Customer Reviews for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt

2014_Chevrolet_Volt

Average Customer Rating:
4.531 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
30 of 32(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Review 1 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far / So good

September 17, 2014
By bigfish4545
from Cape Coral, Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my 2014 Chevy Volt about two months now. Purchased new from a local Chevy dealer. When I purchased the car, the battery was completely depleted so I drove home on the gas engine. Averaged 38 MPG on this trip. I charged the car overnight and haven't used gas since. I traded in a 2011 Toyota Prius for this Volt and I must say the Volt is superior in every way starting with build quality. Chevy advertises 38 electric miles per charge but I am getting more than 40 miles per charge. I have gotten as high as 44 miles but not common. The car is much more responsive than the Prius, actually I would describe it as quick off the line. Fun to drive and sporty. Very quiet. I would prefer to get higher electric only miles but this car suites me well. I expect to buy gas not more than three times a year. I haven't owned this car for long but so far, I love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than expected !!!!!

September 13, 2014
By Soveriegn
from Cleveland Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I leased this to try out an electric car. I have owned lots of high end cars from Range Rovers to Porsche. I want a Tesla but decided to try this out for a bit to see if the thrill of Electric would disappear. Well I love it and enjoy every Mile !!!! The Range Rover and Audi sit in the garage most of the time now."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a homerun for GM

September 10, 2014
By Tim Tim
from Decatur, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I live in Michigan and bought my Volt on 11-22-13. Since purchasing the Volt I have put 23,000 miles on the vehicle, not a small number. The winter months truly have an impact on my average MPG numbers (winter is a killer on MPG). Since my purchase I'm averaging a lifetime of 65.6MPG; with the latest 13,200 miles giving me an average of 86MPG (honest numbers). I've only had to change my oil once and currently have a life expectancy of 78% on the newest filter - probably another 10,000 miles. The pickup and go is amazing, especially in the sport mode; so much so, it even made my 18 year old nephew smile. The vehicle has given me an education on the wastefulness of my prior driving habits. I find myself constantly striving to get to the next milestone. First it was 60MPG, then 65, then 70; I'm now strive to hit the 90MPG mark before my next oil change. Yes, I realize I'm paying to charge the vehicle every evening, about $1 to $1.50 per day increase in the electric bill. I can deal with that and share all that is good with the vehicle to all who will listen. Most are amazed when I tell them I'm currently at 86MPG. I have even charged multiple times at certain locations for free (free electric = free miles = free money - too cool). I find two negatives on the Volt. First, the back seats are tight. Accommodating my six year old has me moving the driver seat up - pinching even my leg room. Secondly, I wish GM would buy into the 440 charging technology (someone else has that market). I find it difficult locating 220 charging stations, but 440 charging is just a coffee shop away. Overall the Volt is an amazing vehicle and a true homerun for GM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Revolutionary

September 8, 2014
By pelicanglider
from New Orleans, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been reading about this car for months, and also other PHEVs and EVs, before I made my purchase. The electrified car is the way of our transportation future and I am a car nut who needs to know as much as possible about how they work and what are the advantages and disadvantages of each system. The Volt was the only car in my price range that "checked every box". Since purchasing my Volt two months ago, I don't know if I have ever been this amazed by any automobile. I found an article online on the development of the Volt and it read like a story on the space program in the 60s. The Volt is one, if not the, best engineered cars ever offered to the American public at any price. I have only driven European cars since 1992, but this car has the same quality and driving dynamics that I appreciated in those cars.
The Volt just works! This is a high performance car, but not in the traditional sense of high performance. It delivers EV energy economy but still offers the range of a traditional gasoline fueled automobile. That's been said too many times to count, but until you experience it, it's hard to appreciate. The Volt allows you to manage the way you use energy, letting you decide when to use gasoline and when to use electricity. To drive my previous car for 350 miles, it needed about 13.5 gallons of gasoline and those numbers are not terrible at all. But since I filled up the 9 gallon tank in the Volt, I have gone 1000 miles and only used 3.5 gallons! My commute to work is on the high side of typical at about 67 miles round trip. I charge up over night (full charge from zero battery costs about $1.70 at the rates charged by my utility) and then I top off at work just enough to get me home (about another $0.75). If I under estimate by a mile or so, the gasoline engine kicks to get me home. Comparing my cost to commute, I now pay $2.45/day for what use to cost $15.00/day.
But driving the Volt isn't just about how much money you save in fuel, there is also an undeniable sense of doing something for the greater good. I know my car is only one in a sea of single-driver, internal combustion cars and trucks, but the feeling is there every time I drive it. This car is revolutionary!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and Bad

September 3, 2014
By Scott
from Silver City NM
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have a 2012 with close to 40,000 miles. I love the car, but I have to give it less than a perfect score because GM refuses to do something about the lifeblood of the system. Almost everything that controls the car is run on the 12v battery, but when the car is plugged in they do not charge the 12v system. So if you are plugged in on a hot day, the system will be running the 12v drive battery cooler, but not charging the 12v battery. If you leave it for a long period, GM recommends that you disconnect the battery and make sure it stays between 14 degrees and 86 degrees. A plug-in vehicle should charge all it's batteries, not just the drive battery."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Car of the Future?

August 23, 2014
By Waited10yrsforGMshybrid
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good concept and smooth reliable drive. GM needs to extend the # of miles it will go on a full charge before switching to gasoline."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for the environment and pocketbook

July 15, 2014
By Dr. Ray
from Cerritos, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fits my situation, I drive 14 miles round trip to a commuter train, the almost 40 miles to a charge means I have an electric car most days, I est at max electric rate, it is less than $4 per charge. Since gas is well over $4 per gal, it equates to over 40 per gal. The charge time is long at 120V (12 plus hr at 8 amps) so it is worth while installing a 240V charging system. I have not done so yet, I just charge it over night.
But when I need to drive a greater distance, it seamless shifts to the the gas engine. The range is over 300 miles on a full battery and gas,"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Volt is the Best!

July 3, 2014
By I say Volt is the Best!
from Farmington Hills, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Chevy Volt is the best car I've had. I call this the 4 door corvette that uses no gas.
If you compare measurement specs between a 2002 Corvette and Chevy Volt they are very similar.
This lease is the second Volt.
These cars are easy to charge. Never have to worry as the almost 10 gallon gas tank will go another 400 miles.
Quiet, quick, well built.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun for a commuter

July 1, 2014
By 2ndcityvolt
from chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fun car, traded in a jaguar XK for this an not a moments regret. Have yet to use any gas on my 28 mile round trip daily commute.
The iPhone app from onstar is reason enough to buy this car... tells me when it's charged, preconditions interior temperature in my garage; what's not to like?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New favorite

June 23, 2014
By Nate
from Redding, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's a steal. Take the price, subtract the HUGE rebates ($10,000 in my state), subtract the fuel savings over the expected lifetime of the car, and it pays for itself. But it is n't just economical - it's FUN! I mean crazy fun! With a/c cranking and three people in the Volt, it rockets away from a stop to about 40mph. The technology is fabulous (as in, "I need to write fable about it") and it handles all kinds of things automatically, yet logically. I didn't like its appearance when I saw it online, but go see one in person, especially red. It's sporty and gets looks. Why would anyone buy a hybrid when this is available? They THINK the Volt costs more (no) and that it only gets 37 mpg (no, that is after 40 electric miles that cost 1/4 the gas miles). Most days I drive less than 4o miles and use no gas at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car ever

June 13, 2014
By Volt fan
from Nebraska
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had for one month. 900 miles so far and I've only used 1.5 gallons of gas. Total mpg is 504 so far. In town mpg is over 8,000. Whisper quiet and smooth. HIGHLY recommend this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

owen

June 7, 2014
By gm
from Yonkers, New York
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"lot of problem, not conforable in rear seat, hit a pot hole your head go though the roof, not fast enough in with the battery go dead fast, , can not go far with the battery in the car since the a/c on and four people in the car. getting the car repair, local machine shop do not know how to work on these cars, gm dealer rip you off for thousand of dollars.and keep the cars in the dealer shop for weeks at a time. the car is just junk. do not buy this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm shocked.

June 1, 2014
By jasbeagle
from Metro Detroit
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm 62 and retired years ago. Up until now I had a Buick Rendezvous and a little Saturn. I still have them both but let my daughter and her husband use the Saturn. I thought it was time to get a new car as the Buick is 11 years old. It drinks gas and just driving here and there with it cost me a lot. I test drove the Volt and fell in love with this vehicle. I purchased it May 19th and I'm still learning how to use all the functions. It drives and handles so well it's hard not to love it. After about 2 weeks now of driving this I am getting a 240 charger for the garage to speed up the charge time. This is the best car I've ever purchased for my needs. I've only heard the engine start up because the engine hadn't been started in so long the car asked if it could start it for 10min. I pressed ok and it started and i could hardly hear it. I had to get out of the car to listen to it. I'm really very happy that I purchased this car and would recommend this car to anyone. You won't be sorry."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The gas savings pay for the car - $5500 so far

May 8, 2014
By CA Dude
from Danville, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just crossed the 40,000 odometer reading on my Volt. With my average mpg being 84, I’ve saved approximately $5500 in gas over my previous 24 mpg Lexus . Said differently, at this rate, the Volt's gas savings alone will have paid for the car in 5 years. Add this to the HOV Lane sticker and great reliability, and I have to say this is the best car I've owned (and its the first American car I've had)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vin53805

May 7, 2014
By Corvette owner
from Elizabeth Co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been looking at this car for 4 years . We moved 32 miles from my wife's job, so we now needed a commuter car. The 38 EV range always concerned me I wanted at least 50 EV. We purchased a 2014 Volt. I got 51 EV miles going to Costco and back. I drive a Corvette, so I am not considered a conservative driver. My wife is getting closer to 58 EV miles. On my drive of 56 miles roundtrip 51 were EV miles or 90%. We have put 185 miles on the car in 3 days, and our EV miles are at 97%. My wife is able to charge at work, after the drive of 32 miles home still had a 25 EV range when she got home. The cars ability to recapture energy on braking, and down hill is pretty amazing. My wife said the other morning a Tahoe and Camaro RS both passed her on the way to work, and she was right beside them at the light, before they got to work. This is a great car, and has gotten a bad rap. The salesman said he filled the tank with gas, folks I didn't buy the car to use gas. I have a Corvette for that, and it burns gas and rubber very well! LOL"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

havnt got it but want it .

April 19, 2014
By tour truck driver
from christiana,tn
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I do not own the volt but very interested in purchasing one i do wish to get rid of gas cars i own to move into future tech. As a mechanic i am all for technology of tomorrow , and wish to promote these products as i do travel across america and canada now on country music tours that i do drive for in my job . I am looking forward to trading in my 2011 dodge journey , which is a great car but want tomorrows car . Thank you GM .OF WITCH I DO OWN A 1957 CHEVY BELAIR 2DR HARDTOP . so i love My GM cars .."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ive Car Ever Owned

April 15, 2014
By Happy_Volt_Driver
from Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had a lot of cars in my life ranging from economy cars to mustangs to a cadillac CTS. This is by far the best car Ive ever owned. Its doesnt have a huge amount of power, but it isnt slow either. You wont find yourself complaining about off the line power as the is plenty of torque. That being said, this car is extremely fun to drive. It drives as good if not better then the CTS or Audi I owned in the past. Its quiet, comfortable and of course functional. I have driven 825 miles without stopping at the gas station, while I was getting 17 mpg with my last CTS AWD. Zero complaints here, HIGHLY recommend."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First time new Chevy purchase

April 13, 2014
By alster
from Northwestern Oregon
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased 2014 Volt new Oct 2013. Lifetime mpg is 158 with 7,300 miles. In pure gasoline mode mpg is 37-40 mpg. Last time I drove 150 mile round trip gas engine only mode was 44.6 mpg. Premium gas is required but I have used regular 87 octane gas and noticed no difference in mpg. Premium has a longer tank life and that is why I use it as sometimes if you drive only on electric gas can stay in your tank for months.
My wife drives round trip to work 32 miles and she has driven nearly 600 miles and never used a drop of gas. I believe the Volt is the most underrated car out there. Even in gas engine mode it still get better gas mileage than many so called economy cars and youe still have the ability to drive all week to work and not use a drop of gas.
Great car so far, and I recommend it....."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completely in love

April 7, 2014
By ddsy430
from Tacoma, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been researching new cars for quite a few months. I love my little suzuki and it gets great gas mileage, but it was time to upgrade. I was really leaning towards a hybrid, but they all look very weird to me. I really wanted a sexy little car that could still fly on the highways but get good gas mileage. That's how I came across the Volt. Honestly, I was a little worried at first, as it was an electric vehicle, and I do occasionally (though not often) make long trips to visit family. However the salesperson assured me I would not be disappointed. So, after looking at the car online and at the dealership several times, I finally took the plunge. Best decision ever. I love, love, love this car! So far, I have only had to fuel up once, and that was because I made a 600 mile round trip drive. Other than that I have been strictly on electric. I am going to be saving hundreds of dollars each month on gas. I love that is has the gas back-up so I don't have to experience range anxiety.
It has great get-up-and-go, some amazing features (I'm still discovering them), and is comfortable and practical. It's a sexy little car, and I feel sexy driving it, especially knowing that I am doing the environment a favor at the same time!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

coolest car ever!

April 5, 2014
By Gringo
from Long Beach Ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect car for commuting to work. I have a 20 mile commute and charge at work. Charge at home maybe twice a week. After one month avg a whopping 2000+ mpg!!!! My saving in gas almost covers my payment!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.