Customer Reviews for 2013_Kia_Optima

2013_Kia_Optima

Average Customer Rating:
4.602 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
87 of 98(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Kia_Optima
Review 21 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value overall

September 28, 2013
By PracticalMom
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Exterior and interior design is exceptional. This car looks expensive - and options packages would cost several thousand dollars more in a Toyota (up to $5999 for a tech package - really?) or Honda. Kia is the answer for those of us who are tired of the sticker shock and attitude of the top three.
I've been a Honda owner for years, and the only difference I can detect is a slightly louder engine noise in the passenger compartment of the Optima. I can live with that."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST DEAL WITH NO ISSUES

September 25, 2013
By alvi
from ATLANTIC CITY,NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I JUST GOT MY KIA OPTIMA LOOKS GREAT,EVERYBODY APPRECIATED THE DESIGN AND COMFORT LOOKS GREAT ON INSIDE AND OUTSIDE WITH STANDARD FEATURES THAT OTHER GUYS CHARGED A LOT
TRADE IN MITSUBISHI SPORTS GALANT 2009 AND THEY GIVEN ME NICE REBATES TOO VERY SATISFIED WITH DEALERSHIP
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like car but need some.changes

September 23, 2013
By First time kia driver
from Nc
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought a kia optima ex 3weeksago. I find the steering very tight. Also the passenger seat is way toooo low. Feels like you are sitting in a hole. Unless you are tall you can barely see over dashboard.this needs to be fixed.I do love the styling of the car.I do hope this will be a reliable car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 KIA Optima SX 2.0 Turbo

September 19, 2013
By First time KIA owner
from Josephine, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is seriously outstanding!! The 2.0 liter turbo has great pickup. The fuel mileage is wonderful.
The exterior styling is eye catching. The pearl white paint is very nice and the accents are well placed
The interior is sporty yet comfortable with some incredible features (touring package)
Handling is remarkable. The care takes corners very well and tracks perfectly on straight aways.
I can not say enough about this car... pretty inside and out along with 38.1 MPG at 65 mph on the highway and 27.6 in town.
The MSRP for this vehicle was approx $35000 but the dealer was very willing to work with to arrive at a fair price.
I would recommend this vehicle and the dealership (Southwest KIA, Rockwall, Texas) to anybody who is in the market for a new midsize sport sedan."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Consider

September 19, 2013
By EF
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my Optima for almost 3 years and still look forward to driving it. The car maintains a solid feel with sharp looking exterior and borderline luxurious interior. Can carry a group of 5 comfortably. Biggest pleasant surprise was the car's pep. Didn't buy turbo model and it feels like I did. Good fuel economy as well. One negative for me is how low the car sits, but that's common these days. Overall very pleased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Welcome Upgrade

August 23, 2013
By Mustapha63
from Birmingham, Alabama
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been dissatisfied with my previous car (2012 Chevy Malibu) for some time and, intrigued by an ad from a local Kia dealer, decided to see if I could trade up.
Was I ever glad that I tried!
Both the Malibu and the Optima have four cylinder engines backed with a six-speed automatic transmission. My Malibu averaged around 25 mpg; the Optima gets around 32 mpg and that economy does not come with a sacrifice in driving enjoyment. The braking system on the Optima is remarkable, both in firmness and in directional stability. The engine delivers excellent power from around 2250 rpm up through 5000 rpm (have had no occasion to go higher). Five stars is almost not enough here.
The styling of the car is striking from every angle. While it is similar to that of the Hyundai Sonata, the Sonata has a protrusion in the sheet metal that runs from the front fender behind the tire to the rear decklid which I did not like. The Optima does not have that and is, to me, more pleasing to the eye...or perhaps this eye at least.
In terms of creature comforts, my base Optima (the GDI) offers satellite radio, bluetooth, power windows, power lumbar support, seats that, while manual, can be adjusted any number of ways, USB/AUX input plugs and the ability to route some of the cool or warm air from your climate system to the glove box to chill or heat the contents! The driving position is more than acceptably comfortable, even for us tall folk (I'm 6'6"), with the seats offering plenty of cushioning. The only reasons I could not give the interior the full five stars is the lack of a rear seat power outlet and the lack of a place to put coins (the Malibu, for all it lacked, did have both of those).
In addition to the economy provided by 32mpg, the Optima uses regular oil (as opposed to synthetic) and uses plain old air in the tires (not nitrogen). Kia's warranty- 5 years or 100,000 miles limited- is among the very best on the market. I've experienced no problems at all so far (just hit 2000 miles). Five stars might be premature, but I can grade only on what I've experienced so far, and I have zero complaints.
Performance, economy, comfort.....and in what is an entry-level family sedan price point."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most features for the money.

August 22, 2013
By Teacher Guy
from Oklahoma
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Kia Optima is a wonderful car. It has a classy/sporty look,great gas mileage,and many features found on more expensive cars. When you throw in a great warranty,the Kia Optima is a must drive. The Optima has plenty of power for a four cylinder. The interior is plush and well designed. The steering may take a little time to get used to maybe due to the fact that it is electrical instead of hydraulic. Overall I am very pleased to be driving a Kia Optima."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the $ spent

August 22, 2013
By Tinman
from North Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife wanted a sporty style euro look. Compared to her previous ride the Kia Optima was a good fit. We had to upgrade the options on the car but for the money spent the car is still priced below other car manufactures for the same features. The 2.4 liter engine could use a little more get up out of the hole. We are use to a 3.0 liter and that is the only thing i see that this car could use. I would recommend this car to for the price and quality."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good choice

August 20, 2013
By Camaro Guy
from Millwaukee, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well, I did trade in a 2010 Camaro 2LT for this Kia Optima SX. I don't regret the decision one bit. I don't even miss the Camaro at all! I really enjoy driving the Optima, took it on vacation from Wisconsin to Oregon and back. It was very comfortable and got very good fuel mileage. And has plenty of power when you need it. I would recommend it. And it's one of the best looking cars around too!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best new car buying experance ever!!

August 18, 2013
By WeaKia
from Claymont, DE.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I recently purchased our KIA Optima EX. We opted for the EX because of the really nice leather interior and tuned suspension, it handles and steers very well. The base model LX steering was OK but not as firm as the EX., you can feel the difference. The 4 cyl. GDI engine is plenty powerful to move this Optima. No need to worry about not having enough get up and go and our MPG is at 30 with only a 1000 miles of use! Wish we had opted for the UVO and back-up camera. Overall a double thumbs up. A lot of car for the money we spent. WE LOVE IT !!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Package but No Spare Tire

August 7, 2013
By Lawman
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This a very nice combination of styling, comfort, electronics, and driving fun!
We purchased the Remington Red EX with a Beige Interior. It is a very sharp looking car.
The acceleration is good, but not Maxima good. It is a fun car to drive!
The electronics in the EX are terrific. The push button start and doors, garage door opener, usb connection, satellite radio, and blue tooth phone connectivity work perfectly. They were very easy to set up.
The mpg is good. We took it on a 2,500 mile trip. We got 31 mpg cruising at 80 and 33 mpg when we slowed down to 68-72 with a full trunk and the A/C on. The city mpg is not so good, especially the way I like to zip around.
The drivers seat is very comfortable with the leather seats. I am very picky about the seats because I had a back fusion 2 years ago and some cars, for example the 2012 accord, hurt me to sit in. I drove the Optima 1,000 miles last Monday and my back felt ok.
There are a couple of improvements that Kia should make to the Optima. First, the front passenger seat sits very low. A height adjustment would easily fix this.
Second, You do not get a spare tire as standard equipment...not even a temp. You get a fix-a-flat inflator kit. Watch the video and tell me you or your wife is going to use it!!!This is not exclusive to Kia. In fact, the only car we found with a real spare tire is the VW.
You can get a temp tire and jack for a $200 option.
Please pay attention to this: all the Kia Dealers and Kia Direct will tell you that a real wheel and tire will not fit in the spare tire well. It does fit...not perfectly....but close.....I bought a matching tire and wheel. I now have a real spare tire as it should be in all cars....
The Optima is one of the best cars in it's price range. We looked at and shopped for most of them.
Have fun shopping for your next baby!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this car!!!

July 31, 2013
By Crystal
from Milwaukee, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my new 2013 optima last month. I have owned a 2004, 2008, and now this one. I absolutely LOVE these cars! They are a great value for the money, stylish, comfortable, and reliable. I don't think I will ever buy a different brand. I would definitely recommend looking into this car if you are looking for a great full size sedan."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it and its a kia lol

June 15, 2013
By Apple man
from Yardley,PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"OMG are you kidding me!! I have read so many reviews on this vehicle and hearing people's little comments about stupid stuff. I owned about 8 cars and I since I'm 23 and I jeep movin on and upgrading them to what I want only to be dissapointed. I can honestly say that the optima is by far the best vehicle I have ever bought. I'm so tired of hearing people complain about the most stupid stuff about this vehicle. There is no vehicle that is absolute perfection otherwise everyone would own one. I love telling people I got a kia optima. Mostly the response is really a kia, then I say did you see my car! Then when they actually see it they thought it was a Audi or Lexus, which in my opinion is by far better. I wouldn't have spent 33,000 on a car I didn't think was a great deal. I have 4x the options and a Audi with a fraction of the price, it's just as fast and actually the Audi designer designed this car. I'm 23 going on 24 and when people look at me driving this car they think I'm loaded. Heated and cooled seats, heated back seats, auto dimming mirrors and folding mirrors, auto and dual climate control, AWESOME infinity steers 8 speakers and sub, memory power dual front seats, and I actually get 34 MPG combined!!!! No joke. All you naysayers I believe are fake, employees from rival companies because everyone I ever met loved their car 100%. I actually paid a negative equity of 5,000 on my 2012 Mitsubishi just because I believe in kia and loved what they had to offer. Thank You KIA!!! I'm never going back!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the price

June 13, 2013
By rsermdr
from Marina Del Rey, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have the 2013 Optima SXL and have been enjoying the car for two month. This is my first Korean car and I have to say, that for the money, it is an easy choice from my previous German cars. Performance, accessories, comfort, it is all there; the only real issue that, for the time being separates Kia from the Germans is, the lack of minor attention to details. Yes the materials feel cheaper than on a BMW or Mercedes, and yes my driver tail light has a slightly different fit than my left one, but for half the price and a 10-year warranty, I'll take it for my every-day car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Luxury features at a great price

June 3, 2013
By Blazman
from West Hartford, CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned this 2013 SXL for about 6 weeks. I love it. The ride is great, I love the auto hold which holds the brake on for you when you come to a complete stop. Overall a super comfortable car. It has plenty of power when you need it but it's not a sports car. I bought a mod to fold up the mirrors when you lock the doors, which is cool."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

new Kia

May 30, 2013
By leigh
from Vancouver, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a nice car, there are a few quirks. I will probably stay with a Toyota product next time. But for now, it is a good deal and a good car. I like the Bluetooth, and the Sirius Satelite hook up. The seats are comfy and plenty of leg room. It is a quiet car. Not much for the limited rear vision, or the way rain comes in on the door sills, you can't step out without wetting pants legs. Mileage is fair, but not as advertised, about 22 in city and 31 on the highway. I can't say I care for the materials used for seats, dash, or trunk lining. It seems they economized. Not much interior stowaway space, either. I like the self dimming mirror and the auto lights-has fogs, but no running lights. Nice finish, I got the pearlized white,, and the trim is attractive with chrome touches. Kia dealerships are outstanding in friendliness and service. This is my 3rd Kia over the past 15 years., But, still does not compare with Toyota quality and performance. Have had 3 Toyotas as well)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Optima SX

May 28, 2013
By Trent
from Chandler, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my Optima three weeks ago after wanting one for about a year and a half. It was completely worth the wait, but I just wish I hadn't waited so long!!
I love the car. I got the striking Corsa Blue exterior with black and white trimmed leather seats. I looked at BMW, Mercedes, Acura and Lexus and none offered the same value, performance and content combination as the Optima for the price. And I got a great price from Mark Kia in Scottsdale, AZ. Jason L hooked me up really nicely.
If there is a complaint, I would say there is a slight lag if you give it hard throttle input and the actual acceleration. I don't know if it's the turbo spooling up, but when I step sharply on the accelerator, the car thinks about it for about half a second then it goes. However, it DOES go. Great acceleration from standing and flying starts. Passing slowpokes on the highway is no longer a concern!!
The UVO system works very well. I love how I can control songs, channels, volume, everything on my phone using the car's audio controls. I did cause a bit of a problem when I had to put myself on mute during a call. DON'T do it using your phone's mute button! Use the car's touchscreen to mute your line. What I did caused a conflict and I had to reset the bluetooth connection iwth my phone. It took care of the problem.
Speaking of audio, I have never heard such an amazing sound system as the 8 speaker Infinity system that came with my SX. There were high and low notes that I didn't even know existed in some of my favorite songs. And I use Klipsch headphones!!
So, after all this, I would highly recommend this car for a daily driver and a weekend jaunter. It is fun, catches people's eye and is awesome to drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the car! and the panoramic sunroof.

May 22, 2013
By don't have one
from Mankato, Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would recommend the car. there is nothing I don't like about the car except for one thing it's a little road noisy. I do mainly highway driving and the wind nose you hear in the drivers window is louder than i care for. But, for the price, reliability, affordability, safety, i recommend it. My daughter bought a car just like mine 30 days later, different Color. That's how much we like the car. Style and everything we wanted and needed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT CAR

May 18, 2013
By Rick
from Galloway, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been a Ford guy for many, many years. However, the dealer where I have leased Fords just did not want to deal for some reason this year so I went car shopping.
I walked into the KIA dealership and was immediately taken aback by the KIA OPTIMA. I told the salesman what features I wanted in the car, my color choice and how much I wanted to pay each month for a lease.
He worked out a deal for me and I said let's do it.
I love the Optima. It is a head turner because of both the color - Snow White Pearl - and styling.
Seats are very comfortable, we love the dashboard and Nav system. Gas mileage is outstanding.
I would rate this car a 9 out of 10. The reason I rate it a 9 is because, although there is a back-up camera for the car, there are no back-up sensors. I miss the sensors because I relied in them with the last 2 cars I had which included the sensors with the back-up camera.
I sure hope KIA adds the sensors on next year's models.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Buyer beware

April 17, 2013
By Merrilyn516
from San Diego, Ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a 2013 Optima LX with convenience plus package 3 weeks ago. Almost as soon as I drove it off the lot I started to experience problems with the UVO system and the door locks. I checked out some Kia forums and lots of other people having been having the same issue with the UVO dating back to 2011. It works when it wants to work which is hardly ever. Why isn't Kia doing anything to improve the reliability of the UVO system? I was also charged an extra $450 by the dealer for a protection package. Included in that package were door guards. The back doors rub on the guards on the front doors and makes a squeak and has left rub marks. I complained to the dealer about that and they said they are aware of the problem. But yet they install it before purchase so you have no say if you don't want to pay for the squeaky doors. I'm still waiting for a new UVO system that the dealer ordered for me. I'm also waiting for my door locks to be fixed. Dealing with the squeaky doors for now. This car has been nothing but headaches, but it looks nice. Looking nice is about all it has going for it. My other car is a 2013 Toyota 4runner. I wish I would have bought another Toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.