Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox

2012_Chevrolet_Equinox

Average Customer Rating:
4.074 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
55 of 68(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Review 1 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the elderly

November 14, 2011
By Car Lover
from Springfield, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For those who have a difficult time exiting a vehicle, this is by far the easiest. My wife and I have a difficult time exiting a convential sedan. The seats in a full size SUV are too high for ease of entry and exit. The Equinox is perfect for both of us. Also, the rearview camera with the large display on the dash is a tremendous improvement over the in-mirror display."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dashboard not working

July 17, 2016
By Jenny
from Ontario Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my 2012 Equinox last Sept. 2015 used of course. It is now July 2016 and the front dashboard is not working, No GPS, radio cuts out, turn signals don't work when Dash goes black, then pops back on again, The Dealership tells me I have to replace the unit to the cost of $1,200.00 plus tx. This is a 4 year old car, why would this occur? No one seems to have an answer, after all driving it shouldn't cause this problem, I think it is a flaw with the manufacture of the car. I contacted Oshawa & they are following up with the Dealership & this repair. I do have to pay $100.00 for the car to be tested for the problem. Won't buy a GM again!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very comfortable but wish it had more power

June 30, 2016
By nanajudy
from Penobscot, ME
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought my 2012 Equinox 2 1/2 yrs ago and have really enjoyed it. I have bad knees and the height of the seats makes it very easy to slide in and out. My engine light came on last week and took it back to the dealership( they do all my service work). They found a crack in the cylinder wall and have to replace the engine. Thankfully I have extended warranty so it won't cost me anything. The engine only had 52K miles. I heard someone else in my area had the same problem..Without the warranty I would be stuck with a broken car and another 4 yrs of payments. Hope no one else has had this problem. Other than this problem, I really enjoy the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Safety First

May 20, 2016
By KaRo
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I only had my Chevy Equinox for a year, but it was the best car I've had so far. The exterior looks very nice and it drives so smooth. The only concern if I had to pick, would be the seats. They do leave imprints on your legs and can be a little uncomfortable at first. I got used to it. This was my first SUV and it won't be my last. I was recently in a terrible car accident and this car saved my life. All airbags deployed like they were suppose to and I walked away from the accident with only cuts and bruises. Needless to say, I am very lucky to have been in this car. The car took all of the impact of the accident and is no longer with us, but I am so thankful I purchased this car. I will most certainly be looking to purchase another one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Vehicle I have owned!

February 29, 2016
By Love My Equinox!
from Madison, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my 2012 Equinox! Very classy and well built vehicle. I feel very safe and rides extremely well for an SUV. I wouldn't trade it for the world!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RJ Athlete's Mom

November 4, 2015
By RJ Sports Mom
from Wilton, CT.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my 2012 Chevy Equinox. It is the 2nd one that I owned as I was in a head on collision with my 2007. The reason I bought another one was that the Equinox saved my life. All air bags went off and the car took the brunt of the collision. If it wasn't for that car, I would not be here today. I feel even safer in my 2012 Equinox. It is much roomier and has better cargo space. The only complaint that I have is that the seat material leaves prints on your legs and after a long drive, they kinda hurt. The gas mileage is good for a car this large and the instrument panel is great. The screen is easy to read and with On star Services, you feel very secure. I love the way it looks. I have almost 60K miles on it already and plan to keep it for a very long time. I have only done regular maintenance, no major repairs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved my Equinox

September 8, 2015
By Volcanoesfire
from Rocky Mount, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in a Traverse to downsize to an Equinox. I absolutely loved my Equinox. I had mine for 3 years and never had a serious or recurring problem. Once my car would not go into drive (3rd year owning it) so the dealership came and picked it up. They believed some water got into one of the sensors underneath the car (we had heavy flooding in the area that I had to drive through) but they couldn't find the real issue because the car worked fine once they towed it to the shop. I never had another issue with it, before or after. Never. It was very roomy (family of four) and got great gas mileage, etc. I recently traded it in only because I wanted a cheaper payment as my interest rate was high since I bought it in the peak of the downfall of the economy. It held its value tenfold! The dealer gave me $800 more than I owed!
This was a great small SUV and I strongly recommend it! It also got great safety ratings from the IIHS."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Noisy Interior

June 25, 2015
By BIBBER
from Omaha
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"If your looking for a car with extremely noisy interior this is the one for you. I new with all the plastic when I bought it I may be in trouble. The interior is full of vibrations, squeaks and rattles. Says something about the quality"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this great value vehicle

March 29, 2015
By CaDad
from Central NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great design, great comfort, great features. Nothing I do not like after 48K miles. The 2.4L engine is not gutsy but it is very capable and the gas mileage is remarkable. This is a CUV class car, but really feels like a midsized SUV. Very satisfied."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Equinox

September 28, 2014
By Silver 2LT 4 cyl. front wheel drive
from Wichita, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been doing my research for several months looking at what affordable used SUVs to consider that are big enough for my two large dogs, small enough to get good fuel economy, and have the nice features I want.
I was looking at the GMC Terrain very seriously but since the interior is almost identical to the Equinox, I decided that I like the more rounded exterior better on the Equinox. It is also several thousand dollar cheaper in the used market.
First of all I was worried that I was really compromising by purchasing the 4 cylinder Equinox since I traded in a 3.0 liter V6 Mariner, but I have found it completely adequate. Basically if you are used to a 6 cylinder, you just have to get used to less torque and working the pedal more to rev the RPMs higher in a lower gear.
I have owned my 2012 Equinox for 2 weeks now. I love the leather heated seats. The seat heaters work very quickly and feel good on a sore back. The power lumbar adjustment for the driver seat is a welcome feature. The dashboard has a nice trip computer display in the center that will digitally display your current speed if you want so you don't have to peek under the rim of the steering wheel to check speed. The 7" touchscreen radio controls are well laid out and simple to use. I am not very impressed with the sound of the XM radio reception. It doesn't sound digital and I find that plugging in my phone with the ipod port under the armrest is more enjoyable for me. The digital sound is much better, and the songs are displayed on the screen with controls to change songs or genre, artist, channel, etc. It works just as well using iRadio. The remote start is a nice feature and I really like the laser cut flip key fob. The rear backup camera really needs a grid on the screen to show you where the vehicle path is headed. Objects also look much further away than they really are. LED daytime running lights would be a nice addition to the nicer models but the projector beam fog lights look great.
There is lots of bag seat space with comfortable seats that I believe will be perfect for 4 adults on a road trip. There might not be quite as much cargo space as a CRV, but the overall package of the Equinox has nicer features and better styling that doesn't look like you're moving into your first college dorm."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

50/50

August 21, 2014
By Maverick
from Union, Nj
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just bought a 2012 Equinox about 3 months ago. Within a month and a half already had engine problems, don't know if was the dealer's fault for not keeping the maintance but really hoping for not to happen again for a while"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Car Has Everything You Need

June 23, 2014
By Liz
from Southern Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been dreaming about owning this car and doing my research about it for about 5 years. I finally purchased it a month and it is perfect. No complaints here! It has everything a car needs with great features as well. It is a very smooth ride with a lot of room, but not too big. It's comfortable and just right."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

exterior review

May 21, 2014
By mickey
from massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had this vehicle for two years and I am very happy. However, we live in the northeast and the bottom inside of my doors are starting to show signs of rust. Rust is not covered under the warranty. I'm going to have to find a way to protect my investment."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Never again

March 6, 2014
By sat1
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had Chevy's all my life and after buying a 2012 Equinox, I will never buy another Chevy...Engine went south at 110000 miles..Replaced it then Transmission went after another 3000 miles...If you buy one better get extended warranties"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable car I have had

February 4, 2014
By name_here_pls
from Gainesville, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought the Equinox 3 weeks ago and I love it. I'm used to having horrible cars that stay in the shop or parked so I am still nervous about that first visit but I love it and it meets my needs to the full."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprisingly Nice Vehicle

January 26, 2014
By wvflyboy
from Charleston, WV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2012 2 wheel drive vehicle gets close to the advertised milage around town. I live in Charleston, WV where there are a lot of hills and it gets about 19 mpg around town. I get about 24 on the highway. The vehicle is surprisingly quiet - much more quiet than the Nissan Rouge. Interior comfort is better than average. The blind spots are pronounced. This vehicle cries out for blind spot indicators like the Ford Fusion has. Also - the display for the backup camera is ample - but without indicator lines on the display - it's hard to judge where you are. This makes the backup camera good for avoiding running into something - but not so good for parking assistance. Overall I really like the performance, gas mileage, comfort, and styling of the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Month In - LOVE IT!

July 26, 2013
By EquinoxGR
from Grand Rapids, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2012 Equniox (2LT) used with approximately 16k miles on it a month ago. I've put almost 2k miles on it and haven't had any issues so far and absolutely love it! The ride is smooth and quiet, and the features are great for the price (leather, heated seats, 8-way power seats). The only thing I had to get used to was the power of the 4 cylinder engine, since I had perviously driven a 6cly car. After a few weeks, I hardly noticed it. I haven't driven it in snow obviously, but it handles great in the rain. Only true complaint is that there are no air vents for people in the back seat....but that wouldn't deter me from purchasing :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 Chevy Equinox

June 3, 2013
By julie
from Midwest
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've put on a couple thousand miles so far and am happy with my purchase. Performance is good with the V6 engine. The features of the LT suit my needs, love the bluetooth feature.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely solid, very impressive. Excellent value.

May 6, 2013
By Jon, the value concious buyer
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my 2012 Equinox 2LT for one year and love it. It replaced a Nissan Murano SUV. I chose the 4 cylinder engine for fuel economy, V6 is optional for max power. The 4 cylinder is peppy and powers the car fine, but adding a turbo charger would be best (hence, the 4 stars for performance) and GM is doing this to other cars and will likely come to the Equinox too.
I directly compared this car to the Honda CRV and the Nissan Rogue, test driving all three back to back on the same, windy day. I did not compare to any others due to either undesirable styling, configuration, or poor resale value.
This is by far the richest designed, quietest, most solid feeling, and best equipped for the money of the three. The styling is fantastic, and when anyone gets in the car they are amazed at how rich the interior is...I have the black and brownstone leather combination. Also amazing is how much room there is in the back seat due to the sliding back seat with adjustable back rests. With the seat moved all the way back, leg room is over abundant and similar to the biggest Lexus sedan. I operate a small remodeling business and having a vehicle I can convert to carry clients in luxury for shopping trips in as well as tools and ladders to the job site on other days, is a necessity for me and this car does it all. I can set the back seat position virtually anywhere in it's travel path to suit the best need of cargo space and/or passenger room needed.
One thing I can't stand about any car is rattles, this car has NOT ONE rattle anywhere, and we have very poor roads where I live so I'm very, very, pleased. The previous Nissan Murano always had 3 rattles the dealer could never fix.
If I didn't need SUV versatility, I'd buy a small sporty car as I prefer tight handling and small car driveability and so, I've always thought I would have to sacrifice, but not with the Equinox, I am so pleased at how tight, solid, and precise the handling is and the firm ride makes me feel very connected to the road, compared to larger "boaty feeling" SUV's or small SUV's that feel "jumpy" and "too light" like the Honda CRV and Nissan Rogue felt. And the Honda was getting blown by the wind on my test drive...annoying.
I have driven the V6 equipped Equinox as well renting one for a week on vacation and the V6 steering is configured different and makes the car feel "heavier". The 6 is also a bit quieter and eliminates a mild engine vibration you get during acceleration from the 4, but this car's 4 is much quieter than Nissan's or Honda's by far. There is also virtually no wind noise and less road noise than others, things that were particularly noticeable to me.
Having grown up with a 1968 Chevelle Malibu wagon, and then a 1977 Chevrolet Malibu wagon, my parent's switched to Swedish and Japanese cars, due to the declining quality of American cars as the 77 was not as good as the 68, but now my father compares the quality of my Equinox to the quality of the 1968 Chevelle Malibu wagon, stating that was one of the best cars he ever owned. He also noted that the car was built in Canada, and coincidentally, the Equinox is as well. It pleases me to finally be able to feel comfortable to buy an American car without worries or hesitation of satisfaction, quality or reliability. Many family members chose Honda's due to their reliability, but our other car is a 5 year old Acura (made by Honda) MDX that has terrible rattles on the interior due to poor design. Not my Equinox! GM has really turned around the quality of their products after almost dying.
Another factor in choosing this car was the low cost of ownership. The Equinox has a 10 year 100,000 mile tune up interval, with virtually nothing to do except oil changes and 1 transmission fluid change before 100,000 miles....so that avoids $500 to $800 or more every 30K miles.
At least 10 air bags in the car and 5 star crash rating, excellent! Super comfortable seats too.
One con about the car: Low visiblity, due to the thick front pillars on either side of the windshield and around the doors/windows but I had this same issue in my previous SUV. Also, rear visiblity for backing up isn't the greatest either, but the rear view camera is fantastic and eliminates that problem completely. I can see more out the back from the camera than I can from the driver's seat.
I recommend test driving an Equinox or it's twin GMC Terrain (same frame and virtually identical interiors) at the very least."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2012_Chevrolet_Equinox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car!

April 22, 2013
By 6789
from rainbow city,al
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i am so happy that russell sconyers was my salesman and he was very good, he h=was honest and paid attention to my needs and the car i wanted"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.