Customer Reviews for 2014_Subaru_Forester

2014_Subaru_Forester

Average Customer Rating:
4.406 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
89 of 106(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Review 1 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Subaru Boo Hoo

July 30, 2014
By Kboy111
from Columbus, Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this vehicle for my Mother because that was what she wanted. It got great reviews and Consumer Reports drooled all over it. I drove one, and for a little 4 cylinder with great mileage, it was very peppy. The CVT I, I think, gives it the mileage and acceleration it has relative to its size. It has substantial road noise on the highway(why don't companies put noise-dampening material in the wheel wells?). Overall, I quite liked it. Now the bad.; after purchasing, I find out there is a law suit against Subaru complaining of excessive oil-burning in the engine. Oil is getting past the rings and can cause damage to the o2 sensors and catalytic converter.Because of this I cannot recommend this vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best purchase I've ever made!

July 18, 2014
By The Best!
from Webster, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've only had my Subaru Forester a month and I'm so happy with it! It is a very peppy car. Very smooth riding. Love all the features. Lots of storage space. I've been looking for a year for this car. They are in high demand. Found it on cars.com. It's great to have the fog lights for night time driving. Sun roof for sunny days is a great feature. Totally love it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Perfect

July 7, 2014
By BillPosters
from Cleveland OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2014 Forester for almost a year now. Subaru has gotten most of the basics right: peppy performance, fun and safe to drive (especially in winter), great gas mileage, fantastic visibility, and an upgraded transmission (now CVT vs a 4-speed automatic in previous versions). Unlike some other Subaru models, the Forester has a manual rather than an electronic parking brake - - a big plus, in my opinion. Biggest disappointment: the navigation and backup camera screens are so tiny they are nearly unusable. Combined with a navigation system that is cumbersome and difficult to use, I generally use my iPhone for navigation. Also, the voice commands for using the bluetooth phone are non-intuitive and finicky, and the speed dial is unnecessarily difficult to access.
If Subaru would increase the size of the navigation and backup screens, upgrade and simplify the navigation and bluetooth systems, and get rid of the power rear lift gate (mine has failed several times), this car gets five stars.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

June 26, 2014
By East Coast Mike
from Omaha, NE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2014 Forester Limited with Eye Sight and Navagation. Everything I wanted in a car, this has, and then some. Comfortable, roomy, tight fit and finish, and just a fun car to drive. Had it for over a year, the the only issue was a small bracket lever on the sunroof decided to stop working and raise the air dam. No big deal, it was winter anyway! Good gas mileage when you keep it at 55-60mph, but where do you find those road? Get around 29mpg on the interstate doing 70mph. Just a really nice car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I'm doggone sure, Subaru paid for this to be rated

June 19, 2014
By 350 miles a day
from Texas
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my 2014 in late January of this year.
It is by far, bar none the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven on highways, country roads and brand new just got redone roads.
It hates curves. I live in an area with hills and snake curves. Never understood how people hit guard rails before this vehicle, now I get it.. I know how to drive into a curve, been doing it for years. This thing slides almost like it's hydroplaning.
Comfort, I haven't found a seat position in this vehicle that doesn't make my back hurt within 20 miles.
Is it safe, yes. I have a great deal with my insurance company because of it's safety rating.
Is Subaru helpful, pretty much NO! The dealership finally listened to me about my hood flapping around. Turns out it really did need to be tightened.
Customer service with Subaru through their 800 number is laughable. My dealership isn't much better.
Would I recommend this car to anyone? Not on your life."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Heating and A/C problems

June 3, 2014
By Back to the Dealer
from Westchester, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Purchased the car in the fall of 2013. When the cold weather came there was mediocre heat and limited defrosting. Returned to the dealer several times before they contacted SOA. SOA stated that there was a replacement thermostat to solve the problem.
Now its warm and the A/C doesn't work in traffic or at idle while in gear. Several visits to the dealer has now resulted in the dealer replacing the compressor. We will see if this works.
The quality of the interior is unremarkable with unfinished areas. This is my 5th Subaru and 4th purchased new. It will, most likely, be my last."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car We've Owned

May 29, 2014
By Fran
from Beverly, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car from IRA Danvers and Maria S. was our salesperson. We were interested in the Subaru Forester due to it's consumer reports rating of safety and reliability. It is everything that has been written about it. Maria was great as was the entire IRA Subaru staff. For once it was a pleasure buying experience. The entire staff was truly excited for us, including Mike, the finance guru. So happy with our purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great handling

May 16, 2014
By Red
from greenville, nc
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this car because of it's safety record and great ratings for a small SUV in consumer reports. Nice drive, pep, comfortable, handles great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

oil burner

May 16, 2014
By john
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Buyers Beware ! Constantly using oil between changes serviced every 5000 miles at Subaru dealer. Car is not abused. I buy extra oil at dealer to keep it full until next service. I constantly complain to dealer they tell me it's normal consumption they tell me some 2.5's consume oil and some don't. How can that be? Very disappointed. Will not buy another Subaru !"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worst Forester out of 4

May 15, 2014
By Steve
from Richmond, Va
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 4th Forester. The worst one. The steering is electric, not hydraulic. Provides very little feedback. Feels numb. The seats are stiff, the bottom doesn't tilt enough. The dashboard isn't centered in front of the steering wheel. I have a perfect view of the tach, the speedometer is hidden by my hand. Why no gauges? The odometer and gas gauge are hopeless. I have 16K miles and plan to trade before 20K. My last Forester was a dream car - I should have kept it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

suburu

May 10, 2014
By augie
from 94501
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"60,000 car for 35,000 great value great performance l love this car well thought out i sure you could improve on it but i don,t know were"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2014 Forester

May 7, 2014
By milmeteor
from Lancaster, Pa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a Forester Touring edition. Still getting use to the CVT transmission. Eye Sight option is a great feature. No more rubber timing belt to worry about, new Subaru's have a timing chain."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best safety features I have ever had on a car

April 25, 2014
By Rick
from Murphy,NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I highly recommend the Eye Sight option. The cruise feature wants you to use it all of the time, city or highway. Great head lights and radio. The navigation system is wonderful. The gas mileage is just as advertised. The transmission is so smooth, it is near impossible to tell when it changes gears. We live on a mountain, the four wheel drive is terrific.Love the fact that it has such a high safety rating. Would love the get the new 2015 Outback as a second vehicle. Our last Subaru was a 2002 Outback Legacy. Had it new since 2002. Wonderful vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seems rock solid

April 22, 2014
By Subared
from Eugene, Or
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a month ago for a 5000-mile road trip from Oregon to Texas and back. Got almost 31 mpg overall even though there was significant mountain driving along with brutal gale-force winds all through southern Wyoming. There were many times when I averaged over 34mpg when driving on mostly flat roads. Got as high as 37 mpg in some stretches. Note to readers, I drive just over 60 mph on the highways. If you are a leadfoot you will not get the mileage I got. I am disappointed that there is no temp or oil pressure gauge, just "idiot lights". Come on Subaru! I would also prefer a manual option to open the tailgate. I like the the ability to open it with my key fob but what if it malfunctions? The car seems incredibly well-built. The ride is stiff, definitely not cushy. If you like a mushy ride BUY AMERICAN."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Time Subaru Owner

April 21, 2014
By Amy
from Logan, UT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my very first Subaru and I love it. Some of my favorite features are the CVT, back up camera and the huge sun roof. It runs great, very smooth and quiet. Gets great gas mileage, couldn't be happier."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Subaru Knows How to Build to Last!

April 15, 2014
By I Luv My Subaru
from Lexington, KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has SPUNK & responds very well! It corners like a dream. The only things I would like that it doesn't have are easier stereo controls; keyless entry/start; and, seats that are cushier (but then I'd fall asleep). I liked the Subaru back in the 70s when it first hit America & I like it still--it has a lasting power that you don't find in most cars today!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my brand new car

April 15, 2014
By mamallama
from Baltimore , MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Since this is a new car, I can't speak to mileage or durability yet, but I fully expect it to excel in both. So far, I love everything about it except that there is no place for my pocketbook. The seat adjustments are great, the back up camera is great, the bluetooth is great, visibility throughout the car is great. It's an excellent car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most comfortable car I've owned

April 15, 2014
By New to SUV Market
from Redlands, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Let's talk about lumbar support. Once my husband and I started having back problems, good seats with good lumbar support became important. The driver's seat has adjustable lumbar support (in addition to 9 other adjusts). While the passenger's side isn't 10-way adjustable, it still features good lumbar support. The back seats recline as well. The seat warmers are closer to the lower back, rather than the actual seat or upper back, so it functions like a heating pad. Seat warmers are standard on all versions except the basic.
While the exterior is nothing to write home about, the interior functions well and is clearly designed for the driver. For example, the latch for the glove box is off-center towards the driver to make it easier for the driver to reach. The moon roof (standard on all models) is large so the passengers in the back seat can enjoy it.
The car has "pep" and handles really well. The turning radius is incredible for an SUV. I can easily make a U-turn on my street without having to do a three-point (and my street is narrow, having been built pre-1940s). Gas mileage is as advertised.
Absolutely no complaints about this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Made Car We've Owned

April 8, 2014
By Super Senior
from Atlanta GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We compared the Mazda and Honda small SUV'S and this one exceeded them all. Very comfortable seats, terrific window views, especially the rear back window for seeing objects as you back up and for on-coming traffic. It also has a very peppy engine, great turning ratio and very economical gas mileage (30 +/gal).
We've owned it for 30 days are really glad we purchased the Subaru Forester. This is our first Subaru but it won't be our last."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Subaru_Forester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 2nd Forester

April 1, 2014
By Safety First
from Canyon Country, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a 2001 forester with 257K + miles on it. It is still on the road. I use it as a work car. Just bought a new 2014 of the same model. We love the new Subaru. It's larger interior makes for a more pleasurable driving experience. With the optional sun roof it gives you the fun of the outdoors without the trouble of a rag top. The 4 wheel disk brake system is big improvement over the rear drums of the older model. It stops on a dime. The digital read out on the dash is slightly cumbersome to set. It takes some study and not very intuitive. The gas mileage is good from the get go. But slightly below what is advertised. Overall I love the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.