Customer Reviews for 2014_Ford_Escape

2014_Ford_Escape

Average Customer Rating:
4.283 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 of 53(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Ford_Escape
Review 1 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 Escape SE

April 15, 2014
By Dale
from Grove City, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my Escape a month now and it is terrific. I like the back-up camera and the auto light system. Once I figured out the wipers (front and rear) I love them. MPG's are good and power is excellent.
Looks good, drives good and feels great.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this is the worst car , from Ford ever !

April 15, 2014
By NHRA charter member
from Lima , Ohio
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had 54 Fords in my life time ,, I thought the worst was a 1960 falcon ,, They advertised it as 34 miles to gallon ,, I have yet to get 20 MPH I got the all wheel drive , SLE ,Whe i bought it I drove it home and the oddmeter show ed over a Thousand miles , They got it on a dealer trade ,,and what I wanted I did not Get ,, as it is under powered with a 1.6 litter engine ,that's 98 Cu.In.It has two black Tail Pipes ,, Puffs so much black Smoke that i have been Stopped by Police ,, When going down the road and following another car it shifts constantly ,,Like 40 time in 15 miles ,,I have a Dauhter that lives in Columbus which has always been about a 100 miles but in this car it shows 140 miles ,, on the same trip i always had Gas when i returned home ,, This one will have the Light come on about half way home saying low Fuel ,, It has a 15 gallon tank ,, It will take 12 gallons to fill it at that time .,, I put it up tp 80 on interstate and it sounded like , I had a Helecopter flying over me ,, The controlls are hard to read while driving ,, The console is so wide my leg rubs it and so I put a cushion there to protect my Leg ,, I have had two total Knees on right side ,, Then it haas a GPS , the sales man could not get it set and my one son thinks he is a Computer Expert and he could not even get it to get home ,, we were in the Garage and it still said there is no such address ,,,, So much for that 900 dollars wasted ,, Next it has a stick your fot under it and tail gate goes up !!,,We have cats , so when ever I get in it I check as the First week we had it it was up and we scrapped paint off the Tail Gate ,, After working for Ford for over 40 Years ,, I wish I could have driven it more than a half mile ,, They tell me it's the way i drive ,, I have did dealer Trades for years and always get good Mileage ,,, I still have a 2005 which I get about 25 mile per Gallon and it is a V-6 , but only 2 Wheel drive"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2014 Ford Escape 1.6 Ecoboost AWD-My first Ford

April 14, 2014
By reluctantyouth
from Peoria, Illinois
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I can assure that I do not work for Ford and that I cannot believe some of the negative reviews that people have put on here. I live in Illinois and we just came out of the worst winters on record...heck it's April 14th, 2014 and we are getting light snow tonight! This CUV is very comfortable, has great visibility, handled like a champ through the snow, is quiet, peppy, and attractive. I have 5400 miles on it and picked up my Escape in October 2013. I just got the first oil change and tire rotation. The gas mileage is not on par by any means. To experiment I have driven like an aggressive Chicago driver and I have driven like a little old lady. In both scenarios the gas mileage was the same as in town I'm getting between 21 and 23. On the highway I get between 23 and 27. There is the occasional drive where I'll hit 28-29 but that's after being on the road for an hour-hour and a half. Some people are just too dang picky when it comes to storage and cup holders...my god people lay off the Starbucks and expensive water. There is enough storage to go around and I find the glove box serves its purpose. I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 315 lbs...I'm very comfortable in this CUV. This is my daily driver. I have hauled full size rugs, bikes, and even a full size (boxed) elliptical from Costco in this thing with ease. Do your homework and you will find that the RAV4 and CRV do not even come close. The only CUV that scored higher than this was the CX5. I hate Mazda with a passion and have had bud luck with two Protoges in the past so Mazda was not an option for me. I wanted tech, reliability, ease of ownership, a car built in America, and ease in finding replacement parts if ever needed. I have a 100k bumper to bumper warranty on my Escape and plan on having it for many years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Escape #2

April 8, 2014
By packfan
from Huntsville, AL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have a 2014 SE. This is my 2nd Escape, first was 2007 that I still have. I spend about half my time doing city driving and half highway and after 2500+ miles I'm averaging 25-27 mpg. About half of my drive to work is rough elevated highways and I can defintely tell a difference in the 2007 and 2014 with the 2014 being much smoother and quieter. So far I've only had minor hiccups with Sync, occasionally it won't show the correct song title when I am using it with my iPhone but unplugging fixes the issue. I do wish that the panoramic roof opened all the way back over all the seats like they do in the Edges though. I've always been a Ford fan and so far I've gotten what I expected out of the 2014 Escape"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

terrible

April 2, 2014
By terrible
from wisconsin
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have owned several escapes worst model yet. I loved the pre 2013 models. uncomfortable seats I have 14k miles on my 2014 escape hate it can you say Prius.
Note to Ford fire all engineers who changed the old model or better yet make them drive the new 2014 escape that would be punishment enough.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ford Escape Titanium

April 1, 2014
By MB Owner
from Houston
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nippy, fun to drive, comfortable, quite and well built. It's a small SUV/crossover but spacious inside. Great car for city use. Dashboard takes a but of getting use to so does the the right drivers leg room but its really all OK.
My only complaint is you can see the reflection of the chromed air vent controls in the side mirrors which is annoying by design. One tends to look pass this while actually using the mirrors to drive though.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2014 Ford Escape review after 1800 miles

March 30, 2014
By oldcomp
from Orlando FL
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Gas mileage not near as estimated
Handles very easy and good pick-up
On all but smooth asphalt roads noise level is very high.
Very rough riding except on very smooth roads, the worst riding car I have owned in over 60 years.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

wish i hadn't bought

March 24, 2014
By Country folk
from Menomonee Falls, WI
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I LOVE my 2007 Escape which we kept. The new 2014 however..
1) rides so rough that I really don't enjoy riding in it.
2)The controls are difficult to manipulate,
3) The console compartment is not well designed,
4) It's awkward to have to look under the steering wheel to place the key in the ignition,
5) and the drivers seat belt is close to impossible to snap due to it's tight positioning.
Truly, my husband was the one that wanted this car but his complaints are the same. I wish so much that we wouldn't have bought this Escape. Hind sight's 20/20."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Gas mileage is awful

March 23, 2014
By Mrfuel
from Salt lake city
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Traded from a 2010 escape to a 2014.
Quiet is the 1st thing I noticed. You feel like your in a cockpit with the new model. Ride is smoother.
No storage in cabin, lack of cup holders. Sync has its days.
Glove box is to far away.Rear storage is smaller.
The gas mileage has been absolutely awful, It ranges from 20-22 mpg every tank. rated 22+. I figure it cost about $50.00 month more than my 2010 to run. most of my miles are freeway, I have tried every brand of gas and the results stay the same.
When purchasing a new car, remember to add the cost of additional gas into the price.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good so far

March 22, 2014
By Stan
from Columbus, ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A little less space overall than the rav4. Good performance and handling. I like the titanium package . But it should have the cargo cover included in the package for security. With 2000 miles on it, the jury is still out on the posted gas mileage- at this point somewhat less. Navigation is great as well as the radio. The ride is comfortable for both short and long distance. The quality of materials is comparible with the competition."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AOK

March 19, 2014
By Michael B
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Comfortable, Stylish. Interior cabin well appointed. I have the Titanium version which is tech loaded. One disappointment is lack of conventional sun roof. Available one is large and too expensive an option. Handles well and good gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Vehicle

March 19, 2014
By AZlaru
from Sierra Vista AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am very happy with the Ford Escape SE I purchased. The interior is roomy and the seat are very comfortable. The Escape (with Ecoboost) is very peppy and handles well. Very smooth ride. My Ford Touch (Sync) is easy to operate. No problems so far. The voice command feature is great. I have no complaints and feel I made a good choice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the new Escape

March 18, 2014
By Chuck_MN
from Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2013 Escape Titanium loaded with features. I love driving this vehicle. Having driven Honda CRV for years, and still own a CRV, this Escape is fantastic. I drive a lot of miles each month (4000 average/month). It is a dream to drive...very quiet, comfortable, smooth and powerful! I only have two complaints. Disappointed in the lack of storage for the driver. I find it hard to place small items like pens, coins, etc. Ford needs to get rid of the hand parking brake in an automatic...put it in the floor since nobody will use it and make some more storage. Gas consumption is nowhere near advertised as I drive 55mph on rural highways. Interstate is worse. It gets worse mileage than my Honda CRV 2.0L so I hope that changes in time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

off to a bad start

March 18, 2014
By disappointed
from Moose Jaw, SK
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Overall very disappointed in this car so far. The promised gas mileage of 22-23 mpg/city & 30-32 mpg/hwy - after 5 months of driving with premium gas and going speed limit the car calculates that I get 18.5 mpg/hwy. I used to have a 2008 escape that had better mileage and I do understand the tank is 1.4 g smaller in the 2014 but shouldn't affect mpg rate. Then there's the park assist -
DON'T RISK IT cause it will be all on you....I parked 4 times perfectly and the 5th time - smashed into the car behind. The local dealer says it's a 100% success rate, and yet my car showed a computer malfunction reading when checked by the Ford service dept - Ford took NO responsibility and left me dealing with repairs and points on my driving record. Thanks for the support. I appreciate the acknowledgement at the dealership level, that my park assist failed, but Ford Canada does not back you if it fails and your local dealer may not either. YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN! Also when I get to 120 km/hr on hwy if wind is blowing a certain direction the right side of front window screams in the wind until you either slow down or wind direction changes. Ugh - hasn't been a pleasant experience and I am now stuck with this car for another 2.5 yrs on lease - Should have kept my 2008....loved it!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

limited room no accessable storage space

March 15, 2014
By end of line
from Chicago
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Center console leaves no room for women's purse or tissues. No place to put gloves, hats in bad weather. Gas tank needs a couple more gallon capacity. Cup holder access awkward as is console storage bin - too deep."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Small SUV

March 5, 2014
By SUV Lover
from Houston, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We looked at Equinox, Jeep Cherokee, and Ford Escape. The Escape offered the most features by far, and we are thrilled with it. It has the only 4 cy that we felt has enough power (w/Ecoboost). The Microsoft SYNC works well (easy), and the Titanium package included other safety and luxury features we wanted (power liftgate and rear camera). It was a great value too!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very happy with my 2014 escape

March 4, 2014
By new ford fan
from Chicago, Il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After I saw the 2014 Escape it was love at first sight. And after the test drive I knew this was the car for me. I think its very roomy and the backseat is comfortable for my 8 yr son too. I test drove both the 1.6 and 2.0 and I went with the 2.0l its a smooth ride."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Vehicle Purchase I've Ever Made

March 2, 2014
By 66 Yrs, 28 vehicles
from Englewood, FL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought 2014 Titanium 4 months ago. Absolutely the worst vehicle I've ever driven. At highway speeds it constantly stutters and pulls. There's no relaxing in driving this car. The FordMySync is too slow to be useful unless you're parked with plenty of time for it to respond and to try to get it to understand your voice commands. At least ten times faster to just lean over and fat finger the commands into the screen. The only command my system gets right with regularity is: "Audio Off". Gas mileage is in the 21 mpg range. Was told it had Adaptive Cruise Control-It does not. Seat comfort fails for large individuals. Am considering taking the huge financial hit and trading this disappointment for something I can enjoy driving. Don't Buy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Escape 2014

February 21, 2014
By diana
from Leominster MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am enjoying my new escape. This is my second one. I owned my first one for 11 yrs. If I had to make recommendations I would recommend a rain guard over the front doors. Even if the window is open a little the water comes in right on the window controls. Its been a very snowy February and I have weathered the storms. Good performance in the snow. I would recommend this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Escape to the future

February 20, 2014
By red
from Wenatchee, Wa.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the escape is a dream to drive and handles with ease. It was the smartest thing I have done in a long time buying a new Ford."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.