Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat

2013_Volkswagen_Passat

Average Customer Rating:
4.153 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
57 of 72(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Review 21 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good but not great

December 17, 2013
By new car owner
from new jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love my new pre-owned Volkswagen Passat SEL. It is stylish, affordable and comfortable. It is fully loaded with the premium packaging and all the bells and whistles. Roomy interior and simple design provide easy access and modern feel. The larger 3.6l engine is nice but the gas mileage is less than adequate. The ride is a bit stiff during takeoff and can be somewhat jumpy. I would keep all the options and get the diesel if the price at the pump is a priority. Otherwise it is a good reliable car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful. I love it!

November 10, 2013
By CDub
from Mountville, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was able to buy this car lightly used (7,000) miles through a dealer that got it at an auction. I got a fantastic deal, and the car is in great shape. She's a TDL SEL, and the trim level is fantastic. The Turbo Diesel is smooth and powerful, not like the '81 and '91 diesel Jettas I owned long ago. The seats are very comfortable, and she's plenty roomy. The trunk is gigantic. The radio/nav/bluetooth all works and sounds great. On my first tank, I got 36 mpg, and I think my second will be higher. I adore this car so far."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Passat SE 2.5

November 2, 2013
By CarEnthusiast
from Hampton, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently got a new 2013 VW Passat SE 2.5. a huge step up from a 2013 WRX. First i want to comment on the quality of the materials on the inside. everything your body touches is plush and soft and feels expensive. Also, nothing bends or creeks or pops when you push or pull on the door handle. Even while your driving and going over a bump here and there, there's no popping or cracking any where. There is quite a bit of room upfront for the driver and front passenger. The rear legroom is ENORMOUS. The deal breaker for us was when i situated the driver's seat to my preference and where i would be comfortable to drive, i put my 4 month old son's car seat behind me and i was surprised when there was approximately 2 inches until i even touched his car seat. Great deal for road trips with an infant. It also does a lot of little things like the trunk when opened it opens up all the way, all the windows are AUTO up/down, 8 speakers. As for the performance of the Passat, it's really unexpected and surprising. For a big, long and heavy car it has a lot of get up and go. Especially when you put it into the Sport mode, the throttle is more responsive and the shifting is quick. The Miles Per Gallon is great too. We have had the Passat a little over a week and we still have 3/4s of a tank of gas out of a full tank of gas the dealer put in when we got it. Also, we have been driving it every chance we get and trying to find excuses just to go and drive it for 10 minutes. My wife and I fight over who gets to drive it. The exterior styling is really executive. it's not wowing or mesmerizing by any means but its easy on the eyes and very nice to look at. WAY better than the previous model year that looks like a woman's kind of car due to the bubbly look and curves. This car has sharp, accurate lines and edges and doesn't scream subtlety. Like i said above, the look is very executive. Best car i've owned so far. I haven't had the car for that long so i don't have any negative feedback on it yet but i'm sure there will be small things that come up just like with every car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice car

October 23, 2013
By car nut
from Longwood, Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car has nice lines, good milage, good travel car. The tubro PU is very slow and a lot of power lag"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2013 VW Passat

October 1, 2013
By jandjplus4kids
from Wilmington, DE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I love my Passat. Love to drive it. Sad part is the RNS - radio system. Had to have it replaced 3 times. Had an internal failure during a trip and lost navigation and radio - made it a long ride home. It is still acting up. It is my only complaint. This is my first VW and first new car since 1995, so that make it a little disappointing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

as good as my last car, with better milage 44.5 mp

September 30, 2013
By goodcar
from Boston mass
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I loved my last car . I had it for 12 yrs. I wanted a car that
would satisfy me like my Solara and this passat was the one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Peapod

September 29, 2013
By Long time VW fan not anymore
from Stevens point wi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought the SE passat in May 2013 the day I drove it off the dealer lot the radio stop working and still don't have a radio 5 months later and VW still has no idea how to fix or that they even care. Finally filed a complaint with the better business bereau in hopes I will see a fix or a new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great mileage

September 26, 2013
By hymnself
from yakima WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the TDI version strictly for fuel economy. it certainly delivers that. I am getting 44MPG in mixed driving. The sacrifice is terrible road noise, lack of power and some engine noise. I would recommend this car only to those who drive a lot and require fuel efficiency."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasure to drive

September 16, 2013
By Tanglewood
from Delmarva
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Better than advertised fuel mileage by about 5 mpg. Not fast, but what do you expect. Outstanding workmanship. Very low wind noise. Sun visors are cheesy. Brake pads feel to soft, but smooth. Good visibility. Lots of car for your $$$."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 VW Passat SE 2.5

September 8, 2013
By FlyingDutchman61
from Webster, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice car and well build in Tennessee! Awesome quality. I like the fact the engine is place in the same position as the Jetta.
Part I did not like is that the Houston dealerships do not want to work with you. E.G. SouthWest Infinity, West Lexus and others. Not too happy with that.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing mpg

August 27, 2013
By clockmaker sam
from Carmel, ME
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car is too new to make a comment on reliability, but I can tell you that with less than 2000 miles on the diesel engine I was getting 52.5mpg at 65 mph using the cruise control. This was on a 500 mile trip. The car is very comfortable, easy to drive, responds nicely to a nudge on the accelerator and handles extremely well. The owner's manual could be a little more user friendly, and it could do with a CD player that holds more than one CD at a time. But other than that no complaints."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Awful car and Terrible service at brookdale vw MN

August 16, 2013
By driver
from brooklyn center, MN
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a brand new '13 passat sel premium 4 months ago and now it's only 4000 miles on it. The truth is that the engine is now squealing or squeaking loudly when it's a cold start in the morning. I recorded the noise and compared it to normal startup sound. I visited this dealership for repair, instead of trying to fix this problem, the manager is playing all his tricks to deny this problem on the car. Even after I showed him the noise and point out where does the noise come from, the manager still refused to do any check for me. His attitude is like I deserve it. After I tell him I'm here for a reasonable solution for, He asked me to leave. Keep awaaaaaaaaaaaay with this dealership and this manager. Keep awaaaaaaaaaaaay with VW!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

First and Last VW in my life

August 8, 2013
By Frank
from San Diego
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The car drives well has descent MPG but other than that there isn't much to like about this vehicle. Within two months I already to go back to the dealerhip for power window problems, now I am having problems with sunroof not sliding. It is a brand new car and already giving me headache, I can only imagine when the car reaches 60k miles. Stay away. There are better options out there. Mazda, Honda, Toyota, Subaru and even Ford might be a better option."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very disappointed

August 4, 2013
By very disappointed
from michigan
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This is the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. I rented it for a day and 4 days later my back still hurts from it. The car how ever was great on gas. I would never rent this car again nor would I accept it if someone gave it to me as a gift.
The bottom 2 don't apply as I rented the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TDI's are remarkable

August 2, 2013
By Driver 448
from Saint Charles, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in an '09 Jetta Sportwagen TDI on a 2013 Passat TDI SE and love it. The '09 was an awesome car and I never would have traded it in if not for the lack of rear seat leg room for my son who rapidly grew to 6 feet. The Passat took care of that. My wife can have the front seat fully back and he still has six inches of knee space. It's enjoyable to drive both on the highway and around town. I have the TDI SE w/sunroof and Navigation. The navigation package adds other nice features that make it well worth the price. These include 18" rims, chrome body molding and fog lights that make the car look much more upscale. Another nice feature is the enormous truck space. If you are in the market, the Passat is a great choice and made even better with the diesel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I ever bought

August 2, 2013
By Carpe disk
from Santa Fe nm
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Driving this passat is like being in a high performance euro sedan it has the same engine as an Audi a6 the fit finish and performance are mind boggling would not trAde it for anything"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor quality

July 24, 2013
By first_last_vw
from Charlotte, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"First time buying a VW; got a good deal on the 2013 Passat SE and was very excited for the first couple of hours while the car was in the driveway. It was when the sun went down that I went out to the car to setup the radio and bluetooth only to find that the MFD (Multi Function Display) was not working. Oh yeah, and the second key was lost right off at the dealership also.
Turns out the dash needs to be removed to replace the instrument cluster. What a bummer. Sure the dealer says they will fix it, but what else is going to get jacked in the dash to replace the instrument cluster???
I understand this could happen with any new car; but I am so turned off with this. This is my first and last VW and I will share this with everyone I come into contact with that is considering a VW.
I should have listened to my wife and just got an Accord like in the past."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2013 VW Passat

July 24, 2013
By Average Driver
from Elyria, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The two main things we were looking for besides good gas mileage and within our price range, were rear seat leg room and heated seats. The Passat has the most rear seat leg room for a car in its class. I'll never understand why automakers don't allow for more room in the rear seat. We ruled out many makes and models based on this alone. For me, the heated seats are a bonus! The car handles well and is well designed overall. We've only had it for a month, but so far so good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

have had car one month

July 21, 2013
By sparkie
from apache junction ,az.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have owned seven vw this one tops the list. I have only owned the car for a month. ican not write a book about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2013 VW Passatt Worst car I've owned

July 21, 2013
By First time buyer of Volkswagen
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2013 VW Passat in November of 2012. I bought it in the middle of winter. I live in Seattle, so it doesn't get that cold. My doors would completely freeze shut. I am 40 years old and have lived here my whole life. I have NEVER had a car's doors freeze shut. I brought it in because I had water leaking into the car on both that passenger and the driver side. After getting the run around, I contacted VW. They had a tech go to the dealer. They determined that it wasn't put together right on the assembly line, so they put in new seals all around the doors and changed how much the doors sealed. Problem fixed. Then I noticed that when it would rain, my car would look like an old car in the parking lot. Windows would be completely fogged up. No other car in the parking lot would be that way. Fast forward to July 2013, I just brought it back again to the dealer. The back window just wont roll up sometimes, and now my sunroof will not shut. I'm getting tired of taking my car back to the dealer. It's a brand new car!!! Oops, I almost forgot. There is a sensor on the windows. If it thinks something is in the way, it rolls back down. Nothing is ever in the window, and sometimes, it just will not roll up.....this is getting old. I really want to just get rid of it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.