Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat

2013_Volkswagen_Passat

Average Customer Rating:
4.153 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
46 of 59(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Review 1 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse Test Drive Ever

January 2, 2014
By Farhan
from Toronto
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"So I went to this VW Dealership in Scarborough, I am looking for a car for my wife. So any ways, First thing i do when i get in the car i pair my phone with bluetooth so i can test a call while driving. So i get on the road and get on the road i call my dad and he says to me that i sound like i'm very far away and echos. Also he could hear the road noise with it. No worries, so i take the car on the highway and then make another phone call, this time i had to crank the volume on the speaker all the way before i could hear and understand him. While i was talking the bluetooth disconnects and the phone is still on but no sound is coming through the speakers. I had to take the blackberry out of the sleeve and continue to have conversation. in my opinion this is the worse test drive i had in the past month. I test drove, Acura, Honda, Nissan and even Ford. But this car is nothing but trouble stay away from it. In my opinion the only two cars that i liked so far for my wife is the Honda and Ford. I can't believe For is leaving VW behind in quality and interior designing. This car is nothing but boring. Would not recommend to any body."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-12points
1out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Awful car and Terrible service at brookdale vw MN

August 16, 2013
By driver
from brooklyn center, MN
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a brand new '13 passat sel premium 4 months ago and now it's only 4000 miles on it. The truth is that the engine is now squealing or squeaking loudly when it's a cold start in the morning. I recorded the noise and compared it to normal startup sound. I visited this dealership for repair, instead of trying to fix this problem, the manager is playing all his tricks to deny this problem on the car. Even after I showed him the noise and point out where does the noise come from, the manager still refused to do any check for me. His attitude is like I deserve it. After I tell him I'm here for a reasonable solution for, He asked me to leave. Keep awaaaaaaaaaaaay with this dealership and this manager. Keep awaaaaaaaaaaaay with VW!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very disappointed

August 4, 2013
By very disappointed
from michigan
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This is the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. I rented it for a day and 4 days later my back still hurts from it. The car how ever was great on gas. I would never rent this car again nor would I accept it if someone gave it to me as a gift.
The bottom 2 don't apply as I rented the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor quality

July 24, 2013
By first_last_vw
from Charlotte, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"First time buying a VW; got a good deal on the 2013 Passat SE and was very excited for the first couple of hours while the car was in the driveway. It was when the sun went down that I went out to the car to setup the radio and bluetooth only to find that the MFD (Multi Function Display) was not working. Oh yeah, and the second key was lost right off at the dealership also.
Turns out the dash needs to be removed to replace the instrument cluster. What a bummer. Sure the dealer says they will fix it, but what else is going to get jacked in the dash to replace the instrument cluster???
I understand this could happen with any new car; but I am so turned off with this. This is my first and last VW and I will share this with everyone I come into contact with that is considering a VW.
I should have listened to my wife and just got an Accord like in the past."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Peapod

September 29, 2013
By Long time VW fan not anymore
from Stevens point wi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought the SE passat in May 2013 the day I drove it off the dealer lot the radio stop working and still don't have a radio 5 months later and VW still has no idea how to fix or that they even care. Finally filed a complaint with the better business bereau in hopes I will see a fix or a new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2013 VW Passatt Worst car I've owned

July 21, 2013
By First time buyer of Volkswagen
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2013 VW Passat in November of 2012. I bought it in the middle of winter. I live in Seattle, so it doesn't get that cold. My doors would completely freeze shut. I am 40 years old and have lived here my whole life. I have NEVER had a car's doors freeze shut. I brought it in because I had water leaking into the car on both that passenger and the driver side. After getting the run around, I contacted VW. They had a tech go to the dealer. They determined that it wasn't put together right on the assembly line, so they put in new seals all around the doors and changed how much the doors sealed. Problem fixed. Then I noticed that when it would rain, my car would look like an old car in the parking lot. Windows would be completely fogged up. No other car in the parking lot would be that way. Fast forward to July 2013, I just brought it back again to the dealer. The back window just wont roll up sometimes, and now my sunroof will not shut. I'm getting tired of taking my car back to the dealer. It's a brand new car!!! Oops, I almost forgot. There is a sensor on the windows. If it thinks something is in the way, it rolls back down. Nothing is ever in the window, and sometimes, it just will not roll up.....this is getting old. I really want to just get rid of it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Comfort Problems 2013 Passat SE

February 17, 2014
By docudan
from Altadena, CA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my third Passat. And I must say that handling, and all of the typical features one comes to expect from Volkswagen, are just great. The value for the money -- one of the leaders in my view.
However, I'm likely going to look for another vehicle. The seat is so uncomfortable after an hour-and-a-half, that I cannot stand it. I have tried emptying my pockets, putting the seat in every imaginable position, but nothing makes the pain that I feel in my legs, seat area, and my back.
It is so bad that I'm willing to take the loss on the car. Before I do, though, I will try a seat support device, like gel seat. Having now read countless other reviews with the same complaint makes me doubt the outcome.
If considering a Passat, I would highly recommend a three hour test drive. I'm actually having lasting pain as a result. That is, it takes me a few days to recover.
The sad part is, as I suggested at the top, this is my third Passat. Volkswagen generally does everything pretty right. I've been quite loyal to VW, but now -- probably heading an entirely different direction.
While the comfort beyond an hour-or-so is bad, the drivability remains just wonderful!!! Everything else is terrific. Pain is pain though, and I just don't know that I'll be able to get around it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Better cars out there for the price

December 18, 2013
By AJBCARS
from Albany, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have owned MB, BMW, Audi, Honda and a Ford truck. I test drove the new Passat and I must say it was a waste of time. Poor performance, interior looked cheap and the price was more than I thought the car was worth. I currently own a Passat W8 and a Touareg and must admit, I will be buying a Lexus after all the test drives."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2013 VW Passat

October 1, 2013
By jandjplus4kids
from Wilmington, DE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I love my Passat. Love to drive it. Sad part is the RNS - radio system. Had to have it replaced 3 times. Had an internal failure during a trip and lost navigation and radio - made it a long ride home. It is still acting up. It is my only complaint. This is my first VW and first new car since 1995, so that make it a little disappointing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great mileage

September 26, 2013
By hymnself
from yakima WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the TDI version strictly for fuel economy. it certainly delivers that. I am getting 44MPG in mixed driving. The sacrifice is terrible road noise, lack of power and some engine noise. I would recommend this car only to those who drive a lot and require fuel efficiency."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

First and Last VW in my life

August 8, 2013
By Frank
from San Diego
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The car drives well has descent MPG but other than that there isn't much to like about this vehicle. Within two months I already to go back to the dealerhip for power window problems, now I am having problems with sunroof not sliding. It is a brand new car and already giving me headache, I can only imagine when the car reaches 60k miles. Stay away. There are better options out there. Mazda, Honda, Toyota, Subaru and even Ford might be a better option."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

buyer beware

May 24, 2013
By asandel
from Katy, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this car for the gas mileage as I bought the TDI SEL Passat. Being that it was brand new I assumed that the GPS would be updated and function properly however it does not. VW Corporate knows about this issue and will do nothing to correct it because they claim it is an issue with Navteq the software manufacturer. I am now stuck with a new car in which the navagation system does not work! And I am offered NO SUPPORT from VW or the dealership (VW of The Woodlands, TX). Think twice about whether or not you want to pay for an option that DOES NOT WORK on a brand new vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Made for tall deaf people

May 22, 2013
By Passat TDI SEL owner
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Initially loved this car until I took it on a trip. The road noise is unbearable on pebbly freeways. Cannot use the hands free phone device because the party on the other end cannot hear you over the noise. If you are not at least 5’9” tall the forward slanted headrest put you in such an awkward position no amount of seat or headrest adjustment can take the pain out of neck and shoulders. Then there is the issue with the sliding cover over the accessory box between the seats. Try to place your elbow on it to adjust your body position because of the uncomfortable seat and it shoots forward or back. No I am definitely not happy this ‘driver comfort’ issues of this car. Would not buy another. Sorry I have this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the money

January 12, 2014
By DaveS
from Phillipsburg, nj
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had to replace my commuting car ('10 Outback Sport). Wanted a sedan to have more room for the family and friends. Test drove every mid size on the market and for the money the Passat exceeded my expectations. Standard features are perfect, and it is great for my 100mile round trip daily commute. blue tooth works perfectly fine. Not a sporty or agile car, but that is not what it is designed to be, a few more hp in exchange for a few mpg would be nice thought."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good but not great

December 17, 2013
By new car owner
from new jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love my new pre-owned Volkswagen Passat SEL. It is stylish, affordable and comfortable. It is fully loaded with the premium packaging and all the bells and whistles. Roomy interior and simple design provide easy access and modern feel. The larger 3.6l engine is nice but the gas mileage is less than adequate. The ride is a bit stiff during takeoff and can be somewhat jumpy. I would keep all the options and get the diesel if the price at the pump is a priority. Otherwise it is a good reliable car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice car

October 23, 2013
By car nut
from Longwood, Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car has nice lines, good milage, good travel car. The tubro PU is very slow and a lot of power lag"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

as good as my last car, with better milage 44.5 mp

September 30, 2013
By goodcar
from Boston mass
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I loved my last car . I had it for 12 yrs. I wanted a car that
would satisfy me like my Solara and this passat was the one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TDI's are remarkable

August 2, 2013
By Driver 448
from Saint Charles, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in an '09 Jetta Sportwagen TDI on a 2013 Passat TDI SE and love it. The '09 was an awesome car and I never would have traded it in if not for the lack of rear seat leg room for my son who rapidly grew to 6 feet. The Passat took care of that. My wife can have the front seat fully back and he still has six inches of knee space. It's enjoyable to drive both on the highway and around town. I have the TDI SE w/sunroof and Navigation. The navigation package adds other nice features that make it well worth the price. These include 18" rims, chrome body molding and fog lights that make the car look much more upscale. Another nice feature is the enormous truck space. If you are in the market, the Passat is a great choice and made even better with the diesel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2013 VW Passat

July 24, 2013
By Average Driver
from Elyria, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The two main things we were looking for besides good gas mileage and within our price range, were rear seat leg room and heated seats. The Passat has the most rear seat leg room for a car in its class. I'll never understand why automakers don't allow for more room in the rear seat. We ruled out many makes and models based on this alone. For me, the heated seats are a bonus! The car handles well and is well designed overall. We've only had it for a month, but so far so good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Technology dud

June 30, 2013
By Needs direction
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car gets great mileage, is very comfortable, and fun to drive. However, the technology is close to useless. The nav is so poor, that I have reverted back to my old plug-in Garmin. The radio functionality is maddening. And the backup camera has such a long delay, it renders it useless. Dealer can't/won't do anything about it. I spend a lot of time in my car, and the technology was really important to me. Literally, I got ripped off on the extra money I spent. If the technology functionality is important to you, DO NOT buy this car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.