Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat

2013_Volkswagen_Passat

Average Customer Rating:
4.106 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
51 of 66(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Review 21 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Peapod

September 29, 2013
By Long time VW fan not anymore
from Stevens point wi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought the SE passat in May 2013 the day I drove it off the dealer lot the radio stop working and still don't have a radio 5 months later and VW still has no idea how to fix or that they even care. Finally filed a complaint with the better business bereau in hopes I will see a fix or a new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great mileage

September 26, 2013
By hymnself
from yakima WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the TDI version strictly for fuel economy. it certainly delivers that. I am getting 44MPG in mixed driving. The sacrifice is terrible road noise, lack of power and some engine noise. I would recommend this car only to those who drive a lot and require fuel efficiency."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasure to drive

September 16, 2013
By Tanglewood
from Delmarva
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Better than advertised fuel mileage by about 5 mpg. Not fast, but what do you expect. Outstanding workmanship. Very low wind noise. Sun visors are cheesy. Brake pads feel to soft, but smooth. Good visibility. Lots of car for your $$$."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 VW Passat SE 2.5

September 8, 2013
By FlyingDutchman61
from Webster, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice car and well build in Tennessee! Awesome quality. I like the fact the engine is place in the same position as the Jetta.
Part I did not like is that the Houston dealerships do not want to work with you. E.G. SouthWest Infinity, West Lexus and others. Not too happy with that.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing mpg

August 27, 2013
By clockmaker sam
from Carmel, ME
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car is too new to make a comment on reliability, but I can tell you that with less than 2000 miles on the diesel engine I was getting 52.5mpg at 65 mph using the cruise control. This was on a 500 mile trip. The car is very comfortable, easy to drive, responds nicely to a nudge on the accelerator and handles extremely well. The owner's manual could be a little more user friendly, and it could do with a CD player that holds more than one CD at a time. But other than that no complaints."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Awful car and Terrible service at brookdale vw MN

August 16, 2013
By driver
from brooklyn center, MN
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a brand new '13 passat sel premium 4 months ago and now it's only 4000 miles on it. The truth is that the engine is now squealing or squeaking loudly when it's a cold start in the morning. I recorded the noise and compared it to normal startup sound. I visited this dealership for repair, instead of trying to fix this problem, the manager is playing all his tricks to deny this problem on the car. Even after I showed him the noise and point out where does the noise come from, the manager still refused to do any check for me. His attitude is like I deserve it. After I tell him I'm here for a reasonable solution for, He asked me to leave. Keep awaaaaaaaaaaaay with this dealership and this manager. Keep awaaaaaaaaaaaay with VW!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

First and Last VW in my life

August 8, 2013
By Frank
from San Diego
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The car drives well has descent MPG but other than that there isn't much to like about this vehicle. Within two months I already to go back to the dealerhip for power window problems, now I am having problems with sunroof not sliding. It is a brand new car and already giving me headache, I can only imagine when the car reaches 60k miles. Stay away. There are better options out there. Mazda, Honda, Toyota, Subaru and even Ford might be a better option."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very disappointed

August 4, 2013
By very disappointed
from michigan
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This is the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. I rented it for a day and 4 days later my back still hurts from it. The car how ever was great on gas. I would never rent this car again nor would I accept it if someone gave it to me as a gift.
The bottom 2 don't apply as I rented the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TDI's are remarkable

August 2, 2013
By Driver 448
from Saint Charles, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in an '09 Jetta Sportwagen TDI on a 2013 Passat TDI SE and love it. The '09 was an awesome car and I never would have traded it in if not for the lack of rear seat leg room for my son who rapidly grew to 6 feet. The Passat took care of that. My wife can have the front seat fully back and he still has six inches of knee space. It's enjoyable to drive both on the highway and around town. I have the TDI SE w/sunroof and Navigation. The navigation package adds other nice features that make it well worth the price. These include 18" rims, chrome body molding and fog lights that make the car look much more upscale. Another nice feature is the enormous truck space. If you are in the market, the Passat is a great choice and made even better with the diesel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I ever bought

August 2, 2013
By Carpe disk
from Santa Fe nm
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Driving this passat is like being in a high performance euro sedan it has the same engine as an Audi a6 the fit finish and performance are mind boggling would not trAde it for anything"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor quality

July 24, 2013
By first_last_vw
from Charlotte, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"First time buying a VW; got a good deal on the 2013 Passat SE and was very excited for the first couple of hours while the car was in the driveway. It was when the sun went down that I went out to the car to setup the radio and bluetooth only to find that the MFD (Multi Function Display) was not working. Oh yeah, and the second key was lost right off at the dealership also.
Turns out the dash needs to be removed to replace the instrument cluster. What a bummer. Sure the dealer says they will fix it, but what else is going to get jacked in the dash to replace the instrument cluster???
I understand this could happen with any new car; but I am so turned off with this. This is my first and last VW and I will share this with everyone I come into contact with that is considering a VW.
I should have listened to my wife and just got an Accord like in the past."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2013 VW Passat

July 24, 2013
By Average Driver
from Elyria, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The two main things we were looking for besides good gas mileage and within our price range, were rear seat leg room and heated seats. The Passat has the most rear seat leg room for a car in its class. I'll never understand why automakers don't allow for more room in the rear seat. We ruled out many makes and models based on this alone. For me, the heated seats are a bonus! The car handles well and is well designed overall. We've only had it for a month, but so far so good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

have had car one month

July 21, 2013
By sparkie
from apache junction ,az.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have owned seven vw this one tops the list. I have only owned the car for a month. ican not write a book about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2013 VW Passatt Worst car I've owned

July 21, 2013
By First time buyer of Volkswagen
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2013 VW Passat in November of 2012. I bought it in the middle of winter. I live in Seattle, so it doesn't get that cold. My doors would completely freeze shut. I am 40 years old and have lived here my whole life. I have NEVER had a car's doors freeze shut. I brought it in because I had water leaking into the car on both that passenger and the driver side. After getting the run around, I contacted VW. They had a tech go to the dealer. They determined that it wasn't put together right on the assembly line, so they put in new seals all around the doors and changed how much the doors sealed. Problem fixed. Then I noticed that when it would rain, my car would look like an old car in the parking lot. Windows would be completely fogged up. No other car in the parking lot would be that way. Fast forward to July 2013, I just brought it back again to the dealer. The back window just wont roll up sometimes, and now my sunroof will not shut. I'm getting tired of taking my car back to the dealer. It's a brand new car!!! Oops, I almost forgot. There is a sensor on the windows. If it thinks something is in the way, it rolls back down. Nothing is ever in the window, and sometimes, it just will not roll up.....this is getting old. I really want to just get rid of it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent new diesel

July 19, 2013
By dr jon
from Ellijay , GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned about 86 cars including 6 VW 's this is my second diesel car and I am getting 45 mpg hwy
and the ride is very quiet. I never really had a problem with my 2006 jetta TDI and I expect the same from this
Passat. This has way less to break than say a HYBRID
that has a gas motor< Batteries and a electric motor.
Wonderful car
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my New Passat 5-cly SEL Premium

July 15, 2013
By Kalster
from Red Bank, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I only have my new Passat for 2 days, so I will write a follow up to this later. I love this car. It is beautiful, comfortable and I feel like I got a lot more car and luxury for the money compared to other cars in this class that I looked at. It's a pleasure to drive, and I can't believe I discovered and bought it. Plus the dealer experience was really great.
I've read through the reviews here. One mentioned road noise. Yes, you hear and feel the engine and the road more than in other cars. This is by design...similar to some other German designed cars. It's not a fault to be corrected. Many people prefer the experience of feeling and hearing the connection to the road. Perhaps the reviewer didn't do an adequate test drive.
Another reviewer mentioned the overall slowness of the computer processor. Unfortunately, this is the first thing thing I noticed when I took the car home, and it's the only thing that disappoints me. Of all the detail and care that went into this car, I find it quite astonishing that the computer feels like the processor is 5 years old and underpowered to handle the job. It is just too slow and freezes occasionally. It's the only clunky thing on an otherwise magnificent car. If I had one wish, it would be that VW recalls and replaces the computer.
That said, taking everything into consideration, I am still in love with this car. I can't wait to get in and drive it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passat TDI

July 13, 2013
By Passat owner
from Salt Lake City UT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The VW Passatt TDI is extremely comfortable to drive, plenty of room for both the front and back seat passengers. Getting excellent fuel mileage, towards the higher end."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passat 2.0 TDI SE

July 10, 2013
By Road Warrior
from Kansas City
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I drive about 25K a year and got really tired of buying gas. Have only had the car for about 3 weeks but have put on a couple thousand miles. Milage is exceptional so far - between 40 and 50 on commute to the office which is mostly hwy but some stop and go. Went on a 400 mile trip - 49.5 up and 48.5 back according to the computer driving 70-78 mph. 39.5 average for the 2K miles (actual fuel to miles). TDI performance is far better than the 2.5 gas. I chose the 6 speed manual which isn't for everyone but I like it. At 6'-3" the leg room is ample, but ergonomics with the steering wheel and armrest is not ideal. The steering wheel telescopes but not enough. Great legroom in the back seat even with fronts all the way back. Engine is quiet so far - can only tell it's a diesel at idle. Overall a fantastic value for what seems like a well built, good sized car that has decent performance and handles well. Haven't driven in bad rain, ice or snow yet. It appears the car can easily outperform the 43 hwy estimate without hypermiling tricks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Technology dud

June 30, 2013
By Needs direction
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car gets great mileage, is very comfortable, and fun to drive. However, the technology is close to useless. The nav is so poor, that I have reverted back to my old plug-in Garmin. The radio functionality is maddening. And the backup camera has such a long delay, it renders it useless. Dealer can't/won't do anything about it. I spend a lot of time in my car, and the technology was really important to me. Literally, I got ripped off on the extra money I spent. If the technology functionality is important to you, DO NOT buy this car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New fan of VW Passat SE TDI!!!

June 28, 2013
By Kevin
from Fort Wayne, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We just traded in a Toyota 4Runner and purchased a VW Passat SE TDI and even though I've only driven it for about a week I am really happy with the decision to buy it. The first day I was getting 39 mpg with only city driving. Since then I've averaged about 43 mpg with a mix of mostly city and a little on the freeway. This is fantastic especially when compared to the 17-18 mpg that we were getting in the 4Runner!
The Passat is really a fun car to drive. The TDI has a lot of power from the low end torque and while it may not be the fastest right off the line, there is no problem with accelerating while driving. At times it feels more like a V6 because there's so much power. The ride quality is very smooth and the suspension is well controlled and balanced nicely.
Many "experts" have complained that the exterior styling is pretty bland but I think that it will hold up well over time. Some of the other cars on the market will look dated in a few years because they are designed to be trendy. The VW has more of a classic, simple look to it and I actually like that. The interior design is also fairly simple but again I like the look of it. At first I was concerned that the seats wouldn't be comfortable because they look fairly flat, but so far I have no complaints. The trunk is spacious, back seat legroom is outstanding, and the controls are all well laid out. The driver information center takes a little time to figure out but it is very easy to use and intuitive. One suggestion - I do wish you could have the digital speedometer and another piece of info (average mpg, current mpg, etc.) displayed at the same time instead of having to alternate between them.
We also considered a Camry and I liked the way that it drove, but the quality of the cabin seemed cheap even on the highest XLE trim level. The keyfob also felt like it was made with the cheapest possible plastic. The VW on the other has a much better fit and finish and they key feels solid in your hand. I think that the Camry's ride quality was a little softer when it came to the smaller road imperfections, but hitting larger bumps made me cringe. The Passat just seems to absorb everything more evenly.
In summary, if you are reading this then you are probably researching the Passat and I highly recommend test driving one and especially the TDI. It is a roomy, powerful car with great mpg that also just happens to be fun to drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.