Customer Reviews for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic

2013_Chevrolet_Sonic

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Review 1 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chevy sonic saved my life

February 20, 2015
By ordinary person
from Vista,CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the chevy sonic ltz hatch sep.1 2014 because of the look and safety. I was in a accident, on a freeway when a drunk driver struck me on February17,2015. My car was totaled not one salvageable part. I walked out of that accident with no broken bones no fractures the everyone who witnessed, cops and paramedics said that car and all its airbags saved my life. I am lucky to be alive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

fun car but needs improvement

January 30, 2015
By 2013 sonic
from Washington state
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have owned my sonic rs for over a year now and it's already been in the shop 3 times... Two of the times was to replace the water pump. Needed a water pump at 11,000 miles and now 27,000. Yes they extended my warranty for this problem to 150,000 miles but that's because it's a very common problem. It gets good gas mileage, it's sleek and sporty looking, it's nice and small, and fun to drive. At this.point I'm hoping I have no more problems. This is my third chevy and it's my favorite one so far. Also the my link touch screen system sometimes freezes up and this has also been a problem with other sonic owners I have talked to."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad gas Mileage

January 16, 2015
By Fiveinpa
from Mount Wolf Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I love this car but i do not get anywhere near the miles per gal they suggest. I have call chevy and they don't care either. So i have a 11 gal tank that only gets 24 miles to the gal on a highway and have to fill up way too often. That's a far cry from 37 on the highway!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 Sonic Hatchback, 1.4L Turbo, auto

January 12, 2015
By Phil
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased used Sonic in Flagstaff, AZ after reading the reviews on cars.com. I was wondering if it would need a push over the mountains to get back to Phoenix, AZ. What a surprise, the Sonic never slowed down, we took the mountains between 75-82 MPH and I believe the auto trans maybe downshifted once or twice.
It's solid, great feel of the road and did not get blown around as it was raining, and snowing some during the drive back. The cabin is bigger than expected, roomy in the front and also in the back, really a pleasant surprise.
Once in the valley I reset the mileage thing and was getting 43 MPG on the freeway at 65 MPH. This car has a quite cabin, comfortable seats and the engine runs smooth as an electric motor.
A very happy owner!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Car, Particularly for the Price

January 9, 2015
By Oldman
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Needed a small car for short in-city commutes. Traded in an Infiniti. Bought the base Sonic with the MyLink entertainment package. It's a remarkable vehicle. Among the many cars I've owned, this is the MOST fun to drive (and I've had a 350z, Jaguar, and several Infinitis). It's quiet, smooth, and gets great gas mileage (I'm getting 29mpg in city driving on regular gas). The car lacks the "snob appeal" of other cars I've owned, but it's just plain fun to drive! I vowed years ago to never own a GM (I had several--each worse than its predecessor). I bought the Sonic based on reviews and because I had one as a rental car and was awed. I am fully satisfied and highly recommend!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Chevy Yet

July 31, 2014
By Sonic In Red
from Knoxville, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this car, it's good looking, fun to drive and the fuel economy is great. Bought 2013 LT Sedan in Crystal Red Metallic and get lots of positive comments. The car is equipped with the fog light package, and it looks more expensive than it was."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love my chevy sonic its a smart looking car

May 20, 2014
By Joan
from Framingham Mass.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have received a lot of compliments on my chevy sonic It also is a very reliable car It is comfortable and handles nice"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

the good and the ugly

May 11, 2014
By test drive king
from minneapolis
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've test driven the 1.8 liter and the turbo versions of the Sonic. By far the turbo is more fun and just as quiet as the other. But why do you think you hardly ever see a Sonic on the road? They're ugly...that's why. I like the way Chevy tried to hide the 4 door look but the outside design or lines of the hatchback are too boxy and not graceful. The front is cool looking with the headlights and hood but from the side it looks like another box or angry kitchen appliance. Nice interior, nice refinement but in my opinion...not very good looking."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sporty, Comfortable, Convenience

February 6, 2014
By GingerLeigh
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have heard a lot of negative things about small, domestic cars, and was reticent to consider the Chevy Sonic. But I did a lot of research before I test drove the RS, including reading reviews from critics and consumers and comparing the Sonic RS to other small cars. I test drove it and liked it, so I looked online at several car sales sites and found an outstanding deal through this site (I had to drive 300 miles to get the car, though).
I am a very large person but find the Sonic's seat and cabin perfect for me. I looked at other small cars - like the Honda Fit and the Hyundai Elantra - but the seatbelts dug into my side. I also had a hard time getting into and out of those cars, but the Sonic is high enough off the ground, and the door opens wide enough that I can climb in with relative ease. I like the heated seats a lot, and the heater runs pretty well.
The pick-up on the Sonic is fairly good. The ride itself is kind of rough. I pretty much feel every pothole. The steering is very tight, though, so I always feel in control. And I really like the remote start (standard on the RS).
I like the My Link sound/technology system. My Android phone works fairly well with it and I can get and make phone calls easily, though I do have trouble with the phonebook; the car won't recognize my phone's phonebook. The sound system pics up my favorite music app - TuneIn Radio - and the system easily transitions me into and out of the car. So if I'm talking to someone through the car, and I turn the car off and get out, I'm still talking to them when I'm walking up to my front door. No disconnection.
I wish the back seats would lay flat, and I wish the cargo space would hold more. Chevy could take notes from Honda about utilizing backseat and trunk/hatchback space better.
The mpg is not anywhere near what it is advertised to be. I get about 18.8 in the city if I'm being really good.
Overall, I'm pleased with my purchase and feel I got what I paid for. I'm satisfied that the 36000 mile/3 year bumper to bumper warranty follows the car and not the buyer, so, since I bought this car used, I have some peace of mind knowing if anything breaks down in the next couple of years, it will be covered. And the extended powertrain warranty of 100,000 miles stays in effect as well. And with that, roadside assistance. I called Chevy with several questions about the warranty, and a rep was able to help me right away."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I owned

January 12, 2014
By Turbo
from Montgomery, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a new car from Advantage Chevrolet in Bolingbrook and I am in love with my new car. Not only are the staff very friendly they helped me find the perfect car that was in my budget. What even more awesome is all the extra features that this car has with out it hurting my pocket. Definitely a nice reliable and affordable car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best value for dollar with great incentives!

December 27, 2013
By camaroxguy
from Hillside, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just drove home yesterday, car is very nice and comfortable in general. For a sub-compact it's really great stuff from Chevy. Power is definitely there (I got a 1.4 turbo) and I can't complain with the paint and interior, it's simple and nice!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome performance for a 1.4L Turbo

December 18, 2013
By Chevy Man
from San Fernando Valley, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Besides already being a GM guy. Let alone at least American cars. So I was trying to make up my mind if I should by a new car...well I did! I shopped around and did my homework thoroughly. For the size with weight, cargo, styling and performance the little Sonic is just the greatest choice. But being the sporty car guy I am i just had to go all out and get the Sonic RS! Unlike most people I'm a color person and really wanted a sunroof so I was all over looking and found one in Northern California. Bright Red and after cleaning and waxing it up it is just plain awesome. It is so nimble, pepy and great to drive. I didn't even know it had heated seats as well as everything u can get in a little car like this..I really don't know where 10 airbags are....but I love to drive my little RED ROCKET!
Thanks GM...I love you!!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what the doctor ordered

November 15, 2013
By City Driver
from Shawnee, Kansas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was looking for a smaller car for city driving that would fit in a smaller garage space. So far so good. Am getting 24 plus mpg in city driving. Probably could do better but this little dynamo is way too much fun to drive to be creeping away from stop lights.
Got the LTZ turbo hatch back, automatic. It is very confortable in the front seats and a blast to drive. The torgue and pick up is exceptional. Ride is comfortable and controled. Cabin is quiet.
Read some reviews complaining about wandering out of lane. Have no idea what those reviewers were smoking. Steering is sharp and precise with no wandering.
Lack of Home Link for garage door opening is my only complaint.
This is my first Chevy product in many years, what an improvement over the old days.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Hedgehog

September 16, 2013
By Super Sonic
from Sullivan, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little car. Better than advertised gas mileage. Good power for its size. No wind noise at all, nicely sealed. Enormous trunk for such a small car. Packed plenty of options into this small package. The MyLink radio is okay but not special. They're chewing up your phone data to make things work for them. They should also offer more apps if they're wanting you to use your data to make their radio work to sell their car. The cockpit wraps around you nicely and gives plenty of head room. The cup holders are positioned too far toward the back of the center section between the seats making it hard to reach when you have more than one in use. The steering wheel could have been made of a material with better grip. Chevy could have picked better tires for this one as these give you too much road noise. They grip the road well but you hear every bump you go over. Overall it's a great little car, the negative comments are just food for thought for GM for the next model year."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sonic is GREAT

September 9, 2013
By RugerPirate
from Wyoming
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been a proud owner of an HHR. I loved that little car, just didn't get as good a gas mileage that I wanted. I just purchased a Chevy Sonic 5door hatchback last week. I opted for the non-turbo 1.8 ltr, and I have not been disappointed. I live in Wyoming, near the Bighorn Mountains. This little car climbed the mountain road with no trouble and was able to pass slower moving rigs on short stretches with no problem. I like the manual mode Auto-stick, it makes descents from the mountains easy without wearing out the brakes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun to drive

September 1, 2013
By Old fat guy
from Kansas City, Mo.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted a sports car (regressing to my teenage years) but I am too old and fat to fit in a real modern sports buggy. I came across the 2013 Sonic RS Turbo with 6 speed manual by accident. Originally looking at the new Ford Fusion Hybrid, but then realized that I don't have any children to drive around any more. So instead of spending $35,000 for the Ford, I kept my old sports sedan which wasn't worth anything on trade (2002 Chrysler 300M Special which I really love and is well maintained) and bought the Sonic for $20,000. So, I have 2 cars that I really like and saved $15,000 as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing Performance and Handling

August 27, 2013
By Kitwick
from Grants Pass, OR
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I recently traded in a 1999 Chevy Metro LSi (great handling car, good gas mileage) for a 2013 Chevy Sonic LT 4-door sedan. Like most newer cars, the steering is soft, too much power assist making it touchy handling on curvy roads and in congested town traffic. Not as soft as the comparable Honda and Ford models I test drove before buying, but not that tight, sure feel. Acceleration through the gears when entering the interstate isn't smooth, feels as though it lugs slightly. I would expect better. Taking my foot off the gas on even a slight downhill grade has little effect with the result that I have to tap the brake a lot. Poor compression ratio? Or in this age of computerized engines and transmissions is that term even applicable?
Inside, the interior is nicely finished and the audio controls and blue tooth connection are easy to use. The electric window controls are not. Almost impossible to stop the window from zooming all the way down with even the lightest taps on the control button.
Overall, I am disappointed and wish I had considered even more options before purchasing my new car. My dealer is great which was one factor that influenced me, have always had excellent service there; but I have owned the Sonic for two months now and all that doesn't compensate for its shortcomings."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great gas mileage

June 24, 2013
By Sonic Turbo
from Wichita Falls, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Looked for cheaper car with great gas mileage and luved Chevy Cruze turbo but not price, got same drivetrain and saved thousands with Sonic LT turbo. Averaging almost 38 miles a gallon with combo city & hwy. Sedan has great trunk room for size and love bluetooth , onstar and xm"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

June 6, 2013
By sonicWI
from Milwaukee WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"traded my 2010 nissan sentra in due to many problems it had, and bought a 2013 Sonic Hatch LS. Test drove a number of other competing cars and definitely enjoyed this the best. Has great pickup for a litte car, lots of interior room and handles great. Definitely a very fun car to drive which explains my gas mileage only averaging about 30, can get more i'm sure... with that said the Avg MPG display is almost dead on. Opted to purchase the cruise control a week later for $390. Wish i could fit my golf clubs in the trunk sideways but that is minor. So far so good!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Chevrolet_Sonic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Economy Car

May 27, 2013
By Onemargaret
from Durham, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just purchased my 2013 Chevy Sonic LS Sedan and I am enjoying it. Even though it is a base model, it is still roomy, sporty, and very good on gas. Can't get enough of it. It had been a long time since I purchased a new car. I am lovin it!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.