Customer Reviews for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu

2013_Chevrolet_Malibu

Average Customer Rating:
4.312 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
41 of 48(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Review 1 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car ever for the money!

March 20, 2014
By Retired but still kicking
from Louisville, CO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I consolidated down to one vehicle upon my retirement, and chose a new 2013 Malibu LS at Century Chevrolet. We are so happy with our choice! It is a sleek and elegant car, inside and out, and has plenty of power. The fuel efficiency is fantastic for such a car as this, and there is plenty of room inside for passengers or cargo. The OnStar, XM radio, and MyLink technology features take us up to the modern age. No problems at all, and it is easy to operate. We hopefully look forward to many years and miles with this nice car ahead."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car 8 be ever owned

February 24, 2014
By mali
from Lasalle, il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My new Malibu is amazing. I love it. I got it for a great price. I had a blast while I waited. The guys at Millennium Auto Sales on Milwaukee AVE are great. We had a blast with all of them. I will definitely go back there in the future. John, Mario, and Primo are awesome guys. Very friendly and helpful. Thanks guys for my 2013 MAlibu. I love it. It runs amazing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car at a great price

February 20, 2014
By Gm certified buyer
from Rockford, Mi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had this car for a month and couldn't be happier with it. Great performance and great gas mileage. I couldn't ask for more!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great so far

February 18, 2014
By tlimbert65
from Northwest Iowa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've long been a mid-sized sedan guy, and have had a variety of makes and models. It's been a long time since Chevrolet made something that appealed to me. This time around, after comparing the 2013 Malibu to the Camry, Accord, Altima, Fusion, and Mazda 6, I felt like the Chevy came close enough that I could feel comfortable buying American again. I've got 16,000 miles on the Malibu now, and it's been pretty much perfect. Gas mileage took a noticeable hit when (extremely) cold weather set in this winter, but by the end of the summer, I was averaging almost 32 mpg. Engine power is good, electronic features work well, interior is comfy if not terribly roomy. Ride is very smooth and quiet, transmission is seamless. No squeaks or rattles. I'm 6'2" and about 240 pounds, and I find the driver's seat comfortable (even on trips of several hours), and don't have trouble getting in and out. The only things I don't like about the car are the poor rear visibility (huge blind spots, difficult to back out of an angle space or change lanes), and the very lackluster standard sound system. Unless the thing suddenly falls apart at some point, it will prove to be the best car I've owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Impressed by GM

February 18, 2014
By GM Killer
from SA, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Let me start off by saying that I own a 2012 Nissan Altima 2.5S. I went to pick my wife up in Phoenix and we left for Vegas on Valentine's Day. This trip went from Phoenix to Vegas to San Antonio, TX all in one weekend. I was very impressed with the interior lighting, the style of the exterior. Now mainly, this engine is a 4 banger 2.5 liter and it is a very strong engine. I could not keep this vehicle from doing the speed limit up and down hills. Mixed driving around 30 mpg, very smooth steering, I kept telling my wife she made a wise decision with this vehicle thus far. I just love the look and the performance GM delivered."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome Car!

February 11, 2014
By Ringer
from Windsor ON
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car brand new after owning an SUV for 14 years. Very pleased with the ride, price and reliability of the Malibu LT. Looks sporty but still professional. The interior lighting is sweet!!!! Have had several compliments on my new vehicle and I love it. Keeping this one for a long time!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

poor

February 3, 2014
By Renter
from IL
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"2013 Chevy Malibu LT 11,000 miles. For a reference point, since I mention some visibility and comfort problems, I'm 5' 11".
The Look:
This car looks good inside and out minus a little bit of fake leather. Every time I walked up to the car I was romanced by it's wheels, lines, and curves. The interior is nice. On looks alone, I would want to spend a significant amount of time in that space. One thing that has to be noted; at night there is a reflected light that spans the dash. It is "cool" like I've never seen "cool" in a car. Very nice.
The Feel:
Things start to fall apart here. The finishes are better seen and not touched. The car doesn't feel well put together. It leads you to believe that this interior would be very prone to suspicious not-quite-identifiable rattles when it hits 90,000 miles. There is a lot of engine noise at lower revs despite its smaller engine size. The seats were fairly comfortable but felt as though the padding was more worn down than it should have been for a car with only 11k miles. The non-adjustable headrest pushed your head too far forward, never allowing you proper posture. Visibility was bad. The mirrors were useful, but looking back to change lanes was almost a waste of time.
The Drive:
There isn't much perceived power. 1st gear is doggy. The engine was probably fine, but the transmission didn't translate that power well. Traction control was functional. (better that I expected)
Other notable comments:
The touch screen system in the car was VERY SLOW. It became a large source of frustration after using the car for a couple of hours.
I hit my head getting out of the car on multiple occasions, once very painfully.
The car seems, in general, functional, but it doesn't hold a candle to many of the other cars I've driven that are close to its size. (Subaru Legacy, Nissan Altima, Toyota Camry, Mitsubishi Gallant)
This car was a bad enough experience for me that I was compelled to write a review on it, which I very rarely do. If you are considering purchasing this vehicle, please weigh it against the competition. The grass IS greener on the other side."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too many problems

January 17, 2014
By Nisha
from Chicago
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the 2013 Malibu brand new. Started losing engine power had to be put in the shop for repair. Three weeks later starting losing engine power again and shut down. Car has been in the shop two weeks now and they called and said they don't know what's wrong with it. Dealer called GM and they have no answer either."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Vehicle!!!!!!!!!!

January 12, 2014
By Eman
from Clarksville TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded my lexus is in for tis vehicle. So far I am pleased. I am 6'1 and the lexus was just to small and no way as good on gas as my Malibu. The ride is great and comfortable yet stylish. I have the eco which gives me at least 35 miles hwy. The only thing that I don't like about this vehicle for it to be fully loaded it doesn't have rain sensor wipers, no inside trunk release, no 6 disc cd changer, no blind spot indicator and no coolant seats. All those features my lexus had minus the blind spot indicator. But my IS was a 2010. But for the most part the Malibu is pretty good although I did had to take it back to the dealership twice. The first time the fog light went out and the second time my leather had ripped no fault of my own. However the dealership fixed both no cost to me. I will suggest that anyone buying this car to buy the extended warranty just incase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2013 Chevrolet Malibu LT

January 12, 2014
By Nurse from Florida
from Gulfport, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had a number of cars, but my Malibu is by far the most comfortable, stylish and just a great car. The car is quiet and is a pleasure to drive. I love the interior 'My Link" feature I linked my Iphone easily too. Thank you Chevrolet what a car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable Car Ive owned

December 4, 2013
By Sunshine
from Lewsiburg WV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I LOVE the new design, the comfort, the ease of handling. I live in WV and the roads are curvy to say the least as well as all the mountains and this car has NO problem with "bogging" down.. its a great dcar to drive"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exceptionable

November 30, 2013
By Chevy man
from Spring Green, WI.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ride is amazing and 75 % better than the 2009 Impala I had prior to the Malibu. The crystal Red is one hot color. Head lights and wiper switch are a great improvement."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic car

November 7, 2013
By Regular mom
from Omaha, NE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The new Malibu design is outstanding. It's sleek, sporty and very stylish. The interior of my LTZ is awesome! All leather, beautiful extras, in dash lights that give this incredible sleek look! Heated seats, drivers side seat memory, Bluetooth, you name it, it had it! It handles incredible as well! Such a smooth ride and great gas mileage! I'm not some person who knows everything about cars but the new Malibu is every bit as nice to look at as a Lexus with a much lower window sticker! I've never been happier with any other car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Mailbu LTZ 2013

November 6, 2013
By Danoo
from Dubai
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First I went to Nissan showroom to look Altima and I decided that I will buy this car but when I stopped at chevy showroom for second choice and explored 2013 Malibu LTZ 2.4 litter so my first reaction was WOW. Interior quality found very solid built and beautiful much better then Altima which I found plastic as compare to Malibu.This car has all the options like BMW and it is very eye catching car. So finally I bought this car and I am very happy with my choice. This car is a serious competitor in mid-size sedan.A complete affordable car with all options. Nice job GM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the new 2013 Chevy Malibu, great design.

October 30, 2013
By Kuekio
from Orlando, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really love this car. I bought the 1LS model and it rides wonderfully, looks sporty. Maybe this vehicle is a little more expensive than competitors, but this is a classic American auto. I bought a 2013 Toyota Corolla and I had serious steering problems so I changed it for this new 2013 Malibu. The Malibu has a great smooth ride and that the interior is comfortable and excellent design. The car gets mpg just like it says, 37mpg open road and 31mpg in town. Not many cars will get that good right out of the gate. In my experience, I went to Alabama driving around 58 mph average and the car did 52mpg!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

ECO gone bad

October 30, 2013
By Blonde47
from Denver Colorado
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The regular Mailibu is probably great, but not my ECO. In the morning when you start out the car feels great. It's nice and smooth and the auto stop works. After about 6 miles and or when you put the car in park and are not turning it off the trouble begins. The auto stop stops working and the vibration in the vehicle is terrible. This effect then carries on to the drive itself where you can feel a definate vibration in the vehicle. It's as if the the eco sytem goes into a different gear, which effects the entire feel of the car. Coming up to a stop is quite interesting as well, for the eco system causes a jerk motion sometimes when you let off and on the break, like you must do in crowded traffic. It will sometimes jump forward a bit. At first is scares you but then you get used to it.
I am now also expereiencing a clunk when first taking off after vehicle has been turned off. When you get in and take it out of park whether reverse or drive, after about 3 feet you hear a chunk. I am very dissapointed in this vehicle. There is only 1100 miles on it so far. If I were wealthy I would take the financial hit and turn it in for something else since I am leasing it. I should have taken it for a very long test drive because then I wouldn't have to be writing this review. Learned from that mistake. No more hybrids for me.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk

September 30, 2013
By VERY UNHAPPY
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This car is a piece of JUNK. I am furious that we were forced (by my husbands company) to have to drive it.! If you want safety and comfort - don't buy this car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-11points
2out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great new car

August 24, 2013
By jsedny
from eden ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Roomy interior that seats five comfortably, easy handling and steering. Gas mileage goes up each time I drive it. 28 mpg combined, which I think is great for a mid-size car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So glad i got a malibu

August 22, 2013
By Nicole Local
from Slo, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I did some online research and then took a test drive in the 2013 Chevy Malibu ...On the outside I love the curves, the body style and shape is very eye catching. I got inside and felt like I was on my reclining chair at home, I have enough room for my large dog to ride in style in the back seat. The ride is smooth and air bags are surrounding to keep my loved ones safe. I Drove off the lot that day in my pearl white Chevy Malibu and I am happy I did."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2013_Chevrolet_Malibu
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too many buttons, not enough oomph

August 14, 2013
By Rental Car Ricky
from Fort Worth, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My wife is driving a 2013 Malibu as a rental car while her vehicle is in the body shop after a fender bender (9 days).
The car looks very nice inside and out and I can see why owners/reviewers like it. There are many of the usual modern conveniences packed into the model we are renting. Power seems adequate for the size, interior room is good up front and OK in the back.
But upon driving it, there are some quirks that I don't believe should exist in a car these days. There are gaping blind spots at the pillars on the passenger and driver sides. The designers were quite button-happy; where simple buttons or a stalk are used for cruise control on other cars, there are complicated steering-wheel mounted buttons that you have to relearn. The defogger also was completely worthless on a humid day.
Chevy loyalists may be happy with the complete package, but I recommend would-be buyers simply drive several other makes and models before deciding. GM's ergonomics have never suited me, but might be just fine for others."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.