Customer Reviews for 2014_Ford_Escape

2014_Ford_Escape

Average Customer Rating:
4.284 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
66 of 81(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Ford_Escape
Review 1 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recent 2014 escape purchase

July 30, 2014
By D ZIMM
from Canton, ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am very pleased with my new car. My sellsman Steve Copper went beyond my expectations of a sales person. He is the best car salesman I have ever dealt with, and I have bought some cars. This is my second one with him. He will take great care of you
I bought a 2014 escape went to a 2 liter engine, had a 2013 escape 1.6 engine due to all the recalls I got the 2014. Very happy with it. I k for bought it at downtown ford on Tusc in Canton. Ask for Copper he'll treat you right.
."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST SMALL SUV ON THE MARKET!!!

July 24, 2014
By LSUGirl
from Denham Springs, LA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Where to start? My husband bought me the FWD Titanium with 2.0 engine and ecoboost. I absolutely love it! With a very smooth but zippy ride, the excape is sooooo much fun to drive. The interior is very nice. I love all the "bells and whistles", too. The My Sync feature is so convenient. Media screen(nav, backup camera, and radio display) is of very nice size and quality. Unless you have a lead foot, you will get great mileage. I am averaging 24 city/32 highway. Engine power is not an issue. This thing can't wait to take off! As far as size, well I am 5 feet tall and my husband is 6 foot 4. We both feel very comfortable in the driver seat! You get a lot for your money!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Drives wonderful.

July 23, 2014
By Ford owner forever
from Chicago IL.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wonderful vehicle, comfortable interior, has enough room in the cargo area to hold everything I need. Love the back up camera feature. Sync is a wonderful necessary feature. I feel safe and secure with all the air bags this car comes with should I be involved in an accident. I cannot figure out why FORD did not have the lower rear panel above the dual exhaust pipes color match the rest of the vehicle like other car manufacturers did. There's also a mismatched panel under the front of the vehicle down low. I actually considered not buying the vehicle because of that. Love the looks and mileage I'm getting."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my car and my sales LADY!

July 21, 2014
By Natalie
from cudahy
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had the best car purchasing experiance ever.
Althought the dealership took a long time with getting the paper work complete for me to finalize the deal. My sales girl was wonderful she even went in the back and helped clean it so it would be perfect.
Thank you Mary you get an A+++
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed 3 months and 2500 miles in

July 14, 2014
By mistermanager7
from Midlothian, VA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Before purchasing our Ford Escape SE 1.6L, I did loads of research on this website and many other popular websites. It came down to the Forester, CX-5, and the Escape. This vehicle received (and continues to receive) positive reviews from many happy consumers. Try as I might, I just can't seem to find a seat at that cafeteria table and I find myself disappointed with our Escape. After a few months and 2500 miles in, I'd like to share my experience with you good people...
Good:
-Fun to drive: car responds nicely and has good agility and pep for the 1.6L engine. The ride is smooth enough to not deter many newcomers to the Small SUV category, and probably please many of those who are coming from older SUVs.
-Standard features: While back-up cameras and Bluetooth connectivity are becoming standard on just about everything - even those little orange cars we all had as children - I'm still calling this a Pro because I am easily impressed and think they're neat (also I needed at least one other thing to make an official list)
Bad:
-Gas mileage: They advertise an estimated 32/24 mileage with the 1.6L EcoBoost engine and I am only getting 21 mpg on the highway. I pay close attention to my acceleration rate and speed consistency, and despite my diligence, still do not see improved results. After raising this to the service department at my dealership, the Tech that worked on my car for separate issues mentioned she is experiencing the same issues with her 2014 Escape. It's good to have some company but I would like it to be under better pretenses.
-Ford SYNC: Ford SYNC? More like Ford...STINK (get it?) Rib cracking humor aside, I took my car in for a recall for a software update. After picking the car up from the dealership I noticed the clock was 3 hours behind. I assumed this was just reset to Pacific Time because it's software and wants to be with all the cool software in Silicone Valley. Turns out this was the time it was actually reset, and the clock was frozen that time. I was unable to change it and need to return to the dealership or buy a watch.
-Fuel Range: I mentioned the mileage a little earlier and this would not be such a problem if I were getting the EPA estimated numbers. Even still, I think the tank they used (13-14 gallons) is a little small for this sized car. With the mileage I'm getting right now I'm lucky to smell 300 miles/tank. Really I'm coming in around 260 miles before I fill up again.
This is our first Ford and will probably be the last one for us (barring any give-aways or generosity from strangers). Don't get me wrong, I have respect for Ford given that they were the only American car company to not accept the Government bail-out; however, my admiration stops shortly after that fact.
As I mentioned at the beginning, a number of reviewers have been having a lot of success and fun with this car, and for that I am happy. While researching your next purchase know that good or bad, everyone has their own individual experiences with their vehicle. I hope you find this and the contradicting positive reviews helpful."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

OK but has issues SE model

July 12, 2014
By KY Steve
from Ashland,KY
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good Decent performance and fuel mileage
Bad. No AC for rear seat
Weird to adjust AC vents to get AC to rear
Tiny backup camera, too far from driver
Parcel shelf blocks camera if used
Tiny center console storage but console is huge
No rear seat cup holders unless center armrest down
Sync quirky, does not understand you
To control all functions driver has 73 buttons to learn
Glove box will dump contents when opened,it has a shelf and things roll out
Poor lighting in cargo area, on side wall, not roof.
Giant windshield,almost impossible to clean.and distracting reflection of giant dash under it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ruby red

July 5, 2014
By Thrifty
from Oregon
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have wanted this car ever since I saw a commercial on TV showing it and the many new features but I just had to have it. It took me over a year to decide and sale my other vehicles but when I saw the lift gate that opens with just a touch of your foot and the back up camera I was definetly hooked. I went with the navigation package but didn't get the big skylight I don't use them much so I knew I would get more use out of the other features I went with. It's a very nice car or SUV very comfortable and it has so many things that I am still trying to figure out how to use everything I'm very happy with my new purchase the mileage is still a lot lower than it said which was a big reason I also went with this brand but I've only used one tank of fuel and got almost 17 mpg not even close to 25 or 30 but hopefully it will get better"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable, advance and economic car I've owned

July 5, 2014
By My Silver bullet
from South Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Its very smooth, dependable, and technologically smart creating a simple and easy to manage/maintain car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice little car

June 30, 2014
By Jimsutton
from SE Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We liked the '03, so upgraded to the '14. Wanted all wheel capability but also a reasonable mpg. We opted for the 1.6 4 cylinder and so far, no regrets. Very little downshifting on inclines and appears it will easily do the 30 mpg hwy. This car (SE) was on the dealer lot and liked the installed options,. however, the power lift tailgate does not mean the no-hands option which I guess is only on the Titanium. It has roof rails, but the crossbars are extra. It has the bigger screen in the dash which is nice with the Sirius navigation aids, but no maps unless you order "Navigation" option which uses an SD card. The SD card slot is there however. All in all, we are pleased with it and would recommend it. A far cry from the '03, but still lean toward the older styling."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliability, Value and Comfort

June 30, 2014
By Miss Mouse
from Charles Town, WV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Ford Escape. My first is a 2004 model and now belongs to my oldest daughter as her first automobile.
My requirements for a new vehicle were simple, must have four-wheel-drive, fog lamps and be fuel efficient. I was able to find my new Ford at Hagerstown Ford in Hagerstown, MD. My salesperson worked to provide me with the best deal possible in addition to a few more options that I now find extremely convenient.
My vehicle also has a back-up camera and sensors; Sirius Radio (which I love) and best of all, blind spot mirrors! I also was able to afford the Econo-Boost engine which is VERY nice.
Overall, I am highly satisfied with my vehicle and would recommend giving the Ford Escape a look if in the market
Miss Mouse"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2014 Ford Escape...missed the mark

June 29, 2014
By Loyal Ford Customer
from Louisville KY
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I loved my 2009 Ford Escape so it was a "no brainer" that I would buy another. BIG MISTAKE! I haven't drove my new 2014 Escape in 22 days as it sits in the Tri-County Ford Dealership (in Buckner KY) waiting on a new engine. The vehicle is 7 months old and 10,000 miles and it needs a new engine. I have been waiting for Ford Corporate to call me back now for 10 days (I'm still waiting).
My husband and I have owned Fords and been long time supporters of Ford products for over 35 years. This will be the last ford we buy. Ford has totally let us down on this one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

June 28, 2014
By Margo
from Fredericton New Brunswick Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought my 2014 escape titanium and I had test driven a lot of SUVs . This vehicle is very futuristic looking and for me had the WOW factor that none of the others had. Absolutely amazing sunroof , and I love that I can just wave my foot under the rear bumper and. The trunk opens. I'm still getting used to the fact that my vehicle parallel parks itself...wow! So far it outperforms every vehicle that I've owned"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 Escape S

June 27, 2014
By ssm
from Eastern NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the base model. It has the 2.5 liter engine with 168hp. I love this CSUV. Yeah it is only front whell drive, but it rarely snows on the coast of NC. Averaging 26.2 MPG. This SUV has plenty of room, power, and is a quiet ride. I added a pin stripe and some ARIES 3 inch step rails for looks. Getting my shaded vent visors put on Monday. It looks awesome. I'm glad i bought this truck, no real negatives, I have 1600 miles on it so far. I paid $22,000 for mine, and feel i got a great deal for money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Escape Titanium

June 20, 2014
By Rex
from Portsmouth, NH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought the AWD Titanium with 1.6 engine. (Traded a 2006 Escape hybrid). The new Escape is a peppy small SUV with a great ride. Nice bells and whistles. Plenty of pep, and if you don't lead-foot it you can hit 30 mpg on the highway. Nice safety features with back up and side mirror warnings."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and Fun SUV

June 17, 2014
By MaverickIII
from Overland Park, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the AWD SE with the 1.6L Eco Boost engine and love to drive it, I look for somewhere to go just for the fun of it. Any one complaining about gas mileage needs to learn to drive or slow down near the speed limit. It is very comfortable and quiet with so many fun gadgets to play with. I love the back up camera and all the other toys. Mine also has leather, and the convenience group and the power lift gate.
The engine give you plenty of power when you need it but if you don't take your foot out of it MPG will suffer, you can't get both from any vehicle. I got 29 MPG on my first highway trip, and get about 24 combined driving. Love it and would recommend it to anyone.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Escape Disapointment

June 13, 2014
By Piggy Nicky
from Danbury, ct
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Incredible power with the 2 Liter Ecoboost. Numerous electrical problems and now the Engine fault light keeps coming on and the car has no power and shakes intermittently. The Dealer is unable to fix it after 4 attempts. Less than 18,000 miles and I need to rent a car every time I go on a business trip. Do not but any car with a gimmicky name such as ecoboost. Buy a quality normally inspirated automobile for reliability, Do not buy"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great in the snow with good MPGs

June 8, 2014
By Northrocc
from Anchorage Alaska
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Compared Rav 4, CRV, and Outback. This little SUV had the best acceleration, handling, and equipment for the money. I got the 2L AWD Titanium model. Living in Alaska I love the fact that I don't have to reach into my pocket to unlock or use the push button start. Got over 2 feet of unexpected snow a few months ago. I was a little concerned and didn't see a lot of other smaller SUVs on the road, only a few full sized ones, and some of them were stuck. This thing tracked up the side of the mountain like a goat. Great car for places with snow. Absolutely love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

June 5, 2014
By Love my car
from Arizona
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love it . So quiet, the ride is great, I am 6.2 I feel comfortable lots of room, so many great features"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, a pleasant surprise

June 5, 2014
By Man from Appleton
from Appleton, WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Wasn't sure that I'd like the Escape before I test-drove it, but fell in love with the handling and ergonomics and tech.
Also wasn't sure that it could handle much towing, but so far (with a 4x6 trailer carrying a riding mower), it's been fine. The MPGs suffer a bit while doing that, but it's still a welcome change from the 8-cylinder Explorer SportTrac I drove for seven years.
I've only put 1300 miles on the vehicle, but the handling is great, the acceleration is more than adequate, the comfort of driving and riding is far better than I thought. As of today, I'm getting around 21-22 MPG in city, 30-31 on highway when I'm not towing.
The dealer (Stumpf Ford) made the transaction fast and clean.
All in all, I'm pleased.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love mine

June 4, 2014
By becky
from tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Its fun and good on gas spacious everyhing convenient to use. Easy to learn lots ofinterior space. Grand kids and huband love it too"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.