Customer Reviews for 2013_Kia_Optima

2013_Kia_Optima

Average Customer Rating:
4.505 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
91 of 107(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Kia_Optima
Review 21 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Satisfied

November 21, 2013
By lucky lucy
from Kings Park
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Kia I every purchased, I've always stuck with Nissan. I decided one day to stop at Kia and take the 2013 Optima EX out for a test drive. I have to say the minute I sat in the car I fell in love with it. It has such a smooth ride. This car is very reliable. (Decided to get the one that is fully loaded) Heated front and rear seats, heated steering wheel, seats position in memory for driver #1 and driver #2. No problems at all with this car, I would def recommend this car to anyone interested in purchasing or leasing a Kia. The sales people and finance manager over at Smithtown Kia were very helpful and not pushy at all. Very satisfied customer!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Decision Yet!

November 12, 2013
By Kia Owner For Life
from Henrico, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After months of looking and trying to decide what to buy and help form my daughter who is a Kia owner, I have to admit it took me awhile but I came to my senses once I test drove my new car that had everything I was looking for; dual sunroof, navigation, plenty of leg room, and a classy look that said "this is it." The Kia salesperson was very instrumental in me deciding to go with the color (black) that I purchased, and I am so happy I did...It is "Hot". Thank you Kia!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Little Auto in Texas

November 11, 2013
By Texas Icon
from Wichita Falls, Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value. Leather upgrade. Rebadge makes car look more upscale. KIA emblem looked cheap. South Korean emblem is similar to L on a luxury brand. Satellite radio is fantastic. Base motor more than adequate. MPG is really good at 33 combined. While not a leader in the class, this car has so many great features that for me it is a real bargain & top value. More sporty looking than its corporate sibling."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast & efficient sedan

November 11, 2013
By Performance Sedan
from Sacramento, Cal.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent sports sedan value. My Optima SX is very quick, gas frugal, and loaded with creature comforts and luxury options. This sedan handles great and accelerates briskly. Great value for the money!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best bells and whistles for the dollar

October 30, 2013
By mpg
from michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Drives well will get up and go 37mpg on hiway heated seats and steering wheel never get lost like driving an air plane with cooling in seat"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kia Optima

October 29, 2013
By Just helping out
from Boston, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought a new KIA Optima two months ago. Great car for the money. Compared it to an Altima and while the Altima was nice, this car has a much smoother engine. Still trying to figure out the MPG but I think it's pretty good. One bad thing is that the passenger seat is really low and there is no way to raise it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car for the money

October 20, 2013
By KIA in Largo FL
from Largo,Fl.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just a great car overall. I got 35mpg at 75mph going from Fl. to Ill. We have 17,000 plus miles on it and just love it. Absolutely no problems with the car. The dealership tries to up-sell you when routine maintenance is do but I imagine all dealerships do that to some degree. No regrets!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent vehicle 2013 LX

October 13, 2013
By mikeoptima
from Tucson, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent vehicle for anyone, especially a college student such as myself. Very reliable, smooth ride and very roomy. No complaints what so ever."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Value but that's all

October 2, 2013
By Mikey
from Providence, RI
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Just returned a rental that I took roundtrip from Boston to NYC.
Positives- nice styling, lots of features for the money, base engine has adequate power, electronics are easy to use.
Negatives- heavy, numb steering that is dead around the center, requiring far too much work to keep it going in a straight line (even worse if going around a bend that is banked the opposite way). Without power assist, the drivers seat is too high- and, the seat bottom is too short and lacking support. Gas pedal way too firm, brake pedal way too touchy. Engine has that unmistakable 4 cyl. sound when pressed, and it's not pleasant. Big blind spot around the C-pillar also.
Overall- too wuch work to drive, and not enough reward. Yes, the styling is sharp, and the price reasonable. My impression is this car was built to feel good for the first few minutes, to move it off the showroom floors. Spend any time driving this car, and the cost-cutting throughout makes itself perfectly clear."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value overall

September 28, 2013
By PracticalMom
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Exterior and interior design is exceptional. This car looks expensive - and options packages would cost several thousand dollars more in a Toyota (up to $5999 for a tech package - really?) or Honda. Kia is the answer for those of us who are tired of the sticker shock and attitude of the top three.
I've been a Honda owner for years, and the only difference I can detect is a slightly louder engine noise in the passenger compartment of the Optima. I can live with that."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST DEAL WITH NO ISSUES

September 25, 2013
By alvi
from ATLANTIC CITY,NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I JUST GOT MY KIA OPTIMA LOOKS GREAT,EVERYBODY APPRECIATED THE DESIGN AND COMFORT LOOKS GREAT ON INSIDE AND OUTSIDE WITH STANDARD FEATURES THAT OTHER GUYS CHARGED A LOT
TRADE IN MITSUBISHI SPORTS GALANT 2009 AND THEY GIVEN ME NICE REBATES TOO VERY SATISFIED WITH DEALERSHIP
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like car but need some.changes

September 23, 2013
By First time kia driver
from Nc
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought a kia optima ex 3weeksago. I find the steering very tight. Also the passenger seat is way toooo low. Feels like you are sitting in a hole. Unless you are tall you can barely see over dashboard.this needs to be fixed.I do love the styling of the car.I do hope this will be a reliable car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 KIA Optima SX 2.0 Turbo

September 19, 2013
By First time KIA owner
from Josephine, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is seriously outstanding!! The 2.0 liter turbo has great pickup. The fuel mileage is wonderful.
The exterior styling is eye catching. The pearl white paint is very nice and the accents are well placed
The interior is sporty yet comfortable with some incredible features (touring package)
Handling is remarkable. The care takes corners very well and tracks perfectly on straight aways.
I can not say enough about this car... pretty inside and out along with 38.1 MPG at 65 mph on the highway and 27.6 in town.
The MSRP for this vehicle was approx $35000 but the dealer was very willing to work with to arrive at a fair price.
I would recommend this vehicle and the dealership (Southwest KIA, Rockwall, Texas) to anybody who is in the market for a new midsize sport sedan."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Consider

September 19, 2013
By EF
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my Optima for almost 3 years and still look forward to driving it. The car maintains a solid feel with sharp looking exterior and borderline luxurious interior. Can carry a group of 5 comfortably. Biggest pleasant surprise was the car's pep. Didn't buy turbo model and it feels like I did. Good fuel economy as well. One negative for me is how low the car sits, but that's common these days. Overall very pleased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Welcome Upgrade

August 23, 2013
By Mustapha63
from Birmingham, Alabama
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been dissatisfied with my previous car (2012 Chevy Malibu) for some time and, intrigued by an ad from a local Kia dealer, decided to see if I could trade up.
Was I ever glad that I tried!
Both the Malibu and the Optima have four cylinder engines backed with a six-speed automatic transmission. My Malibu averaged around 25 mpg; the Optima gets around 32 mpg and that economy does not come with a sacrifice in driving enjoyment. The braking system on the Optima is remarkable, both in firmness and in directional stability. The engine delivers excellent power from around 2250 rpm up through 5000 rpm (have had no occasion to go higher). Five stars is almost not enough here.
The styling of the car is striking from every angle. While it is similar to that of the Hyundai Sonata, the Sonata has a protrusion in the sheet metal that runs from the front fender behind the tire to the rear decklid which I did not like. The Optima does not have that and is, to me, more pleasing to the eye...or perhaps this eye at least.
In terms of creature comforts, my base Optima (the GDI) offers satellite radio, bluetooth, power windows, power lumbar support, seats that, while manual, can be adjusted any number of ways, USB/AUX input plugs and the ability to route some of the cool or warm air from your climate system to the glove box to chill or heat the contents! The driving position is more than acceptably comfortable, even for us tall folk (I'm 6'6"), with the seats offering plenty of cushioning. The only reasons I could not give the interior the full five stars is the lack of a rear seat power outlet and the lack of a place to put coins (the Malibu, for all it lacked, did have both of those).
In addition to the economy provided by 32mpg, the Optima uses regular oil (as opposed to synthetic) and uses plain old air in the tires (not nitrogen). Kia's warranty- 5 years or 100,000 miles limited- is among the very best on the market. I've experienced no problems at all so far (just hit 2000 miles). Five stars might be premature, but I can grade only on what I've experienced so far, and I have zero complaints.
Performance, economy, comfort.....and in what is an entry-level family sedan price point."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most features for the money.

August 22, 2013
By Teacher Guy
from Oklahoma
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Kia Optima is a wonderful car. It has a classy/sporty look,great gas mileage,and many features found on more expensive cars. When you throw in a great warranty,the Kia Optima is a must drive. The Optima has plenty of power for a four cylinder. The interior is plush and well designed. The steering may take a little time to get used to maybe due to the fact that it is electrical instead of hydraulic. Overall I am very pleased to be driving a Kia Optima."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the $ spent

August 22, 2013
By Tinman
from North Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife wanted a sporty style euro look. Compared to her previous ride the Kia Optima was a good fit. We had to upgrade the options on the car but for the money spent the car is still priced below other car manufactures for the same features. The 2.4 liter engine could use a little more get up out of the hole. We are use to a 3.0 liter and that is the only thing i see that this car could use. I would recommend this car to for the price and quality."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good choice

August 20, 2013
By Camaro Guy
from Millwaukee, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well, I did trade in a 2010 Camaro 2LT for this Kia Optima SX. I don't regret the decision one bit. I don't even miss the Camaro at all! I really enjoy driving the Optima, took it on vacation from Wisconsin to Oregon and back. It was very comfortable and got very good fuel mileage. And has plenty of power when you need it. I would recommend it. And it's one of the best looking cars around too!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best new car buying experance ever!!

August 18, 2013
By WeaKia
from Claymont, DE.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I recently purchased our KIA Optima EX. We opted for the EX because of the really nice leather interior and tuned suspension, it handles and steers very well. The base model LX steering was OK but not as firm as the EX., you can feel the difference. The 4 cyl. GDI engine is plenty powerful to move this Optima. No need to worry about not having enough get up and go and our MPG is at 30 with only a 1000 miles of use! Wish we had opted for the UVO and back-up camera. Overall a double thumbs up. A lot of car for the money we spent. WE LOVE IT !!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2013_Kia_Optima
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Package but No Spare Tire

August 7, 2013
By Lawman
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This a very nice combination of styling, comfort, electronics, and driving fun!
We purchased the Remington Red EX with a Beige Interior. It is a very sharp looking car.
The acceleration is good, but not Maxima good. It is a fun car to drive!
The electronics in the EX are terrific. The push button start and doors, garage door opener, usb connection, satellite radio, and blue tooth phone connectivity work perfectly. They were very easy to set up.
The mpg is good. We took it on a 2,500 mile trip. We got 31 mpg cruising at 80 and 33 mpg when we slowed down to 68-72 with a full trunk and the A/C on. The city mpg is not so good, especially the way I like to zip around.
The drivers seat is very comfortable with the leather seats. I am very picky about the seats because I had a back fusion 2 years ago and some cars, for example the 2012 accord, hurt me to sit in. I drove the Optima 1,000 miles last Monday and my back felt ok.
There are a couple of improvements that Kia should make to the Optima. First, the front passenger seat sits very low. A height adjustment would easily fix this.
Second, You do not get a spare tire as standard equipment...not even a temp. You get a fix-a-flat inflator kit. Watch the video and tell me you or your wife is going to use it!!!This is not exclusive to Kia. In fact, the only car we found with a real spare tire is the VW.
You can get a temp tire and jack for a $200 option.
Please pay attention to this: all the Kia Dealers and Kia Direct will tell you that a real wheel and tire will not fit in the spare tire well. It does fit...not perfectly....but close.....I bought a matching tire and wheel. I now have a real spare tire as it should be in all cars....
The Optima is one of the best cars in it's price range. We looked at and shopped for most of them.
Have fun shopping for your next baby!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.