Customer Reviews for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra

2013_Hyundai_Elantra

Average Customer Rating:
4.348 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(132 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
27
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
6
113 of 132(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Review 21 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ron Carter of Friendswood - Julian Carrillo

February 27, 2014
By Elantra lover
from Pasadena, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I LOVE this car and RON CARTER in Friendswood!!! I had a great salesman, Julian Carrillo who was very knowledgable about the Elantra and got us a great deal! Go see Julian, he can hook you up with a great deal!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Elantra Coupe SE Manual Transmission

February 12, 2014
By Heather
from Sunman, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my coupe used with about 18k miles on it. I just rolled past 22k and thought I'd give my opinion about it so far. I have seen plenty of reviews that knock the MPG and say it doesn't get as high as they expected. I went from a Ford Explorer to this and I'll sing the praises of 34mpg. Took a little road trip a few weeks ago and it was actually up to 46 for a while (granted I was on a flat 2 lane road behind a school bus for about 20 miles). I really like the updated interior. Mine does have the "leather" seats which seem more like plastic but having heated seats in this terrible winter is nice. I will admit that the car is less than great in the snow. I live in a rural area where we don't use salt, but sand. I've been stuck in my driveway more than once. The car weighs nothing and mine has a sporty tire. Had I of known that even with FWD this would hate the winter, I may have just went with the Genesis. Anyone that lives near a city, etc I imagine would do just fine in the snowy weather thought. Overall, I can't say enough good things about the car. I've had no problems so far and really enjoy the drive. For a little 4 cylinder it's pretty quick. Looks great, gets great mpg and has lots of buttons to play with on the drive. I'd definitely buy this again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2013 Elantra Ltd. overpriced - Stay away

February 8, 2014
By Noname
from Asheville, NC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I’ve purchased the Hyundai Elantra Ltd. because Consumer Reports rated the car well. It is not. I test drove five cars looking for a somewhat comfortable seat. The other cars were in the Elantra class. All other vehicle’s seats were very uncomfortable. This was the most comfortable... until I made a long trip.
I just put a little over 1k miles on the Elantra. Went on a trip of about 600 mi. RT. I know the EPA/Hyundai MPG is wrong and it showed on our first trip of over 600 mi RT in the car. The car readout showed I got 34.1 MPG. The manual calc. that goes in my Excel spreadsheet showed 29.73 MPG.
Here’s the currently acceptable for now: 1) The seats are the most comfortable without moving outside of the class size (for us). There are many electric (I’m not keen about electric) positions and one manual adjustment on the driver’s side only. But, after driving for a couple of hours, my back hurt, despite the adjustments. 2) For now, the dual control of the heating and a/c is great. The left and right front passengers can have their own climate control. 3) It looks nice inside and I’ve never been one for glitz but I’d rather have a safe and functioning car.
The HP is @148. While I thought that would be okay, it isn’t. Driving local highways (there’s not much traffic compared to living near NYC) and around the small city, it’s fine. It’s not as okay on the open highway. More power is needed for me. It’s not about needing constant speed, it’s about having the pickup to safely merge.
Driving 300 miles with all the seat adjustments, my foot fell asleep, despite the adjustments made to the seats. It seemed harder to press the excelerator.
Here are my concerns that are known:
1. Interstate batteries were rated poor by CR some years ago. I had one that died after a short period of time in my prior car. I took a huge loss replacing it under their warranty. The battery that comes with the car is a two-year battery. It cut costs and this becomes the pattern that concerns me.
2. I ensured the tire pressure was consistent and 3 lbs. higher than rated on the door. We’re at a higher elevation than most and this is recommended for all cars here. One day before taking the 600 RT, I checked all tires and ensured they all had 35 lbs. cold. The day after returning (day 3 after filling tires) I checked them. One had dropped to 30 lbs. One other tire lost a little air. Two were fine.
3. The GPS received a severe error message in a grey pop-up the first time I used it. I happened 3x in 600 miles. It locks the nav screen and the only way to reset it is to turn off the car. Wait @30 seconds and turn the car back on.
4. There is rust on all rotors on the disc brakes. I've had the car 1 month.
5. The gas cover is flimsy and I expect it will break at some point too soon.
6. The noise in the sedan is horrible. One ear is totally deaf. One ear hears a little.
7. I used the GPS system for the first time on a familiar trek of 300 miles. The screen locked and a serious error occurred. The only way to rid the error was to power off the car.
8. The tires are Hancook Optimo 426 215/45R17 87H. In light snow, they don’t grip well. I could not get out on a small hill after a light snow. The car felt shaky on the highway. It was buffeted quite a bit and there was normal wind on the highway but the wind was not blowing.
9. The tires are filled with nitrogen. It’s worthless to me and I check the pressure regularly and use air. Nitrogen is rare to find and can be costly. Air can be used instead.
9a. Filled the tires prior to a 600 mi. RT . Checked the tires when I got home. One lost 5 lbs. One lost 2. The others were okay.
10. On the Ltd., STANDARD FEATURES do not include a spare. My car came with one – an add-on that makes sense. I can draw a conclusion that with other corners cut, the spare will probably not hold up well. Most Elantras have the cheap can of tire inflator.
11. You can’t lock a thing – not even the glove compartment. There’s no valet key for any Elantras.
I have a little over 1000 miles on it. I’m pricing this car as a trade-in to get a different brand car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My dream mpg

February 5, 2014
By greeen grandpa
from Texas City, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As I am approaching retirement it is important to me to have a safe and dependable car to use for travel and getting around town. I found the perfect vehicle in the Hyandai Elantra sedan. It is very comfortable riding car with Sirius, Blue Tooth, back up camera and other "basic" electronics. However, my favorite dashboard site is the miles to go before you have to fill up with gas. With the first tank of gas I received 38 mpg over all. This translates into more trips to see the grandkids and more green in the bank to take them places."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like it.

January 29, 2014
By Peppi
from S,E, Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Scrapped the wife's old Buick and leased an Elantra. I didn't think she'd be happy with downsizing but so far she really loves this car. Now there's plenty of room in our 2 1/2 car garage for the Elantra and my Miata with plenty of room left over. The heated seats have become the most used feature so far. Too bad they don't have a heated wheel to match (I really like them). The car is reasonably comfortable for it's size and 29 mpg isn't too shabby either. She's only put 500 mi on the car so far and I expect the mileage will improve once it's broken in. Very good value for the money. The only gripe I have so far is that the headrests are canted too far forward so every time you pass over a bump the headrest hits you in the back of the head. Guess I'll have to turn them around or take them off and put them in the trunk. More Federal meddling into our daily lives?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

January 27, 2014
By Grandmas car
from Dinwiddie va
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The2013 Elantra Limited is very roomy, and the back seat has lots of room for carseat and passenger. Very happy with gas mileage, quiet and smooth ride. I have never had heated seats before but I sure do love them on those cold mornings."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible car

January 23, 2014
By CarDude
from Milwaukee, WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Glad this car has an extended warranty. It is bad in the rain or snow and even when dry cannot handle anything but a nice flat dry road, which was the conditions I test drove it. I really like the body design and the seating is comfortable but it has terrible rideability and suspension and when wet the car's brakes creak and grind to the pint it even scares passengers. Took it into the dealership several times so far and they told me they have many similar complaints about the car and brakes. Within the first 6 month they had to even replace the brake pads as they failed. Just a bad design, waste of money purchase and completely changed my viewpoint about Hyundai to where I would never trust them again. Sure it will be the last Hyundai I ever buy!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car Buy and Value!!

January 14, 2014
By LG
from Mesa, AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have purchased 4 other Hyundais and love them all. This Elantra I purchased for my business because of the compact styling and gas mileage. I was pleasantly surprised by the interior styling with a great XM stereo system and ipod attachments. I get on average 32-34 miles per gallon. The only thing I do not like about the interior is that the cloth seats stain easily but the interior is very nice and comfortable. Recommending the Elantra is easy with the great handling and styling."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best gas mileage i've had in a long time

January 8, 2014
By Trish
from Lake Charles, La
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love everything about my Elantra. I would recommend it to everyone I talk to. It's comfortable and good gas mileage"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Elantra GLS with Preferred Package

January 2, 2014
By Elly99
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I did a review of this car That I bought late sept. 2013.. in Oct. 2013 and wanted to do an update.
In early Dec. 2013 I was driving down the freeway and a huge semi truck hit me on the right rear driver's side which caused me to spin out and lose control. I was then hit again by this semi and spun out once again into the cement median in the middle of the freeway.He was ok and I was ok, just badly shaken! When the cops arrived they did all the normal routine stuff but what shocked me the most is they said my car was still driveable! So I drove my car off the freeway to get the rest of the info taken care of. As I surveyed the damage, it was very banged up on the driver's side front bumper, entire drivers side, and drivers rear bumper was ripped apart. The thing that amazed me was no glass was broken(windows) and the airbags never deployed. (in my case it was fine due the fact I was fine.) Sometimes the airbags can cause more injury in certain circumstances(I work in healthcare). I also did talk to hyundai about this just to inform them. Anyways, I was able to drive the car from the accident site.
I had it towed to a body shop (towing was free) and they informed me that the car was totaled. So now I am working on getting another. I felt completely safe and I...just slight neck pain which went away in 2 days. This is a good car! I cannot wait to get the exact replica of it in a few days! It saved my life. Not a scratch on me! :)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EGomez

December 16, 2013
By Talena G
from Houston
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Eric was a very good sales man to work with and to buy a car from. He called me throughout the entire buying process until my deal was final. I am very happy because I told Eric when I first came to the dealership that I wanted a black elantra standard shift. He checked his inventory and found me a black elantra standard shift. I was extremely happy because I have always wanted a black car. I would highly recommend this dealership to people and I would recommend Eric to people as an excellent car sales man.
Talena G
Houston,Texas
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most comfortable car I have driven

December 13, 2013
By Loving my 2013 Hyundai Elantra
from La Marque, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would just like to say thanks to Ron Carter Hyundai and my sales associates Eric and Johnny Gomez! They we great when it came to helping me find the perfect car to fit my budget!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sporty, economical, high quality, attractive

December 3, 2013
By Davis
from Mobile, AL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For a while now I have been referring family and friends to the Elantra, never having owning one. I've done tons of due diligence on cars like the Elantra and it has always landed at the top. I figured if I ever were to get another car it would be the Elantra. I finally ended up needing a car and the Elantra Limited was the one I purchased. I've been completely happy and impressed with it thus far. I also qualified for the zero percent financing and included the platinum extended warranty and gap insurance all for about $390 a month. Unbelievable deal! Love the ride, the flowing lines and sporty look and wheels. The gas mileage has been superb as well. I did not go wrong with this car. Simply impressive. Thanks Hyundai for getting this right!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

attractive car

November 30, 2013
By ordianary driver
from Pfafftown, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We leased a Sonata in June. We purchased this Elentra in Nov. At this time we are very pleased with both. The interior front panel of the Elantra actually appeals more to us than the one in the Sonata. We hope to find both very reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love My New Car

November 21, 2013
By Kool K
from Central Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love the Elantra - great style, great extras. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've ever Had

November 15, 2013
By Night Fury
from UTAH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely love the Hyundai Elantra. It is so comfortable and we love the styling. I have nothing negative to say about this car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst car I have ever owned.

November 14, 2013
By donna
from Fishersville, Va
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this car less than two years ago and paid $10000. It had only 34,000 miles on it so I thought it would be reliable. Within in 6 months of buying it, I had to replace the clutch and brakes. Three months later I had to replace the computer module. Now the oxygen sensor is bad and needs to be replaced. I have less than 68,000 miles on this car. I would never buy another one. The parts have to be special ordered because they are not in stock anywhere and they are extremely expensive and labor is horrible. I contacted Hyundai corp and never even got a response from them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Red Hoagland Hyundai

November 14, 2013
By lotto guy
from Kissimmee,Fl
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Red Hoagland Hyundai is a top notch dealer. I have purchased a vehicle, my room-mate two, and my best friend one. All were Elantra's and were purchased from Doyle. Our vehicles are serviced there and we will continue to do so."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SUV MPG low for a small car

November 13, 2013
By BoiseLisa
from Boise, ID
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've owned a Hyundai since I started driving, so no surprise when I had to get a new car that I went straight to Hyundai. I looked at all the reviews of each of their cars, went and bought a 2013 Elantra and from the first fill up, I noticed it!
Most people are raving about the great gas mileage, but my Elantra is only getting 21 city/33 highway.
I took it in 6 weeks after buying it to get it looked at because it was only getting 24 city/36 highway and it is still under warranty; the dealership ran the computer update and said it should fix the problem, but that the car was "already running within 1%" on the gas meter, so there wasn't a lot they could do.
Two tanks later, my mpg has dropped to 21 city, so I called the corporate service line, and they told me that there was nothing they could do.
If you don't mind getting the mpg of a SUV while driving a small car, it's great....but buyer beware!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2013_Hyundai_Elantra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2013 Elantra Limited

November 13, 2013
By Unhappy
from Minot, ND
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this car to get me to and from work. I drive mainly highway miles on straight paved roads. I have owned this car for a little over a year now and have put 42,000 miles on it. This car has major issues with their tires. I have been having issues with the ties cupping. I thought the first time was just poor tires that they sell you the car with. But I bought nice tires and after 20,000 and tire rotations every 6,000 miles, the tires are cupped again. I do not transport anything in the vehicle besides myself. The service department has put a new rear axil on my car, but it still does not work right. So buyer beware! I feel I got cheated on this vehicle in so many ways. It has a nice look to it and is comfortable, but that is it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.