Customer Reviews for 2013_Toyota_Prius v

2013_Toyota_Prius v

Average Customer Rating:
4.69 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Review 1 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Missing common basic things

August 11, 2013
By Don't rip me off
from Huntington Beach, CA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Prius V III is missing a ton of stuff that other cheaper cars now have as standard equipment. Beware of dealers and make sure you bargain the stuff you want on the III before shelling out huge money. Was NOT told by dealer until I found out when using the car that features below are not included.
Missing:
1. No auto shutoff headlights. You have to remember to shut off your lights! Pretty lame they don't have this feature most cars now have had for 20 years.
2. No intermittent wipers. You heard correctly.
3. No auto dimming mirror
4. No auto turn on headlights
5. No fog lights
6. No "stay on" running lights
7. Poor cloth seats and cheap plastic finished trim inside the III car. For example: The back lid cover is a poorly cut piece of vinyl with no finished edge! Seats and steering wheel are super tiny and not that great for large people. Upgraded to after market leather if you can.
Check and make sure you are getting what YOU think you are paying for. These cars are shorting you! Don't assume common features are included. Make a check list before you go and get the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

new 2013 Prius V

April 11, 2014
By Rattles
from Monterey Peninisula, California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First the good parts.
Interior volume? Huge (larger than the Mercedes E320 wagon it replaced). Wonderful back seats (they recline, move fore and aft, and delight everyone). The seats in general (we had them done in leather) are supportive and comfortable (though why the passenger's seat can't be lowered is a mysterious disappointment).
Performance means different things to different people. Acceleration? You need a calendar in ECO mode, though PWR seems quite sprightly. But MPG's? This large, comfortable car has averaged 48.5 MPG of mixed city and highway in the 8700 miles since new. That's one of the reasons I bought it, and it does not disappoint.
Now, about that interior.
Cheap looking (and feeling) plastic everywhere. Shoulder belt buckles that hang EXACTLY where they knock against the plastic trim. Tap Tap Tap Tap Tap. Didn't anyone at Toyota drive this thing? There's been a rattle from under the dash from the very first week ("oh, they all do that," says the dealer). It drives us nuts. And the center shoulder belt for the rear seat is an abomination. It takes a serious and detailed briefing to show someone how to undo it. When retracted it dangles from the cabin roof unless carefully tucked, where (you guessed it) the hard plastic buckle rattles against the hard plastic escutcheon.
Rear visibility is better than the recent generation Priuses, but worse than the original 2002 edition. There's a backup camera for a reason, and the large structural pillars do get in the driver's way when turning onto a street.
Excellent mileage. Excellent cargo capacity. Chintzy materials and poorly-thought out interior design.
I would not recommend this car to someone unless they have a need to haul outsized cargo and use a minimum of fuel while doing it. The Prius V does accomplish the mission well.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gas saver

November 25, 2013
By Dennis
from Merrick NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am getting 44.8 miles to the gallon. I have almost 900 miles on the car and I finished my second tank of gas and just started my third tank of gas. I am amazed and very happy that I purchased this car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excitement and disappointment at the same time.

September 30, 2013
By Spiritualist
from San Diego
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the drive, the look, the feel, the gas mileage and the feel overall.
Don't like that the headlights don't have automatic running lights on model III of the Prius V. The doors only unlock on driver's side and need to be manually opened from driver's side. You can only lock car from driver's side (unless you use remote). Interior storage space leaves room for improvement. CD is only a single one and not a multiple disc charger. Just letting of my Highlander 2003 - limited version. That one had more amenities than the middle version of the Prius V.
I also chose "bisque" as interior color, yet the floor mats and some panels are dark grey.
I was told AC runs off battery, yet fuel mileage clearly proves that it reduces gas mileage.
This is my first ever new car. A lot of excitement, yet also some disappointments. The function keys and console way to busy and distracting from what's going on on the road and with the vehicle. I had a couple of near misses as result. Wish I would have test driven vehicle more and asked more questions. If you can afford it go for the Prius V - five model. I hope it brings even more joy.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love my new prius v 3 with some complaints

September 26, 2013
By Laura
from Georgia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just bought it. Past Prius owner and big Prius fan.
1. While I love the navigation and have already used it straight out of the dealer, there isn't a navigation visor out there for bright sunlight which should have been taken care of by Toyota when they designed the car but wasn't and no alternative company makes a visor for the Prius V although there is one for the Prius(NavCap).
Is navigation worth the additional expense when all Garmin customers swear by the their windshield stuck on navigation?
2. Pandora and all the alternates come at the expense of your cellphone data. Smartphone data costs a fortune. I tried to hook my ipod touch up to the usb port and the entune system rejected it as too much power consumption. That was a huge disappointment to me since radio reception is tragic. Long road trips will demand entertainment just to keep you awake at the wheel. That CD player will be your main entertainment past the 90 day satellite honeymoon and the CD player may not last that long. Your auxillary port is a joke in the Prius V 3. Buy navigation for navigation. The rest is false advertising in my limited experience.
3. I love the Bluetooth. It is so great to be able to answer a cellphone wirelessly but it will require a smartphone with data coverage and it ain't cheap.
4. It is an economy car. You would be well advised to buy a bumper guard, a cargo mat liner as my prior Toyota Prius cargo mat leaked liquids from a grocery store newly bought item. I'm investing in floor liners even though the black floor mats in your car will hide dirt, it will affect resell value. The console cover between the front seats is cheap which, while comfortable to lean your arm on and I did, will wear out by 100K miles. I'm used to the cheap plastic Prius steering wheel but those of you who do need this downsizing from luxury cars might want to buy such a leather wheel wrap accessory. Those of you used to automatic light turnoff had better spend the money for the Prius V 5 because it is manual in the Prius V 3. Spare is same size wheel but thinner tire so you won't to drive on it a long time but need to replace it quickly. No fog lights- have to buy Prius V5-I didn't need them.
5. Be prepared for the hard sell on prepaid warranty which won't cover brakes, brake pads and tires.
6. Toyota, if you at all read these reviews, address some of these issues and if necessary tack on the expense to redress these issues or lose future car sales.
7. Resell value will be there for this car because families will like this car. It's nice to have the extra cargo space and the rear seats are comfortable for those of you driving 2-3 additional people.
Overall I am pleased with the car. These are glaring problems easily seen once you've actually bought the car. I loved the gas consumption in my old Prius and anticipate I will love that in this car too while I will cherish the extra cargo space although it costs me some gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Vehicle - Worse GPS Ever Experienced

April 22, 2013
By Prius Owner, Past and Present - Model 3
from Lexington, KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I formerly owned a 2010 Prius. In that vehicle we averaged 50.3 mpg over a span of 94,000 miles. The Prius V was needed to accommodate growing children. The V is more comfortable than the former Prius, larger, quieter and with more controlled body movements. With roughly 2000 miles on the V we have been averaging 48 MPG, combined city and highway. Performance was rated low only because it is what it is, a Prius, not a Porsche. Performance is as expected. If you rated the performance on a Prius standard, it is a bit slower than my former Prius, so don't be in a hurry to accelerate. The GPS on the model 3 is dismal at best. It always reads incorrectly. For example: recently on a trip from Lexington, KY, to Dayton, OH, it was reading as a 6 hour trip. This trip takes no more than 3 hours. With 15 miles to go it was reading 64 minutes remaining. Adjustments can be made on the Model 5, but not on the 3. On a recent trip into Cincinnati, OH, it kept telling me to turn into existing buildings. While that would be acceptable if the building was of recent construction, I know that this specific area has had no development in at least 40 years. Toyota is known for incremental improvements, this was several steps backwards. I have done the calibration and everything that an owner can accomplish, to no avail. The dealer has no solution as of this review. While I have only owned 4 different Global Positioning Systems, by four manufacturers, this system has garnered a worse I have ever experienced. The one I owned for sailing sixteen years ago was far more accurate. I think technology has improved, but I could be mistaken. The significant downgrade in reliability is directly related to the poor GPS, only. Speaking of reliability, if I took a trip out west, I believe I can rely on it putting me in the middle of a desert. As far as value for the money, buy the 2 and a Garmin if you do not need the hands free phone, otherwise get the 5 with the advanced system. Love the car, I would recommend it to a friend with the above caveat."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New driving experence

December 18, 2012
By GGJan
from UT
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car is quiet yet rides like a sports car. We wanted a car that would be large enough for a big guy 6 foot 8 inches tall to drive. There is plenty of head and knee room and so far we are pleased with our new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car for the Money

April 7, 2014
By Hybrid Fan
from Harrisburg, Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car to drive--interior designed the way I like it. Controls are easy to use & located right. The seat & steering wheel are easy to adjust, however, they are not power adjustable. The car handles well and is easy to drive. The only drawback is acceleration from standing stop and gas mileage-only get 37 to 38 mpg overall. Toyota claimed 40 -44 mpg?? I am still happy with 38 mpg. Love the reclining & fold-flat back seats-provide plenty of cargo room in back."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As expected

December 2, 2013
By Go Green
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We recently bought 2013 Prius V 2. It is not the fanciest or most exciting car to drive. But it provides enough space for our family (2 + 2) and fuel efficiency, which we care most. Despite the winter condition in PA, it averages 41-42 mile/gallon so far. All those energy use indicators educate you to be a better driver. There are no matches in this category."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Milkeage

October 22, 2013
By Hybrid Owner
from Columbus OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am getting 47 + miles in combined city and highway driving. Great car! We got the base model - not a lot of bells and whistles but I have cut my fuel costs by 21/2 times."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Toyota Prius V

September 22, 2013
By Betty
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car! Handles well, safe, large as a small SUV and gets about 45 mpg!! The only thing I would change is the radio controls are confusing. Mine has a navigation system and leather heated seats, just adorable inside and out!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hybrid experiance

September 10, 2013
By saj
from oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Pro
Great car , used for one month, M/G 42 combined
decent power, very smooth and quiet engine.
lots of space for a tall guy, both in the front and back seat.
Con
Ugly exterior design , entune not user friendly and cheap looking. upolstry fabrics cheap quality& noback up sensors
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic gas milage

August 15, 2013
By 50mph-mac
from northern Minn
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Can't believe the gas milage we are getting with the Prius v.Our average is 50.3 and we have driven it for over 1000 miles.Granted we live in a rural area,but if in a traffic jam our Prius goes to electric and does not use a lot of gas.
We love it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car ever

August 11, 2013
By fuel wise
from CATSKILLS NEW YORK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"MY WIFE AND I BOUGHT THE PURISV FIRST IN FLORIDA WE LOVED IT. WE BROUGHT IT BACK HOME IN MAY 2013, WE BOUGHT THE CAR IN JANUARY 2013. WHEN WE GOT HOME WE HAD FOUND THT WE SPENT UNDER 100.00 DOLLARS TO COME HERE WE DROVE ABOUT 1255 MILES GREAT!! WE HIT A DEER AND TOTALED THE WHOLE CAR. WE BOUGHT A NEW ONE IN KINGSTON N.Y. THE SALESMAN WAS SO NICE WE SAVED ALOT OF MONEY. WOULD I BUY FROM THEM AGAIN YOUBET. BEST CAR IN THE WORLD THANKS!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best big green car

August 6, 2013
By green
from Orange CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is the best big green car. Excellent value, lots of room for camping or moving funiture, excellent mpg, tis car is just what the world needs!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

mileage better than expected

June 19, 2013
By big jim mcbob
from Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had my Prius V-Three for a little over two months, 2200 miles on it. Cumulative mileage is 45.4, with one tank hitting 48.9. The driving has been about 65% city. It's comfortable for both my wife and me to drive (not at the same time...).
I'm able to fit 4 sets of golf clubs and three other big guys into it comfortably.
It's not going to win any races, but I haven't had any issues with it not being able to accelerate quickly enough to merge onto the freeway, or pass slower traffic.
I don't like that I have to be stopped in order to enter info into the GPS.
The hands free phone feature is great, as is having Toyota Entune for Pandora radio.
The only problem I have is my kids making fun of me for driving a Prius... which is a small price to pay when gas is pushing $4 a gallon!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prius V

June 18, 2013
By Becky
from North Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was by far the most painless new car buying process I have ever experiences. Carl at F.A.T. is great to deal with. No hassle. Got a good deal. Love the car. Good gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do not be afraid of hybrid... OUTSTANDING VEHICLE

June 7, 2013
By Colt
from The Villages, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is Toyotas 3rd generation hybrid.. (since 1967)
Practically Perfection
Especially with the advance technology package, it does everything but drive itself...
Gas mileage 52 around home and 42 on the highway
This model DOES NOT need to be plugged in
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Electronics amazing

May 30, 2013
By blackdaan
from Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm getting 37 mpg mostly at 70 or 75 mph on Texas highways. The on board electronics are amazing and after a couple months I still learning new things."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Toyota_Prius v
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this car!

April 29, 2013
By Sue
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2013 Prius v has an amazing amount of interior room, is very comfortable for 5 occupants and after 3000 miles is averaging 51 mpg city / highway combined mileage. I drove a Ford C-Max for comparison before i bought the Prius v. The Ford did not even come close to the comfort and features of the Prius v. I love this car and so do all my friends who have seen and ridden in it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.