Customer Reviews for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h

2013_Lexus_ES 300h

Average Customer Rating:
4.649 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 of 37(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Review 1 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

best sedan

March 15, 2014
By jaybig
from Toronto
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 3rd lexus.
It is butter smooth to drive, great mileage, summer 6l/100km, winter 7.6/100 km. utterly reliable, good on highways, great in the city.
I would rate this much much higher than my previous BMW 3 series and Mercedes C.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome car

March 11, 2014
By Larabo
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this to replace a 2007 ES that had over 140,000 trouble free miles. Because of the amount of miles I drive each year the salesman suggested the ES300h hybrid. I got a great deal on a 2013 leftover. So far I've put 1300 miles on it in 3 weeks and it is everything I could have hoped for and more - quiet and comfortable, smooth riding and so far 41mpg in mix of city and highway driving. I hope the mpg keeps up. In Sport mode this car is as fun to drive and as responsive as my wife's BMW 3 series and you know the Lexus will be so much more reliable than the BMW. So far am extremely pleased and looking forward to a lot more driving this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Buyer Beware

December 30, 2013
By Frustrated Lexus owner
from Deerfield Beach, Fl
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I traded in my CT200 Hybrid for an ES 300Hybrid. Needed more space. Got 40-42 MPG on the CT, so I know how to drive a hybrid.
I have averaged 31/33 MPG through 12,750 miles. Always on Eco and driving like my grandmother to better the mileage, made no difference...i am on the highway and local driving equally for work.
After reading all the great reviews, I trusted Lexus and the advertisements. I asked JM Lexus to take this car back as a lemon, but they said "their computer" could not duplicate my findings...
I am stuck with this car, since JM is great at selling cars, but "not so great" when there is a problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loving my ES300h!!!

December 11, 2013
By clarkentcolo
from Firestone, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my ES300h, I just traded off my 2013 RX450h and wanted a little better fuel economy. (Don't get me wrong, I knew the sedan would get MUCH better fuel economy and the RX rocked!!)
Back to my ES... the car is amazing and it wasn't hard to decide to stick with Lexus comparing it to overpriced rivals at BMW and Mercedes that don't compare in fuel economy.
The mileage is way good, I drive on the highway alot and still get about 38 MPG overall. The performance is great (although a little underwhelming.. this is my only complaint). This car turns heads everywhere I go, of course I opted for Matador Red which has always been my favorite Lexus color. I considered a Prius but wanted to commute in style and be more comfortable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

95% Perfect. 5% bad

November 18, 2013
By Dan from San Diego age 42
from San Diego, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought 3 days ago and have driven 200 miles. Overall, great car. Here's my background. 42 year old male, 2 kids, 6'3", tall and skinny. Two issues, no real place to put my cell phone. Need more storage. Second, the front drivers seat bottom cushion side support is a little to high. It should be lower and allow for my skinny bottom to rest - but I am slowly getting used to this. Last years model seemed much better. I got the NULUX not because I couldn't afford the leather, but because it is much much softer. Got smoking deal - cheaper than the Avalon I was going to buy. Avalon was a stiffer car. This car really rides smoothly
That's all to report."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car just dont get the Mark Levinson audio

October 18, 2013
By markb280
from Bayville, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car. decided to get the optional Mark Levinson audio system and it is terrible if you turn it up. This was an expensive option and the Lexus dealer has replaced the subwoofer and amp but it still will not work right. Other little quality issues in the leather that I cant believe they let out of the factory but that is what you get for mass production, some get through. Getting 37-43 MPG in mixed driving in the summer. So skip the audio system upgrade if you like music. Lexus will not so anything else about it. Operating as designed is what they tell me."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disappointing exterior

September 21, 2013
By ideaboy
from CA, Los Angeles
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am overall happy with the interior, its comfort in driving, technology. Only thing greatly disappoints me is its exterior. When i see the car in road it does now look like Lexus specially from back. All the lexus previous model has its own signature in exterior look. Specially back light design. Just a glimpse of them from any angle in the road tells that it is a Lexus. With the new 2013 model that signature line is gone. It does not look like lexus anymore. I am not sure why no reviewer mentioned about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A DREAM CAR

September 16, 2013
By terri
from pueblo, co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car- every safety feature imaginable is on it. How did I ever drive without blind monitor assist, I will never know. As a disabled person, this is a great car for accessibility and features. I feel so unbelievably safe in this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

reliable car

September 15, 2013
By family car
from new orleans
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love this car. Replaced another lexus. comfortable seats. quiet ride. spacious.acceptable pickup.good consumption."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Driver seat

September 7, 2013
By Russell
from New York
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I know. This is unusual and I love this car except for the driver seat. I have owned only Lexus before but they redesigned the. Seats and I find that with in 10 tp15 mins of driving my right leg begins to hurt. Nomatterhow I set the seat. Others I have. Had drive my car experience the same."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great looking car, inside and out!!!

August 5, 2013
By Steve
from Oakville, Ontario Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my 2013 Starlight Pearl Lexus 300h fully loaded in September 2012, so have had it 10 months. No issues to speak of and like most of the posts find the car great to drive and my mileage which has been mostly city is 16.6 km/l or pushing 46/47 miles a gallon!!! I drive it mostly in normal mode and occasionally go to eco and sport. I had a hemi in my last car, a Chrysler 300C and sure it was powerful but I was spending 2/3 times as much for gas each month and frankly I don't miss the power. This Lexus has plenty of it when you need and indeed you'll find it surprising how it responds. Would recommend this car to anyone...no disappointments!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprising Power

July 8, 2013
By Jimbo 15
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i wanted a hybrid for the MPG but gotta admit i am pleasantly surprised that the power this car has
friends that have ridden in it can't believe it's a 4 cylinder
So far, so good"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilled

July 4, 2013
By Hotshot
from Portland, OR
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For the money spent, this is the best value we've ever had. The difference in cost between the 350 gas model and this 300h hybrid made it an easy decision. There wasn't a ridiculous spread is cost. Quietest, smoothest riding car we've ever bought. If it's good gas mileage you want, it delivers with class. The numbers are true. The value is good. We usually hold onto a car ten years so it made sense to us. You won't be disappointed if you decide to purchase the 300h. Best thing....it doesn't look like a hybrid!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quietest road car I have owned.

June 22, 2013
By Looking for quiet
from Austin, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We were looking for something to replace our Prius. We wanted great gas mileage and something a lot more comfortable and quiet on the road and found it with the Lexus. We have only owned the car for a month, but from other reviews, consumer reports and friends recommendations, we believe it will be very dependable. It is a bit pricey, but worth it for what you get."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Yet

June 18, 2013
By BDAVIS
from Rockville, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned the Lexus ES 330 and this Lexus ES 300H has just taken Lexus to another level. Overall the car is amazing. I was spending approx $500 a month on gas and now I'm spending approx $125. I'm avg 41 miles per gallon without trying. Sure you lose a little power but with all the speed cameras nowadays what's the point. Luxury at its best."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High MPG

June 8, 2013
By JohnST
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mileage on dash same as calculated by actual mileage and gallons. At least for first 5000 miles. As for MPG, exceeds in most cases. I am averaging 41.6. Now I have traveled a lot of highway, and if I keep the speed reasonable, meaning 60-65 I get 45 mpg. This is the speed allowed in my area, not 70. I did go for quite some distance at 75 mph in SC and NC. My mpg was only 37. At 60-70 I get about 40 mpg, so the key to getting great gas mileage is to keep the speed down. Either way, the mpg is still great, compared to my SUV which gets 22 on highway, 18 combined. Oh, the Lexus is my wife's car, which we now use all the time for trips and around town. I only use the SUV if I need to haul something or have more than four adults."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hybrid but not the 39/40 MPG

April 15, 2013
By Highway Commuter
from Miami, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The ES 300h is a very comfortable car that is also supposed to be a hybrid. The luxury part is the comfort. The hybrid does not translate into the 39/40 miles per gallon advertised for this long everyday commuter.
First, the mileage calculated by the on board computer is consistently 2 to 3 miles higher than actual mileage achieved when calculated manually (number of miles traveled on tank divided by gallons to fill up tank). Have calculated this on every tank and now have over 18,000 miles on the car. The mpg on most tankfuls is between 32.0 to 34.0.
By the way, synthetic oil is required. The oil changes are pricey."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toyota brands most reliable I have owned.

April 9, 2013
By Fan and owner of Toyota products since 1987
from Southern Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car for it's luxury ride and comfort. I have had it for three week now. I bought the hybrid and I have averaged a little over 40 mpg. I like the placement of the navigation monitor . It is high enough that I don't have to take my eyes totally off the road. However it is not without it's flaws. It has fewer refinements than the 2000 Toyota Avalon XLE that I owned, except for the hybrid system and the navigation system. Things they have cheapened: sun visors, no sun glass compartment, fewer storage compartments, front seats not totally finished in leather (sides next to center console have felt attached about one inch below the leather edge--cheap, cheap, cheap!), no small storage compartment in trunk, no tray with the center back seat cup holders.
Knowing all these things before I bought the car, I decided I could live with them because of the reliability of the Lexus brand and the luxury ride it has. I drive my cars for 13-15 years and to have the security of knowing I will have few maintained problems in that time means a lot to me.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice car

March 21, 2013
By Jim
from Orange County, Calif.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's a great car unless you want take windy mountain roads at high speed which I do not. It's a crusier which is exactly what I wanted. No problem handling on regular roads or freeways. It has plenty of acceleration power though which is nice. Lots of interior room which I also like. You could get the less expensive non hybrid ES 350 version which has even more power but only 2/3 the gas mileage. Or you could get the GS 350 which has still more power that you will hardly ever use and pay thousands more with half the mpg.
I've been getting an average of 36 mpg with fairly agressive driving and several hills getting to my home.
I think I got a lot of car for the money. My drive to work is definetly more enjoyable than it was. I didn't think I needed nav which they force you to buy with the hybrid but now that I have it I have used it. I especially like the voice activated "find the nearest......." feature which I used recently to find an auto parts store in Cerritos, CA. It's actually really cool.
I do wish it had a ski door in the trunk which I had to give up for the battery."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Lexus_ES 300h
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Impressions

January 28, 2013
By JC
from Wickenburg, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was specifically looking for a hybrid as I have had two in the past. I was suprised to find a full-size Lexus hybrid - the ES 300h. The car is well engineered to tight tolerances, oozes luxury, drives smoothly and quietly, and the rear seating has more than normal leg-room. A good balance has been achieved between the size of the electric engine vs the gas engine - plenty of acceleration if wanted and capable of very good mpg. While I have less than 500 mixed miles on the car, it has averaged 39 miles per gallon, which is the EPA rating. In short, I am most pleased with the car and highly recommend it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.