Customer Reviews for 2014_Mazda_CX-5

2014_Mazda_CX-5

Average Customer Rating:
4.524 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
2
91 of 105(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Review 1 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DISSAPPOINTED CUSTOMER

July 2, 2014
By NICE STYLE
from SIMI VALEY, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"8/2013 PURCHASE MAZDA CX5 REALLY LIKE THE STYLE OF THE CAR. THE 1ST MONTHS EXCELLENT , ON THE 2ND MONTH OF HAVING THE CAR HAD ISSUES TOOK TO DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM SO THEY RESET THE COMPUTER HOPING IT TAKES CARE OF THE PROBLEM, THE N 1 MONTH LATER SAME ISSUE ALL THE HAPPENED TO TO THE DEALER THE Y CONTACT MAZDA TO MY SUPRISE
NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. WOW THE CAR IS ONLY 3 MONTHS OLD, MONTH GOES BY ON THE 5 MONTH AGAIN ISSUE WITH THE DISPLAY DASHBOARD NOT WORKING AS IS SUPPOSE TOO, TAKE TO THE DEALER THEY JUST RESET THE COMPUTER IT WORKS, NOW ON THE 9TH MONTHS OF HAVING THE CAR THE BLUETOOTH, NAVAGATION IS NOT WORKING AT ALL THE DEALER ARE TO ORDERING THE PART. THIS CAR WILL NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

New Mazda owner - Was SO excited......

September 11, 2013
By Bubbles
from Elmont, NY
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We purchased a 2014 CX-5. After owning it for 13 days it started to shake/shudder/temor/vibrate - what every you want to call it
I immediately brought it back to where I purchased it and after they kept it for almost a week, they said they fixed it. I was in the car 5 minutes and it was back. So it went back again.
Fast forward another 2 trips back and forth and now they tell me its a normal characteristic of the vehicle. - SERIOUSLY?
I took it to another dealer and they are telling me the same thing? SO BASICALLY - MAZDA BUILT A CAR THAT SHAKES WHEN ITS IN IDLE. That is the story they are going with.
I urge you not to purchase this vehicle. Beside the shake you do not get CLOSE TO THE ESTIMATED MILES PER GALLON. I'm lucky if I get 260 miles per tank. That's about 22 MPG (City/highway mix)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do not buy a CX-5

August 20, 2013
By mjb1822
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have owned my CX-5 for a year and have 34,000 miles on it. From the beginning I had a problem with a rattle that turned out to be my sunglass rattling in the sunglass holder in the top center console. THe holder doesn't have enough padding so the sunglasses rattle against the plastic and Mazda will not fix the problem.
No matter how conservatively I drive I don't get anywhere near the gas mileage they advertise.
The transmission seeks for a gear when going up a hill.
The passenger compartment is loud when on the highway.
The bluetooth has very limited functions.
The XM radio has a log delay when changing stations.
The customer service from Mazda is terrible. I have gotten better customer service from GM and they were pretty bad.
This is my first and last Mazda!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

September 1, 2014
By tree
from Bucks County PA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"For over a year I had been looking to purchase a new car. I was torn between Subaru and Mazda. I did a lot of research and spent hours reading reviews and test driving both makes. I chose Mazda because I was not comfortable with the CVT in the Subaru. I purchased an AWD 2014 CX-5 touring in April with almost 11,000 miles on it. I love the body style, the soul red paint and the handling but am disappointed with the gas mileage and quality of the interior. About a month ago, I noticed a crack in the plastic below the shifter trim, I don't know if it was the heat or if it was cracked before I purchased the car and it had been glued back together, either way, I had not noticed it before and you can not miss it. Since I had purchased an extended warranty, and the car had less then 12,000 miles on it, I took it to the dealer only to find out that trim is not covered under any warranty. Last week I noticed that the front driver seat is already starting to fray where the seat and back meet. ( I am under 5' tall and weigh less than 120 lbs so I shouldn't be putting too much stress on the fabric.)
The carpet throughout the entire vehicle is very cheap.The plastic scratches easily. Please really look at the interior of the car and pay attention to the plastic, trim, fabric and carpeting. When people ask how I like my new car, it saddens me not to be able to say I love it. I would not have purchased this car if I had paid more attention to the detail/quality of the interior. The interior of my Ford explorer with 130,000 miles is in better condition than my brand new car. I don't think it will last 130,000 miles, I just hope it lasts 5 years until the car is paid off.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Beware of this Potential Security Issue CX-5

June 14, 2014
By Beware Security Issue
from Simi Valley, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"You will never ask this question (I never did) but it is a huge issue for me. While standing near the car it is impossible to lock the trunk. You must walk 10' away and then it will automatically lock. REALLY!! How do you know it will always do this. I have had sensors go bad many times. Are you going to lay down your key 10' away from you car in the parking lot walk back and check the trunk. I think not. Now I am going to have to take the car to a body shop and see if a lock with a key can be installed. I do not feel secure shopping and leaving my possessions (IPad or whatever) in the back of this care and depending on Mazda's electronics to work forever to lock the trunk. This is a bad, bad design and I would not have purchased the car if I had any idea it worked this way. There are no other options believe me I have checked."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Highway gas mileage is terrible

June 8, 2014
By Don't Buy This car
from Allen TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The highway gas mileage does NOT even come close to what they say. In fact, the highway mileage is LESS than the city mileage. I have never ever had a car that did not get at least 3 miles a gallon better than city. Not this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's JUST okay

February 19, 2014
By gymgirl78
from king george, va
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"At first I was excited to be getting this, but after driving this around for about a month now I've changed my mind.
Some major things to point out. It doesn't seem to be getting very good gas mileage. Now, I know that it's an SUV. However, it seems like I'm fueling up so much more now. I'm not traveling a whole lot, mostly highway with some city miles. I miss manual transmission, but they didn't have one that came up with bluetooth! It has a back up camera, but no sensors to warn you when you are close to an object?! A couple of minor things to point out. The gas pedal seems to be lower to the floor than what I'm used to, but that might be because I'm short, but still, why does it need to lower than the brakes? Then another annoying thing is that it's defaulted to have the temperature gauge in celsius. So you have to refer to the owner's manual to change it. Oh, and one more thing - if you have the air circulation set on feet/defrost or defrost, the inside air ventilation button doesn't work. It only works on other settings. Found that out the hard way. Maybe it's because technology has advanced and I'm just not used to it. I've always bought used cars.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bought a New Car for Reliabilty -- Didn't Get It

February 10, 2014
By Lee
from West Linn, Oregon
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought a 2014 Mazda CX-5 because I was planning a long trip and wanted a reliable car. What with all the good ratings, I thought I would get it. After just 1,500 miles and one week before my trip, the dang car wouldn't start. Called Roadside Assistance. They jumped it and I let it run for 30 minutes to charge it. An hour later, it was dead again. Tomorrow it's getting towed to the dealer. I am beyond disgusted. Found many online reports of battery problems. I also get only 23.6 mpg. Not good.
Huge headache.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great looking, still needs work

July 14, 2013
By carzcville
from Fairfax, VA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I own a 2014 Touring. The new engine is a big improvement over the 2013 - smooth with good power. The CX5 handles better than most SUVs, taking corners closer to car-like than others I test drove. It also gets excellent gas mileage compared to other SUVs. Fit and finish are excellent with comfortable cloth seats. The blind spot monitors and rearview camera are excellent safety features, and there is a good amount of trunk space with easy fold seats. However, the rear seat headrests should be able to tilt forward so the seats could fold all the way down without hitting and stopping on the front seats - this can only be done if the front seats are moved all the way forward as if the driver is well under 5' tall.. Otherwise the back seat headrests need to be removed to fold the seats all the way down.
While the CX5 has many positives, the problems I've noted since owning it take a lot away from this car and make me doubt I will keep it very long: the driver's window door ledge is at a right angle rather than rounded like most vehicles and is not well-padded making it extremely uncomfortable to rest my left arm while driving. Similarly, the center console/armrest is too low and not well-padded, making resting my right arm/elbow difficult. Since I am 6'1" and the steering wheel does not telescope very far out, this makes it fatiguing for tall drivers to have to have their arms outstretched all the time or have uncomfortable places to rest elbows. The base stereo speakers on the Touring model are awful - much worse than stock speakers on other cars I've owned. The projector headlights bounce far more than other cars and are distracting.
The CX-5 is a great looking SUV, but it needs work."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some Regrets

March 29, 2013
By Driver
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"In retrospect I wish I would have looked at some other cars and gone over this one more closely. I probably could have gotten a better deal form another dealer, but they are pretty popular now. The mileage is pretty good and driving by myself is fine, but if you have adults with you in the backseat it is awkward for them to get in and out. I wish Mazda would have taken away a little bit of the cargo area to make the back seat area better. Some of the interior plastics feel a little cheap too. Maybe it helps make the car lighter to get the better gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2014 CX5

March 4, 2013
By Crabmonster
from St George Utah
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I traded in my 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe for the new CX5, biggest mistake I made in a long time. Traded it in for better mpg but my 24 hours of owning it was not worth it. The ride home, 2 hours was a little rough and way too much wind noise, but my biggest problem was the seats. Everyone writes about how comfortable the seating is, but for me it was horrible. No matter how many positions I tried with the electric seats and the lumber support, I could not get comfortable. Around half hour into my trip, I had bad pain that ran from my butt to down by my knee, on the side. It got to be terrible where I had to get out and stand up. The seats also do not go back very far. I knew I made a mistake and drove back to Vegas the next day and traded it in for another 2013 Santa Fe. The ride to Vegas was the same, noise from the wind and loads of pain on my side. The CX5 really does not have much space to put things, even small storage in armrest and on the doors the way the storage is set up is pretty stupid, you can't even fit a little folder with your insurance card and reg. in it. Maybe I was just spoiled by the Santa Fe, even the layout on the dash is so much nicer. If you really want to try a roomy, very comfortable, very quiet cuv that rides like a Lexus, check out the 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Turbo. I took a beating on the two trade-ins, but it was well worth it to get back to a much better vehicle. For me, the CX5 did not belong in the same room as the Santa Fe, My Bad."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Below expectations

February 1, 2013
By sucker
from Newark, DE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I thought Mazdas were suppose to zoom zoom. This thing is the slowest tu&^d I have ever driven. I know the whole point of it is efficiency but come on. If I could take this suspension and put it in a highland sport it might be the most fun suv to drive. We choose this because we thought it was the best looking CUV and both car seats fit in the back ( I'm 6'4" and my 2 year old can sit behind me in his full size car seat, yes he kicks the nice leather)
Other reviews mention loud tires. We got the grand touring and I don't really have any problems with the noise. If you have ever driven a honda crv this sounds and accelerates kind of like that just better handling. the transmission is also annoying as heck in traffic.
But for a great looking fuel efficient car that can fit our little ones and is very comfortable with a sharp interior we couldn't find any better options for around 30k. If i could have afforded the Buick Enclave I probably would have gotten that."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

M Sport Adds Spice to a Solid Performer

July 7, 2014
By PF Westwood
from Boston, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The 2014 BMW 7 Series is a joy to drive and the M Sport package makes it a bit more stylish as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

brand loyalty - back to Mazda

May 28, 2014
By tamoshanter
from Baltimore
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"we've owned Mazda's since the 1990 protege, which lasted us over 260k miles; our 2000 626, which currently has 308k and still going strong. but in 2007, looking for a CUV and not liking the CX-7 (because a little too large and using premium gas) we regretfully bought at 2008 Nissan Rogue. It was comfortable, but CVT went out at 120k (and Nissan didn't want to cover it under their extended warranty because it was 4k over). paid $5k to repair, then last month, timing chain broke, with only 180k miles on it. so we went back to Mazda, now with their CX-5. got the AWD, touring model, with tech and sunroof/BOSE options. love it...comfortable, like all the little techie gadgets. only had it for 30 days, and already have almost 3000 miles on it - mixed hwy and city. 2.5L engine gives enough push for highway onramps and passing, back up camera helps me with perfect parallel parking, and stereo - with ipod and bluetooth Pandora, gives lots of options for the long highway drives. am hoping this one gives me at least 300k miles as well"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mazda cx5

May 1, 2014
By Meloandrews
from West Jordan, it
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Driver seat does not conform to my back like I'd like. Every time I drive the right side of my back hurts. Plus the Navigation does not work right in SLC, Ut. The Tom Tom gives out the directions wrong due to streets using numbers like #### south then #### West, city,state. It seems confused. So Im still use my Garman, I'm disappointed with this feature."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A responsive car with an excellent turning radiuo.

March 15, 2014
By Carlos
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We replaced our five year old Roque with a 2014 Mazda CX5. Immediately I noticed the CX5 is much more responsive. The transmission seems to react quickly and not wind out like the Roque. Turning is sharp and all the creature comforts are there. One has to read the manual however. The manual is the size of a phone book and full of the details you'll need to understand all the bells and whistles. My wife liked the storage arrangement in the Rogue better and I liked the slightly larger trunk space in the Rogue. All in all though, the willingness of the Madza dealer to negotiate much better than the other dealers made our decision easy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good car car ruined by road noise

March 13, 2014
By CX-5-Owner
from Edmonton, Ab, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unbelievable how noisy it is, on any road surface that isn't brand new.
That's a pity, otherwise the car is remarkable, especially steering and acceleration for its size and weight (2014 model with 184 HP).
The dashboard and controls should have been better designed, it seems that their design was left for a young team that tried to copy state-of-the-art cars and failed a little bit in everything.
Anyway, a good car that proved to be very confident during this winter: not a slightest skid or sign that it would go out of control.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bad begining good ending

February 24, 2014
By Cotoncandi33
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was coming from a 2011 Mazda 3 sport, I had my eye on the CX-5 since it came out. I test drove it and fell in love. The interior/ exterior is very attractive, the seats are comfortable, the radio has a very nice touch screen with compatible Pandora radio. the sound system is very good, which also goes for all Mazdas. Amazing on gas! I actually think the Cx-5 sport is better then the MAZDA 3 Sport, which sounds crazy but I only fill it up once every 2 weeks....So I had my brand new Black 2014 CX-5 sport AWD for a month then things started going down hill. When I would put my car in reverse, the switch it to drive I would actually stall out. After it happened about 4 times , I brought it back to the dealer. They told me it would take a couple days to run some tests, so I was given a rental car(2014 Mazda 3 Touring). On my way home from the dealer my rental car's check engine light came on. I called the dealer, I was told to bring it back the next day, which I did. A guy must had just turned the check light off and sent me back on my way. Later that day the check engine light came back on. I brought it back and I asked if my CX-5 was ready yet. They said yet we fixed it. The entire system had to be restarted and was told it worked perfectly now. I was now happy to be in my new car again. 2 days later the same problem I was having to begin with happened again. When I switched from reverse to drive it would stall out. The problem was not fixed. Brought it back to the dealer, was told they will work on the problem again and try to figure out what was wrong with it. They gave me a rental , this time it was a 2000 Mazda 3 hatchback. It was so loud/ embarrassing to drive around. I was so upset that i didn't have my car. I would call every day and ask the status .Finally after 8 days of it being in the shop one of the mechanics told me they were going to have to replace the transmission. The next day i went back in the dealer. I asked to see in manager. I explained the situation i was in.Basically i got them i give me a new car. Ended up getting the same model 2014 CX-5 sport AWD , with the blue tooth package but I got it in a nice silver color this time. I got the same price 375 a month ( that was only because they had to factor in the older lease i traded in when i first bough the car) 0 down payment.
Now I have had the car for over 7 months now. I got to drive it in the snow a lot so far. IT has good traction, easy to control. I haven't had a problem with this car so far. the only bad thing about this car so far is that the panels on the inside and outside fall off so easily, luckily i has found them every time, its an easy fix (just pop it back on) But in 15 degree weather its really annoying
Sorry for venting about my experience. Hopefully you don't get a lemon car.
Overall The 2014 Mazda CX-5 AWD is an amazing car that I enjoy driving every single day.=)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An overall good choice

February 3, 2014
By badlands17
from MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in a '11 Ford Escape Limited AWD for the '14 Mazda CX-5 GT AWD fully loaded in Sep, 2013 so this is after 4 mo of use. Overall, a good vehicle. Pickup is good, comparable to the V6in the Escape. Mileage is better, though not as good as some on here indicate. In town averaging 23-24 mpg. However, in winter cold, mileage has dropped to 20-21 mpg. Use of remote start in bitter cold for 10 minutes, mileage drops to 18-19. Sound system is good, but not as good as the system in the '11 Escape. Some on here have complained about the Bluetooth connection. I have been using Pandora and the system works fine. Unlike satellite radio (ie Sirius), Pandora is coming through your cellphone first, then to the onboard system. Any problems I have had are with my Android phone connection to Pandora, not with the system built into the vehicle. The winter rubber mats which came with the car (or as an option) are definitely worth getting.
Good points are: Appearance, pickup, around town mileage. Haven't had a chance for long highway trip to honestly evaluate highway mileage. The passing/change lanes warning system is a great feature except that when you put on your turn signal in an off highway situation, things like sign posts, etc. can trigger the alarm.
Needing improvement: Probably nitpicking here but, interior lighting is poor. The "glow" indicator for buttons on the door panel for windows, locks, etc and on the steering column do not exist making it difficult to find buttons in the dark. The "trunk light" is on a side panel so you don't get much light in the storage area. Storage is poorly designed. Door storage bins are built to hold 1 pint water bottles at an angle, useless for anything else. Cup holders are back to back instead of side to side making it a pain keeping track of drinks with a passenger. Center console is too low to rest your right arm on. Interior carpeting is inferior to what was in the '11 Escape. Front console storage area is useless as items are easily thrown out of it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Mazda_CX-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

first suv

January 27, 2014
By x sports car owner
from Los Angelas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The wife and I have owned mostly fast sporty cars. As I have aged I find comfort and economy more important. That is why we bought something more roomy and economical. So far we have enjoyed the CX-5. Quite and comfy the Grand Touring has just the right amount of a luxury feel without breaking the bank. We plan on this SUV being with us a long time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.