Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen

2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen

Average Customer Rating:
4.294 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Review 1 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car i have owned

March 4, 2014
By the_neste
from Los Angeles, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have had many cars (beamers, rovers, jeeps, chevys, the list goes on and on and on) and to date for the $$ this is the best car on the road. it is has a slice of everything...power, style, tight build, simple but nice interior, great blue tooth, incredible gas mileage (i have the TDI diesel version and consistently get above the EPA ratings) and the panoramic roof is ahhhhhmazing. makes the car feel even more roomy and luxurious inside. i wish the seats were fully automatic but its no biggie...
most dont know about this car, but i have yet to have one person go for a ride with me and at some point just randomly and simply turn to me and say - "i like this car - what is it..hmmmm i ll have to consider this next time around".
in CA we have a part of the 405/5 freeway that is the test of all cars - its called the Grapevine its about 20-30 minutes north of LA. Its a long (very long) drawn out mountain climb...you often see cars overheated and broken down on the side of the road, or chugging along in the right lanes struggling to make it to the top. All i can say is i left everyone in the dust. The torque in the TDI allowed me to sail up that mountain as if everyone else was standing still...and with no apparent strain on the car. It was almost as if it loved it and was built for it.
If you want practical, sporty, utilitarian, comfort, interior simplicity and style, cargo room for hauling, beautiful sunlight beaming in all sides, and that fun to drive feeling while being a little nicer to the environment -do yourself a favor - get the this car in a TDI version. I cant wait for the even more refined 2015 to come out.
happy car hunting,
chris - los angeles"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Gotta Experience TDI !!

September 10, 2013
By Diesel Dawg
from Phila , PA suburbs
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have had VW's before, all of which were OK except for the 1965 Bug convertible, which leaked oil at the drain plug and the dealer was unable to fix it. Our current Jetta Sportwagen TDI is real surprise. The fuel mileage is outstanding, and the acceleration is unbelievable for a small 4 cylinder motor/ The turbocharger makes the difference. The interior is comfortable for my 230 lbs, and the heated bucket seats are extremely kind to my problem back. We haul an 80lb Greyhound along with a lot of ot other things and there is lots of room with the back seat folded down.. I was first concerned with availability of diesel fuel, which was a problem a few years ago with my diesel truck/ No worries today, fuel is available at more than half the stations around here. With my old diesel truck I was always impressed with its gnarly, growling engine sound, but it was sometimes a problem to start the engine initially. The TDI engine starts immediately, no glow plug wait, and barely whispers as it warms up. At highway speed, the TDI is as quiet as most engines, and is quieter than many others. With the price of fuel (I measure fuel cost in terms of miles per dollar) and the long life of the diesel, I believe we will be happy with this purchase for years to come.
I could go on about the six speed automatic trannie and the magic in the braking system or the stylish interior and great sound system, but I advise you to take a test drive at your local dealer and let them explain all of the outstanding features of this product.
If I sound like I really like my purchase, you better believe it ! Try it --- you'll love it !"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I Hoped For

September 10, 2012
By Luv Diesels
from Prescott, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I rented a 2012 JSW TDI in Italy this summer and fell in love with the combination of space, comfort, performance and economy. I took delivery of my 2013 JSW 2 1/2 weeks ago, specifically the TDI with 6-speed manual, navigation and sunroof. It is all I hoped for an expected. Over 1,700 primarily highway miles to this point, including a 800 mile highway trip after the first week. The JSW is very well put together, has great features and the fuel mileage is incredible. i am averaging about 42 mpg thus far and on pure highway jaunts, 45-52 mpg. This is a very quiet, comfortable cruiser. The only glitch occurred days ago with the Bluetooth Interface with my iPhone. I lost the audible tones to the sound system and the voice recognition disappeared after taking and ending a Bluetooth phone call. After a shut down of about 15 minutes, usability returned in full; however, the music library accessible that had downloaded initially when my phone was paired had disappeared and I cannot figure out how to get it restored, although I can play music from my phone via Bluetooth when I do so manually. I suppose I will have to remove the phone and re-install it.
Aside from this one glitch, I am extremely happy with the JSW. I recommend the sunroof and navigation package. I should mention that I also purchased the vehicle without a test drive. The US version is built in Mexico, not Germany, but the quality seems to be excellent."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Far The Jetta TDI lives up to it's reputation

March 31, 2013
By Jetta Owner
from Dearborn, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I lean more toward performance type cars (Subaru WRX, Honda CRX Si but was looking for something with better gas mileage since my commute recently go longer.
After a couple of months of driving I'm very pleasantly surprised with the overall package that is the Jetta Sportwagen, it has exceeded the EPA mileage numbers on the window sticker averaging a little over 39 mpg so far, and for a little diesel motor the performance has been surprising, I was expecting the car to be a bit of a dog in the acceleration department but it is a very capable of keeping up with traffic and passing when needed.
Overall the interior is very comfortable, it is pretty roomy for a smaller car, and with the seats folded down I will have know problems loading all my snowboarding gear in the back on my next trip. My only real complaint would be with the Heat/AC controls, they are a little on the small side and not angled towards the driver so some of the labeling gets blocked from the drivers view by the control knobs. The fit and finish has been great, and I love how the doors sound when you close them, it's a very old school rock solid sound you don't hear very often now days, it let's you know it's a well build vehicle. My first VW, but probably not my last, I'm VERY impressed so far!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TDI vdub wagen

December 27, 2013
By Greg
from Larkspur, Colorado
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Picked it up Saturday and Sunday headed out on a 2000 mile Christmas round trip. Left the 6800 feet asl of Larkspur, Colorado for the 80 feet asl of Conroe, Tx.. Two dogs, myself and a bunch of luggage running down I-25 at 75 mph and getting mid 40's on mpg on the first drive. Unreal. Doesn't matter what anyone's opinion is (including the various car mags) you just have to try it to see what a great product this is. Won't suit everyone but will suit most. Its quiet, handles better than average, simple but tasteful interior layout. Outside is easy on the eyes. Excellent gas mpg outways the additional cost of diesel fuel (do the math). The turbo charged engine makes small change out of altitude, hills, passing situations etc. VW throws in covered service for the first 3/36. Relatively small on the outside - but lots of room on the inside (especially with the back seat laid down). I've read "the pro's" neg. comments on the nav. system. It's simple, straight forward, good under all lighting conditions and is good as you will need it to be! Who cares about 0-60 times, double wishbone suspension or not, how big the brakes are! This is a practical, straight forward unit that can be really fun to drive if you select the dsg to manual shifting and get on the oil burner."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Incredibly surprising and much more than expected.

October 15, 2012
By Shaun
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I took possession of a 2013 VW Jetta Sportswagen S on 10/13/12 and to say that this is my favorite drive out of all the vehicles that I've had would be an understatement. Being a brand loyalist I have had a VW through the ongoing phases of life starting with a Golf, passing through the Tiguan, and now my first wagon. The 2013 S Automatic Wagon feels like a well crafted luxury ride without the luxury price tag. The interior is comfortable, functional, and spacious. The exterior is sleek, with clean lines and a European look. The car is 170HP and 177 pounds of torque with a tiptronic (sport mode included) transmission that is simply fun to drive. I took the wagon on a 238 mile road trip this weekend and I am delighted to say I have only used a half tank of gas averaging 32.4 MPG thus far. I have considered in past looking into an Audi A3 or other similar hatchbacks/ wagons, but I must give VW credit and kudos on delivering an amazing amazing vehicle in the 2013 Jetta Sportwagon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Happy Car

November 5, 2012
By man wagon
from Troy, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the TDi with Nav and sunroof with beige interior. The latter two features lighten up the interior, make it feel larger, and make driving this car just plain fun. The diesel is a marvel of performance and economy and the very solid build and front wheel drive combine to make the Sportwagon feel like a much larger car. The appointments are sensible and useful without going "over the top". Very comfortable for four with commodius storage in the back. After both trips and 'round town, I'd buy another one in a minute.
The diesel packs plenty of acceleration whether from a stop or passing at highway speeds - I'm still amazed. For those looking for fuel economy this is a must on your list of possibilities; throw in German engineering and it's a no-brainer.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little Wagon

September 9, 2012
By Frugal
from Connecticfut
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I put about 1K miles on it now (only the second tank of fuel) I traded in a BMW X3 because I wanted better economy with similar utility. I am pleased with the fuel mileage, thought the consumption display can get me a bit obsessive - upshifting early and often, just to see if I can get 50 mpg (which I can). If I ignore the consumption and just drive "normally" I still get around forty around town. The ride comfort is better than the X3 - the handling is nearly as good. I miss some features such as rain sensitive wipers, auto-on headlights, AWD, thermostatic climate control, etc., but overall I am pleased and looking forward to taking a long trip0 or two."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware reliability

December 14, 2013
By Ron
from Arizona
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Very nice car till you get to 36k warranty, then you better have extended warranty or prayer! 2010 model, so have had 3 years, since warranty expired, rear power window failed ($500), air conditioner compressor failed ($1200), diesel fuel pump failed ($1000). The 40k suggested maintenance is $550 and additional $300 for DSL transmission flush. I didn't realize I was buying the reliability headaches of a BMW which I have also owned. VW really no different, just more plastic, fake leather, less performance engines and lower price. Great gas mileage which I have more than paid for with repairs. Time to move on from German cars! ArizonaArizona"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

July 15, 2013
By Likes performance and great mileage
from Tucson, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just finished a 2000 mile vacation trip in my new Jetta TDI Sportwagon. Easily got all of our stuff in it including luggage, cooler, and my road bike. The car is quiet, accelerates much better than one would ever expect from a four cylinder engine, cornered very well on the winding New Mexico, Colorado and Arizona mountain roads and, best of all, got a phenomenal 44 mpg on the trip.
Now I know why the only cars I saw in Europe last year were diesel four-bangers. VW has done a great job with this car. Quieter than my 2008 Santa Fe, better handling, and much better braking."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2 liter diesel with almost 240 lb/ft of torque...

February 8, 2014
By ez
from Pacific coast
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After plunking down my money, i stalled it three times on the drive from showroom to home.
The compass was initially reading 180 out (would show N when heading S)
Those are the sole negatives.
At 10199 miles, Fuelly.com shows 44.5 MPG. The torque-rich acceleration (peak torque is flat 1750 - 2500 RPM) is impressive to this sailor.
A good looking, low maintenance (thus far) fuel efficient , roomy (rear seats down = 76 cubic feet) and well equipped wagon.
Plus I've not stalled the six speed manual shift since the drive home. Great vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Skip it

July 5, 2013
By cfbs2691
from Coral Springs, FL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Four months after buying this I have nothing but regrets.
The passenger door constantly rattles - like an old used car would.
When going through a car wash - water gets in and there are little puddles on the floor.
Today, it started giving me problems locking it.
I can't get all the doors to lock and I've tried everything.
This wouldn't be an issue if I lived in Mayberry, but unfortunately, I don't.
It gets great gas mileage and that's about all I can say nice about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2013 Sportwagon 2.5S Auto

February 22, 2014
By kk
from Maryland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Powerful for highway driving, solid feel, and fuel efficient. 16000+ mi so far , overall quality keep its reputation. A surprise that it uses timing chain, that is good. One complain is, since I am short, a little awkward for me to adjust the seat without compromise of both comfort and visibility."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

On my 3rd diesel particulate filter in 75000 miles

October 26, 2014
By Jack
from AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"egr cooler leaked oil into coolant
on my third diesel particulate filter that vw has paid for and the rear door latch broke with the child lock on so we were unable to get the door open. I listened to the good reviews when I bought the car and now I don't believe them.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

all around pleasant car!

May 21, 2013
By prefer german
from new orleans la
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"jetta s sportwagen great all around value...quality interior, smooth ride, crisp manual trans,loaded with standard features.
Comfortable seats, great mileage, and 67 cu ft. cargo as well!
Great package for a relatively low price.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice break from driving a van or suv, or sedan

October 30, 2012
By New VW Owner
from Bing, NY and Bethany Beach , DE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This seems to be a well built car with nice fetures. Not over done with bells and whistles just a nice ride and fun to drive. Lots of power and space for our dog and stuff."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Volkswagen_Jetta SportWagen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car ever

July 8, 2013
By nuke77
from chicago
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Gas prices were just killing me. This car gets over 50 MPG everyday on my drive to work about 31 miles.. TDI diesel is the way to go. Thank you VW"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.