Customer Reviews for 2013_Ford_Escape

2013_Ford_Escape

Average Customer Rating:
3.83 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(159 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
38
3 stars
24
2 stars
20
1 star
10
102 of 159(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Ford_Escape
Review 1 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gas Guzzler !!

April 14, 2014
By Just disappointed
from Chattanooga, TN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Traded my old, reliable 2003 Toyota Camry (26/30 mpg) for 2013 Ford Escape (advertised 23/32 mpg). My vehicle needs had changed. I was glad to find an affordable suv and I wouldn't have to scrifice gas mileage. After 2000 miles I called my dealer to find out why I was only getting 19 mpg. I was told the mileage would get better at approx. 5000 miles. So now at 5000 miles, I've again called my dealer to find out why I'm only getting 22 mpg. I've realized others have had the same experience as myself and this low, disappointing gas mileage is the norm. Ford truly inflated their numbers. We used to call that false advertising. I love driving this little vehicle, hate the gas mileage and I know it won't come close to the the 150,000 miles I had on my Camry."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car much better than the rest!

April 14, 2014
By 2013 Escape 1.6 Ecoboost 4wd
from PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my Escape. It has a comfortable interior and can hold a ton of stuff. The ride is very nice and it handles extreamly well in the snow. The 4WD system on this vehicle is outstanding. Engine is great as well. Look forward to keeping it for many years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ford has an uphill battle fixing this one

March 23, 2014
By turfman
from Canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Escape 2013, is a work vehicle for me. I have had multiple issues...
If it is not run for 3 days the battery will be dead, (long weekends), and Tuesday I have to boost it to get to work. ford dealer tested it an said it was ok...?..
Windows are very slow, took it back and new motors were installed and only marginal improvement.
Coolant level has to be topped up regularly.
Bluetooth connects to my phone erratically.
My coworkers have had many problems like those above , and oil leaks, no heat, rumours of vehicle fires (too much heat) sorry I have kind of a warped sense of humour. but I can laugh because it is a employer provided vehicle, if I had bought this myself I would be furious!
I have just learned that these vehicles are being replaced across the board by our lease provider, so to me that speaks volumes about this car, this would be many hundreds that the leaser will be looking to place in the used market, so buyer beware...."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Escape the escape

March 14, 2014
By Reviewr
from Baltimore, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Sharp looking car on the outside, comfortable ride, and lots of features. The 4WD works well in inclement weather, plenty of versatile room inside and the panoramic roof is awesome in the summer. Beyond that, the car is a complete piece of junk. Owned it for 16,000 miles in the span of 18 months and brought it in for recalls and mechanical problems a total of 13 times before Ford decided to buy it back under the lemon law. Not good for a $30,000 car. What a shame."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Avoid these units.

March 9, 2014
By dj
from Fargo ND
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have a '13 with a 2.5 engine. Things were ok to about 10k. Then the piston slap started when car is cold. Dealer says sounds normal at cold startup. Whatever. At 20k I started having electrical issues. The environmental controls stop working and the car goes into default defrost mode only. Pull the fuse and it resets. Been to dealer(s) 3 times on this one, no problem found yet. Now I come to start in the morning and battery is dead. Been in dealer once on this issue, no problem found. Reverse has an awful squeak to it. The car is really underpowered. When passing at 55mph, the car will drop 2 or 3 gears and the tach shows the engine nearly red-lining, but the vehicle doesn't increase speed much. Just sits and revs. Gas mileage is extremely disappointing. This is a company vehicle, nearly all road miles at 55-70mph. On average I do around 25mpg in it at 55 and about 22 at 70. The traction in snow is the worst I have ever had next to a Chevy HHR. The dashlights are either to bright or too dim. Rear wiper control is poorly located and accidently turns on far too often. Seat/ride is uncomfortable. I am trying to talk boss into something else.
On a positive, the stereo has great sound, although the controls and mp3 input are not the best. Stereo controls on steering wheel are very convenient."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well built runs great

February 25, 2014
By Bill
from North Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ford products are by far the best built and reliable they put toyotas to shame just close a door on the escape and do the same thing on a rav4 and you will see the difference in quality"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Vehicle I've Ever Owned

February 25, 2014
By Chicago Dad
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Extremely poor quality and performance from this vehicle. It's had more recalls than I can count in just the first year. We experienced a vehicle fire ourselves and have been without the vehicle for probably 2 weeks total for repairs. Synch system needs to constantly be updated and doesn't work more than it works. GPS has a red X through it and is useless. The traction control can be problematic in heavy snow. We're afraid to use the Escape for long road trips so primarily are using it now just for groceries. If you are still intent on purchasing this vehicle you may want to buy used, trade in/resale value on these has gone down drastically the past 6 months."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snow machine

February 24, 2014
By A Brit abroad
from WInston Salem, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"To changed my VW Touareg to the Ford Escape 2.0 Turbo Titanium 4WD in September 2013 and when we had the worse winter in twenty years in North Carolina wondered if I had made the right choice. We live down a hill which my Dodge Ram truck cannot climb when there is now on the ground, also none of my neighbors left home for 3 days. I took the Escape out at 7am on the first morning of the snow when it was 10" deep, never cleared the drive and the road was unploughed, the Escape not only met my expectations but flew past all of them. The car new got stuck in the snow or ice for the 3 days it was on the ground. I saw much bigger SUVs stuck in the snow but the Escape was unstoppable. Average fuel consumption as 26mpg. I must admit if you are going to buy one get the 2.0 liter turbo, there are to many recalls on the 1.6 model."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst vehicle ever

February 22, 2014
By worst vehicle ever.
from Plymouth, MN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Brought it in 10 times in 20,000 miles. Water Pump issues, cylinder head cracking, pcm or main brain issues and more. I would stay as far away from this vehicle as possible."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My aching back

February 19, 2014
By Fleet car user 5000 miles a month driven
from Rockford Illinois
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had ford fleet cars for a long time 2009 Taurus X, 2010 Escape, 2010 Explorer, 2012 Escape to name a few. I would take any of these over the 2014 Escape I received in January 2014. I have been driving this car for just about 2 month. My back ground: All cars I drive are base models because they are fleet cars. I drive in Illinois. I keep cars to between 70k - 90k miles and drive 4k -5k a month. I like Ford from a quality stand point. I have never had any issues with any of the Fords I have had. I personal have bought 2 ford 2005 freestyles for my personal use and still have them. That being said the 2014 Escape is by far the worst Ford car I have owned. Seats are terrible not just my option but all 10 of my counterparts who drive 2013 or 2014 Escapes. If you only drive short distances you might be fine. Putting those seats in a fleet car should be a crime. If your drive a lot do not choose this car. Cars is a lot lighter and sits lower does not handle as good as older models. Worst Ford I have ever owned to drive in the snow. These are the main issues to why I would not recommend this car to my friends. Little things that I do not like. No garage remote built into car. I am sure the quality and reliability will be good. Hand free blue tooth is nice, back up camera is a neat but would trade for garage remote."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ford Pinto

January 22, 2014
By BB gun
from Michigan
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"To start with I did not purchase this car, its a company car. Thank God! in 25 years of company cars worst car I have ever driven. Poor gas mileage, absolutely no suspension, rides like a truck. Gas tank to small. Ford sinc worked 60% of the time. Cant see the key, cant turn on the front wipers with out turning on the rear. Seats are nice but that's it. Traction control on AWD is a joke and prohibits driving in snowy conditions. Stuck 3 times with AWD until I turn off the traction control to get unstuck. If someone tells you this is a nice car they came from a horse and buggy before! Stay away.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than a CRV

January 17, 2014
By Dave
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had the car for over a year and still enjoying the drive. The car does very on the freeway with one very major exception. The gas tank is way too small, have to stop every 250 miles for fuel. Drivers seat very comfortable, passenger seat not so much. (Note to Ford, make the passengers seat as adjustable as the drivers.). Gas mileage is less than advertised.
Love the electronics and touch screen. Really like the voice command feature, so can keep hands on wheel and eyes on the road. A lot of room in the back when the seats are down.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Bang for your Buck

January 14, 2014
By Sports Utility Guy
from NE, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a Trail Blazer before I got this car. This car is great. I am on my second year and had no problem. The oil changes are every 10,000 miles. I fill up once a week rather than 2 or 3 with the Blazer. I got the Titanium.
The Ford Escape was was the best deal with the best features. I checked with 3 other top rated car companies and for what they were giving and what I got with the Ford it was no bargain. Remote Start is the best and its factory installed. No more bypass, no more errors, no more what remote do I need. Push button start is great no more looking for the keys, Sony Radio with a big screen. Navigation with free upgrade of maps when they upgrade. Parallel parking is so easy, just drive up, stop give some gas and brake when needed. Blis is great it tells you when someone is on your sides, Backup Cam you see as you go no more driving over JRs bike. The car even tells you when you are too close to some thing. You can set the radio to a certain volume for kids. The only thing I would like to see is if it senses too close it applies the brakes. Maybe my next one will have it. Once you try it you will be amazed..
Driving is so smooth, with ecobost you have the power when you need it, response time is fast too and can get you out of tight situations. Great gas mileage, hands free bluetooth, cd player, so many comforts.
I had it for over a year and only thing I had to have done was an inspection tire rotation, and an oil change. No recalls on the titanium.
With Ford you get so much at a great price. Yes some people don't like the new look. Well the look helps with the wind and gas mileage. My friends told me I have a Lexus when they first saw it and a fried who has a Lexus said he was jealous as I have more features, drives just as good if not better.
Now If your skeptic just go to your Ford dealer and give it a test drive. If you did and still don't agree go to ford.com get the specs, get the specs from the others and feature for feature you cant get them all, and second the price. Now features is not a selling point but peace of mind is. I got 7 years with an extended warranty and paid thousands less than one with 10 years and maintenance. If I wanted that added to my car It would have been still a few thousands less.
Test drive any car you are interested in more than once. Test drive 4 brands. Go by feel, pocket,and your preference. If you cant afford a car lease one, or by used from a car rental place. Remember most often, last years car is the same as this years and more pocket approved."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SNAPPIEST CAR I HAVE OWNED AND I HAVE HAD 68

January 11, 2014
By TED
from ABBOTS FORD BC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"PROS.....FANTASTIC PICK UP, LOTS OF GREAT OPTIONS. POSITIVE STEERING. AMAZING BRAKES. FUN TO DRIVE. CONS....MILEAGE NOT AS ADVERTISED. GAS TANK WAY TOO SMALL...KEY IGNITION HARD TO SEE. BLIND SPOTS BACKING UP. NEEDS MORE BACK SEAT LEG ROOM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sporty , stylish and fuel efficient

January 5, 2014
By Car Nut
from Reno, NV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a used 2013 Escape SEL with just under 14,000 miles on the clock. Gas mileage is awesome at 26MPG mixed city/highway and on a 70 mile trip it produced 30.1MPG...90% highway.
I love the handling of this SUV; you'll think you're driving a small sports car! The 1.6 liter EcoPac engine is pretty responsive with very adequate acceleration. The 2.0 must be really fun to drive, but I'd rather be getting the better gas mileage.
All the bells and whistles in this car are amazingly high tech, yet are pretty easy to use and get used to. Navigating through the menus of the MyFord Touch is pretty simple."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heat Issues!!!!! Big Problem!!!!

January 3, 2014
By Jim
from North Carolina
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Both the 2013-2014 have very POOR HEAT,At Idle almost Non-Existent,if it is not fixed we will dump it,can`t drive in 20-degree and less temps with no Heat......."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Enjoyable Car

January 1, 2014
By Car Lover
from Seattle
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Ford Escape at the beginning of 2013. I love the car. Gas Mileage is not what was advertised. I get a steady 19-20mpg. mixture of Freeway driving (25miles per day) and city. I have had no issues with the car and I have just under 16,000 miles on it. I love the feature, where the back seats fully lay fwd. It has a lot of storage space in this configuration."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Looks are deceiving

December 15, 2013
By A1A
from Chicago area
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Let me start off by saying that this SUV looks good from the outside but that is it.
The gas mileage is nothing but a joke. I have not averaged anywhere near the milage stated. My average has been 19.5 to 22.1 at the very best. I have owed it for a very short time and i am getting rid of it already.
If i were to recommend a vehicle, it would definitely NOT be this one. Do yourself and stay away.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still looking for the perfect car

November 26, 2013
By Accident prone
from Montreal, Quebec
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My previous car was a 2011 Mazda Tribute, which I had to sell for personnal reasons. So I had to go shoping for a new car...Tried many, but ended up buying a 2013 Ford Escape, 2 L Eco-boost engine, leather, moonroof, and almost everything in between. My Tribute had noise problems : one of the most annoying was in the driver's window. It did many noises, and after 4 visits, I ended up with the best mecanic ever who found the problem instantly...Finally! So far, with the Escape, I have been lucky. But there is one main problem : the sound system. There is ongoing interferrences...like somebody is frying something...all the time! Even with a CD, or a USB key. The driving is great, and it is very confortable (which are two of my most important points), although sometimes it does not accelerate as fast as when I bought it, somehow... Have to get it checked for this. And I have yet to enjoy listening to my music without other unwanted sounds being added to it. Does anyone else have this problem??"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heat

November 26, 2013
By elchucko
from Midwest
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've owned a 2.0L AWD for 3 months. This vehicle has a poor heater. If you live in a 4 season part of the country pass on it. If not, it's a nice car although overprice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.