Customer Reviews for 2013_Nissan_Sentra

2013_Nissan_Sentra

Average Customer Rating:
4.047 of 5
4
 of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
1
30 of 43(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Review 1 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Transmission Issues

July 3, 2014
By Amanda
from Vermont
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this car new and within 3 months of purchase date the transmission started slipping. Now 7 months after the issue came about, the transmission has begun jumping, as if the automatic car is trying to stall out in traffic when I break.
Can't ever expectorate without being the loudest car in traffic and gears jumping to get moving...
Although this car is cute on the exterior... and relatively comfortable it's built poorly and functions awfully. I wouldn't recommend this car to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy with a 2013 Sentra

May 30, 2014
By Happy in St Louis
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car for the money. Good acceleration and responsiveness while getting great mileage.
Happy with purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Like it

May 17, 2014
By fan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought my 2013 Sentra SR a couple months ago its probably just because im 18 and I might not know a lot about cars but I actually like this car. It is comfortable and I like the exterior as well as the interior design. It does lag performance scince I had a 99 323i Bmw ( which was pretty fast). Its not fast as I thought it would be but other than that's its a pretty nice car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Transmission is junk

February 22, 2014
By Tonyvale
from Yuma, AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After just one week (brand new car) we notice the tranny was slipping. It was replaced after 5,000 miles but the new one is noisy and has difficulties in low gears (A/T). It is also very noisy and can not gain speed going high hill. NISSAN keeps giving us the run-around. We will NEVER buy Nissan again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dealer can't diagnose repeated battery failure

February 22, 2014
By Robert
from Gainesville, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"As noted in another review, my battery goes dead if the car sits in the garage for a few days. After the first 2 visits to the dealer, they said that their diagnostics determined that the battery was bad, and they gave me a new battery. About 3 months later, I returned from a 4 day business trip to find the battery dead. The dealer checked the car and found nothing wrong. Suspecting that the trunk light might have been on (which the service rep said would drain the battery), I removed it. About a week later the battery was dead again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worst sentra I've ever owned

February 19, 2014
By melissa c
from Oak ridge tn
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this car brand new with 7 miles on it. It was great for the first week until things started breaking. The gas tank would not let me fill the car up completely even though my gauge and gas light said it was empty. I only got 250 miles per tank on a car that is supposed to get up to 400 highway driving, and I drive highway. Nissan has no clue how to fix that problem they just keep throwing parts at it. My car has been in the shop 5 times since I have owned it from November of 2013. The next thing that broke was the passenger side detection sensors. They do not work so the passenger side seatbelt light stays on even when someone is in the seat and is buckled up. Today after having the evap canister replaced to try to fix the gas problem my Bluetooth crapped out while I was talking to my husband. My phone was on and the Bluetooth was registering on my car display but there was no sound coming from the speakers. I have had two sentras in the past a 97 and a 2007 and I loved both of them but after this car I will never own another one. This is the biggest piece of junk and Nissan will do nothing about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car

February 15, 2014
By nissan man
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great car great in crashes EXCELLENT MPG. WOULD DEFINITELY WOULD RECOMMEND LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS VEHICLE"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Battery Problems

February 14, 2014
By ntrain32
from Westfield, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I like the car a lot, but have had to have 2 batteries installed by Nissan since I bought the car 11 months ago. Mileage is great and car looks great. Two different dealerships have not been able to diagnose what is causing the batteries to drain so thoroughly and completely."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

General Car.

February 1, 2014
By Car Freak
from Fullerton, Ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"-Great Car in General.
-Good Gas Mileage.
-Good Space.
-Great Sound System
-Horrible Performance.
-Striking design
-Harsh Ride.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid vehicle

January 31, 2014
By Sentra driver
from Richmond, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2013 Sentra with the sports package and few extra features. The speakers are quite good and I've had no trouble using my phone for music/calls. The car is extremely functional - good trunk space, seats fold down easily. The backseat is unusually spacious for taller passengers.
Driving in ECO mode, I can get just over 40 mpg on the highway driving very conservatively. It usually run 37-38 for my normal driving style. You have to turn on ECO mode every time you start the car, which is annoying at first, but you'll quickly develop the habit and do it automatically (if you care to drive in ECO, that is).
My biggest complaint so far is the comfort of the front seats. I can't decide what the problem is, but I find them quite uncomfortable. I can't seem to adjust my way out of the issue either...I think they're just poorly designed seats. It's interesting that Nissan is putting luxury seats in the Altima now but paid no attention to which seats went in the redesigned Sentra.
Overall, the car is great and feels well built. There are some limitations (like the limited amount of internal compartments), but the smooth ride, utility, and gas mileage far outweigh the negatives."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this car

January 19, 2014
By andrew b
from toronto canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have had the sentra sr for 9 mths, fully loaded love the car, fuel economy is is great im getting 48 mpg hwy in normal mode and driving at 120kph constant, handling is great ,I read all the reviews saying under powerd no way, this thing flys I had it doing 180kph 1 night at 4000rpm no problems and very quit also at that speed my old civic would be rattling ha ha. comfort is amazing 6 hr trip last week was a breeze, I went 570 km before the fuel light came on. all I can say is don't listen to a lot of negative reviews this is a great car, the bose audio system will blow you away, I have to say the look of the car is stunning and the sr is a eye catcher I got the super black, this is a better rideing car than the elantra civic and corolla I know cause I tested all of them before I got the sentra, the sentra was the better car. enjoy this 1"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sharp Looking, Minor Quirks

January 15, 2014
By Commish
from Hooksett, NH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My wife and I bought a sharp looking red SL version, fully loaded with sunroof, Nav, rear camera etc. We've had no issues mechanically. The car drives and rides great. One design issue we noticed the first time we had snow is that you can't lift the wipers up with the hood closed to clean or scrape under them. If you try it scratches the edge of the hood. This would be okay if the wipers were completely hidden, but they are not. It's a real pain in the Northeast. The only quality issue we've had so far is the trim in the drain channel on the hood is coming up. It's only stuck down by strips of double sided tape. When the temperature dropped below zero it failed. The dealer we took it to wasn't very helpful and said they couldn't fix it because it was wet from the snow and rain."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First new car in 20 years

January 14, 2014
By Broke Mom of 4
from Moreno Valley, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Size is great. Fits mom & four kids fine for driving to school, practice, events, etc. Great gas mileage. Easy trunk opening. Easy to lock kids from windows/doors. Easy radio functions. Love the fast heat and air!!!! Espescially in the AM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad Transmission

January 5, 2014
By Steve
from Rochester, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased the car in February 2013. Car has had multiple transmission problems since then. Nissan customer service has been less than helpful and does not work on Sundays, making it impossible to find a solution to getting to work on Monday."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my car

January 2, 2014
By Momma car
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car with lots of space & great gas mileage! Great deal for such an excellent car. I use it everyday for work and driving my toddler around, we both love it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If I was

December 28, 2013
By Tilly10
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2013 Nissan SV in May of this year and I am loving it. I have fallen in love with this car and would not trade it for the world. The look, the room, the comfort, the ride, and the overall experience has been great. If I was a car I would have little baby cars with this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hate this car!

December 26, 2013
By Mad owner
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my 2013 Sentra with 4 miles on it. The car was in and out of the shop for the first four months. The brakes were making a grinding noise that would not go away. Then it all stopped and the car was working great, up until it hit 12K. Then it went down hill. Anytime the car was put into reverse there was a loud squeaking noise coming from the rear brakes. I took the car in and they said that the rear discs needed replacing. But it could take a least a month before the part came in. I was then told that there would no damages done to the car while I waited... A week later I had to slam on the brakes before the car stopped. I took it in and they told me nothing was wrong. I then finally went up the chain and got a guy from corporate to take a look at it. He told me all four of the brake pads were worn and needed replacing. (on a car with 13K) 3 days later I got the car back. A week later the brakes are failing again and I am told it is not a safety issue. I'm looking at new cars. Don't get this car. The rear brakes are a huge issue. As the car ages it gets worse. My car is only 9 months old."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst new car I have ever owned

November 16, 2013
By Big AL
from Clovis, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased the Nissan Sentra SR fully loaded (upgraded navigation , Nissan smart key, gps , xm radio) in late August 2013 , by the end of October with 2500 miles the car kept jerking back and forth especially on the highway. I took it to the dealership and they said the cvt transmission had gone out. They test drove and it broke down on the highway for the tech. They replaced the entire transmission I just got the car back yesterday, it still rides very jerky doesn't feel right. I went back to the dealer today they told me probably the cvt, just keep driving if anything happens bring it back still under warranty . I am very unhappy with this car , it is brand new haven't even done 1st oil change and transmission already went out. I replaced a 2003 honda civic with 170,000 miles for this Sentra(and never a single problem with the civic ). My advice stay away from the Nissan Sentra, it is sad I already want to replace this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very disappointed

November 1, 2013
By Unhappy Nissan customer
from Fort lauderdale
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Went to the underground and back....... I bought a Nissan Sentra 2013 SR fully equipped, Bose speakers sun roof, etc, etc. First problem, winshield rubber frame poorly installed from factory, they had to remove the windshield to fix it, now the winshield grinds against the dashboard. Second problem, navigation system's buttons backlight blinks when dimmer is on max. The service manager keeps telling me that Nissan engineers are working on the issue, it has been 5 months since I bought the car and no solution yet. And third problem, rear right tire makes a grinding noise, like when you don't put new brake pads. THIS IS A BRAND NEW CAR!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and Furious

October 31, 2013
By Ice ski
from boston ma
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I looked at a Dart Limited as been wanted to buy that car for the longest it was too late to had made a call with the dealership as wanted but last chance BANG!!! It was purchased off the lot well tried looking at few more compact cars drove Civic EX-L it rode better from last model drove as a rental not long ago but the interior seemed awkward dashboard was too wide and materials seemed out of place so decided between a Sentra or Corolla as I'm not a toyota person anymore since 2010 doing the acceleration recalled looked at Nissan wasn't sure about that brand as i drove it Amazed how it performed so well for a small compact car not as comfortable for long drives but has everything loaded out. I love the high performance handling and it's quiet with a new interior design from exterior restyling got a bluetooth, navigation, upgraded interior space as got lots of room for my skateboards with folding down rear seating and passenger seat extra room. The ground effects are nice bought with SR package has heated seats, mirrors, rearview camera, sunroof, steering wheel ctrls, custom wheels and great tires as drove to Canada with snow conditions it was a safe car with more vehicle dynamic control as used on the icy roads w/out causing me to slide got 40 mpg and 27 on highway done lots of driving now at 869 miles it was a great ride had in the Sentra. Nissan rules after driving least 18,000 miles I'm hooked on this car and Nissan vehicles giving me a great overall powerful compact machine best handling and smooth fast ride will recommend the car now."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.