Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle

2013_Volkswagen_Beetle

Average Customer Rating:
4.486 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 of 37(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Review 21 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fuel efficient and sporty

October 8, 2013
By hot rod designer
from Mooresville,NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2013 tdi beetle convertible has good low end power with good handling and coupled with the manual six speed has a sporty feel. Also it is nice to be averaging 45mpg. We are going to use the car for daily transportation and tow behind our motor home. Great little car to throw back the top and enjoy the sights."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Car

September 15, 2013
By Beach Lover
from Dayton, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Beetle is flat out fun! With the top down I feel ten years younger! My only concern deals with the large blind spots. I feel that VW should have the front license plate holder predrilled for easier installation of license plates. Of course, I would buy it again if I had to do it over."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Bug is full of Bugs!

August 23, 2013
By Jacqui
from Gulfport Ms
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've had the 2013 Volkswagon Convertible for about 3 months. Love the car but it has some bugs. When I put the top up the right hand windows may or may not go up like they should. The rear window may have to be put up manually 4 times before it stays up. The radio/ cd player has never worked the way it should. It just cuts off whenever. The dealership had been unable or unwilling to fix these problems. They say it is a programming problem with the radio and since the window problem doesn't occur when they had it in the shop that they can't fix it. Will have to bring it in for the 4th time. If they could fix these problems it would be my dream car but with these problems it takes a lot of the fun out of driving it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

cute car with poor gas mileage.

August 2, 2013
By Susie
from Southern California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The car is adorable and I love the color. My only concern is very poor gas mileage. I have driven on city streets and freeways and I am averaging 14.1 miles per gallon. I am a smooth, steady driver. All written info rates 31.0 MPG on freeways. My salesman was knowledgeable, and personable and I would recommend him."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the car but not the sunshade

July 1, 2013
By BugABim
from Yorba Linda, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a 2008 Beetle but was involved in an accident . I was very impressed with how the car handled the blow, hence, I got another one! This time.. a 2013 Beetle with sunroof, bluetooth. Took a little getting used to, but love the keyless access, interior and exterior styling. The car is more spacious and is a smoother ride (suspension is better). I like the foldable side mirrors. Having radio controls in the steering wheel is a plus. Love that we can set the travel speed warning limit and the chime is not annoying. The only drawback is the SUNROOF. Yes, it is big BUT it can really get hot during the summer months. I have the beige mesh sunshade and it is really hot. Had I realized this before buying, I would have opted for no sunroof at all. Am seriously considering having it tinted really dark. The handle for the sunshade should be made bigger or wider. I reached up there one time and that aluminum bar got really hot, it almost gave me a first degree burn (temp was 78 degrees at that time), how much more it was even hotter? I wish VW would give us the option to have a more solid sunshade instead of the mesh."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the wait...

June 25, 2013
By LoveThisCar
from Bellaire, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"History: I've previously owned 3 VWs.
I ordered my 2013 Turbo Beetle Convertible in Jan 2013 and just received it (June 2013) and it was well worth the wait! I really can't say enough positive things about this car. It's extremely peppy (manual transmission), smooth (even with the 19" rims), beautiful interior, has an amazing Fender sound system, and just an overall beautiful car. I've had MANY guys tell me this. One of my male friends drove it and said "wow... this thing will get up and go!".
The manual shifts like "butter". It doesn't feel heavy at all (unlike my '04 Jetta which I still own). I love driving it.
I will admit that visibility is poor with the top up. You really have to know how to adjust and use your side mirrors. But, other than that, I have absolutley no complaint.
With regards to reliability--we'll see. I've owned 3 other VWs and will admit that while they may be expensive to maintain -- if you do, you will have a long-lasting, fun to drive car!
(Engine is tried and true: Audi A3 and GTI has the same.)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Car

June 8, 2013
By Beetle lover
from Endicott, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It is too soon for me to make a review on the reliability of this car. It isn't even 1 month old.
I would maybe only recommend this car to a friend who was single."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great purchase

June 4, 2013
By Wendy
from Somersest, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new 2013 turbo beetle...they did a fantastic job with the new body and the interior...it's a total make over and it's excellent...I also owned a 1999 beetle and a 2002 turbo beetle and this one is the best yet....it's fast, stylish, comfortable and I got it all at a great price...due to the awesome dealer I worked with on Cars.com."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

fun car

May 23, 2013
By MLC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"enjoy zipping around town with the top down.
The 5 cylander gives it get up and go.
just wish that there was radio controls on the steering wheel
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cutest little car I've ever owned

May 20, 2013
By Runner
from Murrysville, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had some minor issues the first 3 weeks but the dealer took care of them immediately. Always drove larger cars but I love the car and the way it handles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ROCK STAR BEETLE

May 1, 2013
By VW Beetle
from Dallas, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2012 Beetle is a ROCK STAR! If you don't want attention don't get this car. It's like driving a baby Porche 911. I go to the gas station people are walking around my car asking questions. I'm at an intersection, people are rubbernecking. I'm driving down the road and people are rubbernecking and giving me thumbs up. Cars full of people are rubbernecking. I've never seen anything like it. My wife didn't believe me but now she see's it everytime she is in my car. PEOPLE LOVE THIS CAR AND SO DO I!Volkswagen did a stellar job redisigning this car. I've had more expensive cars and never gotten this much attention. I went to buy a red GTi and I got into this car instead. It is Denim Blue and people go nuts over the color especially with the heritage wheels. There is no need for an upscale Beetle. Someone at the gas station swarmed me with her turbo Beetle with big wheels and she said "I wish I had those wheels". I have always replaced my factory wheels with aftermarket...not this time. Get the old school heritage wheels if you want attention.This car is so solid and it oozes style. I get new car fever every year or so but not this time. I may pay it off and put it in my garage! The stereo needs upgrading and thats my only gripe."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

March 26, 2013
By Beetlebug lover
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my 2013 Convertible Volkswagan Beetle in February of 2013. It was one of the best decisions, I made this year. This is actually my dream car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

have more fun driving my vw convert than any car .

March 23, 2013
By old mans toy
from venice fl
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"74 years old, 6'6" and weigh 270#. I get lots of looks and questions . Lots more room than it looks like. Last car that I will buy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very fun

January 15, 2013
By arrowspace
from Dallas, Tx
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had a 71 beetle that I bought new for $2000. I loved that bug and drove it for many years. I wish I still had it or one just like it.
I bought the new 2013 Fender Edition Beetle Turbo.
Wow, what a neat car! Of course, I can only get so much nostalgia out of it because it is a very upgraded car compared to my classic one.
But it is still great fun to drive and the sound system is wonderful.
I tried to limit the "stars" I gave it since I have only had it a short time and don't drive it much (my old sedan takes me to work each week because it has to sit out in the weather for 4 days at a stretch).
I think the new bug was aimed at former beetle people like me and the strategy worked! But I am very happy with it so far.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome car

January 4, 2013
By randy74d
from New Orleans , LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2013 black vw beetle 2.5 in november and put 6000 miles on it. the only problem i have is keeping it clean. i average about 28 mpg city and 34 highway. I had a 2003 beetle before and i notice the design is better like the dash board isn't as huge and the plastic in the 2013 beetle will last much longer than the 2003 beetle. so i give
the 2013 beetle 2 thumbs up.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One great car!

December 20, 2012
By Zener39
from Fort Worth, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Beetle has great power with the automatic transmission. Handles great and plenty of headroom and overall just a fun car to drive whether for work or play. If you drive one I think you would buy one. The best deal for the money!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Volkswagen_Beetle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Is Not Your Wife's Beetle

December 7, 2012
By Keane1
from Springfield, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Talk about an upgrade! My wife owned a 2002 Beetle and the 2013 blows it away! Sporty, fast, handles great and the technology is very advanced. All for less than 30K! Fun, Fun, Fun to drive...and you don't have to get the Turbo for it to be fast. Inline 5 cyl has 170hp."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
21-37 of 37