 of 58(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Review 1 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the elderly

November 14, 2011
By Car Lover
from Springfield, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For those who have a difficult time exiting a vehicle, this is by far the easiest. My wife and I have a difficult time exiting a convential sedan. The seats in a full size SUV are too high for ease of entry and exit. The Equinox is perfect for both of us. Also, the rearview camera with the large display on the dash is a tremendous improvement over the in-mirror display."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Car Has Everything You Need

June 23, 2014
By Liz
from Southern Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been dreaming about owning this car and doing my research about it for about 5 years. I finally purchased it a month and it is perfect. No complaints here! It has everything a car needs with great features as well. It is a very smooth ride with a lot of room, but not too big. It's comfortable and just right."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

exterior review

May 21, 2014
By mickey
from massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had this vehicle for two years and I am very happy. However, we live in the northeast and the bottom inside of my doors are starting to show signs of rust. Rust is not covered under the warranty. I'm going to have to find a way to protect my investment."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Never again

March 6, 2014
By sat1
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had Chevy's all my life and after buying a 2012 Equinox, I will never buy another Chevy...Engine went south at 110000 miles..Replaced it then Transmission went after another 3000 miles...If you buy one better get extended warranties"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable car I have had

February 4, 2014
By name_here_pls
from Gainesville, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought the Equinox 3 weeks ago and I love it. I'm used to having horrible cars that stay in the shop or parked so I am still nervous about that first visit but I love it and it meets my needs to the full."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprisingly Nice Vehicle

January 26, 2014
By wvflyboy
from Charleston, WV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2012 2 wheel drive vehicle gets close to the advertised milage around town. I live in Charleston, WV where there are a lot of hills and it gets about 19 mpg around town. I get about 24 on the highway. The vehicle is surprisingly quiet - much more quiet than the Nissan Rouge. Interior comfort is better than average. The blind spots are pronounced. This vehicle cries out for blind spot indicators like the Ford Fusion has. Also - the display for the backup camera is ample - but without indicator lines on the display - it's hard to judge where you are. This makes the backup camera good for avoiding running into something - but not so good for parking assistance. Overall I really like the performance, gas mileage, comfort, and styling of the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Month In - LOVE IT!

July 26, 2013
By EquinoxGR
from Grand Rapids, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2012 Equniox (2LT) used with approximately 16k miles on it a month ago. I've put almost 2k miles on it and haven't had any issues so far and absolutely love it! The ride is smooth and quiet, and the features are great for the price (leather, heated seats, 8-way power seats). The only thing I had to get used to was the power of the 4 cylinder engine, since I had perviously driven a 6cly car. After a few weeks, I hardly noticed it. I haven't driven it in snow obviously, but it handles great in the rain. Only true complaint is that there are no air vents for people in the back seat....but that wouldn't deter me from purchasing :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 Chevy Equinox

June 3, 2013
By julie
from Midwest
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've put on a couple thousand miles so far and am happy with my purchase. Performance is good with the V6 engine. The features of the LT suit my needs, love the bluetooth feature.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely solid, very impressive. Excellent value.

May 6, 2013
By Jon, the value concious buyer
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my 2012 Equinox 2LT for one year and love it. It replaced a Nissan Murano SUV. I chose the 4 cylinder engine for fuel economy, V6 is optional for max power. The 4 cylinder is peppy and powers the car fine, but adding a turbo charger would be best (hence, the 4 stars for performance) and GM is doing this to other cars and will likely come to the Equinox too.
I directly compared this car to the Honda CRV and the Nissan Rogue, test driving all three back to back on the same, windy day. I did not compare to any others due to either undesirable styling, configuration, or poor resale value.
This is by far the richest designed, quietest, most solid feeling, and best equipped for the money of the three. The styling is fantastic, and when anyone gets in the car they are amazed at how rich the interior is...I have the black and brownstone leather combination. Also amazing is how much room there is in the back seat due to the sliding back seat with adjustable back rests. With the seat moved all the way back, leg room is over abundant and similar to the biggest Lexus sedan. I operate a small remodeling business and having a vehicle I can convert to carry clients in luxury for shopping trips in as well as tools and ladders to the job site on other days, is a necessity for me and this car does it all. I can set the back seat position virtually anywhere in it's travel path to suit the best need of cargo space and/or passenger room needed.
One thing I can't stand about any car is rattles, this car has NOT ONE rattle anywhere, and we have very poor roads where I live so I'm very, very, pleased. The previous Nissan Murano always had 3 rattles the dealer could never fix.
If I didn't need SUV versatility, I'd buy a small sporty car as I prefer tight handling and small car driveability and so, I've always thought I would have to sacrifice, but not with the Equinox, I am so pleased at how tight, solid, and precise the handling is and the firm ride makes me feel very connected to the road, compared to larger "boaty feeling" SUV's or small SUV's that feel "jumpy" and "too light" like the Honda CRV and Nissan Rogue felt. And the Honda was getting blown by the wind on my test drive...annoying.
I have driven the V6 equipped Equinox as well renting one for a week on vacation and the V6 steering is configured different and makes the car feel "heavier". The 6 is also a bit quieter and eliminates a mild engine vibration you get during acceleration from the 4, but this car's 4 is much quieter than Nissan's or Honda's by far. There is also virtually no wind noise and less road noise than others, things that were particularly noticeable to me.
Having grown up with a 1968 Chevelle Malibu wagon, and then a 1977 Chevrolet Malibu wagon, my parent's switched to Swedish and Japanese cars, due to the declining quality of American cars as the 77 was not as good as the 68, but now my father compares the quality of my Equinox to the quality of the 1968 Chevelle Malibu wagon, stating that was one of the best cars he ever owned. He also noted that the car was built in Canada, and coincidentally, the Equinox is as well. It pleases me to finally be able to feel comfortable to buy an American car without worries or hesitation of satisfaction, quality or reliability. Many family members chose Honda's due to their reliability, but our other car is a 5 year old Acura (made by Honda) MDX that has terrible rattles on the interior due to poor design. Not my Equinox! GM has really turned around the quality of their products after almost dying.
Another factor in choosing this car was the low cost of ownership. The Equinox has a 10 year 100,000 mile tune up interval, with virtually nothing to do except oil changes and 1 transmission fluid change before 100,000 miles....so that avoids $500 to $800 or more every 30K miles.
At least 10 air bags in the car and 5 star crash rating, excellent! Super comfortable seats too.
One con about the car: Low visiblity, due to the thick front pillars on either side of the windshield and around the doors/windows but I had this same issue in my previous SUV. Also, rear visiblity for backing up isn't the greatest either, but the rear view camera is fantastic and eliminates that problem completely. I can see more out the back from the camera than I can from the driver's seat.
I recommend test driving an Equinox or it's twin GMC Terrain (same frame and virtually identical interiors) at the very least."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car!

April 22, 2013
By 6789
from rainbow city,al
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i am so happy that russell sconyers was my salesman and he was very good, he h=was honest and paid attention to my needs and the car i wanted"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

After 26 gm vehicles this wil be the last

April 5, 2013
By Last gm purchase
from Chardon, Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Way to go GM! After purchasing 26 vehicles from you, you can't stand behind our 2012 Chevy Exquinox. It's been in for the same repairs 8 times within 10 months, our dealer has had the car for more than 40 days and they can't fix it, yet YOU won't stand behind your product. No wonder you had to file bankruptcy! Must be practicing for #2!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best looking and driving car for me

March 23, 2013
By retired
from Las Cruces, NM
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"only problem the xm radio is not working as far as the voice I took it in to be fixed but they didnot fix the problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Take a long test drive b4 U buy!

March 15, 2013
By Mrdubious
from chicago,il
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"One year of ownership and 9500 miles and still experiencing trans and acceleration issues. NOT satisfied with my 2012 Equinox! If I could sell it tomorrow I would. Very disappointed in this GM product! Hate it every time I drive it! GM sent me a survey a few months ago regarding my ownership of this vehicle. The last question they ask is if I would buy another GM product. I said defiantly not. You'd think they would be all over that in order to keep my business. Not a chance ! I haven't heard a peep back from GM. Hello Mercedes ML 350!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

February 19, 2013
By HJ
from Mt wash, Ky
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased an Lt 6 cyl with leather, sunroof, touchscreen and remote start. This is the best vehicle purchase I have made yet. I love the remote start and interior design with touchscreen, awesome!! I feel like I am driving luxury vehicle and didn't have to pay the price. I feel good about purchasing an american made product without comprising anything. The only minus is that the seats don't fold all the way down in the back of the equinox."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Safety First

February 14, 2013
By Informed Consumer
from Houston, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Chevy Equinox is rated 5 star in Safety which is incredibly important to me. The interior is roomy and my adult carpool passengers are extremely comfortable. The gas mileage is better than my previous hybrid. I love my 2012 Equinox!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

chevy equinox

December 17, 2012
By chevyfan
from peoria, il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm impressed with how the equinox handles and the power. I thought it would handle more like a truck, but it handles like a car. I got the 6 cylinder and love the power. I also love the room and the comfort of the seats. I'm so happy with it and highly recommend it to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no concern for safety

December 17, 2012
By aaron69
from North Vernon, Indiana
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased a 2012 Equinox in Feb. It has been in the shop three time. The first was a simple air bag sensor, the next one was the motor dumped oil all over my garage floor, and the last and most definetely the worst, a fitting on the gas line broke and sprayed gallons of gas all over the garage floor and driveway. The line runs close to the exhaust. Im really surprised that my house and family didnt burn up. Oh but they gave me an extended warranty to make it all better. If you would like pictures I would be glad to show you."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review

December 13, 2012
By koosey
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the second Equinox that I have bought. I liked the 2011 so much that I decided to get a 2012 as well the following year. I have two kids and we decided to buy this over a minivan. There is plenty of room for the kids in the back seat. The seat material is very durable and has held up well with the kids. The ride is fairly smooth for being an SUV. The gas mileage is very good for the four cylinder model. We went on a family trip from Texas to Michigan on under three tanks of gas. On the highway trip we average arround 28 mpg with the car loaded up. City driving has been arround 24 mpg. The mpg is very dependent on your driving pattern an total weight of the vehicle. The mpg is very good for a SUV and 32 mpg is probably based on driving 55mph on highway with cruise control. I haven't had any break downs and only routine oil changes and tire rotations have been needed. There did not seem to be much more power with the V6 engine, but it appears the 2013 model addresses this. Mylink is new compared to the 2011 models. Mylink does make it easier to interface with XM, your phones Bluetooth, and the other vehicle monitoring features (mpg, tire pressure, etc..). Mylink is pretty simple to use and works well with Android and iPhones. I'm a picky person and take my time on buying things. I've been very pleased with the Equinox and would recommend this as a family vehicle over a minivan with great gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2012 Equinox

December 1, 2012
By chevydude
from Thousand Oaks, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a Honda CRV that I HATED. This car is a million light years beyond it and more than corrects Honda's mistakes. Great mileage (4 cyl), styling, comfort.. can't say enough. Mine is a 2LT model with leather. Best small SUV for the money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 Equinox LT

November 21, 2012
By Dave
from Copperas Cove, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased a used (only 8093 miles) LT, 4 cylinder engine. Gas mileage is nothing near 30 mpg on the highway. I get about 27 is I stay at 70 mph, still pretty good. The transmission is always shifting - makes me wonder how long it will last. The 4 cyl engine is barely enough for a vehicle this size - if you purchase one I recommend getting the V-6. What do I like about it? Everything else. Lots of room, stylish, overall a good car but the trans leaves me wondering how long before it goes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.