Customer Reviews for 2013_Buick_Encore

2013_Buick_Encore

Average Customer Rating:
4.488 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
35 of 41(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Buick_Encore
Review 1 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Piece of junk

February 17, 2014
By Car man
from Chicago
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This is the worst vehicle I ever owned. Motor lacks power, lots of transmission problems. Car made lots of rattle and thumping noises.
Interior is very cheap for a Buick. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more money and buy a Honda or Acura. Way better quality and better workmanship."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what it seems

May 3, 2013
By New Car Buyer
from New York
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I had a test drive of Encore AWD recently, found it did not has the grip like a 4WD, drives like a sedan, without the torque. And the interior is all plastic - very much like those of Japanese/Korean mades. However the price was a premium above them. Certainly, not a vehicle for what it seems to be."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2013 Encore - My Experience

December 28, 2013
By 2013 Buick Encore Owner
from Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought a 2013 Buick Encore. It was brand new. My primary use for the vehicle was for commuting purposes back and forward to work - 95% highway miles. It was a great car in terms of comfort. I had the convenience package and the car was loaded with all the options that I absolutely loved. Auto dimming mirrors, heated seats and it handled well in the snow. I did not see any issues with the car having 138 hp at first because I was driving it for comfort, but at 20,000 miles the transmission developed a bad leak. . Originally, the mechanic thought that it needed a new transmission.The car had regular maintenance at the dealer prior to this, so I was surprised. When the dealer's mechanic looked at it (took it apart, etc), he stated that the seal failed, so they they ended up replacing the seal. I have to say I loved this car, but I think the the hp struggles to move the weight of the car and I accelerated this car daily to get get it up to 65 mph off the ramp. I would not buy again until they add more hp to this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wonky Transmission

May 31, 2014
By Been There Bought That
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have owned 12 different cars in my 50+ years. Although the decreased horse power makes for better gas mileage, it has painfully slow pick up. I've also experienced concern with the automatic shifting from 2nd gear into 3rd. On a hot day, it seemed as if it was going to die when first driven. With only have 6,000 miles on the car, this is a constant problem which has not been resolved. I would not recommend this car to anyone who expects to keep it out of the dealership except for routine maintenance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

would not buy this car

March 20, 2013
By testguy
from Oregon, Ohio
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"While the stylling was appealing the ride, room and overall vehicle was very disappointing. It had all the bells and whistles but was very uncomforatable in ride and handling. Try again Buick, don't think this will be a winner."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good car

June 27, 2014
By bradscrib
from texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"love the gas mileage. It has a really nice ride. great features and that buick quietness inside. decent pep for such a small motor."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car except for one BIG problem

May 15, 2014
By dwhit
from Oklahoma City, OK
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I I love everything about my 2013 Encore except for one Big problem. On a sunny day, the instrument cluster does not light up enough to be able to quickly check speed or fuel at a glance. It appears to me that it is totally unlighted. I have taken the car to my dealer and they say that everything checks out as being correct. Just recently, I was on a trip and knew that I was getting low on fuel. I glanced at the fuel gauge several times and could not see anything but a black hole. I finally puled off the road and with some effort was able to see how much fuel I had remaining. I thing that is ridiculous but was my only option. I have contacted Buick several times with my complaint but so far, no resolution to the problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just the size I needed

March 25, 2014
By Former bowling star
from Lake City, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I'd had my eye on the Encore for several months and got a great deal on a 2013 model. I have a 2002 Rendezvous, and it has served me well, but after my wife passed, I never needed its larger size and dwindling MPG. I don't know if I'll get 30 on the Encore, but it should be equal to the car I traded for it.
The CUV handles well and I have enough engine power for my satisfaction. Since I will usually have 2 or less in the vehicle, I have more than enough storage space with back seats submerged. Though the Opera windows are fixed and awkward, they do minimize the large blind spot that I had on the Rendezvous and another previously-owned SUV. Most of all, I enjoy the elevated SUV-style seat as compared to the traded car; much easier for me to enter and exit.
The only drawback so far is that the speedometer and gas gauge are right in line with the top of the steering wheel, and I have to duck down to view the gauges, taking my eyes off the road for a split-second."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute as a Bug

June 10, 2013
By kryan
from Alabama
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far I am really enjoying my Buick Encore. It is a big step down in size for me but I love the easy of parking and smooth, really quite ride. It also has all the tech I enjoy so much."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great little buggy

March 25, 2013
By mongo
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We just bought an Encore. It really looks great, inside and out. There's plenty of room for 4 adults, and with the back seat folded flat, there's decent cargo space.
It handles great and the ride is quiet and smooth. Pick up from a dead start to 60 mph is actually pretty good. Merging onto highways isn't a problem at all. However, quick passing at >65mph is not possible with 138 horses--but that's the trade-off for improved mpg (gets what's advertised).
All in all, a great little buggy for most of your driving needs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smallest Reliable SUV I've Owned

February 22, 2013
By Small SUV Enthusiast
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car for my wife and she loves it driving from point A to Point B without heavy duty usage. Drives smoothly and comfortably. I am having only 2 issues with this car: I was looking for a keyless ignition (push button) and rear mirror on the windshield is covered by black, sizable cover what in my opinion covers to much view for driver. I also wish pricing would be a little lower ( around 23K) for a base AWD model. Good gas mileage which is money saver for my wife and rear view back up camera helps her cause she has broken 2 tailgate lamps so far in her current SUV. Overall very good car for a money though I never own Buick before."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A pleasure to drive.

July 7, 2014
By Jim B from Mid Michigan
from Mount Morris, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had heard about Buick bringing to market a smaller cross-over, my neighbor got one and after looking up close at the car, I just new that this would be my next car. A very comfortable ride, good styling, and great gas mileage-34.5mpg hwy/ 29.city. This car is a perfect fit for us older drivers, easy in & out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just a happy driver with a great ride.

June 8, 2014
By Sanma
from Eastern Shore of Maryland
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I owned a Lexus RX330 before switching to the Encore Crossover. It took some getting used to but, it has pick up and versatility that surpasses the Lexus. I have driven it through winter weather with no complaints.
The overall size is great for me and space is enough for hauling 6 ft sections for a back drop. I drive 50+ miles one way to work and I get great gas mileage- 38 miles to a gallon.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most comfortable and reliable vehicles

February 26, 2014
By Buick Fan
from London
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I have just purchased a 2013 Buick Encore, we are retired and wanted a vehicle that was not too big, easy to get in and out off, good gas mileage and comfortable....we test drove other vehicles of this size but came back to the Buick Encore. I would highly recommend this vehicle, we really love everything about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Car

February 24, 2014
By Rocky
from Dover NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I Love the Buick Encore more and more the more I drive it. It just seems so well thought out. I am surprised at how under advertised under promoted it was. I literally had to stubble across it. I saw one driving and I was trying to figure out what the heck it was. I Noticed that everyone who actually owns one LOVES it and gives it great reviews so I figured that's worth something - So far we love the CAR!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just love it

February 13, 2014
By Older than dirt
from Columia, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We traded our leased Mini Countryman, Wanted a slightly larger SUV with all the creature comforts seniors like: ( early 60's)
Heated seats & steering wheel ( really like that) and dual power seats too! Super comfortable seats, great visibility, and smooth riding.
Shortly after buying we drove 1100 x 2 miles to Ok and back to SC and never got fanny fatigue. Rode through snow, ice rain , and never fazed us , Who says southerners can't drive in snow!
Oh, dual ac controls and great defrost was very appreciated!
MPG was great, just as promised . We got right at an average MPG of 31 going half way across the country and back. ( 2200 plus miles)
The electronics were so easy to learn and use. The non- Bose sound system is still superb.
My only minor complaint is getting to the usb port located down in the console pocket.
There are so many things we like I suggest you drive one . We plan on keeping this one for a long time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite vehicle so far

February 7, 2014
By City commuter
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2013 Encore 5 months ago and so far, one of my best decisions ever. I live in the midwest and we were hit with one of our worst winters in years. I was surprised how well it handled as I did not get the AWD. The turn radius and compact size are a dream come true when commuting and parking in the City. Taking it on road trips is even more enjoyable with the Bose sound system and the smooth quiet ride. I love my Encore and can't believe I got it at such a reasonable price."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST THING i HAVE DONE

January 16, 2014
By NANA
from NASHVILLE,TN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"LOVE THE GAS MILEAGE. FIRST TANK ON THE ROAD 30MPG, FIRST TANK IN THE CITY 27MPG. GOING FROM THE ENCLAVE TO THIS IS A REAL MONEY SAVER. LOVE THE WAY IT HANDLES"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Update

December 30, 2013
By Cars
from MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent, Have had the Encore for almost 5 months and it has not disappointed. 5500 miles no trouble, fantastic gas mies, does everything its suppose to plus very good in the snow. So Buy one!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Buick_Encore
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great all around

November 14, 2013
By youngbuickdriver
from Minneapolis MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I live in the midwest and wanted to get AWD before the snow hit. Previous drove a Nissan Sentra and liked it but it was terrible in snowy commutes. I looked at several small SUVs- Nissan Rogue, Ford Escape, Houndai Tuscon, etc but the Buick Encore really caught my eye, offered more luxury and was similarly priced as these models! The only hitch was that I'm in my 20's so I got some flack from people about buying a "old person" Buick, but I don't care because this car is awesome!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE it, and I'm not even a car person. I got the convenience package and the remote start, Bluetooth audio, Bose audio is just so amazeballs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.