Customer Reviews for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500

2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500

Average Customer Rating:
4.453 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
45 of 53(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Review 1 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable vechile i hacve owned.

October 4, 2014
By Bigo
from Monroe, La
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mooth riding confort. Features good. I like sprayed in truck bed. Need truck for hauling off items at home of no value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Truck

October 1, 2014
By biery
from Fort Worth
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I bought a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado at NET DIRECT in Fort Worth, Texas off of 35 and Golden Triangle.
I know we had an awesome experience and we received a great deal on our trade in.
They are very friendly. if you are looking for truck with a lift kit I would try NET DIRECT!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riding High

September 27, 2014
By Ceejay
from West Palm Beach, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I purchased a 2014 Silverado High Country recently and we've been enjoying the ride ever since. It is the most luxurious truck that we have ever seen. It has all of the options we wanted including the sun roof. The ride is comfortable, and quiet. We really love this truck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2014 silverado truck 4x4

September 15, 2014
By hunters
from inver grove heights, mn
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"love the truck. great for everything outdoors and hunting with 3 dogs fishing training traveliong to mt and back great milage"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad service

August 25, 2014
By Danbo
from Anchorage Alaska
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It took six days to complete call-backs,and they told me to bring the truck back because it only had 3500 miles on it.So yes I brought it back when it had 7600 miles,six days later it was finally done,and they didn't even change the oil.So much for paying for it and getting screwed with there service agreement.I will never buy another GM product,and I purchase three new vehicles every two to three years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truck lover

August 24, 2014
By Antonio Guitierrez
from Doraville
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I saw Mr. Joe Mariscal in a commercial and decided to make a trip to see for myself how easy it is to purchase a car from him. Even though I have a loan on another vehicle this guy was able to get me a second car loan in the truck of my choise with the payment that is confortable to me. I recomend Joe Mariscal and Maxi Price Chevrolet for all your car and truck need to all my family and friends."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liking It - A Lot!

August 23, 2014
By Transplant
from South Dayton, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in a 2011 LT for the 2014 LTZ and have been very happy so far! I haven't had any trouble, it's been pretty solid. I really enjoy all the amenities the LTZ offers. And, the ride has been very good, especially when you remember you're driving a truck, not a luxury car! I highly recommend giving the truck a test drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some nice features

August 19, 2014
By Snow man
from Wi
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love tailgate & lots of room you can wear a cowboy hat back up camera is usefull 4 wheel drive is a must good ground clearance"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought mine new

August 19, 2014
By Slammer
from Rochester NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I picked up my new 2014 Silverado 1WT 4x4, the first 4wd you can get. Crank windows, plastic floor mats, manual transfer case,,,, just the way I like them, simple.
It rides and drives great. The build is excellent and is as quiet inside as a luxury car. No apparent quality issues at all. Interior quality is good to very good. Panel fit is good.
Like all new vehicles, it is a little difficult to see out of. It has two huge blind spots at the read cab pillars. But that is not GMs fault, its regulation. I recommend cheap stick on fish-eye mirrors outside, they cost about 4 bucks for two at any parts store.
The paint is good but it defiantly is orange pealed top to bottom, these days I expect better. I'd also like to see plastic inner fenders over the rear wheels, but truck in general just don't come with them anymore.
I got 15 years and 250,000+ hard miles out of my last 1500, I'm hoping for a repeat.
Overall, I'm very happy so far."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

chevy 1500

August 16, 2014
By chevy
from gilroy california
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent truck to drive very comfortable great for any used great engine nice interior design
I love 2014 Silverado"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Silverado 1500

July 22, 2014
By Silverado 2014
from Pa.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Chevy Silverado 1502 best truck I've ever bought 2014 model I absolutely love it but the only thing I didn't like is when we bought it on the weekend and I got ripped off on the financing I'm very mad about that the trucks nice but the financing is bad"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2014 Silverado Standard Cab Z-71

July 20, 2014
By Gm Guy
from Pensacola, FL
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Review after 25K miles in the first 8 months of ownership.
The pros - Love the styling of the new Silverado in particular the Z71 front grill. Very quiet truck and solid build quality. Good fuel economy for a full-size truck. The engine is fantastic. Enough power to pull just about anything I need and accelerate out of any trouble. More horses and torque than any other truck I've had.
The cons - Man, where do I start. The fuel management system absolutely kills the driveability of the truck. I've had to use an aftermarket ECU flasher to make the ride tolerable. The displacement on demand is horrible and very invasive. On my Avalanche I barely noticed the switch between V4 and V8. On the Silverado there is a very audible metallic click every time it switches from V4 to V8. That combined with a tranny that can't find which of the 6 gears it wants to use have left me not liking the truck. In town, I deactivate the V4 mode to make it tolerable - 18 MPG doing that. On the highway, I use V4 mode to get 20 mpg. The estimated MPG on the truck computer always overestimates fuel economy by 1 mpg. The truck has a smaller wheelbase because its a standard cab. If you get a standard cab, DON'T get the Z-71. The resulting harsh ride makes it feel like you're crashing into every bump in the road. I think the Z-71 on a 4-door Silverado would be a little better. There have been several recalls on the truck already - one to correct a lean idle that was causing some truck to catch on fire, and another for a tranny cable.
My next complaint is that the standard cab has a much smaller screen for the rear camera, leather seats isn't an option, and overall the interior is dumbed down because GM doesn't think many people want standard cabs any more (they're right btw). I'm a GM guy, but I will NOT purchase another GM truck until they fix the fuel management. The dealer gave me the runaround whenever I mentioned the fuel management system being poor each time I took it in for my free oil changes. They're now coming out with an 8 speed tranny, which will mean 2 more gears to confuse the computer.
If you get the truck, get a flash box to disable the Displacement on Demand and you'll be very happy, but at the expense of fuel economy. Its a full-size truck so don't kid yourself into thinking a truck with 350 horses can get more than 20 mpg without some flaky fuel management.
Overall my plan is to ride the wheels off of it until I hit 100K in 2 more years and sell it to somebody that thinks it looks cool - which it does."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs Work

July 9, 2014
By Joe
from Tulsa, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"10k mile review on 2014 Silverado. Great gas mileage, very comfortable truck.
First the bad...Build quality issues. So far its been in the dealer for service for a leaky passenger door gasket twice (rain entering vehicle and whistle noise). Dealer couldn't fix and had to ship off to a body shop (no truck or loaner vehicle for a week and a half). Just recently a rattle in the dashboard brought it back in TWICE and its still not fixed...dealer is ordering parts and I'll have to take it back in for a third time when those come in. So basically 5 unscheduled services in 10k miles.
Now for the good...great gas mileage and great power. It certainly feels and drives much bigger than my 2011 Silverado I had before it. Very quiet truck (when theres no rattle...lol). Tows great and rides great.
I've owned 6 Silverado's or GMC Sierras since 1995. I wouldn't say I have buyers remorse, but my wife and I have a horse farm and she's due for a new truck this year...we will be looking at competitors products more closely."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2nd truck

July 7, 2014
By bubba
from quad cities ill.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Way better than the 13 great looking overall can't beat it performance is fast and accurate. Quiet
. nice features.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Extremely disappointed in the vehicle and GM

June 28, 2014
By Ronald Vargas
from waco, texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I'm sure that there are good silverados out there but I bought a lemon. It has been in the shop seven (7) times in the three (3) months that I've had it. I am and have always been a Chevy man but I'm very disappointed in this vehicle. I'm afraid to drive it. It's been in the shop for stalling and erratic handling to the entire display going out and just this week because the a/c blew a line. Very disappointed. I called GM and they were friendly til I said "lemon". I'm afraid of my truck. Not recommended."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable vehcile

June 26, 2014
By SUV and truck enthusiast
from Atlanta GA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The design is great! The interior is good.reliablty is average. The cost is average the comfort is good
Performance is great
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Effort by GM in Redesigned Pick-up

June 23, 2014
By MRMRSJO
from Rochester Hills, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is an excellent effort by GM in a redesigned Pick-up. We leased this vehicle for three years in late May 2014. This truck replaced our 2004 Tahoe LS as the tow vehicle for our travel trailer. After living with it for nearly a month we are impressed and very pleased with our choice. We have the 5.3 FF V8 with active fuel management coupled by a six speed automatic to a 3.73 rear end. It is two wheel drive . Although we have not had the opportunity to tow yet, we are predicting that his truck will tow our trailer much better the 2004 Tahoe we had before. The 2014 trailering package is more complete than those offered in the 2004 and is much more user friendly. The telematics and driver info center is a vast improvement over what was available and offered in 2004. The "All Star" package with the LT trim level has more extras than most need, expect, or want and leaves it a little more to be desired especially in the interior. The ergonomics are well designed and executed. The double cab design provides easier access, greater seating comfort,and more behind-the-front-seat space than its extended cab predecessor. The exterior styling is a bit bolder than those offered in 2013 and earlier and it is pleasing to most eyes. The rear back-up camera, remote start, and active fuel management features are ones that we coming to appreciate immensely. In the case of the latter, its is comforting to know that GM has made it possible to use fuel responsibly by using only the cylinders needed (8 or 4) based on engine load. This should thus reducing fuel consumption and by doing save our resources, the environment and fuel costs and give us the opportunity to see the immediate impact on mpg as you drive. Negatives? We have observed a stiffness in the accelerator and an uncomfortable difference in the height of the brake pedal plane in relation to the accelerator. This causes some difficulty in making smooth transitions from accelerator to brake and vice versa. Also time will tell on reliability; we rated average because of it being an unknown, although it's promising at this time. In summary, this truck is deserving of the distinction received as the 2014 North American Truck of the Year. Look out Ford, truck of the year for 36 years; Here comes Chevrolet.
Thanks for the review opportunity.
Mary Jo and Dale Johnston
Rochester Hills, MI
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first brand new truck

June 19, 2014
By truck guy
from Franklin Furnace,Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've only had my Silverado a month but so far I love it.I purchased the LT 4by4 with the 5.3v8 and am getting 20mpg and above.On a recent trip of 70 mph interstate driving I got 21.9 mpg.I am a big guy(6'4" and 340lbs.)and have found my Chevy very comfortable with very good handling characteristics.
I am not really a techy and was a little dubious about
The My Link feature but have found it to be fairly easy to use.Most features are pretty intuitive.I'm still learning some of it but can't get the truck away from the wife to sit down with it.(She loves it too and is not sorry we traded off her Impala )
If you're in the market for a new pickup,definitely give the Silverado a try.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a truck

June 17, 2014
By Old Professor
from Iberia, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After having S-10s and Colorados for the last 25 years I moved UP! My 1500 LT is all truck and caddy put together, Comfort and handling all in one package. Had to get used to the 6 speed tranny and the quiet ride. And me and computers are strangers but the instructions for all the different aps have made it easy for this old dinosaur to set up the systems.
Thanks Chevrolet and Reliable Chevrolet in Springfield, MO
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2014_Chevrolet_Silverado 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beat truck

June 12, 2014
By Heart beat of America
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The most solid truck I ever drove. The pick of colors are unbelievable. The warranty is spectacular. And you like the ride with the new 18 inch tires and mags"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.