Customer Reviews for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt

2014_Chevrolet_Volt

Average Customer Rating:
4.482 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
25 of 27(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Review 1 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Car of the Future?

August 23, 2014
By Waited10yrsforGMshybrid
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good concept and smooth reliable drive. GM needs to extend the # of miles it will go on a full charge before switching to gasoline."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for the environment and pocketbook

July 15, 2014
By Dr. Ray
from Cerritos, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fits my situation, I drive 14 miles round trip to a commuter train, the almost 40 miles to a charge means I have an electric car most days, I est at max electric rate, it is less than $4 per charge. Since gas is well over $4 per gal, it equates to over 40 per gal. The charge time is long at 120V (12 plus hr at 8 amps) so it is worth while installing a 240V charging system. I have not done so yet, I just charge it over night.
But when I need to drive a greater distance, it seamless shifts to the the gas engine. The range is over 300 miles on a full battery and gas,"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Volt is the Best!

July 3, 2014
By I say Volt is the Best!
from Farmington Hills, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Chevy Volt is the best car I've had. I call this the 4 door corvette that uses no gas.
If you compare measurement specs between a 2002 Corvette and Chevy Volt they are very similar.
This lease is the second Volt.
These cars are easy to charge. Never have to worry as the almost 10 gallon gas tank will go another 400 miles.
Quiet, quick, well built.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun for a commuter

July 1, 2014
By 2ndcityvolt
from chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fun car, traded in a jaguar XK for this an not a moments regret. Have yet to use any gas on my 28 mile round trip daily commute.
The iPhone app from onstar is reason enough to buy this car... tells me when it's charged, preconditions interior temperature in my garage; what's not to like?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New favorite

June 23, 2014
By Nate
from Redding, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's a steal. Take the price, subtract the HUGE rebates ($10,000 in my state), subtract the fuel savings over the expected lifetime of the car, and it pays for itself. But it is n't just economical - it's FUN! I mean crazy fun! With a/c cranking and three people in the Volt, it rockets away from a stop to about 40mph. The technology is fabulous (as in, "I need to write fable about it") and it handles all kinds of things automatically, yet logically. I didn't like its appearance when I saw it online, but go see one in person, especially red. It's sporty and gets looks. Why would anyone buy a hybrid when this is available? They THINK the Volt costs more (no) and that it only gets 37 mpg (no, that is after 40 electric miles that cost 1/4 the gas miles). Most days I drive less than 4o miles and use no gas at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car ever

June 13, 2014
By Volt fan
from Nebraska
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had for one month. 900 miles so far and I've only used 1.5 gallons of gas. Total mpg is 504 so far. In town mpg is over 8,000. Whisper quiet and smooth. HIGHLY recommend this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

owen

June 7, 2014
By gm
from Yonkers, New York
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"lot of problem, not conforable in rear seat, hit a pot hole your head go though the roof, not fast enough in with the battery go dead fast, , can not go far with the battery in the car since the a/c on and four people in the car. getting the car repair, local machine shop do not know how to work on these cars, gm dealer rip you off for thousand of dollars.and keep the cars in the dealer shop for weeks at a time. the car is just junk. do not buy this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm shocked.

June 1, 2014
By jasbeagle
from Metro Detroit
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm 62 and retired years ago. Up until now I had a Buick Rendezvous and a little Saturn. I still have them both but let my daughter and her husband use the Saturn. I thought it was time to get a new car as the Buick is 11 years old. It drinks gas and just driving here and there with it cost me a lot. I test drove the Volt and fell in love with this vehicle. I purchased it May 19th and I'm still learning how to use all the functions. It drives and handles so well it's hard not to love it. After about 2 weeks now of driving this I am getting a 240 charger for the garage to speed up the charge time. This is the best car I've ever purchased for my needs. I've only heard the engine start up because the engine hadn't been started in so long the car asked if it could start it for 10min. I pressed ok and it started and i could hardly hear it. I had to get out of the car to listen to it. I'm really very happy that I purchased this car and would recommend this car to anyone. You won't be sorry."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The gas savings pay for the car - $5500 so far

May 8, 2014
By CA Dude
from Danville, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just crossed the 40,000 odometer reading on my Volt. With my average mpg being 84, I’ve saved approximately $5500 in gas over my previous 24 mpg Lexus . Said differently, at this rate, the Volt's gas savings alone will have paid for the car in 5 years. Add this to the HOV Lane sticker and great reliability, and I have to say this is the best car I've owned (and its the first American car I've had)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vin53805

May 7, 2014
By Corvette owner
from Elizabeth Co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been looking at this car for 4 years . We moved 32 miles from my wife's job, so we now needed a commuter car. The 38 EV range always concerned me I wanted at least 50 EV. We purchased a 2014 Volt. I got 51 EV miles going to Costco and back. I drive a Corvette, so I am not considered a conservative driver. My wife is getting closer to 58 EV miles. On my drive of 56 miles roundtrip 51 were EV miles or 90%. We have put 185 miles on the car in 3 days, and our EV miles are at 97%. My wife is able to charge at work, after the drive of 32 miles home still had a 25 EV range when she got home. The cars ability to recapture energy on braking, and down hill is pretty amazing. My wife said the other morning a Tahoe and Camaro RS both passed her on the way to work, and she was right beside them at the light, before they got to work. This is a great car, and has gotten a bad rap. The salesman said he filled the tank with gas, folks I didn't buy the car to use gas. I have a Corvette for that, and it burns gas and rubber very well! LOL"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

havnt got it but want it .

April 19, 2014
By tour truck driver
from christiana,tn
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I do not own the volt but very interested in purchasing one i do wish to get rid of gas cars i own to move into future tech. As a mechanic i am all for technology of tomorrow , and wish to promote these products as i do travel across america and canada now on country music tours that i do drive for in my job . I am looking forward to trading in my 2011 dodge journey , which is a great car but want tomorrows car . Thank you GM .OF WITCH I DO OWN A 1957 CHEVY BELAIR 2DR HARDTOP . so i love My GM cars .."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ive Car Ever Owned

April 15, 2014
By Happy_Volt_Driver
from Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had a lot of cars in my life ranging from economy cars to mustangs to a cadillac CTS. This is by far the best car Ive ever owned. Its doesnt have a huge amount of power, but it isnt slow either. You wont find yourself complaining about off the line power as the is plenty of torque. That being said, this car is extremely fun to drive. It drives as good if not better then the CTS or Audi I owned in the past. Its quiet, comfortable and of course functional. I have driven 825 miles without stopping at the gas station, while I was getting 17 mpg with my last CTS AWD. Zero complaints here, HIGHLY recommend."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First time new Chevy purchase

April 13, 2014
By alster
from Northwestern Oregon
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased 2014 Volt new Oct 2013. Lifetime mpg is 158 with 7,300 miles. In pure gasoline mode mpg is 37-40 mpg. Last time I drove 150 mile round trip gas engine only mode was 44.6 mpg. Premium gas is required but I have used regular 87 octane gas and noticed no difference in mpg. Premium has a longer tank life and that is why I use it as sometimes if you drive only on electric gas can stay in your tank for months.
My wife drives round trip to work 32 miles and she has driven nearly 600 miles and never used a drop of gas. I believe the Volt is the most underrated car out there. Even in gas engine mode it still get better gas mileage than many so called economy cars and youe still have the ability to drive all week to work and not use a drop of gas.
Great car so far, and I recommend it....."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completely in love

April 7, 2014
By ddsy430
from Tacoma, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been researching new cars for quite a few months. I love my little suzuki and it gets great gas mileage, but it was time to upgrade. I was really leaning towards a hybrid, but they all look very weird to me. I really wanted a sexy little car that could still fly on the highways but get good gas mileage. That's how I came across the Volt. Honestly, I was a little worried at first, as it was an electric vehicle, and I do occasionally (though not often) make long trips to visit family. However the salesperson assured me I would not be disappointed. So, after looking at the car online and at the dealership several times, I finally took the plunge. Best decision ever. I love, love, love this car! So far, I have only had to fuel up once, and that was because I made a 600 mile round trip drive. Other than that I have been strictly on electric. I am going to be saving hundreds of dollars each month on gas. I love that is has the gas back-up so I don't have to experience range anxiety.
It has great get-up-and-go, some amazing features (I'm still discovering them), and is comfortable and practical. It's a sexy little car, and I feel sexy driving it, especially knowing that I am doing the environment a favor at the same time!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

coolest car ever!

April 5, 2014
By Gringo
from Long Beach Ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect car for commuting to work. I have a 20 mile commute and charge at work. Charge at home maybe twice a week. After one month avg a whopping 2000+ mpg!!!! My saving in gas almost covers my payment!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

22000 mils in my VOLT and still love it

March 21, 2014
By Max
from St Louis
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The volt is technically way ahead of any thing ells
My average gas mileage is 270 miles / gal of gas
The car exits me every day, and the savings over 10 years are apparent. It is fun fun fun to drive.
This technology will put a lid on gas usage, it is just 20 years ahead of its time.
Last but not least I expect the car to last 20 years for me, even with a partial depleted battery it will run just fine. This in itself is a very green approach.
Cheers
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this car

March 5, 2014
By Jim
from st louis mo
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first winter driving the Volt and I'm amazed at how well it handles in the snow. It comes standard with antilock brakes, traction control and stability control. An electric motor works well with traction control because an electric motor reacts instantly to changes in current. It goes in the snow better than any front wheel drive vehicle I've owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Volt Rocks!!

February 9, 2014
By tripowergto
from Rockin' Rowland PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Volt driving experience is very normal overall, much like your typical everyday sedan. Performance while running on generator power is better then anticipated and electric drive torque is exceptional."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 Volt

January 21, 2014
By George
from Mission, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I live inMission,TX 78572 It's a small town far way to big city. I had made a research about all Hybrid and EV. "Tesla" : too expensive car ,no enough charge station from my town to Houston or San Antonio.Nissan leaf: Bad review with it's battery ,Nissan doesn't care about its issues,It can run 100miles or less, problem with long trip.Toyota Prius: It may be a best choice but poor interior and bad stability.Volt : No ideal before have a test drive!!
I went to dealer only for test drive the Volt , I believe It is my best choice because my daily drive is about 35miles.But wanna know how will I feel with this car drive and end up trade-in my 2008 BMW 528i . Nice car,I love it.
I only spent 3.3gallon in 900 miles in my first 20days with Volt. This include 2 trips (100 miles and 60 miles).
It is the best one in market for now.
Great leather seat and streering wheel feel so good.
The power streering is too soft compare with BMW.
If GM can improve more mileage range that will be wonderfull.
I made great choice to have aVolt in my garage
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Chevrolet_Volt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Techie

January 14, 2014
By Techie
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Most technologically advanced car out there. I love it. The design is beautiful and love getting the first 38 miles that I drive gas free."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.