Customer Reviews for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat

2014_Volkswagen_Passat

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Review 1 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, almost great

April 19, 2014
By VW Newbie
from San Francisco, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having had the TDI SE with sunroof for about a month now, 3 things I really notice:
1. The DSG transmission is really a drag. It shifts hard, lurches really, from one gear to the next esp at lower speed. It's not at all like a regular automatic transmission. I suppose some people get used to it. but I notice it a lot. I wish VW had a CVT or regular automatic option, even if it gave up some mileage.
2. The steering is really firm - I constantly feel like the car doesn't want to turn - I have to put way more effort into turning it than in my other cars.
3. The suspension is also very firm - firmer than needed in a big sedan. Wish it were a little more forgiving like a Camry or Altima.
All that being said, the interior design is great, quality seems good, but there are a few small rattles here and there. When my lease expires I don't think I'll stay with VW unless there's a model that doesn't have these issues. Good luck.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 Passat TDI SEL

April 12, 2014
By Jimbo
from Louisville, Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Owned the car for 7 months now and 7k miles. Roomy vehicle, better than the Volvo S80 we traded in. Mileage is great 38 mpg overall and 42 mpg at 80+ mph on the highway, 48 mpg at 73 mph.
The only issue we have had is the tan seats with the suede like inserts. They have a blue tint to them from our jeans."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost there

April 9, 2014
By skip hard to please
from Foristell, Mo.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall I like the car quite a bit. The new 1.8 turbo has good power but turbo lag occurs occasionally. Gas mileage is between 30 and 34 combined city and highway. Comfort and ride are good but arm rest not in a good position. I have had it a little over two months and have put on 2200 miles. I get quite a few compliments on the looks of the car but it still is missing a little something to make it great car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car

April 4, 2014
By familyrosa
from Edison, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love my new Passat. Couldn't be happier for the price & the status of car it works just well for me. Kids love it too because there is plenty of room for them. My husband is 6ft4in & he can drive it w/out any issues of feeling cramped & he can sit in back seat & has plenty of room if needed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TDI SE Pretty Good but Things to Consider

April 3, 2014
By JLoo
from Pacifica, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Generally a good car and I'm happy with it. Just a few comments that potential buyers may want to consider. The diesel engine, though clean and quieter that other diesels, is still a diesel, and has that distinctive diesel clacky sound mainly at low speeds. I suggest test driving it with the windows down and driving at low speeds or up hills. Also, there's a slight diesel smell that follows the car when I pull it into my garage. In hindsight I might have preferred the regular engine and given up the additional 6 mpg had I really noticed these things. Also, the Passat is a pretty big car - bigger than some other mid-sized sedans. You might want to also check out the Jetta. I wish I had, but that being said, I do love the quality, the stereo, and the highway driving performance. Also, as CR notes, the transmission is a little quirky at low speeds, but not a big deal. Good luck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful styling

March 25, 2014
By retired
from Pacifica, California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Car drives and handles beautifully, comfortable and roomy on a long drive. Interior layout is well designed and all controls are within easy reach of driver's position. Very large trunk and good all around visibilty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent car for the value!

March 22, 2014
By New VW Owner
from Long Beach, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am new to the VW family! I love driving my car! It is comfortable, sporty and great on mileage! Do not sleep on this car. It has many features that are such a joy to have in your car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great mileage, good value

March 20, 2014
By TDI fan
from Washington, DC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my fourth Passat but my first TDI, and so far I'm impressed. Unlike the old '77 Mercedes 240D diesel that I learned to drive in, this diesel is clean, quiet, and can more than "get out of it's own way." By far the best part is getting 36 MPG in mostly city driving, and close to 50 MPG on the highway. Compared that to the 24 MPG that the 2.0T gasoline Passat was getting, and I'm saving about $100 each month on fuel. Otherwise the car is comfortable, handles well, and the back-up camera is a useful feature. My only complaints are the "mushy" brake pedal (the brakes work fine but don't seem as responsive as what I'm used to from the old Passat) and lack of plastic trim at the bottom of the doors and below. I'm worried about the paint down there getting chipped and scuffed up by rocks and other road debris. The heater also seems to take an unusually long time until it blows warm air on cold mornings, but at least the seat warmers heat up very quickly."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 Volkswagen Passat TDI SEL Automatic: 3 Month

February 16, 2014
By jones19
from Dallas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Researching The Cost: I researched and test drove many vehicles, including Ford Fusion Hybrid, Lincoln MKZ Hybrid, Lexus Hybrids, Honda Hybrids and even some fuel efficient Buicks. I considered that if I was going to get a car that had great gas mileage, then the sticker price had also better make sense. I didn’t want to pay an extra $8k for a car that would save me only $2k in fuel costs. So, it had to make sense base upon sticker price, residual value and fuel economy. The Passat came out ahead because the car was less expensive than the others (even loaded), and had an acceptable high fuel economy. Although, I did have to factor in that it uses Diesel, which is generally about 60cents more per gallon. Nonetheless, after crunching the numbers of sticker price vs. residual value, and adding in all fuel costs, the Passat was the winner.
Fuel Economy: I have about 7K miles on my Passat after three months. I track all my fuel ups with an iPhone app, and I watch my mileage closely while traveling. I’ve had 13 fill ups so far, and my average mileage has been right about 40MPG. I travel about 80% on highways, ranging in speeds of stop-n-go-traffic to 81MPH. I sometimes will get much higher MPG, such as the low 50’s, if it’s a nice mild, weather day. So far, I’ve driven the car only in the Winter, so I haven’t seen how it performs in the warm or hot temperatures. I will say that I generally see an MPG of about 36-38MPG for the first 15-20 miles of my trips on the highway, but then I see the numbers rise as the trip gets longer…such as 53MPG. I get better fuel economy when I drive without the cruise, and when I stay below 77MPH. Overall, I think it’s fair to expect 40MPG, overall.
Drive: I love the drive of the TDI Passat. In fact, I find myself anxious to drive it to work. It’s much sportier than anything I’ve ever owned. I easily accelerate past anyone on the highway or at a traffic light, without even trying. In fact, when I first began driving the car, I had somewhat teach myself some restraint, because it was just to easy to exert the power. This is NOT a sports car, however. It does extremely well in straight lines, but doesn’t handle sharp corners/turns with grace.
GPS: The GPS was also a fairly important part of picking a car to me. However, I didn’t truly appreciate this cars GPS until using it for a while. The GPS is very user-friendly and quick. I was disappointed to see that it didn’t have voice recognition input, but once I began using the input screens, I realized that inputting was much faster on the Passat, than speaking on the others. I very much like the ability to input the name of a business that I’m searching for, and it gives me several options to choose from. Then, with a push a button, I can set the destination to this business, or I can even place a call to them…perhaps to reserve a table, or to check their hours of operations. Very handy!
Stereo: Well, let me tell you, the Fender system rocks the house. Hands down the best audio system that I’ve heard in a car. The sound is clean, crisp and truly envelopes the listener. When I first hear music over the system, I thought a few times that was hearing a new mix of an old, familiar song, but it wasn’t. Instead, the system just makes the music sound better, and you hear more notes. I generally listen to Sirius XM (you can program 24 pre-sets on the Passat...Wow). But, it also has a hard drive, CD player, Bluetooth and SD Card reader.
CONS: I wish the computer graphics were a little more updated and crisp, especially for the instrument cluster. Honestly, I like the body style of the CC better than the Passat. If they made a TDI CC, then I might just switch. I feel that the leather appointments are fairly scarce, and the plastic seems a little cheap. I wish they would equip these cars with a full size tire in the trunk instead of the donut. There is too long of a delay between starting the car and the rearview camera coming on. I wish the car had backup sensors.
Bottom Line: If I had to do it all over again, I would still buy the Passat without hesitation. The fuel economy is great, the drive is awesome, the entertainment is superior, the GPS is the best and it’s very, very spacious. I just hope the next generation has a more modern, sexy look."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very comfortable car

December 14, 2013
By happy VW owner
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the '12 Passat back in April of '12, and have been happy with it ever since. I bought the SEL model with Nav and heated seats. I bought the gasoline model. I had traded in another car with very poor rear seat room. This Passat has incredible rear seat room, and trunk space. There have been 4 people on some trips, and everyone in the back seat is very happy with the leg room. My wife and I have taken a couple of fairly long trips, and we have been very comfortable. I would buy another Passat. In fact, I'm looking at the '14 with CARNET, and back up camera."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passat 3.6 SE

December 6, 2013
By css01
from VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had this 2012 unit 1.5 years after Maxima, Volvo T6, bmw, subes. This Passat 3.6 works great as a low visibility Audi. The 3.6 liter, in a big chunk of sheet metal, can move. It begs to go faster, the higher the speed limit, without fail. Even with 5 passengers, fully loaded, going uphill at 80, this "kaiser kruizer" has plenty of upward poke. I know its near 300HP, and no big deal nowadays, but its impressive for the SIZE of the vehicle. Add about 21-22 city/ 26-28 hwy, i go 450-480 miles on a full tank. I like the low visibility but presence on the road. All works very well.
I bought this car to haul stuff too, and it has swallowed everything with a cavernous trunk and impressive leg room for LARGE americans and germans to home depot/lowes building projects.
Here are my few "challenge" points. Be careful choosing spec between SE and SEL versions. The NAV in the SE is a bit lackluster, versus the different NAV unit in the SEL! Beware! This SE unit NAV MAP DOES NOT SCROLL, so you cannot find alternative routes in a pinch during jam ups. Backup camera should perhaps be standard, as these passats sport a sizeable buttocks. I have found reversing without the camera to be like driving a truck. Use the side mirrors. Overall, electronic features still lag behind japanese (on price point). If you want those electronic features go with SEL version. Although, my hands free works very well on VW SE.
The "leatherette" is ok even for a leather guy. Good durable cool material.
VW has an issue with headlight assembly on these new passats, but that seems to be the only item breaking and they service them without fail. It probably was corrected after 2012.
Finally, there is plenty of front wheel torque on SE 3.6 liter version, and we shall see how the VW tire selection fares in snow and ice. My guess is, i will need snow tires from just rain sampling.
Great car overall, great handling and speed for size."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Serious automobile

November 2, 2013
By Greystokes
from Elgin, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned only 1 other VW, a bus in 1970. This is like a fresh breeze. Great handling, outstanding mileage, extremely spacious and comfortable backseat, awesome Fender stereo system and very helpful and friendly VW Carnet folks to help with navigation (downloads directions directly to the navigation system). Just went from Austin, TX to Grand Island, Nebraska and back and averaged 45.3 mpg over the entire trip. Turbocharged diesel engine is wonderful, almost too peppy and I simply set the cruise on 75 (2100 rpm) and let it run. Great trip - wonderful car. Would recommend to anyone wishing to travel in comfort and get great mileage at the same time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most comfortable car I've owned

October 14, 2013
By Home-momma
from Northern Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has a very smooth, comfortable ride. The interior is roomy, back seat lots of leg room. MPG is awesome.
Stylish exterior. Love it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Volkswagen_Passat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent in every way

October 7, 2013
By marcipassat
from Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Passat. The first one was a 2005 that was still going strong a month ago when I bought this one. No disappointment here and several improvements. The backing-up camera is great. Digital bells and whistles like Sirius, gps, on star equivalent. Same hefty feeling, easy handling, comfortable driver's seat, durable and attractive "leatherette". Great purchasing experience at the dealer. Purchase completed within 3 hours. Best of all, with the trade-in I paid less for this car. What's not to like?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.