Customer Reviews for 2014_Acura_MDX

2014_Acura_MDX

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
27 of 30(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Acura_MDX
Review 1 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Acura i've owned

April 4, 2014
By iceRN
from Boston,MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Me and my wife who is expecting our 2nd child decided that we need to have a 7 seater SUV. We have a Murano 11 previously. We had 5 Cars on the list to look at. MDX, Highlander, Explorer, QX60 and Pathfinder. We test drove the MDX first. It has a very confident driving trait, nice soft touch materials and technology package. The salesperson guided us in a winding backroads with moderate potholes. This car owned it. The downside is that the space is relatively smaller than the qx60 and brakes are mushy feel although still safe. We got an offer and then we went to infiniti. Qx60 is all about luxury. The only gripe about it is that the driving felt like i am on a pathfinder although 10k more expensive. Same platform, same transmissions and engine. But the size is awesome. There is fine jittery ride over the bumps although muted i noticed it. We also went to Ford. lots of bells and whistles on the explorer but when you drive it. Forget it, it feels like driving a truck. Without the ecoboost engine. their v6 is lame. We left and didn't like the Sales Manager either. Now highlander, We went there and we saw the sticker price for a highlander hybrid.($51k) My wife agreed about how cheap the interior felt and we left. Wife agreed. its Over priced. So in the end we end up with MDX. It's a beauty and classic. Then now here comes an issue. I am pretty sensitive with vibrations and sound on a car. When i had the car for 2 days, I didn't hear anything, it was Dead silent. However, this monday before i dropped of the car to install the accessories, i noticed a weird fluttering noise. It is low pitch but is really noticeable. This sound coincide when you only push the gas pedal. I asked the tech and he noticed it. He then said "its the fuel pump, its all normal" that i was just entuned to it and it will fade away as i get used to it. Sadly i haven't still. I cannot enjoy my quiet ride without turning off the music co'z i can hear it. i sent an email to Acura relations and will post their response. For a car that is at 50k, I expect a very quiet cabin. The road noise is muted but that fluttering noise exist. It might not bother a lot of owners. Sure has bothered me. I have read of owners having problems with the Variable Management , Heared no problem like that on my car. Shifting is Smooth, Plenty of power when needed. Gas Mileage still not to par. Thinking due to Very low temp. Overall, It is byfar the Best SUV in the market at its Category"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Second Acura MDX I've owned

March 1, 2014
By On The Road Again
from Los Angeles, California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Quiet and powerful, brakes are good, but feel a little soft when I compare it to my 2005 Acura MDX, which seemed more precise and surer to me. Essentially the MDX is a computer on four wheels with two manuals weighing pounds. A bit intimidating at first with all those bells,button's,whistles and four way knobs. This is week two of ownership, and it feels somewhat more familiar. It will take weeks more to know the cabin well. Not sure I will ever like the voice guidance. It often doesn't get it! Liked my 2005 GPS as I could have my wife adjust,change where we are going while car was in motion. The new GPS seems to not want to work unless I'm totally stopped. Big Brother has intervened too much here. I like the blind spot indicator that allows you to note a car in your dead zone. The lane indicator beeps at you if you cross a traffic line above 45 mph without the turn indicator on. Can be a tiny bit bothersome and a bit strict.Yet it is doing it's job and reporting on me to me. Again, slightly Big Brotherly. Overall, a swell car, drives like a fine luxury car, not an SUV. Is as quick as can be (I purchased the front wheel drive model as I live in Calif) and a pleasure to drive (I do long distance driving, and this car is perfect for that). Improvements? Acura Roadside Assistance is not nearly as quick as AAA. Proved that twice. Acura wait time: one hour. AAA wait time 20 minutes. Overall Recommendation? Buy it. My 2005 Acura MDX currently has 190,000 miles on it, with absolutely nothing wrong with it. Nothing! A fantastic auto,and my reason for buying a 2014 Acura MDX again!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice to look at, most annoying ride I ever owned

February 1, 2014
By Disappointed
from West Palm Beach
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Sure, the car is pretty, has all the bells and whistles you would want. However after driving this vehicle for several months, and having it at Acura multiple times, I only suggest buying this vehicle if you are buying on looks alone.
While driving, the vehicle transitions from 3 cylinders to 6, the car vibrates hard on the front left side, and RPM's drop. If I drive at a steady 60 miles on the highway it will constantly do it over and over, feels like you are driving on a rumble strip. Most annoying feeling, and sound! Acura district Rep tells me its normal function for this vehicle. I test drove others at dealership and they were doing it as well. I am very disappointed that Acura thinks this is okay. I only wish I had read the forums online first where people were complaining."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Family Hauler

July 27, 2013
By hm
from VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A big improvement over the outgoing model, Extremely quiet and cushy ride. It has less of a sport feel than the previous model but it is overall a better drive. Electronic steering can be adjusted from soft to firm with the push of a button and the response and different feel are immediate.
Gears are always in great sync with the RPMs, audio is very good for the middle range model which is what I have (tech w/ entertainment).
Only thing is that is hard to get a sense of speed in the highway with the car being very very quiet and the suspension soaking up bumps like nobody's business, better to remember where the cops usually hang out.
Absolute best driving experience and features for the price, Europeans can simply not compete."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Several bugs and issues

March 27, 2014
By Norbert
from Seattle WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Purchased the MDX in August 2013. Since then I have had problems with the navigation system freezing, voice commands not accepted, phone not linking to the car (Blue Tooth issues). There was also a recall for a drive train bolt which was not properly torqued.
The dealer replaced the navigation module (apparently there were two major software revisions in 6 months). Upon getting the car back, I no longer had functioning intermittent windshield wipers, and I am receiving a Charging System Warning notice.
Noises are coming from the engine (and yes, I had the oil changed by Acura).
I loved the car when I got it, but this is very disappointing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Vehicle I've Ever Owned!

November 11, 2013
By Unhappy Customer
from MS
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the 2014 MDX Advance with Entertainment Package and drove it for 6 days when it started having Emission System and other problems. Since then, it has been at the dealership for repair for 45 days and is still there. I have been very disappointed in the quality and reliability of this vehicle but I have been more disturbed with the lack of responsiveness from Acura's Client Relations department. At this price range, there are many options and I would not choose an Acura. The vehicle is cheaply made and in my opinion, Acura has not worked out their glitches in their new design."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best MDX so far

December 13, 2013
By MDX Joe
from Harrisburg, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 4th MDX over the last 7 years. I've enjoyed all of the models, but this year's version is the best. New style change inside and outside. I've moved up with the Advanced Package which has all of the tech and luxury options that you can imagine. Still working out which driving options work best for me. The only unknown so far is the gas mileage, advertised at 26 mpg highway for AWD version. Haven't seen that yet but it is still early. I would recommend you take a look at this model, haven't seen many out on the road so I'm enjoying being one of the first to have this model."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything that it promised

August 9, 2013
By Krish
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"weare very happy with our new Accura 2014 MDX. It is everything that the manufacturer promised. Fuel efficiency is great. we did a 400 mile road trip and got 26.5 mpg compared to the 27 mpg claim. The interior is very quiet with little road noise even at speed levels of 75 mph. Pick-up from zero was a bit slufggish, maybe because we use regular fuel since the dealer said that should be fine. Third row seats were are OK for adults, but we average 5'7'' . getting into the 3rd row is easier, but one has to get used to it. Overall vey happy with the purchase.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Drove from Toronto to Florida and back

April 6, 2014
By BMW no more
from Markham, Ontario
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Traded my BMW X5 for the MDX. Too many reliability issues with the BMW. Drove to Florida with 6 people. Car was very comfortable and quiet. Lots of luggage room. Plenty of power to over take and going up hills. Breaks were OK could be a bit better especially going downhill. 3rd row is OK for small kids but tight for adults. LED lights lit up the roadway. Love the centre console huge storage space and under cargo storage. Had car for 3 months now and it is wonderful no issues. Worth every penny. Very stable and safe in snow and ice. Good on gas."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great New Design

September 5, 2013
By Previous MDX Owner
from Lebanon, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the lane changing notification. It fixes the "blind spot" issue in the previous design. Handles nicely, smooth ride, like the instrument panel design better than the previous design. Great design with the storage compartment under the middle arm rest. Also love that the arm rest moves forward. One thing that is not as good as my previous MDX, (2004) is the driver's seat does not lower as much in the front. This is nice feature for those of us 5'4" that like the seat higher but like the front lower to make it easier to reach the pedals."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new design.....

July 29, 2013
By Dogs New Car
from Cochella Valley, Californlia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only had the car for 500 miles...is very handsome and extremely well made...The ride and handling are great. The gas mileage could be better..18-19. I've only mostly driven around town and a few short freeway trips. The down side is High test fuel is required. The interior is huge and very plush, lots of room for my two dogs. The new controls are still confusing to us old guys... Lots of standard features, but then again at this price, they should be.. Very glad I crossed over from Volvo and will be happy for a long long time..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoying my new 2014 Acura MDX AWD Tech

September 5, 2013
By ACURAownerSINCE2007
from Plainview, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned Acura vehicles my entire life. Starting with an 97 Integra. Upgraded to a new 2007 TL and then to a new 2011 MDX AWD base. I just recently bought a brand new 2014 MDX AWD Tech and all I can say is that it is worth all my hard earned money. The ride is super smooth and my family loves the ride. My wife and mother agree is it was more comfortable than the 2011 MDX. The handling has also gotten better along with the fuel economy. The only thing I wish they did better on the vehicle was the voice recognition function."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Technology for the money

December 27, 2013
By car lover
from Baton Rouge, LA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The MDX offers more standard features on the base level, entry car for the money. By adding the Advance package and Entertainment package, you end up more technology and some industry standards and firsts. The most impressive is the lane keep assist that works with the cruise at speeds over 40 MPH. We have all been there, long drive, cruise set, mind elsewhere. This feature helps you keep it between the lines and keeps the preset distance to the car ahead of you. Amazing to accomplish this in a vehicle under 60K."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd MDX and not disappointed

October 5, 2013
By MDX afficionado
from Bay Area, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I previously owned a 2005 MDX and drove it for absolutely trouble free miles. I did not care for the version that came just after mine, so I waited for this new body style and redesign. I was not at all disappointed. The car drives amazingly well, is well styled, and has features galore. I am not at all disappointed in my choice. I would make two comments - the more advanced safety features should be in the Technology Package, not the more expensive option package, and I only use the Sport handling package."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sure footed in heavy Michigan snow

March 11, 2014
By Jay
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I cannot say enough how much of a lifesavor our 14-MDX SH-AW base model has been for us this winter.
My wife and I are both physicians and on numerous occasions we had to brave the harshest wintery slick weather to get to work and we could not have done it without our beautiful SUV.
My wife unfortunately did get into a miner fender bender. She got rear ended because the SUV behind her could not stop in time. He had a dent, our vehicle didn't even have a scratch.
I would highly recommend this suv."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Vehicle extremely quiet and comfortable

January 3, 2014
By Cagey
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just replaced my 2012 TL Tech with a 2014 MDX SH-AWD Tech. Drove it 1200 miles in the first 3 days. It handles as well if not better than the 2WD TL. It is remarkable quiet. I don't think I have ever been in a quieter vehicle. I averaged 71mph on our 1100 mile trip and averaged 28 mpg on mid grade fuel. The seats are very comfortable and the interior is very attractive. I could not be happier."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV that i ever owned!! 4th one!

April 20, 2014
By SUV enthusiast!
from Cedarburg, Wi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Awesome SUV! Comfortable, stylish, rides very nice!
One complaint is that , for a luxury SUV and for it's price point, Navigation should be standard! We have all these cheaper brands that has Navigation standard, yet Acura only includes Navigation as part of High Tech package! Bad decision!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS CAR!

March 6, 2014
By ROSE
from Hamden ct
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first car in 10 years,I am very happy with my choice.I am challenged to learn more about this car because it is a computer on wheels. I love the smooth ride.This car is pretty easy on the eyes as well. Choose this car over volvo x 90 because of its safety rating and good looks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most comfortable car I have owned.

April 22, 2014
By none
from Huntersville, NC.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the fourth MDX we have owned and it is truly the most comfortable riding and driving car we have ever ridden in. You can drive for hours and not feel tired. We have received many complements on how sharp it looks.
Thanks again for a great car! We would recommend it to anyone.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Acura_MDX
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Luxury Car

January 4, 2014
By First Luxury Car
from Grapevine, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had many Hondas over the years, but I never crossed over into the luxury market. Now that the kids are out of the house, I bought the luxury car I have thought about for 10 years. So far I love all the features, bells and whistles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.