Customer Reviews for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt

2013_Chevrolet_Volt

Average Customer Rating:
4.63 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
44 of 46(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Review 21 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is a technical wonder

August 26, 2013
By Suri
from Clarksburg, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have purchased this car by trading in my 2010 Hyundai Genesis 4.6 L V8 top of the line car. Initially I was little worried or swinging in the air to change my Genesis or not. I love Genesis the way it drives power and all. I test drove, Prius, Sonata Hybrid and Ford C-Max. Nothing was impressive and I voted to keep Genesis before driving Volt. That's it, decision had been taken.
I have got nice price on Volt too, top of the line 46K car I got it for 35 (-$8500 from Fed and MD) after all rebates on road with 5Yr 100000 Extended bumper to bumper warranty.
We love my new car and I never missed my genesis. It is a technical wonder from GM. So far I drove 300 miles and used only 2 Gals of Gas (dealer is almost 80 miles away from my home).
My kid (4) says the panel is like a tablet. We love the features and the way it drives. Wow man I love the sport mode and hold mode. Very nice commuter car. I suggest this car for 40 or less commute for day people. It saves our environment.
GM - Introduce a brand name "VOLT" it turns all your negatives into positives."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best engineered auto

August 16, 2013
By ecomaniac
from Las Vegas, NV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I believe this is the best engineered auto at the present. It is the future. Get the price down to $30,000 and it will be an earth saver."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car but bad deal

August 13, 2013
By Ecodriver
from Gardnerville, NV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my Volt for 3 weeks. It is performing better than advertised. Up to 60 miles on a charge. So far I am very happy with the car. I spent a lot of time researching hybrids and electric cars and settled on the Volt. I bought a 2013 at the end of the model year because I was told by two dealers that the 2014 Volt would be the same and that if I bought a 2013 I would get a $4000 rebate. The 2014 would have no rebate so would cost $4000 more for the same car. 2 weeks after my purchase GM announced that the 2014 Volt would cost $1000 less than the 2013 Volt. So because they lied to me I now own a car that is last year's model and paid $1000 more for, than if I had waited 2 more weeks to buy. GM seems to be trying very hard to get me to not buy another of their new vehicles down the road."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Most interesting car I've owned

August 5, 2013
By Techno-ECO enthusiast
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After my test drive, I was convinced that this is a vehicle I had to own. I was so convinced that I traded-in my current hybrid to buy this Volt. The interior is superior with outstanding materials. The ride is that of a much larger vehicle. And the "Quiet" is unbelievable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I have ever owned

August 5, 2013
By Donaldo
from Laguna Beach, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car performs as advertised, without gas. It accelerates perfectly, is comfortably, great styling and engineering. The features are outstanding. I love this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smooth, very smooth

August 5, 2013
By Robert the Red
from Suburban DC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The electric drive system (where even the gas engine just drives a generator to feed the electric motor) gives such a smooth feel to acceleration that it should become standard. The Volt responds instantly and smoothly to pressing the accelerator, with no delay and with no revving up/gear shifting nonlinearity. It can accelerate slowly or very rapidly, as you choose. It feels great to drive, and handles well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I gots to get me one of these..

July 29, 2013
By laylajo
from Arlington Tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I currently share a Saturn Astra with my son and own a small maid service that helps the elderly. Recently the Astra broke down. The local Chevrolet dealer gave me a 2013 Volt as a loaner while the warranty work was being done.
As a glorified hippie, I've wanted a hybrid for years. None of them appealed to me. The prius looks dorky, and the leaf scares me. I have enough anxiety without adding range anxiety to my list of issues. ;) So when they gave me the Volt, I was uncertain.
I immediately put 15 bucks worth of gas in it. I decided to test it. The first day I drove 120 miles. I was comfy and averaged about 44 mpg. The next six days, I used mostly electricity. Even with my hub flooring it and driving it like it was a Porsche it still averaged 44mg. It was comforting to know if I ran out of juice, I had gas as a back up. Over seven days, I learned to "coast" to be fuel efficient, took it to Costco, and did my daily Mom and visiting angel thing.
The end all be all is that I love this car! In six days I used three gallons of gas. Three gallons, in six days. That's my average daily use in a compact four cylinder Saturn that felt like a tin can when I picked it up this afternoon. In comparison, the Volt drives like a Caddy. I feel like a queen riding in it. The only cons are the air conditioner, it's either freezing cold or lukewarm. I am sure it's a learning curve.. and the questions. I spent 25 minutes answering a client's questions today instead of cleaning. ;)
I have done the math, and using a Volt will cost me 92.00 a month to take care of my wonderful customers who rely heavily upon me and are often cash strapped. I currently spend 200.00 on gas driving a car that should be economical but is not.
As soon as these babies become "used" I am snapping one up. I deserve it, and so do you.. DO NOT believe the negative reviews. They are probably written by a Prius owner who is jealous b/c the Volt is better looking."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MPG KING!!

July 4, 2013
By Dens Volt
from Las Vegas, NV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the car once I got past all the time it spent in Service the first week I bought this NEW car! Had rough start with the Volt as it's check engine light went on - it was due to low coolant in battery. Car had to have a complete buff after delivery due to so many scratches in paint - it's black. Then there's all the trim that had to be replaced like window molding, hatch plastic, and tail lamp cover due to defects. We even had to have gear selector replaced as it was damaged. So after week in service and I finally got to use car I have put 700 miles on car and have used only 6 gallons of fuel! The car looks great inside and out and drives so smooth! Definitely enjoy car more when it's all electric - car is a bit noisy in gas mode and the Volt doesn't like the extreme heat conditions we've had recently (115+ degrees) - the heat is a range killer especially if it goes into gas mode but still averaging over 120 mpg so can't complain. The interior is stylish but find myself accidentally hitting buttons on console when using touch screen - like heated seats or adjusting fan. Not great placement. But looks awesome! Amazing that the Volt gets looks everywhere we go. I see 100 Priuses a day but rarely will see another Volt - love the exclusivity! Wouldn't have paid $45k per sticker but love the low lease on it. Car pays for itself as its our 3rd car and use it to offset mileage and gas we use on our other cars especially the Escalade which only gets 10-11 mpg! Perfect car for running around town!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car owned- exceed Expectations

June 1, 2013
By Dalmightyvolt
from milwaukee, wi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this car last September and has exceeded all expectation. Low to no maintenance, first oil change will be in year 2, and thats because of age, averaging over 375 MPG. I went into this purchase expecting the 95 MPG, and it blows me away. Great torque off the line, overall fun car to drive and own."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait to drive every day

May 29, 2013
By dansvolt
from tampa,fl
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you use it for what it was disigned for (commuting) you'll use about 1 tank of gas a year. Great car - trouble free."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My volt

May 20, 2013
By DaveB
from New jersey
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my Volt now for a few weeks and have very much enjoyed the experience. Coming from a Victorian era all manual Saturn i am finding the all electronic everything a little overwhelming, but am easing into it.
The driving is tight, controlled, and acceleration is wonderful and even the gas mileage impressive compared to my Saturn. The suspension is a little hard, you do feel the road. I am finding the driver training alerts a little annoying and will soon turn the "feature" off when i have time to find it.
The only real feature i am missing is a towing and electrical hook up for the second battery that i can tow behind me to improve on my 35-36 mile battery driving. I do find the battery consumption to mileage ratio based on driving speed a whole new learning experience, very different from the gas experience and somewhat surprising, so very glad to have the gas backup for highway driving.
I do love the fast 240 volt 4 hour recharge, and driving past the old gas station. I look forward to improved battery mileage in the coming years, and I definitely made the right choice for a long term car commitment.
I hope Chevy will make the improved batteries retro fitting to current models so early adopters of the electric car technology will not be left out of the benefits of future battery enhancements. It would be a very important customer loyalty feature that would enhance peoples willingness to by electric."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Green with few sacrificies

May 4, 2013
By D&D
from Tallahassee, Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Volt is an excellent vehicle, and an example of American Engineering at its finest. So far, after 1,000 miles, we have exceeded battery range estimates (we've traveled between 42-48 miles on the battery), and enjoyed the new driving experience. The technology involved with the Volt is incredible, and if you can afford it and don't have to carry many passengers, it is worth the starting price to enjoy this automotive marvel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The thing I like less Re: Chevy Voilt

April 21, 2013
By angelandjess
from Thousand Oaks, CA (Southern California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"With the front air dam, the car sits too low to the ground. In my neighborhood, every corner I turn, the air dam strikes the ground. My driveway garage ramp is a little higher than the street, going in and out of my driveway the air dam hits the concrete. Other than that, the car is a super automobile, fun to drive and very economical (a month now without buying gasoline) I wish it didn't cost so much to put in a 220 volt home charging station (about $750)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice not paying for gas!

April 19, 2013
By Car fanatic
from Wheaton, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was very interested in the Volt from the initial press releases and the car show previews. But the design that made it to production was a bit flat for me. I owned a BMW 6 series and was very comfortable with it, but the last trip to the dealer for a service light spooked me enough to change.
The size of the car is as advertised, It is a compact car, but the backseats are at an angle that makes them feel more comfortable. There are just the four seats, but that is all I had before. The leather of the seats feel sturdy enough to last for a while.
So far, I have put on 1000 miles on the car and used just over 6 gallons in normal driving. I was interested only in this type of electric car for the larger unplanned trips.
The pickup of the electric motor is impressive, at least in the sport mode, which is where I normally have it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fully Charged!

April 11, 2013
By Mallard
from Mansfield, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had 4 Prius and liked them all but wanted a car with all electric drive but ability to travel more than 15-40 miles. The Volt has answered the call. Most of my driving is city and it is unlikely I will require the engine to work for most of this driving, except in cold weather. The car is comfortable, very quiet, and responsive, particularly in the Sport mode. Other than the purchase price being a bit hefty, I have absolute praise for this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get a deal on a demo

February 27, 2013
By Bryce's Volt
from Inverness fl
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I found a 2013 demo with 3500 miles that was $11k off sticker. I came from a 2010 Prius and I must say the differences are vast. The ride quality is magic carpet smooth and its 2 seconds to 60 quicker than the Prius. I was skeptical of the OnStar but it works great. If I could have any complaints; the required use of premium seems silly. The fact that the car has used 14 gallons in 5 months is astounding. I get 40-50 miles range, being in warm flat Florida helps. The 8 year 100k warranty of the battery gives piece of mind."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun computer on wheels

February 12, 2013
By Cheapskate
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Driving the Volt is like driving an iPod. The technology is amazing and have used almost no gas. The bonus is how well it rides/handles. Driver seat is a bit uncomfortable and I worry about all the electronics working well in 5 years but so far it's an amazing car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bye Gas, Hello Obsessing about electrcity!

January 12, 2013
By Volter
from Encino, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Traded in an older hybrid for twice the room, looks, performance, and triple the efficiency-- all for the same monthly lease costs when you factor in gas. Also have an Audi S5 to make up for car insecurities that the other hybrid created, but I end up exclusively only driving the Volt around since it meets all the needs anyone would want in a car plus more. It's got push to start, electronic e brake, comfy seats, a modern interior, a sport mode that takes advantage of instant torque, and good looks for a plug in hybrid. Also can carpool the volt in SoCal, saving you time and keeping you out of trouble from road rage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Chevrolet Volt electric and gas car

December 20, 2012
By Fortune
from Carnation, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought a Chevy Volt 2013 two weeks ago. We love it. There are times that we have gotten 200 miles to the gallon.
My only concern is there are alot of electronic gadgets in the car. You can heat up your car from your cell phone so it will be warm before you get into it. The car has alot of electronic perks. And we worry about those. That is why we got the extended warranty.
We love it for the 200 miles a gallon even though it's variable. We are glad to not be as dependent on gasoline prices.
Another draw back is you could either get the car stripped or with all the extras on it. There was no in between. The dealerships all get only two cars a month to sell.
We do get alot of perks from the dealership such as free car washes and head to toe coverage for 5 years. We got OnStar for 3 years and XM for 3 months. That is amazing.
The other day, the heater did not work in the morning. We got the heat back about a half hour later.
So, this is a mixed review. For the most part, we love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2013_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

there is no other car then the volt

November 26, 2012
By dee
from rhode island
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i only wish we would have bought it sooner. it is very comfortable and it has all the latest technology. we only put gas in it twice since we owned it. once for $6.25 and the other time $4.50. it gives us great joy to ride by the gas stations."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.