Customer Reviews for 2013_Toyota_Highlander

2013_Toyota_Highlander

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 of 5
4.8
 of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 39(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Review 1 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

manager

February 1, 2013
By ali
from tunersvile nj
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"no good ongas i dont like it aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best features and room for the price

January 10, 2014
By Eric
from Galveston, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I moved to a Highlander from a higher end Lexus and found that the features were comparable (highlander was the limited edition). However, the price was half and the gas mileage double! The car is comfortable, has features that most of us really want and need (good sounding stereo, navigation, Bluetooth connectivity, heated seats). The car handles well but some increased road noise is evident as compared to my previous Lexus.
The third row back seats are mostly an illusion, but work well for occasional use for kids (which is why I have them).
Great vehicle.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good SUV...

September 2, 2013
By Galaxy
from Atlanta, AG
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned the '13 LImited for a little over a year and have 16,000 miles on it. I am happy overall with the Highlanders. The positives: It can tow like a champ. We towed a 5,000 pound trailer from Texas to Georgia and it handled better than my previous F-150 (5.4L V8) and got better mileage. It took a bit to get up to highway speeds but once there, it maintained speed well and didn't have to downshift constantly to get back to speed. The mileage while towing was 15 MPG overall (1200 miles) which is what I got on my F-150 when it was EMPTY! My only real complaint is the interior noise. 3 of the 4 windows squeak and some interior trim pieces squeak as well. I am hyper-sensitive about squeaks, so it may not bother you as much as it bothers me. I think it's unavoidable when the interior is a giant Tupperware bowl. The seats are comfortable even for the long road trips. All in all, I am happy with this and hope to get 200K miles out it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Highlanders

August 31, 2013
By OKProgressive
from Oklahoma City, OK
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2012 Highlander Plus in March of 2012. The 2012 had a light gray interior that I could not grow to love so I traded it in on a 2013 Highlander Limited with black leather interior in June of 2013. Ahhh....now I can say I am happy with my purchase. I do not like the look of the 2014 Highlander. The 2012/2013 Highlander has a very smooth ride and great acceleration. The interior is a little cheap looking, but has a well-functioning layout. The only negative I can find is the excessive wind noise. My Nissan was sealed much better and had less wind noise, however the heating and air system sucked. This is my 5th Toyota and hopefully my last. ;-)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toyota Highlander SE

July 30, 2013
By Bluesman
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We wanted a car that would pull our boat (4000 pounds), drive like a car, not a truck, have some room, but yet not be huge. After a lot of research, we settled on the Highlander. We chose the middle SE version which is nicely equipped. The Limited was thousands more but had features that would have just been luxury items for us. It is shorter than comparable cars by other makers, which is nice for the garage and parking. Yet, it seems to have the same interior space as other small SUVs. We were disappointed that our car came without car mats, without cross bars on the roof rack, plus XM radio was a pricey option as was a factory hitch. We added the roof rack bars, car mats and hitch aftermarket. Although the 2013 specs show this as trailer ready, you still need to add a wire harness and hitch to the car. A decorative back panel must be removed from the bottom rear to accommodate the hitch – not great looking, but it works. The third row seats are very small and unless you have toddlers, these are almost useless. Like other Highlander owners, our 3rd seats will be folded down 95% of the time. In our 3 short weeks, we are very happy with the car. It was a bit pricier than we hoped to spend, but a few thousand less than competitor versions of this SUV. Hopefully, known Toyota reliability will justify the price. Drives nice, is comfortable inside and has some nice features that we didn’t expect to get."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Second Highlander

July 28, 2013
By Gilly
from East Meadow, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I can't believe everyone finds this Highlander so comfortable! I bought the 2013 after my 2004 Highlander was totaled in an accident. Didn't think twice about buying another one after I walked away.
The seats in the 2013 are without any padding and impossible to sit in. I am working with an Auto Interior person to have them fixed. The Dash Board is also garbage! There is raw edged plastic right under the controls. For over $38,000 the cheapness compared to my 2004 is unbelievable! I hope I have as good luck with this one as my 2004.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toyota Highlander Handling

July 13, 2013
By carguy
from Buck County Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned this Highlander AWD for 6 months now and I find this SUV very comfortable to sit in and accessories very easy to operate and plenty of room with a third seat but the handling of this vehicle I think is terrible and this is my sixth or seventh SUV that I have owned and the worst out of all of them. It is hard to keep it in a straight line for any distance and I travel on a major Interstate everyday so make sure you drive this vehicle on a major highway before you purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Family Vehicle

May 20, 2013
By SportsFamily5
from South West Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"They don't get more reliable than a Toyota. This is our 3rd Toyota vehicle and it will not be out last. With 3 children and a 4th not far off, the 3rd row seating and DVD are definitely a must have. At 6'3", the Highlander is comfortable and has plenty of room for long trips."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the way it fits me not to low or not to high

April 5, 2014
By dog lover
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It was considered used but only had 1,000.00 mile on it and it was a limited I just wished I understood more of the toys in it but then i have only had it for 2 weeks"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fit needs

March 24, 2014
By Love road trips
from California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our new highlander has meant every expat action. We get good gas milage in town and highway. It is so quite inside and a very comfortable ride.
Will keep this car many years"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saved our lives

January 29, 2014
By Highlander for life
from Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We purchased a 2013 Highlander and after 3 months of ownership we were involved in a head-on crash at 60 miles per hour. The safety features in the Highlander saved our lives. Although we have injuries (neck and back pain, fractured Sternum), I believe that the if we were in a different vehicle our injuries would have been life threatening. We were so pleased that we replaced our wrecked Highlander with another 2013 Highlander."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful color, smooth ride

November 19, 2013
By SUV Lover
from Gloucest
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned a Toyota Highlander since 2003 and loved it.
I love this 2013 Highlander even more. It has more cup holders, a better radio (enjoying SiriusXM Satellite channels), back-up camera, individual temperature control in front seats, heat/A/C controls in back seat, & built-in garage door opener. I love the color & the comfort of this car, including the heated leather front seats.
One of these days, I'll learn how to operate all the computer features!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Customer Service

October 29, 2013
By Lucy
from Yonkers N.Y
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Thank you so much for everything Westchester Toyota. Your staff made me feel so welcomed. I will definitely recommend the sales person Mr. Francisco Romero because he took his time to explain every detail on the Toyota Highlander 2013. I will definitely continue to do business with you. This is my first Toyota vehicle and so far so good and I am very happy with my purchased. Thank you so much. Lucy"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Auto

September 29, 2013
By Highlander Fan
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"1. Very comfortable ride
2. Excellent in traffic and on the road
3. Roomy with excellent interior design
4. Surrounded by protective airbags
5. Good view of outside surroundings
6. Excellent for a family of five or six
7. Hope future will bring more fuel efficiency
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Family Vehicle (Base 4-Cylinder Model Review

September 21, 2013
By seginns
from Saint Albans, WV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What's not to love about this SUV? It is by far the most comfortable vehicle, with plush, cushy seats, front and rear. The middle seat in the second row, however, is not comfortable but is useful for shorter trips. The third row seat is less plush than the front and second row seats, but comfortable enough that our teenager and other adults can sit there without complaint. The third row seats also provide enough leg room for average sized adults to be useful for longer trips. (We do not have anyone taller than 5'9" in our family.) There are vents above each of the rear seats, third row included, making the climate control much more effective. The kids especially like that they can control from the second row how much air flow they get as well as their air temperature.
The touch screen audio system is very easy to use, and Bluetooth connectivity is fast, connecting within a few seconds. Other models we test drove took up to three minutes to connect to our phone when we tried to play music from it.
The interior is quiet, with little engine and road noise. The 4-cylinder model provides enough power for hills and typical acceleration. Fuel efficiency for this class has been good, averaging between 22 city and 27 interstate.
Visibility, especially rear visibility, is good for an SUV, but there is still a significant blind spot directly behind the vehicle. We did not get the backing camera but are considering getting one aftermarket.
With all three rows up, cargo capacity is very limited, but is good with the third row down. The 50/50 split increases cargo and passenger options. I would recommend getting the rubber cargo mat over the carpet cargo mat if you plan on having one rear seat up and one down. The carpet mat does not have a split in the middle, whereas the rubber mat does."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 highlander

September 11, 2013
By 2013 highlander
from Winchester, Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my highlander. I replaced my 2008 highlander with the 2013. It is a comfortable ride and fits my three large dogs perfectly!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Highlander

August 17, 2013
By Billybob
from Durham, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is our 2nd Highlander. We also looked at the Honda Pilot, but the Highlander again best met our needs. The trim and fit are perfect and the vehicle is tight and quiet. It is very solid on the highway and gets better highway mileage than our last one. The rear camera is very helpful when backing up to hook up a trailer because it looks down at the hitch and allows you to back straight to the trailer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Way to Shop

August 2, 2013
By RNSUSUE
from Rocjland County, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was a very convenient way to find the car we wanted
It was easy and we bought the car. It was just what we were looking for in the price range we could afford
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Unit

July 30, 2013
By Nice unit
from Bismarck, ND
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Did not expect to buy a Toyota, fell in love with a Ford Edge, However the dealer lacked motivation to give us a price. They had what we wanted on the lot but would not give us a price. They would just say it would be less then the sticker - frustration to the max!! If this dealer goes out of business I understand why.. They should!.... So we started looking else ware and really like the highlander. One item I did over look and that the highlander is not a flex fuel vehicle. I hope they continue making 10% or less gasoline. If the nation moves to 15% ???? What will I do?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice SUV with affordable price

July 8, 2013
By General buyer
from Washington DC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Toyota highlander is awesome. The price was good and comes with 0% APR for 5 years. In addition, the care package for 5 years without any extra money was really awesome (Tire is extra though). The bill for insurance was great, too. The car was quiet and comfortable. The car seems to spend little more gas compared to other competitor, but it was negligible difference."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.